Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***funDERLand***

• 14-05-2011 10:07am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭

Was walking around the docks this morning and looks like Perks will have a bit of competition this year. Lots of rides and stuff have landed in the place where the ocean race village/tanks were. Appears to have a slingshot bungee thing which might give a good view over town. Early days yet. Wouldn't like to have an apartment near it though. Oh i see advertiser beside me here... May 19th - 29th.
    Interesting pricing 5 hours unlimited rides for 19.95......5-10pm . i have a feeling it would be a long 5 hours though. Great for kids obviously 12.95

• Registered Users Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭stick-dan

any links to this?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭cfeeneyinterior

• Registered Users Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭paconnors

More info here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭Madame Razz

It's like a mini Funderland; seeing as it's run by Birds.

They have been in the business a long time and usually do things well so it should be promising(or as promising as amusements can be)

Looking forward to dragging himself there and reliving my youth:D

• Registered Users Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Hotwheels

Passed that way today, good for kids & big kids too...I was on a few of the roller coasters in Alton Towers a few years ago. Scared the bejesus out of me :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Great to see them fill that spot even if only for a few months.

• Registered Users Posts: 31,905 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Great to see them fill that spot even if only for a few months.

It's for 10 days!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

mars bar wrote: »
    It's for 10 days!

Well that won't be good. When is it opening? They might as well remove themselves straight away and the sun will come out again once its gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

mars bar wrote: »
    It's for 10 days!

Missed that part. Wonder would they make a profit.

• Registered Users Posts: 451 ✭✭Pure Sound

That area needs to be developed into a park or something, I don't think a funfair is the solution tbh, its a bit too tacky for the area. The one in Salthill is fine though as it suits the area along by the beach

• Registered Users Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

That area needs to be developed into a park or something
    It is privately held land. Not likely.

• Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭F.Galway

Good to see something going into the space!
    This was it yesterday evening, I'll get another pic of it in the morning.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Who puts a funfair next to a graveyard?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 7,404 Mod ✭✭✭✭pleasant Co.

what better way to celebrate someone's life than to head to the funfair afterwards :P

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

snubbleste wrote: »
    Who puts a funfair next to a graveyard?
    Best ghost train around.

• Registered Users Posts: 451 ✭✭Pure Sound

It is privately held land. Not likely.
    I know, doesn't it have something to do with Gerry Barrett, It was wishful thinking on my behalf though, its a perfect spot for a park and I think building something in that spot would overcrowd the area. I would actually prefer it to stay the way it is and be used as an area for events. I can only assume it will not be built on until at least after the Volvo Ocean Race Galway Part 2.

• Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭F.Galway

The wheel is up!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Humbug.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭Flojo

Noes... the day I leave Galway they put a bloody funfair in town! :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 371 ✭✭mikehunts

Has anyone been to it tonight, Good/Bad?

How much is a ride if you have no wristband?

Was it busy, did you have to wait long to get on one?

Cheers

• Registered Users Posts: 12,164 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

mikehunts wrote: »

Has anyone been to it tonight, Good/Bad?

How much is a ride if you have no wristband?

Was it busy, did you have to wait long to get on one?

Cheers
    jaysus what sort of riding are you doing that you need a wristband??? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 537 ✭✭✭xtradel

jaysus what sort of riding are you doing that you need a wristband??? :D

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-13454160

"The women wore red and yellow wrist bands. One lot were hostesses, the others would fulfil your every wish.
    "There were also women with white wrist bands. They were reserved for board members and the very best sales reps."

• Registered Users Posts: 12,164 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

xtradel wrote: »
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-13454160

"The women wore red and yellow wrist bands. One lot were hostesses, the others would fulfil your every wish.
    "There were also women with white wrist bands. They were reserved for board members and the very best sales reps."
    now thats a sales incentive.:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Went past there at 4pm, good few queuing to get in. Looks like a very good set-up and location that'll make them a few pound. Makes me wish I was 12 again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Me and Redhairedguy are going to hit the place tomorrow evening with some of the ever-awesome Canadians we met at the beers last Saturday. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭vulcan57

Just a few pics that I took last night.

BE0C16507F9C449DB4A420FA85291FD2-0000324460-0002342682-00800L-CDCE0E2450AB456282B340225F38575C.jpg

E99E840F39124B5BADDCE73B4D78F48F-0000324460-0002342681-00800L-C7A816153B10485CBC0B8D88167979ED.jpg

25971F54C8F2436E8D006868A31C1C29-0000324460-0002342675-00800L-CDC6A0D945AE4B1395C0A934632F89AA.jpg

57020B62B293429DAC2494E1A51FA050-0000324460-0002342667-00800L-75458E5D406242AF8097D208827B3519.jpg

6F70A67B25AC4573A5B6E462DD8F5F9C-0000324460-0002342678-00800L-82107EC9CA7C4289B6BAC75B6634B6A5.jpg

13B574F131474533BCAD46762142F0CE-0000324460-0002342674-00800L-8EBCD9DABDD443D5B9C45E6A3DA82AD4.jpg

D879AF8C89B946E1B902DCD3FA560FD4-0000324460-0002342669-00800L-E6E60DAD52E14924AB498DE21E72C094.jpg

BE0F23912736474BA9ACD265A1B82CD0-0000324460-0002342666-00800L-934A6427222449678F6BBE58FB05E869.jpg

0B0B7679334C490A8B34ED64A3F527F6-0000324460-0002342664-00800L-1F21C45374C74431A646579D6081F364.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Redhairedguy

vulcan57 wrote: »
    Just a few pics that I took last night.

E99E840F39124B5BADDCE73B4D78F48F-0000324460-0002342681-00800L-C7A816153B10485CBC0B8D88167979ED.jpg

25971F54C8F2436E8D006868A31C1C29-0000324460-0002342675-00800L-CDC6A0D945AE4B1395C0A934632F89AA.jpg

Hahaha... That's me there sitting on his own with the black hat in the first picture and without my hat and my hair down in the second.

Also, notice the guy in green morphsuit. That's a friend of mine. They gave him so much guff for wearing it around.

I actually saw ye there yesterday but was feeling way too queasy to go over and talk - it was just a bad idea going from the High Drop thing to the upside down thing to the spinning wall thing to do walzers.

Bleugh.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Redhairedguy

I actually saw ye there yesterday but was feeling way too queasy to go over and talk

Arra now... A bit of shouting across the fairground wouldn't have gone astray either.

Was up on the Ferris Wheel twice on Thursday night, really quite wonderful to see Galway from that height albeit not the greatest spot to be viewing from.

Arra now... A bit of shouting across the fairground wouldn't have gone astray either.

Was up on the Ferris Wheel twice on Thursday night, really quite wonderful to see Galway from that height albeit not the greatest spot to be viewing from.

I think it's safe to say that if I had opened my mouth, all that would've come out was vomit.