Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If a tree falls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

cesc77 wrote: »
    Bloody photons changing their behaviour depending on an observer.Havent got a link now(Double slit experiment I think).Does this end the argument or just start it????!:confused:

What's a Double slit experiment?

I think I'd like to try that one out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

mtb_kng wrote: »
    Ah don't get too serious now, it is AH after all :D

Anyway, I meant the question, the grammar was sort of a side order :rolleyes:
    I'll have the shite thread please, and some bad grammar on the side. Heavy on the spelling. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭Griffen262

I think the OP should look back on that episode of QI where he got this question from, they clearly answer it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

mtb_kng wrote: »
    EDIT:
    The definitive answer is NO.

Technically, sound does not exist. All sound is is sensory receptors in your ear that perceive vibrations in the air surrounding us that our brain perceives as sound. Therefore, sound only exists if there is indeed some organism that can take that stimulus and turn it into a thought process that recognizes it as sound.

So if a tree falls in the woods and nobody is around to hear it, all that happens is vibrations run through the air. No sound actually emanates.

Not having it.

Sound is pressure passing through matter, so it happens whether it's perceived by ears/nerves or not. It exists outside how's experienced. The sensation might not occur in a human or animal, but it still has happened .. pressure waves passed through matter! How do we know? The OP told us.

Oh and I want €25,000 for mental trauma too :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭AhSureTisGrand

Never accept the premise of a question.

So if you were doing a maths test, and a question said, "let x=1", what would you do? Write "NO" all over the page?
    Is there a tree? Does it fall? Is there nobody/ no thing there to hear it (note not observe it)? There's lots of ways to put the question.

Is your car blue?

DFD.

Whether the feckin thing exists or not is beside the point. The question is "if it exists (or falls, or does a backflip etc.), then does it exist (or fall, do a backflip etc.)?" Possibly the dumbest question ever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭cesc77

We're getting a wee bit deep here lads.

A sharp poke in your own eye reminds you that you err...are likely alive.

Perception is reality.

We think we know what we know.

Bring on the holographic universe!

yeh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

The cat is dead, I checked the box.
    Dumb scientists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭DualFrontDiscs

So if you were doing a maths test, and a question said, "let x=1", what would you do? Write "NO" all over the page?

The world is not maths.

And if you were in a job and were asked 'When did you stop stealing from the company?' Simple example, etc....
    Whether the feckin thing exists or not is beside the point. The question is "if it exists (or falls, or does a backflip etc.), then does it exist (or fall, do a backflip etc.)?" Possibly the dumbest question ever

<snigger>

DFD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭AhSureTisGrand

And if you were in a job and were asked 'When did you stop stealing from the company?' Simple example, etc....
    DFD.

How can you compare that with a hypothetical question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

Ok forget the tree for a sec, I have a question. When looking into space through a telescope,scientists tell us when we look at a star we are seeing it as it was x amount of years ago ( if it's 1000000 light years away we're seeing as it was 1000000 years ago) so,if we had a telescope that could see 11 billion light years, would it be possible to view the big bang?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭DualFrontDiscs

How can you compare that with a hypothetical question?
    Sorry, I assumed that was a hypothetical question. Sorry :(

DFD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭take everything

Can someone move this to the stupidity forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Can someone move this to the stupidity forum.

If a thread is moved, does it really go anywhere, if nobody sees it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Fart Sandwich

If you catch a fart in a sandwich before anyone gets the chance to sniff it, does it smell?

I SAID, DOES IT SMELL???

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Here is a question for the women

If a man speaks in a forest and there isn't a woman to hear him, is he still wrong ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

dubtom wrote: »
    Ok forget the tree for a sec, I have a question. When looking into space through a telescope,scientists tell us when we look at a star we are seeing it as it was x amount of years ago ( if it's 1000000 light years away we're seeing as it was 1000000 years ago) so,if we had a telescope that could see 11 billion light years, would it be possible to view the big bang?:confused:
    Think they've already got one that can see a few hundred thousand years after the big bang. Ones being built, or maybe is built, that can take a snap shot which will be a tiny fraction of a second after the big bang.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭Contemplating Aristotle

Here is a question for the women

If a man speaks in a forest and there isn't a woman to hear him, is he still wrong ?

What do you mean by this?