Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

WARNING! SHMUP PORN!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,498 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

o1s1n wrote: »
    Excellent, cheers! just asked the dude is it still for sale.

I'm totally broke but have wanted that one for a while.

Did that chap come back to you with a shipping cost? I see that thread has gotten side tracked with folk whinging about dodgy buyers not wanting to paying shipping or something. Sellers should just put up the cost to ship abroad and widen their target audience - proper buyers would still be interested. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,265 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Heh, yeah I couldn't help replying to that eejit. :D

I first emailed him via ebay not knowing about the AO ad. He replied via ebay saying he'd get a quote.

Obviously though, I ain't going to buy it there when I can get it on AO for £25 less!

Will keep ye posted :) Really want this one now. Be nice to have that Jaleco mobo. I think it works with a couple of other carts.

And done :) Absolute steal of a price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

Good luck with that board. For £75 that's a great price I think. Especially if you get the Jaleco main board with the cart. Looks like a great game, certainly on my wishlist!

I spent tonight bathing in shooting game smut! Made a video too, look out for it tomorrow. :)

Here's the little video I put together. I was testing out the trial of FRAPS and also trying to get my EX2 stick to work with my Doujin games. Eventually I got it working with Crimzon Clover, so I made a short 'highlights' video of the first stage.

This is the web trial edition, although as some may know, I've the full retail boxed edition too. Definitely a game worth buying. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,063 ✭✭✭Doge

zap zap zap zap zap zap zap zap zap zap zap zap zap zap zap zap zap zap!

Imagine you could fap at that rate, super mega hyper fap.

I'll have to give the SHMUPS a go very soon, I love the ones with lots of colour and a ridiculous fire rate like in your videos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 bigJames

Shumps are so strange for me. Have never felt connected to any I've played. It's one of the genres with simulation driving that leaves cold.

Master of the Universe

Pyongyang wrote: »
    Good luck with that board. For £75 that's a great price I think. Especially if you get the Jaleco main board with the cart. Looks like a great game, certainly on my wishlist!

It's the game and mobo alright. I'm not too sure how available other games are though.

Andrew76 found the following couple of links last night. Seems there aren't too many for it. Which to me says they'll probably all come with a mobo.

http://www.uvlist.net/groups/info/jalecomegasystem32-hw
    http://www.cvgm.net/demovibes/platform/104/

waveform wrote: »

I'll have to give the SHMUPS a go very soon, I love the ones with lots of colour and a ridiculous fire rate like in your videos.

Never really played shmups no? Not even older ones on the Snes and Megadrive?
    bigJames wrote: »
    Shumps are so strange for me. Have never felt connected to any I've played. It's one of the genres with simulation driving that leaves cold.

...simulation driving?

It's the game and mobo alright. I'm not too sure how available other games are though.

Hmm, maybe the mainboard is only for that particular game? Similar to how the Hyper Neo Geo 64 boards work.

Anywho, back to some Crimzon Clover for me! Pew! Pew! Pew!

That Crimson Clover video looks tastey Pyongyang cheers, will defo check it out later. Is it possible to buy the full game from that link you posted? I'm not near a pc and the phone browser didn't translate it for me. Oh and do you know what the lowest resolution is that it supports? Does it go as low as 640x480?

Here is another video I made to whet your appetite!

Cheers lads. Get those racy snaps posted ...

Had a look at ondafly's videos of MMP and PS, they don't look great that's for sure. Played them for a few mins myself and took some snaps. Might be hard to tell from the pics but with the naked eye they definitely don't look as blurry as in his videos. Might be down to the setup I have which simulates scan lines for the 360 and might make them more tolerable. Not as crisp as Ketsui, Akai Katana Shin and others though.

Muchi-Muchi Pork pics:

mmp001.jpg

mmp002.jpg

Pink Sweets pics:

ps001r.jpg

ps002z.jpg

Some random Akai Katana Shin pics:

aks001.jpg

aks002.jpg

aks003.jpg

Cor blimey guvnor! Those photos are a bit racy aren't they?! I think you're right though. Greek Mother has the Excel 2010 jobbie and Mr. Fly (of the On Da variety) has that other yokeebob. I'd say the difference lieth there.

I think the package on the whole is a no-brainer though. The PCB's (assuming you can actually find a Muchi Muchi Pork board considering it was a flop in Japan) are just so expensive. That said, I can get a new, sealed copy of the game (not sure if it's limited edition or the standard print) for ¥12,0000. Expensive, yes, but it's hard to find now, especially sealed.

Lol they are a bit racey I guess. :)

Have you got one too many zeros in that price? I take it you mean €120 and not €1200 for a sealed 360 version? They're both good games, PS is Ibara 2 so can't be bad.

That Crimzon Clover demo finally downloaded, took bloody forever, so going to test that out tonight. If I can get it to run at 640x480 then I might be tempted to get it, I was wondering where to buy it from then remembered your Tokyo Shmups interview. I have emailed him about other shipping options available as I spotted something else there I'm extremely interested in. :cool:

Andrew76 wrote: »
    Lol they are a bit racey I guess. :)

Have you got one too many zeros in that price? I take it you mean €120 and not €1200 for a sealed 360 version? They're both good games, PS is Ibara 2 so can't be bad.

That Crimzon Clover demo finally downloaded, took bloody forever, so going to test that out tonight. If I can get it to run at 640x480 then I might be tempted to get it, I was wondering where to buy it from then remembered your Tokyo Shmups interview. I have emailed him about other shipping options available as I spotted something else there I'm extremely interested in. :cool:

Ah crap, sorry Mr. 76, I didn't answer your question about the low resolution for Crimzon Clover. I'm pretty sure you'll be able to run it low resolution. I bought my copy from Jeff too, it was $30 sealed, brand new. Worth every penny I think.

The fact it was created by just one person is utterly unreal. Fantastic achievement I think. Same with the upcoming Snops Attack! that Mike Walz is currently working on by himself for XBLIG.

What else did you spot at Tokyo SHMUPS? Perked my curiosity now! I've some bits to come from him too when I place an order soon. Finally my Ibara: The Lunatic DVD set with the art book, also eXceed 3rd: Jade Penetrate (Black Package) and 'something else' which I'm actually uploading a video of to YouTube now.

As for Muchi Muchi Pork/Pink Sweets that really is the going rate, I've checked with about 4 different sources in Japan and it really is bloody hard to get hold of, especially new and sealed with the DLC. Holding off on that one though for a while as it would seriously damage my Batrider savings plan. :(

Ah no worries about Crimson Clover. What got my attention on that site was the Raiden superplay item: Raiden "The Aces High" 2 DVD + 2 CD + Book. I have a particular weakness for the first few Raiden games. Swiped the below info from a play-asia link, 1cc arcade runs would be awesome to watch (for me anyway :pac:):
    Insanity DVD: The Aces High Raiden contains footage of the popular video game shoot'em up series Raiden on two DVDs, accompanied with two Audio discs and 88-pages booklet. More than 360 minutes have been captured, including five different 1-coin perfect play videos of the arcade version of Raiden, Raiden II and Raiden DX.

As bonus items, the DVD set ships with a double disc soundtrack album, containing original BGM and remixes from assorted Raiden arcade and home console releases (including tracks from PlayStation™ and PC-Engine ports). A total of 56 tracks have been recorded, with a total running time of more than 120 minutes.

Also bundled with the first shipment is an 88-pages booklet with illustrations, setting data, Audio CD timetable, comments and much more.

Ah no worries about Crimson Clover. What got my attention on that site was the Raiden superplay item: Raiden "The Aces High" 2 DVD + 2 CD + Book. I have a particular weakness for the first few Raiden games. Swiped the below info from a play-asia link, 1cc arcade runs would be awesome to watch (for me anyway :pac:):

I'll tell you the God's honest, hand on my heart truth here so strike me dead. I knew that was what you were after! The Raiden connosieur in you came racing up to the top and you had to get it eh? Nice purchase.

Be careful though, buying superplay packets, especially nice ones like Raiden, Ibara and Mushihimesama is dangerous. You buy one, then you want another, and another and another... then you'll end up buying a Laserdisc player and buying superplays for that. :rolleyes:

They command ridiculously high prices for what they are but they are really valuable learning tools for the game you want to get better at. If it helps you beat a game, clear a difficult platform game level or destroy your PB high score in your favourite SHMUP, then I think it's money well spent.

Here's another gameplay video I've just uploaded to 'the tube'. Bit of an oddity for ye this time. :)

Never really played shmups no? Not even older ones on the Snes and Megadrive?

Haven't played too many of the scrolling spaceship type shmups at all, i suppose the genre extends far beyond that.

The first decent shmup i would have played is 1942 on the Commodore 64.
    And the first ever shmup would have been the sample game that came with the Toolbox Shoot'Em Up Construction Construction Kit cassette!

Actually Gangsters might have been the first coming to think of it!

There was a few other sidescrolling ones i played on the C64, one of which I need to track down that wouldn't be as well known was Delta or Cybernoid.
    Nemesis was one of them, but there's another.

Oh and Die Hard 2 on the c64 was pretty cool also.

I remember playing galaga on a pub style table when I was either 7/8 and on holidays in either Cyprus/Bulgaria.

Man the it was so colorful and the screen was so small, it would hurt your eyes playing it! Loved it though.

Thats about it basically, need to start playing them more these days!

Okay I suppose I have played a good few more of the non spaceship type smhups:

C64:
    Cabal, Cammando Arnie, After Burner, Revenge of the Mutant Camels, Rambo FB Part II, Rambo III, Arkanoid, Midnight Resistance, Army Days, Beyond Ice Palace, Sly Spy Secret Agent, Platoon, Jail Break, Licence to Kill, Mask, Ikari Warriors, Operation Wolf, Outlaw, Overlander, Panther, Robocop 1 + 3, Bionic Commando,

MD/master system:
    Alien Storm, Shinobi games, Thunder Blade

Arcade: Rambo 3, Contra

Bah, I couldn't be arsed finding all of them for the other systems

Is there any lemon64 like site for Sega SMS and Mega Drive, that has thumnails and stuff?

Can't seem to find any! :/

Master of the Universe

Shmups are really only games which feature you flying over a scrolling background shooting things.

Most of the games you mentioned there fall into other genres (sims, run n guns, platformers etc)

Shmups are really only games which feature you flying over a scrolling background shooting things.

Most of the games you mentioned there fall into other genres (sims, run n guns, platformers etc)

I was thinking the same when I made my original post, then looking on sites like Lemon64 which used the genre for practically anything made me change my mind!

Here's another gameplay video I've just uploaded to 'the tube'. Bit of an oddity for ye this time. :)

Interesting little shooter, nice and colourful. I'd have to mute the music though, a bit too strange for a shmup for me. :)

I actually find the music oddly soothing. Problem is, the more you play it, the more that bloody melody gets stuck in your head!

If you do grab the full game, just be a bit cautious of playing it if younger eyes are around. It's nothing that'll earn you a dawn raid by the Gardai, eechi or hentai, just given it's cutesy look don't be fooled as some of the bosses are a bit 'urgent' shall we say. Think Cho Aniki I guess, that sort of level of weirdness.

Great game though, I love the use of yer wan's barnet as a secondary weapon/defense. Very unique!

Master of the Universe

God damn it, why can't we just blow things up without looking like perverts? Getting a bit sick of that kind of thing in Shmups to be honest.

I was playing Mushihimeama Futari a while ago there and started getting grief from the girlfriend because of the bezel pictures. I hadn't even noticed them!

Getting a bit sick of that kind of thing in Shmups to be honest.

Ask your bird to buy you Otomedius Excellent for your birthday. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭blag

God damn it, why can't we just blow things up without looking like perverts? Getting a bit sick of that kind of thing in Shmups to be honest.

I was playing Mushihimeama Futari a while ago there and started getting grief from the girlfriend because of the bezel pictures. I hadn't even noticed them!

First thing I do when I get a new Cave shmup is change the backgrounds to the least dodgy option there is.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,752 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Ugh, know what you meant. A weird exploitative sexism is certainly one of Japan's most unfortunate cultural eccentricities. I was playing my DS on the way home and this ****ing image went on for far longer than it needed to:

5394657506_ca311e0328.jpg

Got uber-paranoid about the total strangers sitting around me :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,731 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

Y'all need to stop thinking of what complete strangers think of your gaming.

Sure I put this on my sticks
    th_DSC00118.jpg th_Photo-0255.jpg

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,633 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Sitting in work, reading the Edge issue that featured DOA: Extreme Beach Volleyball was "uncomfortable" to put it mildly...
    girlissue.jpg

Who would have thunk EDGE could be so racy eh? I recorded another gameplay last night but rendering in Vegas the thing crashed when I left it overnight.

Bloody annoyed with it too as it's a super special recording. I spent some of last night getting my PlayStation to USB adapters to work. Finally I got my Namco PS1 arcade stick working on my laptop so I can ditch the EX2 I was using. The EX2 is very hit and miss in terms of compatibility with Steam and Doujin titles. Very annoying!

The Namco stick though works with everything as it doesn't require hat mapping. :)

Oh well, rendering it again tonight I guess!

Master of the Universe

K.O.Kiki wrote: »
    Y'all need to stop thinking of what complete strangers think of your gaming.

Some of us are lucky enough to have aquired girlfriends as well as copious amounts of videogames.

It's a tough balancing act :pac:

I suggest building a pantry and installing a dumbwaiter to summon them on demand. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,886 ✭✭✭Steve X2

Who would have thunk EDGE could be so racy eh? I recorded another gameplay last night but rendering in Vegas the thing crashed when I left it overnight.

Bloody annoyed with it too as it's a super special recording. I spent some of last night getting my PlayStation to USB adapters to work. Finally I got my Namco PS1 arcade stick working on my laptop so I can ditch the EX2 I was using. The EX2 is very hit and miss in terms of compatibility with Steam and Doujin titles. Very annoying!

The Namco stick though works with everything as it doesn't require hat mapping. :)

Oh well, rendering it again tonight I guess!

I started using Vegas pro 11 myself recently for a few things I'm working on. Must say I've found it very good.
    The only problem being its a bit limited in the output file format side of things(more compatible frame rates and audio than final file format to be more accurate). Apart from that its an excellent app and not as bloated as some its main competition.

I have that, after effects, premiere pro and avid running most of the time lately. I find Vegas quicker to render as well, which is nice.

Anyway, retro and such, shmups are good and that sort of thing.

Steve SI wrote: »
    I started using Vegas pro 11 myself recently for a few things I'm working on. Must say I've found it very good.
    The only problem being its a bit limited in the output file format side of things(more compatible frame rates and audio than final file format to be more accurate). Apart from that its an excellent app and not as bloated as some its main competition.

I have that, after effects, premiere pro and avid running most of the time lately. I find Vegas quicker to render as well, which is nice.

Anyway, retro and such, shmups are good and that sort of thing.

I have Vegas 10 (I think, whichever is the version before the latest one) and it's brilliant. I don't need Premiere or Avid etc. Too expensive, too complicated, I'm not Steven Cheeseburger I only make tedious SHMUP videos and unboxings. :pac:

I found some decent render settings so I cap at 60fps, lossless and encode to 720p (not 1080p, the difference on YouTube is minimal so it's not worth it after they essentially re-encode your upload). Saves bandwidth too.

It's the first time Vegas crashed on me though when I left it rendering overnight. It's a reasonably long video weighing in at around 15 mins, but I was on a good run and wanted to capture the whole thing to demo a magnificent game.

I'll re-render it tonight and see how it goes. :)

I have Vegas 10 (I think, whichever is the version before the latest one) and it's brilliant. I don't need Premiere or Avid etc. Too expensive, too complicated, I'm not Steven Cheeseburger I only make tedious SHMUP videos and unboxings. :pac:

I found some decent render settings so I cap at 60fps, lossless and encode to 720p (not 1080p, the difference on YouTube is minimal so it's not worth it after they essentially re-encode your upload). Saves bandwidth too.

It's the first time Vegas crashed on me though when I left it rendering overnight. It's a reasonably long video weighing in at around 15 mins, but I was on a good run and wanted to capture the whole thing to demo a magnificent game.

I'll re-render it tonight and see how it goes. :)

Are you colour grading it or adding some fancy effects that it takes that long to render? But I suppose that would be done in another app anyway.
    I use after effects for my colour grading and effects and then vegas for the final fix and mix. Don't really use avid that much any more(its a beast).

I just apply colour correction and adjust the levels a little. Nothing fancy. Indeed I used Avid suites many, many years ago as a media student. Avid suites were just as wild then as they are now.

Yeah, Avid looks really difficult to manage at first(and I suppose it is).
    I'm working on some 4k video at the moment(had a fully kitted RED One for 2 days last month and recorded some stuff on it just to test) and I find after effects and vegas handle it faster than avid does, much faster.

Just wish I could afford a RED One so I could use it as my main camera forever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

I suggest building a pantry and installing a dumbwaiter to summon them on demand. :D

Everytime the word pantry is mentioned, this pic shall appear Untitled-1232-2.jpg

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,752 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Shooting some RED One stuff at the moment. Epic camera, if not as epic as the Epic.

Still a hardcore FCP7 fan. Alas, Apple had to go and make it all accessible :(

Shooting some RED One stuff at the moment. Epic camera, if not as epic as the Epic.

Still a hardcore FCP7 fan. Alas, Apple had to go and make it all accessible :(

Cool, what lens you got on that baby. I just had the one lens (35mm RED Pro prime).

Would like to have tried a few different types of lenses but thats all I had.

EnterNow wrote: »
    Everytime the word pantry is mentioned, this pic shall appear Untitled-1232-2.jpg

Quick and dirty edit.

Sorry o1s1n :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Steve SI wrote: »
    Quick and dirty edit.

Sorry o1s1n :o

He admitted to having a pantry, what did he expect like? :D

Nice work :D

EnterNow wrote: »
    He admitted to having a pantry, what did he expect like? :D

Nice work :D

I'd have spent more than 5 mins on it and done something very cool, but that would have been a little too stalkerish.

Master of the Universe

Haha! I think you've found the intro to your new film anyway.

Cool, what lens you got on that baby. I just had the one lens (35mm RED Pro prime).

Would like to have tried a few different types of lenses but thats all I had.

We have access to quite a few lenses - 18mm up to 300! Was just a workshop today but we're shooting a short next week in the build up to a full feature in March.

You must work in media or something like that then?
    I'd love to be able to get access to a camera like that more often.

It was nice to have it for a couple of days but I had to watch it like a hawk in my house and when out and about. Pricey thing as you know.

Here is the video I wanted to upload. A little game play from one of my favourite shooting games. Only took an evening to edit and 5hrs 35mins to upload!

Cool vid, the game looks like its worth a go.

The only constructive criticism I have is that your pink bullets lead in/intro tune is a few decibels to loud I think(just my personal opinion of course).

Thanks, yep I will tweak it for my next video. No way am I redoing it haha! :)

Now for an urgent news bulletin! SHOOTING GAMESIDE VOLUME 4 COVER ART IS ONLINE!

4896373847.01._SX296_SCLZZZZZZZ_V140627974_.jpg

Never expected Tiger Heli for the cover! Also check it out, Satazius (buy it on Steam, it's an AWESOME Darius clone) and, RefRain made the cover!

Wonder if my interview got a mention somewhere in the pages of incomprehensible kanji?

I have a subscription of sorts to Shooting Gameside now so no worries about missing a copy. Vol. 4 is out 3rd February. :)

Talking of Shooting Gameside, looks like Yamamoto-san likes my Darius Laserdisc. :D

https://twitter.com/#!/GAMESIDE/status/159182685921738753

edit: 900th post in this thread. Blimey o' cupcakes! :eek: