Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Armed British Police Being Deployed in Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭therewillbe

Are they Getting the Psni`s water cannons down?:mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭maxwell smart

Those cops from the UK will probably be packing Glocks.......and more importantly....Sterling! I reckon the retailers of Dublin won't mind that being 'deployed' on the streets.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Pineapple stu

caseyann wrote: »
    lol you are blaming SF on my comments :confused:

Im not blaming SF on your comments as your comments are your own but its the same type of garbage that comes from SF supporters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Are they Getting the Psni`s water cannons down?:mad::mad:
    They are down already, one is out the back of Pearse street station AFAIK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭feicim

meglome wrote: »
    So where does it show that she got her wealth off the murder and slavery of the Irish? I'm sure you'll be happy to show us those documents.

England is a well known former colonial power, its not exactly a secret England got much of its wealth from plundering other nations...

Do you really need documents to understand that basic (well known) fact?

If you want proof of the English to put it mildly let the Irish starve... ponder this -

Q: Why do you think food was being shipped out of Ireland during famine times?

A: To help to provide the necessary agricultural surplus to feed new urban dwellers who had moved from the rural areas to work in the new factories springing up around london, liverpool, manchester sheffield etc.

Im not blaming SF on your comments as your comments are your own but its the same type of garbage that comes from SF supporters.
    What a silly post...

No one mentioned SF at all. This has nothing to do with SF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

The op implied they would be strutting around willy nilly armed like they have some sort of jurisdiction in Ireland.

No he didn't and yes they do, they have the same jurisdiction as any other protection detail that visits with any other head of state.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Wolfe Tone wrote: »

If they are bringing that amount of stuff in,they are expecting a hell of alot of ****.
    Thinking about it sounds like what the RUC did up north to protesters,if they start spraying Irish civilians protesting with that will be chaos on streets.

Oh to the tool of control over the civilians,do what you are told slave :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

feicim wrote: »
    Are you surprised there is a bit of ire?

No but that dosnt make it justified
    Not everybody in the country (for right or for wrong) is happy with the queen coming, and the thought of armed english police, with presumably the rights/authorisation to shoot at Irish people as they see fit, is unnerving to some people (for reasons mentioned above).

I am not happy about her visit but its happening and this small detail is being blown out of all proportion thats all. I am not happy that she is going to be here cause i think she is a joke and the monarchy is the most ridicolous institution on the planet, right up there with scientology, the catholic church etc etc. I don't think the amount of disruption it will cause is warranted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Ah FFS. Please don't riot republicans. You will only embarrass your country. Just behave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭Knight990

With the Queen being seen as a target for groups like Al-Qaeda, and the massive amount danger coming from that, having some British policemen there to help out for a few days doesn't strike me as a bad thing.

Remember, when the Queen goes, they go with her. They aren't staying. You'd swear they were staying by some of the ridiculous things people are saying on this thread.

The report about them getting rocket launchers is only reported in the times. You need to subscribe to read it so I don't know the exact story.

Even if true I don't believe they would use it on this visit. They would be a poor weapon of choice considering there will be Irish Defence Force and SAS snipers (which have much further range than RPGs) protecting the visit.

The breakingnews (which reports anything) article is suggesting the royal protection police will be "deployed" because of this supposed rocket launcher plot when the reality is that they would be there anyway.
    http://img10.imageshack.us/img10/7971/20110514110541.jpg

Courtesy of Biggins!
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=72209512&postcount=233

What a silly post...

No one mentioned SF at all. This has nothing to do with SF.

I didnt say that anyone did or that it has anything to do with SF. You can be assured that she is a SF supporter along with yourself and its the type of garbage that usually comes from SF supporters and its why i wouldnt vote for them.
    Are you telling me that SF wont be holding a protest against the visit?

I thought of all of this stuff all alone as that is my very own opinion since my teen years when i was old enough to see the truth for myself.
    So because i dont agree with you my opinions are garbage and SF opinions are garbage? I dont recall making accusations or judgements on your opinions in such a manner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

England is a well known former colonial power, its not exactly a secret England got much of its wealth from plundering other nations...

I suggest it got it's wealth from trade generally.
    Do you really need documents to understand that basic (well known) fact?

If you want proof of the English to put it mildly let the Irish starve... ponder this -

My feeling is they used food as a means of population control in Ireland. However we weren't talking about the English (or Anglo Irish) letting the Irish starve.
    Q: Why do you think food was being shipped out of Ireland during famine times?

People were greedy/ de facto population control.

I'm still failing to see how these long dead people and their actions has anything to do with the Queen visiting now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Jim236

They will but so what? Do people not have the right to protest?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭mgmt

I remember when Mary McAleese went on a skiing holiday in Switzerland, her Garda protection team (Special Detective Unit) had to be sent off to learn how to ski beforehand as they had to accompany her.

I didnt say that anyone did or that it has anything to do with SF. You can be assured that she is a SF supporter along with yourself and its the type of garbage that usually comes from SF supporters and its why i wouldnt vote for them.
    As far as I know SF are holding no protests in Dublin. The official line from Ogra was to send a nasty email to Eamon Gilmore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Jim236

As far as I know SF are holding no protests in Dublin. The official line from Ogra was to send a nasty email to Eamon Gilmore.

According to Cllr Chris O'Leary they will be.

Jim236 wrote: »
    According to Cllr Chris O'Leary they will be.
    Thats very interesting... Change of tack there the line for a good while(I've been out of the loop with studying) was that there would be no street protests.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭mgmt

What are the loonies over at irishrepublican.net planning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

CiaranC wrote: »
    Will they be deployed on the streets?

No, they won't "deploy" on the streets. They'll merely be doing the same job any other Close Protection detail would for any visiting head of state.
    No not the point,point is she lives off wealth she obtained from murder of Irish and slavery of Irish.
    And her monarchy represents all of that.
    They should not be allowed if true have armed police who are not Irish deployed on our streets.
    Beside her no problem.
    Still against her coming here and as a whole against monarchy.

So who will provide the Close Protection detail for the Queen then? Or should she just not have one?

Do you have the same problem with the countless CP details that have operated in this country before?
    Not everybody in the country (for right or for wrong) is happy with the queen coming, and the thought of armed english police, with presumably the rights/authorisation to shoot at Irish people as they see fit, is unnerving to some people (for reasons mentioned above).

They don't have the rights to shoot people "as they see fit".
    If they are bringing that amount of stuff in,they are expecting a hell of alot of ****.
    Thinking about it sounds like what the RUC did up north to protesters,if they start spraying Irish civilians protesting with that will be chaos on streets.

Oh to the tool of control over the civilians,do what you are told slave :D

Yes, members of AGS shall be doing their best impressions of the RUC for the week.

I thought of all of this stuff all alone as that is my very own opinion since my teen years when i was old enough to see the truth for myself.
    So because i dont agree with you my opinions are garbage and SF opinions are garbage? I dont recall making accusations or judgements on your opinions in such a manner.

Yep, its garbage. Did you read the post you replied to where it says that the comments you make are your own ? If you did then you would have wasted your time with half of that post.
    I havent given you anything to agree with :)
    I fear you have been brainwashed :)

Poccington wrote: »
    No, they won't "deploy" on the streets. They'll merely be doing the same job any other Close Protection detail would for any visiting head of state.

So who will provide the Close Protection detail for the Queen then? Or should she just not have one?

Do you have the same problem with the countless CP details that have operated in this country before?

Yes, members of AGS shall be doing their best impressions of the RUC for the week.
    Yes, members of AGS and the DF shall be doing their best impressions of the RUC for the week.

Out of interest what sort of training have you had (you are in the army arent you?) with regards to dealing with a riot?

Yep, its garbage. Did you read the post you replied to where it says that the comments you make are your own ? If you did then you would have wasted your time with half of that post.
    I havent given you anything to agree with :)
    I fear you have been brainwashed :)

No it is you who has been brainwashed.:( poor soul :(

sounds made up to me. arms plots always get huge coverage
    I've no doubt it is made up.

Jim236 wrote: »
    They will but so what? Do people not have the right to protest?

They do peacefully.

No it is you who has been brainwashed.:( poor soul :(

How ? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭makavelithedon

Thats years ago, i've grown a man,
    and i've weathered many a gale.
    This last long years been spent inside,
    a gloomy english jail.
    I've done my part i'll do it still,
    until the fight is won.
    When Irelands free she'll bless the men,
    who held the Fenian gun.

STAY IN YOUR OWN COUNTRY YOU ARE NOT WELCOME HERE.

Out of interest what sort of training have you had (you are in the army arent you?) with regards to dealing with a riot?

Contrary to what I'd imagine has been reported in the papers, as it usually is whenever there is major trouble expected, there's been no "The Queen is coming, get ready to bang heads" training going on.

Public Order training is one of the skillsets within the DF, which actually had to be used when we deployed Public Order Platoons during the riots in Kosovo. As such, it is part of the training which is conducted in Units throughout the DF during the year or as laid out in various Units training plans.

We're trained to deal with Public Order situations, however there has been no specific "Get ready for the Queen" Public Order training going on. It's merely a skillset that is trained on and kept up to date, much the same as marksmanship training, fieldcraft etc.

Thanks,I will bring my Shower gel!:D

Do you have the same problem with the countless details that have operated in this country before?

Close detail i already said i didnt have a problem with what part are you missing.
    Having British police or army on streets wandering around armed i do have an issue with.
    Its like going in circles :(

I would hope they wouldn't,since i am a avid supporter of our Gardaí and commend them for their duties policing our country.
    But alas why have they got them down in the first place?
    So let us say for example.Gun man in the crowd,starts shooting at Lizzy.What are they going to do?
    Shot back into the crowd and shoot those around them? Just hypothetical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭feicim

Originally Posted by feicim viewpost.gif

Right...

so if they see what they perceive to be a threat they can't shoot as they see fit? Is that what you are saying?

Riddle me this then: Under whose direction will they shoot then (if not their own)?

I've no doubt it is made up.
    By whom? To make Irish look bad again it would seem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭Begob

Most of the posters in this thread see this as it is.Normal.
    A few republicans are here telling us we should break with security protocol because this foreign head of state is the UK one.
    One of them is going on about camelot..or some such hundreds of years ago.
    The Spanish inquisitions next I s'pose??

Meanwhile,the planes are full of people going over to the UK every day,it's the bulk of irish airport business.
    Our president and Taoiseach is welcomed there.
    1.3 million viewers in the republic watched the royal wedding.
    I saw people,crowds in a shopping centre clapping as Kate got out of her car.

Move on people.
    Move on this is boring.

Most people I know are looking forward to this visit and hope it goes well.
    Shinners will never see that as they are stuck in the past.Move on.

Right...

so if they see what they perceive to be a threat they can't shoot as they see fit? Is that what you are saying?

Riddle me this then: Under whose direction will they shoot then (if not their own)?

Who cares! Find out later as they always did.

The article first appeared in the Irish Examiner on Saturday, May 14th

The visit of the Queen of England has been the subject of considerable political and media focus. However, the occasion of this visit merits a much fuller discussion about how Ireland and Britain, in the wake of the recent seismic political changes, can build a better, more beneficial relationship for the peoples of both our islands.

The clichés that this first ever visit to the state by a serving British monarch somehow indicates that Irish people “have matured” or “finally grown up” are deeply patronising and insulting. I have nothing against the Queen of England being the Queen of England. That is a matter for the people of England. But it is not the way I want Irish society to be organised.

I am a republican. I believe that the people are sovereign and not subjects. I am against monarchies.

I am also Irish. And while I am conscious of the sense of affinity which unionists have with the English monarch, I am offended at having to live in a partitioned Ireland with the Queen of England ruling over a part of us.

I believe the visit of the English Queen is troubling for many Irish citizens, particularly victims of British rule and those with legacy issues in this state and in the North. I am for a new relationship between the people of Ireland and between the people of Ireland and Britain based on equality and mutual respect.

I hope this visit will hasten that day but much will depend on what the British monarch says. As an Irish citizen who was detained without charge or trial a number of times on a British prison ship, in a prison camp and a H Block, as well as a more conventional prison, at ‘Her Majesty’s Pleasure’, I hope so.

So too will many of the families of victims in the conflict, including victims of British terrorism and collusion. This includes families of those killed in the Dublin Monaghan bombs whose anniversary takes place on the first day of the visit. British interference in Irish affairs has come at a huge cost to the Irish people. It has been marked by invasion, occupation, subjugation, famine and cycles of Irish resistance and British repression.

The impact of this, including partition and its consequences, are still being felt to this day. Irish republicans too have caused much hurt to people in Britain. I regret this.

The full normalisation of relationships between Ireland and Britain is important. This will require the ending of partition and the emergence of a New Ireland.

The Peace Process, which Sinn Féin has contributed significantly to, has transformed the political landscape in Ireland and resulted in a peaceful political dispensation based on an historic accord between Irish nationalism and unionism. The Good Friday Agreement is the foundation upon which new relationships between unionists and nationalists and between Ireland and Britain can be forged. It has fundamentally altered the political landscape, levelled the political playing field, removing the despicable Government of Ireland Act and opening up a peaceful, democratic route to a united Ireland.

And because nationalists and unionists are governing the north decisions affecting the lives of people there are being increasingly made in Ireland and not in Britain. Republicans want to continue and to accelerate this process.

The united Ireland that republicans seek to build encompasses all the people of this island, including unionists. It will be a pluralist, egalitarian society in which citizens rights are protected and in which everyone will be treated equally. Sinn Féin wants a New Republic. That of course is a matter for the people of this island to decide.

But no matter how we shape our society, the new Ireland must embrace our islands diversity in its fullest sense. This includes English and Scottish influences, the sense of Britishness felt by many unionists, as well as indigenous and traditional Irish culture and the cultures of people who have come to Ireland in recent times.

Ireland and England are not strangers to each other. We should build on what we have in common while at the same time respecting each other’s sovereignty and independence. I want to see a real and meaningfully new and better relationship between the peoples of Ireland and Britain — one built on equality and mutual respect. Republicans have been to the forefront in working to bring this about and we will continue to do so.

The visit by the Queen of England provides a unique opportunity for the British establishment to make it clear that this is its intention also. If this is the case it will be a matter of considerable pleasure, not just for her Majesty but for the rest of us as well.

There is Gerrys take...

Begob wrote: »
    A few republicans are here telling us we should break with security protocol because this foreign head of state is the UK one.

Meanwhile,the planes are full of people going over to the UK every day,it's the bulk of irish airport business.

Move on people.
    Move on this is boring.

Most people I know are looking forward to this visit and hope it goes well.
    Shinners will never see that as they are stuck in the past.Move on.
    There is my take.

Contrary to what I'd imagine has been reported in the papers, as it usually is whenever there is major trouble expected, there's been no "The Queen is coming, get ready to bang heads" training going on.

Public Order training is one of the skillsets within the DF, which actually had to be used when we deployed Public Order Platoons during the riots in Kosovo. As such, it is part of the training which is conducted in Units throughout the DF during the year or as laid out in various Units training plans.

We're trained to deal with Public Order situations, however there has been no specific "Get ready for the Queen" Public Order training going on. It's merely a skillset that is trained on and kept up to date, much the same as marksmanship training, fieldcraft etc.

In my opinion its stupid to use the army for public order things. Soldiers not police men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I don't see why people are having trouble understanding Republican anger here.

The last time we had a British police service on our streets, they murdered thousands of Irish civilians. Is it really that surprising that many of us don't ever want to see anyone wearing a British uniform patrolling our streets ever, ever again?

They most likely not shoot unless someone else produces a gun.
    They'd be highly trained and not stupid.
    They will be heavily liasing with the gardaí beside them many of whom will also be armed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,788 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Begob wrote: »

Not to mention that millions of people in the UK will vote for Jedward tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

This is a bit f*cking sinister altogether. Loyalist paramilitary leaders being invited to ceremony with the queen on the anniversary of the Dublin/Monaghan bombings

What were they thinking ffs.

http://eamonnmallie.com/2011/05/uda-brigadiers/

The last time we had a British police service on our streets, they murdered thousands of Irish civilians. Is it really that surprising that many of us don't ever want to see anyone wearing a British uniform patrolling our streets ever, ever again?
    Thats incorrect.
    Prince charles when he did a walkabout on grafton st [and was mobbed by well wishers incidently] had a similar armed security detail.
    I don't recall a shoot out.

This is a bit f*cking sinister altogether. Loyalist paramilitary leaders being invited to ceremony with the queen on the anniversary of the Dublin/Monaghan bombings

Thats just plain wrong.

In my opinion its stupid to use the army for public order things. Soldiers not police men.

Oh, I agree. I'd just like to point out that our Public Order training is aimed towards situations which will arise while serving Overseas, such as when we had to deploy troops to protect civilians during the Kosovo riots.

When it comes to back home in Ireland, public order is an AGS tasking.

They will be more likely in plain clothes.

Right...

Your post made it seem as if they could open fire whenever they want.

They have strict orders and ROE, not to mention the lads on that CP detail will be among the top 10% in their profession at what they do. For them to have to open fire, the situation would have to escalate very quickly.

If thats true then i agree its out of order and bad form.