Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What age to start sports/music etc.?

• 13-05-2011 3:39pm
    Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,471 Mod ✭✭✭✭

At what age do you sign your kids up for extra-curricular activities like sports and music? My son is about to turn 4 and I'm wondering if it would be a good time to introduce him to some regular activities outside of the house and school. I'd like to find something that's fun and stimulating without being competitive.

I'm just not sure what he'd like or if he has any idea himself so if there was some way of letting him try out a load of things and see if anything takes his interest...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

At what age do you sign your kids up for extra-curricular activities like sports and music? My son is about to turn 4 and I'm wondering if it would be a good time to introduce him to some regular activities outside of the house and school. I'd like to find something that's fun and stimulating without being competitive.

I'm just not sure what he'd like or if he has any idea himself so if there was some way of letting him try out a load of things and see if anything takes his interest...

It depends on where you are and what you want to do.

In Ireland its near impossible to start sports before five.

I started music at 4 in the US.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

You can do ballet up the road from me at aged three - my lady is all ready for it.

Maybe your fella is a budding Billy Elliot? ;)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,471 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

What kind of music was it? Playing an instrument or general introduction to music? I think it would be gret if there was some sort of try-an-instrument-a-week option.

Otherwise, parkour seems perfect for three-four year olds :D

What kind of music was it? Playing an instrument or general introduction to music? I think it would be gret if there was some sort of try-an-instrument-a-week option.

I did violin, but would have preferred cello. The only reason I didnt pick cello was I thought carrying a violin would be more practical. Such is the reasoning of a four year old, but I was drawn to the strings. Its important imo, that the child has an inclination towards what s/he picks.

Instead of trying and instrument a week, maybe expose your little one to different sounds and different rythyms and tonalities and see what he is drawn to. And then rent him an instrument. Make sure its decent quality because if its crap it could make it too hard and he could give up easily. I tested a child's violin for example and it took way way too much strength to get a sound out of it even for an adult, let a lone a child, the child would just get frustrated or feel like he failed.

There are generalised music and rythm kinds of group things you can get them into, but by this age, imo they are ready for getting things started with an instrument. Plus you can do the basic rythm and getting them to like and listen to music at home. If this is something you want to draw them into. You can do dancing and marching at home. Its important that it is fun first!

I think also dance is something you can start at this age, though not many options here in Ireland, except for Irish. IF you are in Dublin, ballet maybe.

They have a GAA club for the five and six year olds over here.

You are in France though, probably more stuff to do.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,953 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

It depends on the child.
    My girls are always around music and love it.
    We started gymboree music at 1 and she will start dancing or an instrument at 3.
    Some children do not have the attention span so young for an instrument so dancing or football might be better.
    littlekickers is good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

My two will be starting ballet when they are three, the first little lady already does a few moves a la Angelina Ballerina... She's really into music too so will probably try and get her into an instrument but will probably leave that until she is a bit older.

My brother teaches kick boxing so if they want to do that when they're older too then they can go to his classes.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

I started ballet at 3 and continued until I was 19. The Royal Academy of Dance link Pre-Primary and Primary programs focus on rhythm and musicality, there's lots of jumping and clapping exercises, as well as musical theatre aspects (distinct memory of me channelling a teddy bear through dance!). If they choose to progress, there's some distinction between boys' and girls' exercises. I'd definitely recommend it, as well as posture and fitness, it teaches discipline and is very engaging. And fun! Lots of fun!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭Cat Melodeon

We grew up with second-hand musical instruments lying about the house - lots of musical aunts and uncles and cousins. I only ever played the guitar and the whistle. My younger sister started keyboard lessons when she was 6, the next one down started playing herself when she was 3 and started lessons (skipping 2 grades) when she was 4. The old piano they used is in our house now and my nearly-2 year old has started bashing away on it while singing the songs from Teletubbies etc. It's very funny, he hasn't a clue what he's doing, but what's lovely is that he thinks he can make music and really pays attention when I play the same tunes for him (two-finger versions, I can't play) and has a go himself. He's certainly not ready for lessons yet (he still can't sit still for more than 5mins) but I reckon he'll start when he's around 4. I wouldn't push him into it if he wasn't ready, but the way he enjoys it now, I think he'll be into it then. Definitely having a few cheap instruments lying about can help cultivate an interest, especially if you try playing them yourself (even if badly) or sing along while you bash at them.

Sport is a bit harder - junior leagues don't generally start before 5/6, but there's always swimming classes or a gentle introduction to whatever sports are played by you/your partner/cousins etc. Some preschools also have sports clubs - there's a program called Buntus Start that has been rolled out in some counties - maybe enquire around to see if there are any local clubs offering preschool-aged sports. Athletics clubs often let in younger kids - running is fairly gentle on them.

I'm having a hard time finding anything affordable in the music area - 550 euros a year is the lowest I've found so far. Maybe I can find a student to teach him guitar.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,953 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

group lessons are cheapest.
    550 a year for how many lessons?

550 is the group rate (1 hour a week excluding holidays).

Get a student enrolled in a conservatory. Or a retired professor. I had private lessons from a retired music professor from Stanford who liked teaching but didnt need to make a living from it. Honestly it made all the difference, having a teacher who clicked with you. Because he was so much fun and I learned so much from him my parents never had to harrass me to practise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Wantobe

Friend of ours teaches piano and guitar and has told us ours are too young - they are 5/7. She said they could start on violin. It's about the size of the instrument and their hands according to her.

I think 6 is a good age to start most things- after the first year of school is over which in itself can be very tiring for kids. We have a lot of activities in the area and find it difficult to choose- also they all add up, money wise. In our area most classes are for school children, they are by semester- around 80-100 per semester.

I have found that they will be led by their friends into things and vice versa. Our eldest is into horseriding, swimming and drama. Horseriding was because I do it too. Swimming because her daddy sails and he wants both kids to swim like fish as next step is sailing. Drama because her friends are doing it. Next year she's dropping the drama ( she liked it but didn't love it) and wants to try violin.

Our five year old is only doing swimming. She's desperate to start the horse riding but she's just too young. Next year, maybe.

There are so many things, it is really hard to choose but somehow kids seem to naturally gravitate towards certain things.

I'd say 4 is a bit young to do too much anyway and when they start primary there is usually more on offer.

My little guy started on the horses at three. Once a week. He took a break for the winter. Too cold.

Our local equestrian centre said they have to be at least 5+1/2. Kids have bones in their bums that if you go horseriding too early it's bad for, I think. Girls can end up with enormous bums apparently!:P

Mind you, once a week on (probably) a very slow pony (if it's anything like when mine started)- don't think it could do much harm!

Its a half an hour. I had a nappy still on him last year for his lesson. Also to protect the family jewels. I dont know what I would do this year. He hasnt started up again though. Thanks for telling me that about the bones. Didnt know that, dont think the stable does either.

That's what I was told ( I'm not a doctor,so no idea if it's accurate!) - but also it's a question of them being physically big enough to mount, dismount, restrain the pony, carry the saddle and being able to follow direction and have enough of an attention span to learn etc. TBH I know loads of people who throw their kids up from 3 on at home, but only for a bit of craic, just them being in the environment is a learning experience for them.

My 5 year old is desperate to start, as I said, but she is also slight, so the equestrian centre said we'll have to wait and see even when she's 5+1/2. But she gets to go along with her sister and help with the ponies etc. So she loves that anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭liliq

I was on horses before I could walk, and had proper lessons from about age 3 for an hour a week... now i don't have the smallest bum, but I didn't end up with an enormous one!! :D
    I don't think there was anything too strenuous in the lessons until I hit about 5 though, so maybe there's something in it :)

My Dad is all excited that he'll be able to get my little fella doing TaeKwon- Do, and my fiance and brother are trying to figure out what age it's ok to start rugby...

I don't really care what extra curriculars there are, as long as there are some- I think it's a great way to make friends and socialise and learn things in different ways, and from any kids I know who do sports, it's brilliant for a bit of discipline and team playing... all good things for any age really :D

• Registered Users Posts: 13 Musicforall

Hi All,

New music school, The Cassidy Academy of music opening in Sandyford Dublin 18 Check out the wesite www.thecassidyacademy.ie for music classes for children from 3 months upwards!

• Registered Users Posts: 27,645 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Our boy started GAA at 4. No music yet.

We brought him horse-riding last year as his friend was mad into it but he took one look at the pony and decided there was no way he was getting up on it. In fairness, looking up at it from his height it did look fairly intimidating!

I had a chat with a few friends and one of the kids who's friends with my son is doing that music group thing and loving it, so I might see if I can afford that in September, although individual lessons with a conservatory student sounds like a good alternative.

I've no clue about the sports aspect though. I wish there was some baseball/rounders club for kids; I get the impression he'd love that.

• Registered Users Posts: 116 ✭✭Claire de Lune

Hi OP,

Depending where you are in France, you may be able to find some African dance/rythm class for young children.

It involves dancing, jumping around, banging on djembe, maracas or similar instrument.

It promotes rythm and coordination. I'd say it suits all active kids :p

And great for opening the mind to other cultures!

We brought him horse-riding last year as his friend was mad into it but he took one look at the pony and decided there was no way he was getting up on it. In fairness, looking up at it from his height it did look fairly intimidating!

I had a chat with a few friends and one of the kids who's friends with my son is doing that music group thing and loving it, so I might see if I can afford that in September, although individual lessons with a conservatory student sounds like a good alternative.

I've no clue about the sports aspect though. I wish there was some baseball/rounders club for kids; I get the impression he'd love that.

I dont know where you are in France, but when I was down in the South they seem to have every activity under the son for kids.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

If you live in Dublin, then kids can be introduced to the water and sailing from aged four upwards

http://www.inss.ie/Age_groups/Default.107.html

(no connection etc. but I've heard good things many, many times)

I dont know where you are in France, but when I was down in the South they seem to have every activity under the son for kids.

Everything except baseball/softball. I tried to join a club myself but they had folded after only a year. If I had time, I'd start one myself!

You could settle for cricket. Probably plenty of that around with so many Brits down there.

Unfortunately not. No Brits to speak of and nary a cricket club. All sorts of sports I never heard of though. Going fishing tomorrow - some call that a sport :)