Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Campus accomodation

• 08-05-2011 8:33pm
    Registered Users Posts: 814 ✭✭✭

Hey,i'm a Leaving Cert student planning on studying in UCD next year.

I'm just wondering which is the best accommodation & also the best craic bearing in mind i'll be studying Physio or else health & performance science (hopefully)

The list I got off the UCD website is:
      Merville Residence Blackrock Residence Belgrove Residence Glenomena Residence Proby Residence Roebuck Hall Residence Roebuck Castle Catered Residence Muckross Halls Catered Residence

Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭supernutrino

They should just put as a sticky "BEST PLACE ON CAMPUS, OPINIONS?" :D
    cos theres loads of these now.

They say Belgrove is the best craic but its also a dump physically (its going to be renovated during the summer but that still wont be enough improvement imo) and its craic the way living next door to a nightclub would be, great when YOUR going out but on the nights you just want some sleep you won't get any.
    Whereas Blackrock is vvv quiet and mostly for postgrads.

Which leaves Merville, Glenomena and Roebuck. All 3 have good craic without being over the top and Merville is the one most meant for first years.
    The catered Roebucks more for people who either can't cook a chicken breast or are in a very very busy course and don't have a lot of time. The foods meant to be very nice and the buildings shiny and new, and has a good gym.
    Main Roebucks also shiny and new, and v nice, ditto Glenomena, Glenomena and Roebuck are more targeted at 2nd 3rd and postgrads and you have your own ensuite, but they do have more freshers in it these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 32 Donegal_11

I have recently accepted a conditonal offer to undertake a Masters in Sport and Exercise Management in UCD in September 2011! It is so hard to get in touch with anyone in UCD, they all refer you on to someone else or send you a link which doesn't answer what you ask!

Basically, I don't receive my exam results until the 9th of June, apparently anyone can apply for residence from the 8th of June. Just wondering if anyone knows how long it generally until residences are full?

• Registered Users Posts: 814 ✭✭✭NotExactly

Donegal_11 wrote: »
    It is so hard to get in touch with anyone in UCD, they all refer you on to someone else or send you a link which doesn't answer what you ask!

I'm on the waiting list for accommodation.It didn't ask me what accommodation though, which I taught was a bit strange? It opened today and I filled my details in at half 6 and I was number 933. http://www.ucd.ie/residences/

Thanks for your reply. Just out of interest, did you apply using your CAO number? I can't apply yet because I'm a graduate student and don't have a UCD student number yet..:/

• Registered Users Posts: 814 ✭✭✭NotExactly

did you apply using your CAO number? /

Yes. Very little details were required I was surprised. Perhaps you should get on the phone to them and explain your situation.

Oh right! I think they reserve a certain amount for Leaving Cert students! Will do, cheers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

Oh right! I think they reserve a certain amount for Leaving Cert students! Will do, cheers!

Will be June 8th as far as I can make out for you. You'll log in with your student number, which your postgrad school will give you at some stage.

http://www.ucd.ie/residences/studentpages/apply/ugrad/

For CAO applicants, this is worth reading.

http://www.ucd.ie/t4cms/Step%20by%20Step%20guide%20for%20CAO%20students%20on%20how%20to%20book%20a%20room%20in%20UCD%20Residences.pdf

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,395 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

I heard it's very difficult for continuing students (2nd years, 3rd years, ...) to get campus accomodation as there's very little places reserved for them, as most go to first years.

I don't envy the first year's accomodation search. CAO offers came out very late for us, and UCD start quite early (the 6th of September for us, orientation week) so there is a mad rush to find somewhere.

Thanks for all the info, a lot more than I got from UCD! I just want to get everything sorted because I will be in the USA until the 1st of September. Would be a torture looking for a flat online and then I could end up living in a dump!

Yeah, the system doesn't seem to be set up for continuing years! Although it seems to facilitate everyone apart from graduate students at the minute!!

The reason theres most spaces for freshers is freshers who are coming here are usually from a distance away, abroad or the north or Galway/Cork and they want to make the transition easier for them by living on campus.

Coming to UCD as a first year can be a huge shock to the system for any first year, or anyone really, its like a small city, theres thousands of people all over the place everyone looks like they're already in a group of tight friends (and this illusion sadly prevents a lot of people chatting to people and making friends), and it can be very intimidating.
    When you live on campus its easier to make connections and friends and first years need that more than anyone who may already be more familiar with UCD.

Yeah, the logic behind it is perfectly understandable! I am a 21 year old postgrad though from Donegal, who has never lived out of home in his life!ha I suppose they presume a lot of postgrad's have lived away from home and are of a good age!

Post-Grads used to have their own residence. Glenomena was post-grad and final year only, untill 2009/2010 term.

But the application numbers plummeted once the gates went up and they started enforcing some of the guest restrictions, then compounded this mistake by increasing the prices at a time when rents in the surrounding area were going down. The official guest rules were always there but they were not enforced and there were no gates around the complex, you could bring whoever you wanted back whenever you wanted and as long as they weren't over every night nobody cared.

People who are over 21 didn't like being treated like children, having to plead with security guards to let them through the gates when they brought a guy or girl back from a club, not being able to bring their friends back to crash on their sofa after midnight, and having their parties broken up like 14 year olds being busted by cops for knacker drinking, it just became a bit of a piss take for people in their 20s.
    Teenagers dont' really notice it because they're used to mammy and daddy controling their every move so by contrast UCD Res looks more lax than they're used to and they're still feeding off the buzz of being away from parents and having their own place, but when your in your 20s you want to be treated like a ****in adult. So applications from older students took a nosedive, and they had to open the place not only to all years but now it's open to Dublin residents too, you could be from Donnybrook and get a place, though I don't know anyone from Dublin tho lives here.

They're great for your first year, but I'd advise anyone in their 20s to stay away for two reasons:

1. If your a post-grad, they don't seperate post grads into diffrent buildings than freshers anymore, so you could be doing hard work and be past the stage of getting pissed every night, and still have to listen to freshers getting hammerd in your living room every night of the week
    2. If your in between, 2nd, 3rd, 4th year, and you want real freedom to bring whoever you want back without them having to jump over a gate, and have a party whenever you like, you'd hate it.

You can still have a predrinks session before going out to town if you keep a low enough profile, but its gone to piss take territory now in how restrictive it is.

Class information there, thanks a lot!

I'm starting to think about avoiding campus accomodation now.. I was under the impression that Glenomena was for postgrads only! I'm not the type of student who is stupid enough to hold parties and makes loads of noise but God I'd like to be able to bring people back whenever I want without signing them in etc...

Primarily, I though campus would be the best because it's a short walk from the Uni and you can't pay everything in lump sums without the hassle of weekly rent, paying bills, internet etc! I'll have a re-think, might get a house on daft.ie in Stillorgan or somehwere!

Heres the honest overview of the place.

Pros:
    • The flat fees (if you can afford them) are great in that once you've paid your sorted you don't have to worry about ESB bills etc, making utilities part of the accom fees was a great improvement.
    • Having free wifi (which is v fast) is great.
    • Socially the place is great, a lot of people know each other and theres a sense of community you don't find in neighbourhoods anymore.
    • Its great to be so close to college, saves you waiting in the rain and forcing yourself onto a packed bus/DART breathing in a toxic mix of hairspray/aftershave, or being stuck in traffic.
    • Maintenance is great and way way way faster than it would be in private accommodation, many landlords will drag their feet on maintenance issues.
    • You actually get your deposit back, whereas in private accommodation students have notorious problems trying to get it back.

Cons:
    Those guest restrictions are the only real con.

There are people who are totally over the top with the roudyness, they think the place is a frathouse and tbh they're trying a little too hard LOOK AT ME IM MAD IM PARTYING HARD LOOK HOW MAD I AM QUICK PAY ATTENTION TO ME!! LOOK I CAN SCREAM "WHOOOO!!!!" A LOT THAT MEANS IM HAVING FUN AND EVERYONE NEEDS TO KNOW IT QUICK PAY ATTENTION TO ME...all right man we get it...your mad...relax, you don't have to yell "whoo!" every two seconds...
    You can have a predrinks session if you have under 10 people there, thing is if a room mate complains RAs have to come up, they don't have a choice, and when you have that mix of PostGrads and Freshers in the same apt that makes for more of such calls if you get me? Then the freshers shoot the messenger and take it out on the RA, they're just enforcing the rules (and most of them don't agree with them..), the UCD management are the ones that make them. If you close your blinds and windows and don't play music, and are gone before 12 your very unlikley to get an RA visit.
    It's really only if your a total muppet who booms music, yells out the windows, opens the blinds as if to advertise your party...that you'll get a visit.

If you want to bring mates back late they cam jump one of the unguarded gates, but be careful! Do it slowly and carefully, people sometimes go on their snot.

Besides the guest rules it is a great place to live and for a first year great way to make friends and get to know people. You just have to decide how much of a hassle the guest thing is for you.
    If its a mate stayin over and you know in advance you can sign them in during office hours ahead of time. If you forget or they come over later, as long as they're in before gates close nobody will notice if they are there, or care.

If your a postgrad and you want more peace then choose houses 9 or 10 (ideally 10) in Glenomena, there tends to be less first years there and its way down the end so you don't bear the noise brunt of people coming home from clubs.

As for one night stands being brought back if you tell the security guard you' just scored he'll probably let you through :P but if you socialise more with people who live on campus that also solves the problem as you'll both have access ;)

You're a sound person! I couldn't ask the residence manager some of them questions!..lol There are a lot of pro's and they do make the place appealing, the noise wouldn't bother me too much becuase I just use ear plugs.. App, you can view the demographics of the people in the apartments before you pay your deposit, so that may be handy!

Thanks again for all the info!

I appears that I won't get into Glenomena because my UCD student number won't be issued until the end of August.... :/

Looks like off-campus house-sharing.. Would like a place in Clonskeagh, Booterstown or Merrion etc...

This question may be silly, be say I'm paying €500 per month rent, and a house mate leaves, would the others and I in the house have to chip in to pay their rent until we get a new lodger?

Everyone should get their student number issued at the same time, and its computer generated so I don't see why you'd get it later than everyone else?
    I'd call the UCD student desk on monday and check on that 7161555
    It does not sound right.

As for landlords, they don't see you all as seperate units, they see you all as one block payment. He's renting a house for €1500, all he sees is that €1500, you can have 5 people there to split it up or 3, and if one moves out you have to fill in the gap untill you find a new roomate.

If you live in UCD and someone moves out nothing changes for you except getting more fridge and freezer space.

Double check that student number thing, call everyone you can think of and make a fuss over it because it does not sound right, everyone is supposed to have an equal chance as a first year of getting accomidation.

Cheers again, you've been an unreal help!

I thought it was strange too, was told I won't get it until the last week of August on enrolment, this information was given by a course director though and not registry, maybe this information was off. My browsing through their website it will be issued once I submit my supporting documentation and pay the fees.

Ah right, I was thinking that and that was my fear!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 elixx

I'm an international student and want to stay at Proby (Doing an MSc Finance) but they only open the online application to PG and returning on the 8th June which I think is seriously unfair.

Any ideas to circumvent this?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

elixx wrote: »
    I'm an international student and want to stay at Proby (Doing an MSc Finance) but they only open the online application to PG and returning on the 8th June which I think is seriously unfair.

Any ideas to circumvent this?

No undergraduate will really want to stay there tbh, it's quite far away from the Belfield campus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Pommette

Hi everyone,
    With a bit of luck that topic isn't completely dead...
    Your previous posts have answered a lot of my questions but if somebody could tell me more about Blackrock residence and Muckross Halls catered residence that would be really great! How far are these two residences from the main campus ? Which one do you think is best between the two ?
    I was on the waiting list, then they told me I couldn't be taken on the residences and now I only have one day to decide and pay the deposit if I want to take a room in Blackrock or Muckross residence!
    So please, tell me if you have any informations on these two residences specifically.
    Thank you in advance.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,395 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

Pommette wrote: »
    Hi everyone,
    With a bit of luck that topic isn't completely dead...
    Your previous posts have answered a lot of my questions but if somebody could tell me more about Blackrock residence and Muckross Halls catered residence that would be really great! How far are these two residences from the main campus ? Which one do you think is best between the two ?
    I was on the waiting list, then they told me I couldn't be taken on the residences and now I only have one day to decide and pay the deposit if I want to take a room in Blackrock or Muckross residence!
    So please, tell me if you have any informations on these two residences specifically.
    Thank you in advance.
    I've haven't been in either but Blackrock is quite far away (which normally wouldn't matter but there's no reliable bus service linking the two - the 17 is the only one I know and it's not that reliable)

Muckross is catered and is in Donnybrook or near it, so it has good bus links!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭Sefirah

Pommette wrote: »
    Thank you in advance.
    I stayed in Muckross last year, and there's a reason I'm not going back. Firstly, it was not so bad- a great way to meet new people in first year, as everything except your bedroom is shared so you get a lot of interaction with other people. However, the food was not good. It was simply far too unhealthy, and non-stop chips. When they gave vegetables, they were usually burnt or swimming in butter, and a LOT of pork (which was an issue with Muslim and Jewish students who got sick of eating fish all the time). However. the bus links are excellent- the buses to college or the city are literally around the corner. The rooms are grand too- things kept breaking, though- the internet was on the blink a lot, during the winter the electricity and hot water went on numerous occasions, and there was a lot of noisy construction work out back. But maybe that's because they were still in the process of renovation while I was there. That said, it was... okay. Did the job.

• Registered Users Posts: 6 lh1964

hi
    have taken place in muckross as on campus place not offered to me; can anyone advise how far to college/arts block;bus or cycling best? is it practical for doing things on campus in evening given u come back for dinner ? any other tips re muckross welcome; thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Siuin

It's about a 25/30 minute walk to the arts block from Muckross, and about 10 minutes in the bus. Bring your iPod and it's a really lovely walk in the morning. Muckross is a really convenient location for catching buses- the stops are literally a few paces up the road. They'll provide you with a welcome pack listing all the buses that go to Muckross from the city and UCD when you arrive. I'd highly recommend getting a bike- a lot of people I lived with got one, and they always were home first!

If you intend on coming home later, you can ask the cook at breakfast in the morning and he'll put aside your dinner for you when you get back. As I said before, the food leaves a lot to be desired, but if you're not a particularly healthy eater before you go there, it won't be an issue.

Try not to get a room near the TV room like I did... (basically all of the 2nd floor)- it gets noisy!

Also, bring microwave popcorn for watching films in the TV room, and since on the weekends it's not catered, if you intend on staying there it's probably best to buy something you can do in the microwave such a soup, since there's no other options for getting hot food unless you order from somewhere. Take advantage of the unlimited free tea! (unlimited til some asshole uses up all the milk, that is!) Also, stay away from Donnybrook Fair- it may be convenient, but it's a rip off.

• Registered Users Posts: 6 lh1964

thanks for that
    is there a fridge for your own food at all?
    what are rooms on 4th floor like ;do you share bathroom with many
    do many stay at weekends

thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Siuin

lh1964 wrote: »
    thanks for that
    is there a fridge for your own food at all?
    what are rooms on 4th floor like ;do you share bathroom with many
    do many stay at weekends

thanks
    There's a communal space for everyone in the 'kitchen' (ie a place with a microwave, fridge, toaster, countertop and fridge) - I never put food in there because idiots kept coming home drunk, raiding it, and denying it in the morning. They stole eeeeverything- including full dinners like pizza and homemade pasta. As for things like ice-cream -- forget it.

The rooms on every floor are basically the same- I just wouldn't recommend the 2nd floor as I stayed there and it was really noisy!

You share a bathroom, and although they're technically gender segregated, people don't seem to abide by this and use whatever one is on their floor. They're in the form of stalls with sinks outside, and there are separate shower rooms which are basically a 'foyer' (such a grand term for what it is lol) and 4 separate small rooms with a shower and a place to put your things. A few geniuses last year decided to block up the toilets with toilet paper and another lovely individual took a sh!t on the toilet seat lid. Needless to say, I'm having my own ensuite this year...!

Weekends can be pretty quiet- less than half would stay every weekend. There were a number of internationals there last year who had to stay, even coming up the Christmas and whatnot, but it's pretty spaced out so you might not see them even if they're there.