Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Voodoo Zobop

• 09-05-2011 12:49pm
    Registered Users Posts: 6

Hi can anyone give me an honest opinion of this bike sold by Halfords

Regards Hugh

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 77,653 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Anything with "voodoo" in it's name scares me;)

Link?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

They make good bikes with nice frames and good components. Wouldn't be mad about that one though. I'd prefer it with a double chain set up front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,504 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

studiorat wrote: »
    They make good bikes with nice frames and good components. Wouldn't be mad about that one though. I'd prefer it with a double chain set up front.

A Voodoo bike ay? Probably looks better than it actually performs. Don't expect to win too many races on one.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 77,653 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Probably looks better than it actually performs.
    Have you got multiple accounts on here Dirk, as previous "reports" have indicated exactly the opposite;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

studiorat wrote: »

Double up front would be better.

For anybody who doesnt know these are designed by Joe Murray. Joe Murray Is one of the founders of Kona. They seem to be just like kona on the expensive side, however Id expect the frames to be excellent if they are anything like Kona.

Spec is great, but its abit pricey, however 2011 bikes seem to be more expensive than their 2010 equivelents.

A Voodoo bike ay? Probably looks better than it actually performs. Don't expect to win too many races on one.

They are a bit heavy but they are designed by Joe Murray so I wouldn't be too quick to write them off as rubbish.

...brain just woke up there, you have one dont ya :p

Kitted out with the same components as everything else, nice tubing on some of their bikes. I like their Reynolds 853 x-country offering. My issue with them would only be that they all have daft names. 2009/2010 bikes seemed to use slightly more "exotic" components Race Face etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,504 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

kona wrote: »
    They are a bit heavy but they are designed by Joe Murray so I wouldn't be too quick to write them off as rubbish.

Ah Kona, I would have thought you would have got the joke. Think about it again for a second...

hahaha I did just there hahaha sorry im abit slow today. :p

• Registered Users Posts: 6 hugh711

Hi Guys. New to the cycle rides as I took a very long break. I would appreciate your opinion on the spec not the price and the name- and only racing against myself!

hugh711 wrote: »
    Hi Guys. New to the cycle rides as I took a very long break. I would appreciate your opinion on the spec not the price and the name- and only racing against myself!

Well it's mostly XT drive train, that's good. Still think it should have a 2 speed front chain set though. The avid elixir seem popular too, they're brakes they stop ya, what more do you want? :-)

Can't comment on the suspension as I don't know the model, Rock Shox are usually decent, you get what you pay for.

That said I wouldn't... I'd say riding it up a hill would be a real labour of love. And as much as I'm a fan of Halfords bikes, (honestly!) I wouldn't fork out that amount of bread there, the back-up service from them just isn't there.

The spec is quite good IMO, I use Deore XT in 27speed and its a great system. Avid Elixer R brakes are one of the best brakes you can get, they are a kind of new design thats only around a few years, but there doesnt seem to be any major issues with it.
    Rock Shox deal with the Suspension side of things, Personally I found the older and Lower range rock shox to be of poor quality, but the Revelation seems a solid fork, its also air sprung which makes a big difference in performance. The wheelset seems to be nothing spectacular, Id expect them to do their job and last, but they aint the lightest or have and fancy designs. One thing to not would be the frame, its got nice geometry but the 7005 Alloy is not butted, which means it will be probably on the heavier side, however this will mean a more rigid frame.

Its a nice bike, but I feel €1800 is very expensive, Id be looking at a Kona full susser for that price.

Thanks guys this helps. Kona what about he Kona 2011 range?

Thanks guys this helps. Kona what about the Kona 2011 range?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

I wonder how much of a connection there is to the original Voodoo bike brand? I thought they went bust?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

Curious, why are ye saying ye would prefer a double up front? Its not a dh bike, is it to do with cross chain on a 10 speed?
    Please dont tell me mtbers are now frowning upon granny rings on the trails?

the front would be around 24/38 kind of thing.

With 9 or 10 on the back you simply don't need all the doubling up (or close to) of ratios you get with 3 on the front. You don't really need the large ring and any lower than a 24/34 you may as well walk!

Less shifting between chainrings is always a good thing, particularly on a mtb.

Thanks guys this helps. Kona what about the Kona 2011 range?

I havnt really had a chance to take a good look at it TBH! so Im not much use there, I know some new models were added and they look good. Other than that Im not much use Id have to sit down and go through the specs, and im mental busy right now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,281 ✭✭✭Ricky91t

Go to a local shop, get a bike there. You'll get free servicing for a year which you may or may not require. Halfords assembly leaves a lot to be desired. That is my opinion but just check their reviews, A lot of people comment on the poor assembly.

Ricky91t wrote: »
    Go to a local shop, get a bike there. You'll get free servicing for a year which you may or may not require. Halfords assembly leaves a lot to be desired. That is my opinion but just check their reviews, A lot of people comment on the poor assembly.

Leave it will you? Sick of the obligatory Halfords bashing, it gets old fast at this stage. Its well Known their assembly is hit and miss. e30 to a competant mechanic will sort that IF the bike is assembled arseways. Believe it or not, Halfords staff do recieve training, in fact some of the specialists are flown to england for it.

Your story is, and this is harsh, You bought a piece of **** BSO, The voodoo is over 10 times the price and 30 times the quality of the apollo you bought. So leave the Halfords bashing at the door, nothing to do with Voodoo bikes. You bought a BSO and used it as a commuter. It broke. Go buy a BSO out of a "LBS" youll pay more than in halfords for the same ****e experience.

At this stage there are more stories on this site with good views of Halfords, than the RUN YOUR BIKES GOING TO BE ASSEMBLED BY A 13 YEAR OLD , THE WHEELS WILL FALL OFF.

Sorry , its not personally at you Im just ****ing sick of the After Hours type replies on halfords threads.

Hollingsworth cycles is a LBS too. Just because a shop is called LBS doesnt mean your getting competancy. Ive seen some "LBS" "Repair" they are a joke, some dont even have proper tools.

And free servicing for a year? what planet do LBS offer that on? They be out of business giving out a years Labour for free.

Leave it will you? Sick of the obligatory Halfords bashing, it gets old fast at this stage. Its well Known their assembly is hit and miss. e30 to a competant mechanic will sort that IF the bike is assembled arseways. Believe it or not, Halfords staff do recieve training, in fact some of the specialists are flown to england for it.

Your story is, and this is harsh, You bought a piece of **** BSO, The voodoo is over 10 times the price and 30 times the quality of the apollo you bought. So leave the Halfords bashing at the door, nothing to do with Voodoo bikes. You bought a BSO and used it as a commuter. It broke. Go buy a BSO out of a "LBS" youll pay more than in halfords for the same ****e experience.

At this stage there are more stories on this site with good views of Halfords, than the RUN YOUR BIKES GOING TO BE ASSEMBLED BY A 13 YEAR OLD , THE WHEELS WILL FALL OFF.

Sorry , its not personally at you Im just ****ing sick of the After Hours type replies on halfords threads.

Hollingsworth cycles is a LBS too. Just because a shop is called LBS doesnt mean your getting competancy. Ive seen some "LBS" "Repair" they are a joke, some dont even have proper tools.

And free servicing for a year? what planet do LBS offer that on? They be out of business giving out a years Labour for free.

Quote from my local bike shop as I purchased a bike "You have free servicing for a year on this, call in whenever".

Also even If I bought a BSO I'd expect the front derailleur to set properly and not to drop the chain off of the front sprocket. I'd also expect a bike to be fully inspected and noticed that the rear cassette was badly made and should have been changed.

If you bought a car and the gear box wasn't set up properly would you go to a mechanic and pay them to fix it? No.

I'm pretty sure you'd complain and if someone on a forum asked for advice on where to buy a car and someone recommended the place where you purchased a car I'm sure you'd express your opinion.

Also I don't care if it's aimed at me or not, At the end of the day I'm entitled to reply to the user, My experiences have differed from yours (as have a lot of people who review bikes more price ones too ) I'd hate to buy a new bike and take it to a bike mechanic a week or two later and pay them to set it up right.

Ricky91t wrote: »
    Quote from my local bike shop as I purchased a bike "You have free servicing for a year on this, call in whenever".

Also even If I bought a BSO I'd expect the front derailleur to set properly and not to drop the chain off of the front sprocket. I'd also expect a bike to be fully inspected and noticed that the rear cassette was badly made and should have been changed.

If you bought a car and the gear box wasn't set up properly would you go to a mechanic and pay them to fix it? No.

I'm pretty sure you'd complain and if someone on a forum asked for advice on where to buy a car and someone recommended the place where you purchased a car I'm sure you'd express your opinion.

Also I don't care if it's aimed at me or not, At the end of the day I'm entitled to reply to the user, My experiences have differed from yours (as have a lot of people who review bikes more price ones too ) I'd hate to buy a new bike and take it to a bike mechanic a week or two later and pay them to set it up right.

YOU BOUGHT A BSO ITS A PIECE OF ****. Ive spent an hour trying to get a BSO to work. It didnt, it kind of worked but never properly worked. sometimes they are Impossible to get to work, why? BECAUSE THEY ARE ****.
    Your rear freewheel is IMPOSSIBLE to inspect and diagnose being ****ed until you ride it.

If I bought a piece of **** fiat ritmo and the poxy gearbox didnt work , Id get it fixed, but knowing it was a ball of gick wouldnt go around blaming the mechanic. (this point is dumb as a cars gearbox is assembled, theres no "setting up")

You replied to a thread asking for advice on Voodoo bikes, not Halfords. Since you know **** all about bikes you left a retarded commend that had nothing to do with Voodoo bikes.

If the OP asked for opinions on the bike...not halfords. Halfords employ plenty of competant mechanics, obviously with hundreds of stores in UK and Ireland there will be a few that have issues. When you shift bikes on the scale halfords do obviously your going to have many come back. The fact most opiionated people buy cheap tat doesnt help.

You opinion is flawed, and its a opinion thats getting very old.

YOU BOUGHT A BSO ITS A PIECE OF ****. Ive spent an hour trying to get a BSO to work. It didnt, it kind of worked but never properly worked. sometimes they are Impossible to get to work, why? BECAUSE THEY ARE ****.
    Your rear freewheel is IMPOSSIBLE to inspect and diagnose being ****ed until you ride it.

If I bought a piece of **** fiat ritmo and the poxy gearbox didnt work , Id get it fixed, but knowing it was a ball of gick wouldnt go around blaming the mechanic. (this point is dumb as a cars gearbox is assembled, theres no "setting up")

You replied to a thread asking for advice on Voodoo bikes, not Halfords. Since you know **** all about bikes you left a retarded commend that had nothing to do with Voodoo bikes.

If the OP asked for opinions on the bike...not halfords. Halfords employ plenty of competant mechanics, obviously with hundreds of stores in UK and Ireland there will be a few that have issues. When you shift bikes on the scale halfords do obviously your going to have many come back. The fact most opiionated people buy cheap tat doesnt help.

You opinion is flawed, and its a opinion thats getting very old.

Calm the **** down.

I've read reviews, I've still got my own comments, Both are valid. I expect a bike to be properly inspected. This was noticeable, If I saw it on the stand I would of seen it. Even though It was A BSO I'd still expect a flaw like that to be noticed.

You can't comment on the fact I know **** all about bikes, I've actually learnt a lot since getting that bike and fixing it myself and although I might not have the knowledge of a bike mechanic I know a lot more than most people who cycle( Those who have a bike for A to B ). Also your comment regarding people buying BSO and commenting is wrong, I was looking at €800 + bikes from halfords and still seeing the same comments and issues, this was enough to deter me from that store and go to an LBS, which I did and am now the owner of a great bike.

You're obviously trying to force your views on me and I don't like that, I stand by my word and I'll happily warn others of the poor service I received one angry user on a forum isn't gonna' make me change my opinion.

Hi Guys. I'm looking for a good bike and the Voodoo looked good to me on the basis of looking around on the net. Maybe it was just the look of it that had me. I have no problem with the poor service or otherwise from Halfords as I live in the countryside and spent many summers in the uk in a previous life fixing and hiring bikes. I would appreciate anyone giving an opinion on the best mb bike out there for 1800 based on good specs