Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Any point visiting the capital for the Queen visit?

• 15-05-2011 1:36am

How do,

Just wondering what the general consensus is here on the Queen's visit from a photographical standpoint?

Not sure if I'll venture up myself. I know it sounds horrible, but part of me is hoping for a little trouble to kick up, to make for some exciting photography.

I was thinking though, if all goes according to plan, as a Joe Soap, I'd assume there won't be much chance for anything worthwhile in a photography capacity at all (though I am lead to believe there will be loads and loads of Gardaì hanging around. Could be a Guinness Record, but probably not gonna make for lovely imagery).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,702 ✭✭✭DaireQuinlan

To try and catch a few pics of the Windsors ? I'd say no point at all. As far as I know there aren't any public events planned and I'd say you have precisely zero chance of getting anywhere near any of the official events.
    As regards trouble I don't know whether anything will kick off, there'll be no public show so no real rally point for the randomers that just want to throw stuff and loot sneaker shops. There are a bunch of republican clowns who've announced they're going to stage a protest in the garden of rememberance from today, but the place is already locked down so good luck with that. I guess there'll be some sort of show of force ( usual fat middle aged men in too tight black jumpers and ridiculous sunglasses)there this afternoon and they might all then disperse.
    Only trouble I can foresee is increasingly angry crowds of working public trying to get to work of a morning, I'm not looking forward to next week and I don't even drive ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭kjt

I know it sounds horrible, but part of me is hoping for a little trouble to kick up, to make for some exciting photography.

:eek: ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Irish Fire

How do,

Just wondering what the general consensus is here on the Queen's visit from a photographical standpoint?

Not sure if I'll venture up myself. I know it sounds horrible, but part of me is hoping for a little trouble to kick up, to make for some exciting photography.

I was thinking though, if all goes according to plan, as a Joe Soap, I'd assume there won't be much chance for anything worthwhile in a photography capacity at all (though I am lead to believe there will be loads and loads of Gardaì hanging around. Could be a Guinness Record, but probably not gonna make for lovely imagery).

Not a hope...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,398 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Might be a good few days for photographing Gardaì

Was thinking that myself. I actually do have an interest in the Gardaì, so would like to get a few shots of them and their stuff, but I am gonna wait until tuesday evening and see if they have much gear on show. If it's just lads walking around I wouldn't be bothered my ass, but if the RSU Volvos and the PSNI water cannons and such are out and about, then I'd love to head up for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭mdebets

Was thinking that myself. I actually do have an interest in the Gardaì, so would like to get a few shots of them and their stuff, but I am gonna wait until tuesday evening and see if they have much gear on show. If it's just lads walking around I wouldn't be bothered my ass, but if the RSU Volvos and the PSNI water cannons and such are out and about, then I'd love to head up for that.
    Then you should go to the protest on Tuesday for the visit to the Garden of Remembrance or on Wednesday to Islandbridge or Dublin Castle in the evening.
    But if they are anything like today's protest, you will be disappointed.

mdebets wrote: »
    Then you should go to the protest on Tuesday for the visit to the Garden of Remembrance or on Wednesday to Islandbridge or Dublin Castle in the evening.
    But if they are anything like today's protest, you will be disappointed.

Have no idea where the Garden of Remembrance is, unfortunately.

I usually get a bus that drops me on O' Connell Street. From there I can find my way to a nearby Smyths/Toymaster and St. Stephen's Green Shopping Centre. Out from that, I'm completely lost in Dublin. :(

(I'm from Drogheda, by the way)

Well THAT's no excuse, if anything it'd be good reason to spend MORE time in Dublin.

Have no idea where the Garden of Remembrance is, unfortunately.

I usually get a bus that drops me on O' Connell Street. From there I can find my way to a nearby Smyths/Toymaster and St. Stephen's Green Shopping Centre. Out from that, I'm completely lost in Dublin. :(

Garden of Remembrance is on top of O'Connell Street on Parnell Square.
    The protest will most likely be on top of O'Connell street (if the Gards let them that far), as the rest is closed off at the moment.

Well THAT's no excuse, if anything it'd be good reason to spend MORE time in Dublin.

But why would I want to spend any time in Dublin. I only venture up if I've a reason to. :) (though I've always kinda wanted to get involved with the photowalks :o )

Though to further complicate things; the bus service I use, Matthews Coaches, posted this on Facebook;

"Parnell St is not accessible today due to traffic restrictions. We will be collecting and dropping passengers at DID Electric on Gardiner Street opposite Mountjoy Square."

I don't know where any of that is. :( If I go up, I shall need to arrive early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

It's Dublin, they have maps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭AnimalRights

There are a bunch of republican clowns who've announced they're going to stage a protest in the garden of rememberance from today, but the place is already locked down so good luck with that. I guess there'll be some sort of show of force ( usual fat middle aged men in too tight black jumpers and ridiculous sunglasses)there this afternoon and they might all then disperse.
    This is a Photography forum and not a place for you to spout ur Blueshirts crap.

I think you're letting your 'unofficial photographer to mary lou' title go to your head there a bit, AR ...

I don't brag about my politics here or should I say insult certain parties...
    I was voting for a certain party b4 you introduced us to ur family. :rolleyes:

On a non partisan post here is a few from todays protest, nothing much to report on and about 10 billion times more cops then protesters

C2FE0CB15BD74D38BCCAAB74A0D06F14-0000316428-0002320813-00800L-C7C78B05837D42AC958089CF3586B915.jpg

84A894311B8C4D6684E7780D5A3BC822-0000316428-0002320811-00800L-8FBB5693A1F443A3A68312B3D8885DC5.jpg

E7B576DE75294B49922E18BF8A268A04-0000316428-0002320810-00800L-1442B4610AE2486CADC00BD3996C07C2.jpg

C95AA88FB60A47169A458CEA1FA2340A-0000316428-0002320812-00800L-1D2CAEA60DCA46288828BD9E4968B857.jpg

Cheers for that AR.

Can i ask you, was there much in the way of Garda vehicles on the streets?

Well no not really.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,261 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

I don't know where any of that is. :( If I go up, I shall need to arrive early.
    walk up o'connell street. when you get to the parnell monument outside the ambassador cinema, you're on parnell street. AR's shots are taken from right beside the monument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Nisio

There are that many Gardaí around some of them must be scarecrows in hi-viz jackets

Pity they don't use a small percetage of these on a Saturday night in the Parnell end of O'Connell street...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭charybdis

"This post has been flagged as false dichotomy."

I should've known you'd end up here. :rolleyes:

Paul Clarke from UTV fame covering it
    AC06B5B202AF431885D94EF8BEB63E84-0000316428-0002321440-00640L-9213A98842E7453CA0666627A1D2E2E5.jpg

Inconvenience...bag searches on the Public
    F8040D69C3CD416FBA79B3F57A5950F0-0000316428-0002321443-00640L-1E043F2D716A40C5BE41B20F520F7D96.jpg

I should've known you'd end up here. :rolleyes:

I'm glad you're beginning to internalise the voice of reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,250 ✭✭✭pixbyjohn

charybdis wrote: »
    I'm glad you're beginning to internalise the voice of reason.

Why are you trolling ?

pixbyjohn wrote: »
    Why are you trolling ?

I am? How so?

It's not the first time you've stalked me.
    Look I'm Male.

It's not the first time you've stalked me.
    Look I'm Male.

If by "stalk" you mean "correct", and by "Male" you mean "prone to making logical fallacies".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Somewhat photography related...

How bad are the stop & searches, Janer? I've got 3 jobs in the city this week, all of them involving lights, tripods and too much gear, and they're all near the 'no parking' streets. I don't particularly want to take out all my gear in the middle of Thomas St.

Fajitas! wrote: »
    Somewhat photography related...

How bad are the stop & searches, Janer? I've got 3 jobs in the city this week, all of them involving lights, tripods and too much gear, and they're all near the 'no parking' streets. I don't particularly want to take out all my gear in the middle of Thomas St.

There were none that I could see on Sunday before and after the demonstration. Even people who were allowed up the closed Parnell Square (I presume people who live there) were not searched.
    But I think I saw 1 or 2 drivers being questioned around Parnell Square on Saturday evening (but that could also have been gards talking to friends).

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,261 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Fajitas! wrote: »
    I don't particularly want to take out all my gear in the middle of Thomas St.
    hey, at least you can then insist on a garda escort to the job...

Fajitas these were people going to the language school and were going slightly into the 'exclusion zone'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,393 ✭✭✭AnCatDubh

Keeping it photography related - the last visit by a British Monarch (George V) is on the RTE Archive;

Beautiful images too.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0516/georgev1911_gallery.html

Incidentally, damn good casting of Michael Gambon as George V in the Kings Speech

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,720 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

the country goes into lockdown for 5 days , for one woman ...

she should be presented to Fingers fingleton, Seanie Fitzpatcick and that clown Doherty from the AIB - the chosen few who gambled our independence away for personal greed

AnCatDubh wrote: »
    I love looking at old pictures, these are fantastic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 601 ✭✭✭RCNPhotos

Incredibly unemployed so I'll buzz in, see if anything kicks off and hopefully get some decent shots.

thebaz wrote: »
    the country goes into lockdown for 5 days , for one woman ...
    and PUSA too, don't forget.

Argh! It's all kicking off above, and here's me sitting at home with a load of dead batteries. Will charge them up and hop on a bus for tomorrow I suppose.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=72268252&postcount=50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭dazftw

Is she going be in Dublin again tomorrow?

Network with your people: https://www.builtinireland.ie/

No idea, but from my general skimming of the whole issue, i thought she was spending 4 days in Dublin :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,197 ✭✭✭kensutz

dazftw wrote: »
    Is she going be in Dublin again tomorrow?

Yeah Croke Park is on the agenda. Going to be a right PITA getting across Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭dazftw

I want to go up and take photos of any possible protests.. Was going to head up this morning but sure didn't think anything would kick off cause of all the Garda presence. Kicking myself a little bit now..

Network with your people: https://www.builtinireland.ie/

dazftw wrote: »
    I want to go up and take photos of any possible protests.. Was going to head up this morning but sure didn't think anything would kick off cause of all the Garda presence. Kicking myself a little bit now..

I know exactly how you feel.

I'm actually thinking of leaving it until tomorrow at this stage. I reckon there'll be too many tired protestors by this evening to care. Tomorrow both Gardaì and protestors be a bit more refreshed.

That said, there's also the possiblity that the Gardaì will toughen up and the crowd control guys may start appearing and such, essentially eliminating any possibilty of trouble.

Ah, decisions, decisions.

Actually, ya know what, I'm gonna leave it til wednesday.

http://www.eirigi.org/latest/latest160511_3.html

Just have to figure out where the feck the war memorial gardens are (or kilmainham jail). (wanders off to Google Earth)

No idea, but from my general skimming of the whole issue, i thought she was spending 4 days in Dublin :confused:
    http://www.broadsheet.ie/2011/05/17/maj-jay-jay-breaking-it-down/

Ah, could it be any more out of the way :(

the gardens are a short enough walk from heuston station.

Yeah, but I go up by bus, which usually leaves me on parnell street. Im clueless with Dublin. The bus can't stop on parnell street now though, and I can't get a train due to some bomb scares or something.

I'd rather a bus though, all the same. So I just have to figure out how to get to parnell street from wherever the new drop off point is with the bus, and then from there, to the memorial garden (which, from looking at google Earth, doesn't seem too close?).

I'm thinking of giving up on it to be honest. It's all looking like more hassle than it's worth, now, and I'm not even guaranteed to see a single baton charge :( :pac: .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,319 ✭✭✭sineadw

the gardens are a short enough walk from heuston station.

Kilmainham jail is even closer..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,319 ✭✭✭sineadw

Oops no.. war memorial, not remembrance. That's about the 5th time i've done that this week...