Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Heard of a Gardas security concerns for the British queens visit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

KeithAFC wrote: »
    The Royal family have come over to Northern Ireland plenty of times and no riots at all. At least nothing that im aware about it. Northern Ireland is a different country though.

This is a visit to the ROI. So it is a bit different.

Rhetorical question my man. If republicans see the whole island as one nation every visit should surely get the same amount of protest.
    Another thing, Bottle of Smoke, you said pretty much every cop in the ROI is getting in on this, isn't that just making it easier for dissidents to plant a bomb and blow up something?

They haven't targeted the ROI previously. I don't see why they would. Perhaps be easier for them to rob a bank or something though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭steve9859

Ok, there is no conflict. Everyone is perfectly happy that this country is partitioned, sure.

So you don't think the 30m + being spent on the visit is pointless, and god knows what else considering damage is to be expected after riots?

Protesting this visit is legitimate and valid.

The 30m is well spent. And any damage to property and irelands reputation is the fault of the rioters, not the Queen, and they should be punished accordingly. Protest peacefully sure, that's your right. But she won't see any of it. The powers that be will keep her well away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭overshoot

lugha wrote: »
    No. No there isn't.

What is utterly pointless is the protests, given that the queen has visited this country many times before.

there is a conflict, ask ronan kerr's parents, the officer in derry who had a gernade (dud fortunately) land at his feet last night (and the 2 kids beside him). its not a major/wanted conflict but it is one none the less and if these people are willing to kill police/army people are deluded to think that they will not have a shot at the queen-whose visit they have publically condemned. (and as i write this i have started fearing for the guards as they have said they are willing to kill anyone they see as colluders.)
    & she has not been on republic soil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭creative100

gigino wrote: »
    if you are a traitor who wants to cost the country millions in extra security costs, and if you want to damage tourism to Ireland.

Lol. Are you having a laugh?

I'm protesting. It wasn't my decision for the state to spend so much money, so we don't get a say in it.

I can think of several ways that money could be spent to increase tourism, not blowing it on this mess that is some old monarch coming over.

So wake up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

God save the Queen.:D

She ain't no human being

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Rhetorical question my man. If republicans see the whole island as one nation every visit should surely get the same amount of protest.

They haven't targeted the ROI previously. I don't see why they would. Perhaps be easier for them to rob a bank or something though.

Yes they have. They've left four bombs around Meath and Kildare in the past few weeks. Don't you read the papers? The current group calling itself the RIRA have no cause or support and have no qualms harming innocents of any religion or nationality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

lol, imagine they did rob a bank. The police chasing the dissidents live on TV. :pac:

There'll be trouble for sure.

Scummers don't need much of an excuse to cause trouble, and if there's one thing we have plenty of in this country, it's scummers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭Derfil

She'll come over and have a great time. The republican and loyalist **** wont get within an asses roar of spoiling anything.

She'll go home after a very successful visit and Paddy will be the bees knees in the UK.

There'll be trouble for sure.

Scummers don't need much of an excuse to cause trouble, and if there's one thing we have plenty of in this country, it's scummers.

ssssh...there's 1 above you :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

If anything, the only reason to be against this is that we can lose more than we can gain!
    If everything goes peacefully, it'll probably boost our reputation (or most likely keep it the same level) and get us a tourist or two.
    but, if it goes pear shaped, then we're just gona damage our reputation immeasurably, and we probably wont be able to travel to the UK with such ease anymore, and it'll kick off a whole rake of stuff up north!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Haven't payed a bit of attention to this at all until now. When is she coming and where is she visiting? What streets etc. Might make for some interesting photo ops if you know what I mean. Not that I support senseless violence or take part in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

overshoot wrote: »
    there is a conflict …
    There isn’t any real conflict between the two traditions in Ireland. Considerable mistrust and disrespect but not conflict. A small cabal of fascists with no authority from the people purporting to fight a war on their behalf does not a conflict make.
    overshoot wrote: »
    she has not been on republic soil.
    But if you are a “republican” there is no great distinction between North and South.

Seanbeag1 wrote: »
    Yes they have. They've left four bombs around Meath and Kildare in the past few weeks. Don't you read the papers? The current group calling itself the RIRA have no cause or support and have no qualms harming innocents of any religion or nationality.

I think it was clear I meant attacks on the state like they do in the north. What were those bombs - pipebombs targeting drug dealers? Were they even confirmed to be republicans?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

The silent majority are the people who are ok with it / dont really care that she's coming (as long as it doesn't disrupt their lives but fear the trouble it might bring ) will be glad when it's all over

Protesting is one thing but the Anarchists amoung them dont need much pursuasion to cause trouble ( look at London riots ) just for the sake of it .

I'm protesting.

Fair enough. I think that we can all agree that everyone has a right to peaceful protest if they don't agree with something.

But the minute you or any other such protester even begins to step out of line and cause trouble, I hope the Gardaí come down on top of ye like a ton of bricks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

CommuterIE wrote: »
    IMO The Queen won't reach the garden of rememberance...

Security concerns will probably have her flown home...

I think they should stop the visit. Not because I disagree with the visit, but I have bad vibes about it

Give in and let a bunch of scumbags knackers looking to cause trouble dictate what goes on? Beat th eliving snot out of them the second they step out of line is a much more favourable scenario. Beat the scumbag out of them or let them die while the Gards are trying.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

It's the bus loads coming down from the North that will be the worry.

Any truth in that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭overshoot

lugha wrote: »
    There isn’t any real conflict between the two traditions in Ireland. Considerable mistrust and disrespect but not conflict. A small cabal of fascists with no authority from the people purporting to fight a war on their behalf does not a conflict make.

But if you are a “republican” there is no great distinction between North and South.

a conflict does not have to be the size of a war, it only means to fight. 2 and up make that, so the few facists are enough. i never said it was a conflict between 2 traditions
    in the case of the queens visit there is, the north is part of the uk and there is nothing we can do to stop her moving about her own country (like it or not).
    to be honest i am not opposed to the visit, not happy either but partition was voted for and until a majority in the north say otherwise not much can be done about it in a democratic world

Threads like this one and the other seven hundred and sixty to come before the vist will be moniterd by security to .That is all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

TheZohan wrote: »
    Your posts are idiotic and you are just a troll. AH doesn't need this sectarian bullshìt for you.

I'm no fan of KeithAFC's undying love to the loyalist cause, but where in his post did he mention anything sectarian?:confused:

Keith's post:
    The Royal family have come over to Northern Ireland plenty of times and no riots at all. At least nothing that im aware about it. Northern Ireland is a different country though.

This is a visit to the ROI. So it is a bit different

...where's the sectarianism in that post?

I'm no fan of KeithAFC's undying love to the loyalist cause, but where in his post did he mention anything sectarian?:confused:

...where's the sectarianism in that post?

His sig is sectarian, the OO are an openly sectarian organisation

Any truth in that?

Yeah definitely. Groups have been having mini-protests about this for years. I live near Bertie's office when he was taoiseach and some group were protesting there about 3 years ago at the mere mention of a visit.

Eirigi seem to be the most organised and they have members north and south. I don't know the exact breakdown but I wouldn't be surprised if there ended up being as many protestors from the north as from the south.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

Crosáidí wrote: »

I thought they just loved oranges :confused:
    That I can get behind

Crosáidí wrote: »

Its a (old) UVF sig not OO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Prop Joe

I have recently started a business in London since everything went t1ts up here,It does Ok employs 3 Irish guys and 1 English.I commute back and forth every week.I'm very worried about the queen's visit,I originally objected to it,but since it is happing it has my blessing.It WILL make things harder on the ever increasing Irish population in england,It will make travel harder in and out of the UK,If anything should be attempted.Just a few peaceful protest should suffice

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

steve9859 wrote: »
    I really don't see much happening during the Queens visit. There'll be no focal point for riots like the Love Ulster parade. All the visits are behind closed doors, right. And if any group tries to organize something themselves somewhere I would like to think that Garda intelligence would know about it. They have effectively taken 150 potential ringleaders off the streets already by keeing them under heavy surveillance

This.

If she was heading over for an afternoon then there would be trouble, but because it's for a few days that limits the potential significantly.

Day 1: Few people standing around at the airport, nobody else could be bothered to get on the bus to the airport as they plan on going out to protest tomorrow.
    Day 2: Anyone that was protesting the day before and caused trouble is locked up the opposite end of the country for the day. Everyone else is all a bit hungover after discussing the outrage of Queeny being on Irish soil whilst they were down the pub last night.
    Day 3: Most people have forgotten that she's in Ireland until they see a clip of her wandering around an old building on the 6one news.
    Day 4: Few people remember she's over and decide now's the time to make their stand. Don't actually get out of bed in time and she's already left by the time they make it into town with their placards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

CommuterIE wrote: »
    That's your opinion, but you need to understand that a lot of people in the Republic and indeed the North see a massive injustice in the status quo... I don't want to insult your intelligence, but you are seriously naive if you believe what you say about no legit reason

I think most people would agree with Keith on this. There may be a legit reason to protest, but not to riot.

Prop Joe wrote: »
    I have recently started a business in London since everything went t1ts up here,It does Ok employs 3 Irish guys and 1 English.I commute back and forth every week.I'm very worried about the queen's visit,I originally objected to it,but since it is happing it has my blessing.It WILL make things harder on the ever increasing Irish population in england,It will make travel harder in and out of the UK,If anything should be attempted.Just a few peaceful protest should suffice

Unfortunately any worries the Irish popualtion in England might have about this visit will be bottom of the agenda , at least as far as any touble makers on the day are concerned .But many ordinary Irish people in Ireland will be as much concerned .

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

What date is she actually coming?

If she or the idiots who have a problem with her make me miss my exams i'll be pissed!

Just thinking about it, we know peaceful protests will happen (should be happen anyway) but what about a peaceful protest against the rioters? We know they will come out, going by what some have said on here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

Unfortunately, I'd say there will be plenty of skangbags out looking to cause trouble. Given the caliber of some of the degenerates that showed up for the Love Ulster parade, I reckon they will be out again.

I regularly work with British people and would be highly embarressed if they manage to make a show of us again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Sigh... I'd put money on it a bunch of twats are going to turn this into a disastrous event... :(
    KeithAFC wrote: »
    I can see a huge riot to be honest. Will be a few loyalists down too. ;) lol
    Pardon?
    I'm a little baffled at the fact that users here are willingly unaware of the fact that there is an ongoing conflict in this country
    I doubt you are.

Dudess wrote: »
    Sigh... I'd put money on it a bunch of twats are going to turn this into a disastrous event... :(

Pardon?

I doubt you are.
    Banter. I don't think any loyalists will go down to this now. Im thinking of not going now as it could be a huge riot. Bigger than i thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Ok, there is no conflict. Everyone is perfectly happy that this country is partitioned, sure.

So you don't think the 30m + being spent on the visit is pointless, and god knows what else considering damage is to be expected after riots?

Protesting this visit is legitimate and valid.

Yes lets protest about the cost of cleaning up after our protest.

What date is she actually coming?

If she or the idiots who have a problem with her make me miss my exams i'll be pissed!

She's coming for a few days. Her first day is either May 16th or May 17th I believe.

I'll be a few 100 metres away from her at one stage for about an hour or so, so I do hope there's no trouble and that the Gardai quickly squash any attempt at trouble making.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

We already have a thread about this. We do not, i repeat, do not need/want another one.