Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'Best' housing estate to live near UL?

• 12-05-2011 10:48pm
    Registered Users Posts: 23

Hi there,

I'm a mature student moving to Limerick in September and looking to do some advance research in terms of a nice place to live near the university. From you experience, what are the nice estates and what ones are to be avoided at all costs?!

The important considerations for me would be:

-Close to the college (less than 30min walk - ideally c.20 min)
    -Well insulated - naturally warm ie. not damp!!
    -2-3 bedrooms (ie. not a 5 bed 'student house/joint')
    -Gas cooker (I like to cook with gas:-) hehe
    -Quite area (how did I forget that?!) ie. not Plassey etc.

And that's it.. thank you so much for any advice in advance.. very much appreciated :-) Have a wonderful day/week/summer :-D

Ruairi

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Cooking with gas is probably the most difficult one to track down.

If looking for something naturally warm you want to AVOID the following areas:
    Elm Park
    Milford Grange
    Oaklawns
    College Court
    Briarfield

Some are colder than others, but none are particularly well insulated. Within 20 mins walk you have:
    Curragh Birín
    Brú na Gruadán
    Woodhaven
    Monaleen

If you give a price range it would be easier to advise.

• Registered Users Posts: 23 phnompenh72

Hi Ninty9er,

Thanks for the info! Ammm.. I guess my price range would be €240-280 per month.. silly me.. forgot the 'other' most important thing! :-S

R.