Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Traffic and travel issues during the state visits [thread].

• 14-05-2011 4:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭

Lads, I seen someone post a list of the roads & streets affected by travel & parking restrictions during the visit of the queen and the US president - but I was drunk and now (sober) I can't find the damn thing.

Anyone got one that I can stickie for the duration?.

Edit - absolutely no sniping (pun :p ), political chat, or acting the sack in general - off topic replies will be deleted and posters banned.

• Registered Users Posts: 334 ✭✭F.R.

http://www.garda.ie/QueenDublinLatest.htm

Saturday 14 May 2011

From 06:00hrs tomorrow, Saturday 14 May 2011, on-street parking will be restricted on approx 30 streets in the City Centre. This will be followed by the installation of barriers along these routes in the city centre over the weekend and into Monday.
    North Quays
    South Quays
    Parkgate Street
    O’ Connell Street
    Parnell Square (All Sides)
    D’Olier Street
    Westmoreland Street
    College Street
    Grafton Street
    Nassau Street
    South Leinster Street
    Lincoln Place
    Westland Row
    Pearse Street
    Bridge Street
    High Street
    Cornmarket
    Thomas Street
    James’s Street
    Crane Street
    Bellevue
    Lord Edward Street
    Dame Street
    Conyngham Rd
    Rainsford Street
    Christchurch Place
    South Circular Road (Con Colbert rd – Conyngham Rd)
    Beresford Place
    Gardiner Street
    Mountjoy Square
    Fitzgibbon Street
    Russell Street
    Jones Rd
    Memorial Rd
    Castle Street
    Werburgh Street
    Ship Street
    Stephen St
    Guild Street
    Sherriff Street Upper
    Please note there will be no parking restrictions on Chesterfield Avenue until 6 p.m. on Sunday, 15 May 2011.

Monday 16 May 2011

Other than very localised restrictions close to sites being visited, there are no traffic restrictions planned for the city centre. The Phoenix Park will be open to through-traffic but no parking will be permitted within the Park. The Zoo will be open.

Tuesday 17 May 2011

Prior to 12 noon there will be no restrictions in Dublin for commuter traffic, other than on O’Connell Street and Parnell Square where there will be no vehicle access from 06:00am (pedestrian access permitted).

From 11:30am traffic management measures will be put in place on the N4/ M50 interchange (Lucan). Traffic travelling towards the city will be diverted North or South along the M50 Motorway to give them options to access the City Centre along the North or South City Routes.
    Access to Palmerstown Village and Ballyfermot is via Liffey Valley, Coldcut Road.
    Non-motorway traffic should divert either as above or at Woodies interchange along the Outer Ring Road.
    People should plan their journey along the motorway and identify which junction provides them with the best route to their final destination. Dublin City Council Orbital Route signage will assist.

M50 North
    Junction 6 (Blanchardstown) Access Cabra, Phibsboro, Nth Circular Rd
    Junction 5 (Finglas) Access Finglas, Glasnevin North
    Junction 4 (Ballymun) Access Ballymun, Glasnevin
    Junction 3 (M1) Access Santry, Whitehall, Drumcondra

M50 South
    Junction 9 (Red Cow) Access Ballyfermot, Kilmainham, Inchicore
    Junction 10 (Ballymount) Access Walkinstown, Kimmage
    Junction 11 (Tallaght) Access Templeogue, Terenure, Harolds Cross, Rathmines
    Junction 12 Access Rathfarnham, Terenure, Harolds Cross, Rathmines
    Junction 13 Access Dundrum, Milltown, Clonskeagh
    Junction 14 Access Goatstown, Mount Merrion

From 11:30 – 12:30hrs additional traffic volumes can be expected on the N7 (Dublin bound) and the M50 Motorway, as rolling road closures are put in place to facilitate the movement of the VIP.

From 12:00hrs additional traffic restrictions wil be rolled out over the course of Tuesday afternoon in Dublin City Centre. These will primarily impact on traffic travelling along and across the North and South Quays and through the Phoenix Park.

As of 17:00hrs on Tuesday there are no significant traffic restrictions planned for Dublin City Centre including the Phoenix Park.

Wednesday 18 May 2011

Up to 09:00hrs there are no planned traffic restrictions to commuter traffic in Dublin other than the following diversion:

From 08:00hrs traffic management measures will be put in place on the N4/ M50 interchange (Lucan). Traffic travelling towards the city will be diverted North or South along the M50 Motorway to give them options to access the City Centre from the North or South City Routes.
    Access to Palmerstown Village and Ballyfermot is via Liffey Valley, Coldcut Road.
    Non motorway traffic should divert either as above or at Woodies interchange along the Outer Ring Road.
    People should plan their journey along the motorway and identify which junction provides them with the best route to their final destination. Dublin City Council Orbital Route signage will assist.

M50 North
    Junction 6 (Blanchardstown) Access Cabra, Phibsboro, Nth Circular Rd
    Junction 5 (Finglas) Access Finglas, Glasnevin North
    Junction 4 (Ballymun) Access Ballymun, Glasnevin
    Junction 3 (M1) Access Santry, Whitehall, Drumcondra

M50 South
    Junction 9 (Red Cow) Access Ballyfermot, Kilmainham, Inchicore
    Junction 10 (Ballymount) Access Walkinstown, Kimmage
    Junction 11 (Tallaght) Access Templeogue, Terenure, Harolds Cross, Rathmines
    Junction 12 Access Rathfarnham, Terenure, Harolds Cross, Rathmines
    Junction 13 Access Dundrum, Milltown, Clonskeagh
    Junction 14 Access Goatstown, Mount Merrion

From 09:00hrs additional traffic restrictions wil be rolled out and continue over the course of Wednesday afternoon and evening in Dublin City Centre. These again will primarily impact on traffic travelling along and across the North and South Quays and in the Phoenix Park.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,219 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

http://www.garda.ie/QueenDublinLatest.htm
    has a list of streets affected by parking/traffic restrictions.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

I have a feeling driving around the city in a snowey winter will be easier than getting around over the next few days.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

Tell me about it... I work in James's Gate lower level... getting to work is gonna be a nightmare!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Just an update.

Passed through Fairview, Ballybough, Parnell street, Bolton street without delay at around eighth thirty this morning.

Parnell Sq. is closed.

Can we traffic and travel updates on this thread please?.

And can we keep this thread free of political chatter please, thanks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Finglas to town via glasnevin and dorset street was no problem..buses that normaly stop in parnel street now head down Gardiner st and terminate round the corner.

No shortcut through TCD via pearse st gate,its closed and ID cards must be produced.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

Degsy wrote: »

No shortcut through TCD via pearse st gate,its closed and ID cards must be produced.

Will re-open at about 17:30 tomorrow when the Queen Departs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

im heading over to visit my mother at the 5 lamps from terenure, will i have any problems getting the bus into town or would i be better walking?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,744 ✭✭✭✭LXFlyer

im heading over to visit my mother at the 5 lamps from terenure, will i have any problems getting the bus into town or would i be better walking?

There are no detours today other than Parnell Square East, Denmark Street and North Frederick Street being closed - in short you can use the bus today with little difficulty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

lxflyer wrote: »
    There are no detours today other than Parnell Square East, Denmark Street and North Frederick Street being closed - in short you can use the bus today with little difficulty.

thats great thanks, so i will be able to get off the 16/a in o connell street and walk down to sean mc dermott street to get to the 5 lamps?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

All weekend and for the rest of the week there is no pedestrian or vehicular access to Parnell Square North or North Frederick Street.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

i have to drive into town later on, going to grand canal theatre, usually drive up keys accross talbot bridge and up to pearse street. I think I will use the canal later instead. Anyone know if the garda are stopping everyone driving tonight?

Traffic Management Plan for Tuesday 17th May. Source: www.garda.ie @18:00

Tuesday 17th May 2011

Update on the Traffic Management Plan for the Dublin areas in respect of the 17th May 2011.

In addition to the current closures on Parnell Square From 0700hrs road closures will be implemented as follows:

O’Connell Street both Directions
    Remaining sides of Parnell Square

From 1200hrs -1700 road closures will be implemented as follows:

Westmoreland Street
    D’Olier Street
    College Street
    Nassau Street, South Leinster Street

From 11.30hrs – 1230hrs temporary Road Closures will be in place on the following routes:

Phoenix Park
    South Circular Road (Con Colbert Rd – Conyngham Rd)
    Conyngham Rd
    Infirmary Road
    Parkgate Street
    Chapelizod Village

From 11.45hrs– 12.15hrs Rolling Traffic Calming will be implemented on the following routes:

N7 (approaching Rathcoole)
    M50 (Northbound from junction 9)
    M50 (Southbound from junction 6)

(Rolling Traffic calming – Marked patrol cars will take up position on the roadway controlling traffic and reducing the speed of vehicles significantly below the speed limit.)

From 1200hrs – 1800hrs traffic diversion will be implemented in co-operation with An Garda Síochána by traffic management signs on the N4 Eastbound at Junction 7 on the M50 Motorway. ALL Eastbound (city) traffic on the N4 and ALL traffic, with the exception of Public Transport, intending to travel eastbound (city) from the M50 will be diverted North/ South along the M50 to access Dublin City North and South.

From 1430hrs – 1700hrs road closures will be put in place on the following routes and adjacent streets to facilitate the movement of the VIP escort.

Phoenix Park
    North Quays
    South Quays

From 1445hrs – 1630hrs Cross traffic on the North and South Quays will be restricted at various times.

Available Routes on North/ South Axes:

West City

R136, Outer Ring Rd (N81 Tallaght – N4 Lucan & M50 Northbound)
    M50 Motorway
    R121 (Clonsilla rd/ Westmanstown Rd/ Lucan)
    R112 Kylemore Rd (Naas Rd – Outer Ring Rd – N4)

East City

Pearse St, Tara St, Butt Bridge, Beresford Place, Gardiner Street/ Amiens St, Memorial Bridge, City Quay, Lombard St, Westland Row, Merrion Sq
    Sherriff St, Guild St, Samuel Beckett Bridge, Macken St
    East Wall Rd/ Dublin Port Tunnel, East Link Bridge, Sean Moore Rd, Beach Rd

Available Dublin Bus Routes:

Dublin Bus will operate along the following routes during this period:

Mountjoy Square (Hub), Gardiner St, Memorial Bridge, City Quay, Lombard St, Westland Row, Merrion Sq (Hub).

Cook Street (Hub)

Doyles Corner, Phibsboro Rd, Church St, Fr. Matthew Bridge, Bridge St, High St, Wine Tavern St,
    Clanbrassil St, Patrick St, Nicholas St, Wine Tavern St
    Con Colbert Rd, South Circular Rd, Mount Brown, James St, Thomas St, Cormarket, High St, Wine Tavern St.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭ronano

Lads if anyone can answer me this question be great help,i checked the resources but still unclear.

Thursday - Sunday of this week

Can you use the spire as a meeting point still?

ronano wrote: »
    Lads if anyone can answer me this question be great help,i checked the resources but still unclear.

Would imagine so, only restriction on that is if o'connell street may be potentially closed Saturday/Sunday if Obama decides to do his open air speech to the nation type thing there on Monday, the location hadnt been decided last i knew!

• Registered Users Posts: 84 ✭✭medicsie

ronano wrote: »

What happened to under the clock at Clearys?:D

• Registered Users Posts: 13,134 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Meant be getting a bus to galway on Wednesday at 12 pm from hueston with citylink. There site at moment says nothing leaving from there on Tuesday no mention of Wednesday yet. If there not running do think be ok to cancel without losing money ?? Dunno why they let people book tickets when they knew Wat they were doing this week.

Do you think by Wednesday morning might be able get the bus ?? Anyone else in a similar position ?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭NUTZZ

Does anyone know if there will be any diversions or disruptions going to the airport (M50) around 2pm tomorrow from the west? Any info appreciated!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭wolfric

sort of in line with the thread:
    http://www.dublinbus.ie/

Has a great big article smacked on the front page all about the changes

• Registered Users Posts: 369 ✭✭lewisdhead

I'm driving from Waterford today Tue 17th. I will hit Dublin around 7pm. Will I be able to drive in the Naas rd-Tyrconnel rd-Emmet Rd-Old Kilmainham-James St-Thomas St as I am going to a gig in Vicar St. I am not used to driving in Dublin.

Cheers,

Ed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭novarock

There might be some disruption and delay getting in to the city centre - just from the knock on effect of the road closures and security alerts. If you could even leave an hour earlier just to be safe, I would..

• Registered Users Posts: 369 ✭✭lewisdhead

novarock wrote: »
    There might be some disruption and delay getting in to the city centre - just from the knock on effect of the road closures and security alerts. If you could even leave an hour earlier just to be safe, I would..

Thanks for that . I will try hit the road earlier but with work it's tricky. But you think I will be able to use that route I mentioned, just expect delays???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

An hour and a half to get from James St to Tallaght this morning on Luas. Oh joy.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭Sundew

CiaranC wrote: »
    An hour and a half to get from James St to Tallaght this morning on Luas. Oh joy.
    Ya can thank the dopes who planted a hoax device on the luas line in Inchicore for that :rolleyes:

http://www.examiner.ie/breakingnews/ireland/defence-forces-declare-inchicore-device-a-hoax-505328.html

• Registered Users Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭cosmic

All weekend and for the rest of the week there is no pedestrian or vehicular access to Parnell Square North or North Frederick Street.

Hey FS, does this include local access? As in, are the businessess on this street closed? Basically, I want to go to Lovin Spoon on Nth Frederick St for my lunch but if it's closed I won't waste my time heading in that direction. Any info appreciated!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭Doogieboogie

Hey folks,
    I have to drive from Portlaoise to Blanchardstown this evening, what are the closures on the M50 like?
    Also, tomorrow, I have to go to Kildare Street, does anyone know if it'll be closed?
    Ta x

• Registered Users Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Well, big congratulations have to go out to AGS today... I thought they did a fantastic job with minimal disruptions - if it wasn't for the "devices" and the near riot on Dorset Street town was pretty good today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Kcboy

Im hoping to drive to Dublin on Thursday and planned on parking in the Red Cow park and ride. Should I expect it to be very busy because of the parking and traffic restrictions in town? Would I be better off leaving the car at home?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭ronano

medicsie wrote: »
    What happened to under the clock at Clearys?:D

lol can't do it's a business stuff meet at the spire set in stone! i asked garda but felt they were not entirely sure,going down everyday it seems! boo-urns

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

I need to head down Clonliffe Road to Distillery Road in about an hour to get something for college signed. Anyone aware of restricted access due to its proximity to Croke Park?