Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Any point visiting the capital for the Queen visit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭AnimalRights

I was at the Parnell st/Rotunda corner protest, not much action bar a few bits and pieces thrown at the cops in a 1 minute window.

I had a glass bottle smash right next to me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭mdebets

Was at the eirigi protest and nothing much happened (when I was there. Came too late for the violence). Just the usual shouting and a few bottles thrown. They even had their own security who were taking out some of the troublesome elements.

However it looks like the RSF protest saw more action I was walking up Dorset Street and it was blocked-off by riot police and I could hear some explosives going off (does the Gardai have stun grenades)

Few from the Parnell st/Sq protest

E50A9E4FDE234B86B884EB04743E3E9F-0000316428-0002323584-00800L-0E4406D5BB8649A8AA5762C8E3E19500.jpg

A00EA7C44491422382F13B5A0BE73C00-0000316428-0002323582-00800L-26397510F17C48EABDC567F47D48FC3E.jpg

B2C965E0222845C89659EE2319A8DA8F-0000316428-0002323581-00800L-5C34B614B09F4F0BA4F014D200518A09.jpg

5DFFFC2984964FD4B8FF7203CF27406C-0000316428-0002323577-00800L-8411920981044F3C9A68C513D75D1DEF.jpg

114F4C8CBC4547F7863AEBBD9876D0E3-0000316428-0002323574-00800L-9FE7A090BE094FB6A017D6477F338D4B.jpg

8B639CFC597A420BBBE69B340B2143A0-0000316428-0002323571-00800L-67EF20F5239C465B9D671A05647A8FAD.jpg

41E00E7425744AD2A7588D42175FFD71-0000316428-0002323570-00800L-900DA4727B4F49D39D053CF79E695C3E.jpg

D779210298174AA08C56B4DE38C23A0C-0000316428-0002323567-00800L-FC79B6319DBF41A7AE3887A836286AB8.jpg

8C50B77A47924D879E49E3CB8A602EE0-0000316428-0002323569-00800L-25F7D38F642B4D2CA629C0DFB85618D8.jpg

F70DB648E086415D82DDED35408939B9-0000316428-0002323568-00800L-EE0C29A2F7494136894520C87C3259C4.jpg

847664A1075B47B09047EB877C674E65-0000316428-0002323565-00800L-74EBC78BC2A841F0B969D07A089977E1.jpg

DA58B424FDBC45A6BAD003F9F041527D-0000316428-0002323563-00800L-E821229BA11D44478B353003344CDA0D.jpg

1819D2DC4AF64BC2AF3A430584FCCF2C-0000316428-0002323562-00800L-9AF19469EDA8463A8067588E71CE8BA3.jpg

3755BF9F512E495AB5B554EB471966A5-0000316428-0002323561-00800L-CF4062E358944B04A82EADCC4DF3D9CF.jpg

71BEA21F8DBA43EFB3C8F1AC7EE2ADE4-0000316428-0002323560-00800L-F044D19785AF4E639D15427F0BB093C6.jpg

6D59C679B1D64E94829CA7B74F722198-0000316428-0002323559-00800L-9F4B73F27D8C450EA01E89B1DBBA50A8.jpg

C77B5E2CBD564245BEDBB545AB8B431A-0000316428-0002323557-00800L-369E8288666B4E83A77EB5786FC29123.jpg

and perhaps my favourite
    41CFF41E2F9D405BAA2581639FEC3EA7-0000316428-0002323632-01024L-4C329DDDB8E84E0AB30FFD2F08E6098A.jpg

Full album here
    http://pix.ie/punkrock/album/410291

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,702 ✭✭✭DaireQuinlan

I see you caught the gentleman in the celtic t-shirt waving his 'britain out of ireland' placard. Bunch of premiership jerseys also in evidence as well apparently. Bless :rolleyes:

Bunch of premiership jerseys also in evidence as well apparently. Bless :rolleyes:
    I was born to an Irish mother in Hackney, London and am an avid Arsenal fan, I'm also a Republican.

Or as the old Republican slogan used to go...
    Tourists yes, Troops no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,702 ✭✭✭DaireQuinlan

Tourists yes, Troops no.

Or visiting heads of state apparently.

• Registered Users Posts: 279 ✭✭IamBlip

AR you sure this wasn't the Dublin Zombie Walk.

I think tomorrow garden thingy has been called off, in favour of a march to dublin castle?

http://www.eirigi.org/latest/latest050511_2.html

Might go to that. Seems a bit more manageable a location.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,261 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

I was born to an Irish mother in Hackney, London and am an avid Arsenal fan, I'm also a Republican.

Tourists yes, Troops no.
    still, you might reasonably expect to see more bohs/rovers/etc. jerseys...

the photo of the chap with his face half hidden by the flag is the best of that lot. the first one - the 'mind where you're going' look from the cop is great too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

Jaysus, not a looker in the bunch :(

I think tomorrow garden thingy has been called off, in favour of a march to dublin castle?

http://www.eirigi.org/latest/latest050511_2.html

Might go to that. Seems a bit more manageable a location.

I don't think so. The march to Dublin Castle was always on the agenda. That's in the evening.
    The War Memorial garden is earlier (don't know the exact time).
    There are also 2 marches in the evening as far as I know, one by eirigi and one by RSF, which as far as I know assembles near St. Patrick's Cathedral.

• Registered Users Posts: 309 ✭✭aidan18

D61CB333561F41B1A9BAD7AD7EC6D555-0000316550-0002323865-00800L-4FA23F7436E74EFEA34C4CE05691D4A9.jpg

D48246E271BD47BBA7176C52447DD75B-0000316550-0002323864-00800L-62AF17396B8F43718F9D1931F709673F.jpg

DEB528791B3247E5B2B97B699916EE42-0000316550-0002323860-00800L-0EC55270F8E040F883F8696F1C639F14.jpg

C2DF5FBE3F2A401BACA2065681A6D3B1-0000316550-0002323858-00800L-FF215586F7CC429D973335B79E949BD4.jpg

647D53D3E814471498D73A592E4C677A-0000316550-0002323853-00800L-2B22C2D0EF6541D18DD89F0808EAD363.jpg

Here a few from Parnell Street protest today

5731577294_c0e68b5275.jpg

5731027745_e8ce84375d.jpg

5731575234_3451343f51.jpg

5731574816_8dcc0d03ec.jpg

5731025921_9fac459eff.jpg

5731025057_90f3c4585c.jpg

5731573322_00953cc65f.jpg

5731023285_21251666db.jpg

And a few from Dorset Street

5731442244_7591565096.jpg

5731441824_c6bc3ec4a6.jpg

5731440286_4935dec5e5.jpg

5731439646_f63454e146.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭dazftw

Anyone know what time the earlier march is on at? I'm going to come up and see if I can get some photos.

I don't really want to wait around until 6.30pm but I will.

Network with your people: https://www.builtinireland.ie/

Are you travelling from Waterford?! :eek:

Ah yeah drive up and park in at the red cow place and get the luas in. I was planning on going to Gunn's anyway to pick up some supplies so why not :p

Fair play to you. I'm next door to Dublin and I wouldn't bother cause it's such a hassle. Hope it all turns out well for you. Wear a hat (incase things start getting thrown).

dazftw wrote: »
    Anyone know what time the earlier march is on at? I'm going to come up and see if I can get some photos.

I don't really want to wait around until 6.30pm but I will.

According to Indymedia assembly is at Summerhill Parade and Portland Row at 12 noon for the Croke park visit.

Don't know when they meet for the War Memorial Park.

Not 100% sure, but Memorial protest starts at 5:30pm at Kilmainham Prison I believe. Then from there to the memorial wreath laying.

Èirìgì.org has the info.

Sure if I get a few shots ill be happy..

Not 100% sure, but Memorial protest starts at 5:30pm at Kilmainham Prison I believe. Then from there to the memorial wreath laying.

Èirìgì.org has the info.
    No, 5:30 is the time for the late big demonstration.
    Kilmainham is at 12:00, but I'm not sure where that leaves the Croke Park demo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

I see you caught the gentleman in the celtic t-shirt waving his 'britain out of ireland' placard.

Ah, lay off the poor fella, doesn't have much to shout about lately! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 184 ✭✭goods

IamBlip wrote: »
    AR you sure this wasn't the Dublin Zombie Walk.

They all have a certain "look" about them alright !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭xshayx

Anyone know of protests for Government Buildings? Could nip out from work if there is!

So many protests...lol confusing.
    Think I'm heading over to Kilmainham now..

http://www.eirigi.org/index.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,154 ✭✭✭dinneenp

nice shots. How did you create the effect in the photo of the guy with the holding up the scarf and the one below it?
    Cheers,
    pa.

dinneenp wrote: »
    nice shots. How did you create the effect in the photo of the guy with the holding up the scarf and the one below it?
    Cheers,
    pa.

I start off with a preset in Lightroom and just fiddle around with it til I get what I like.

Few from the laying of the wreath at Kilmainham Gaol

C7BE786A59DB4100B2A6C1D865434F69-0000316428-0002326507-00800L-1F3EB0619AA246128A8C9F9ACD29482F.jpg

8AA58E3A32DC4BFD8FF827F2EA7894A2-0000316428-0002326506-00800L-5F2CA3940E6D4D288411F8A7E782BF8E.jpg

D2658CEC15624CCCA4D6040FAC81953E-0000316428-0002326516-00800L-A759C3562EF3455BBBAA4C7E649C271A.jpg

C680ED1D93EC43DDB60A212A541AFBB4-0000316428-0002326513-00800L-4BCBF6464A0547DBB3A33BC9F240D967.jpg

oh and a heavily cropped pic of QE2 herself
    8F94773550C548E4A0D38C64D8C1CEF3-0000316428-0002326510-01200L-51AFC14F1CF8477C9498CDD5813B1BBA.jpg

EFA6FC195E294805A7566C97D053A0B3-0000316428-0002326509-00800L-401866D6636948679FA67831B883F6EF.jpg

Few more here...http://pix.ie/punkrock/album/410291/goto/2326514

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭diddlybit

They're some great shots guys. AnimalRights, the face of that guard looking at the lens is just priceless.

My god though, the face of the dissident Republican movement ain't pretty is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Just heard another mini riot has kicked off. Just scum bags being scum bags. No other reason to riot.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 9,047 CMod ✭✭✭✭CabanSail

Keep this up Janer and soon people will start mistaking you for a Photographer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

I've had two people already talk to me today about his photos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,720 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

a few from tonight

A10DE898F3C94AD1ABE7681DCF30989E-0000317959-0002326849-00800L-8AC2BA729D0E4B9C85204CE3E0099263.jpg

19D2EC94BBA544099B47E3FD7290F4EF-0000317959-0002326853-00800L-8395991892B84549919D7171E1B2E826.jpg

A2A85426F35445A6AA9E9010F7FEB905-0000317959-0002326852-00800L-B7906314307A4222A45F32F9FBB0EE0C.jpg

65313B8437FD457C83FD419A43B59C68-0000317959-0002326857-00800L-920F08D3545F4C8EBFB0E938CB784F8E.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 279 ✭✭IamBlip

Some official state photos here with some good protest shots mixed in.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/gallery/2011/may/17/queen-visits-ireland-in-pictures?picture

I was there yesterday and from what I saw there was two groups one peaceful and one just a bunch of scumbags covering their faces out to cause trouble. This was the protest at 6.30pm by the church? You were there Janer judging by your photos!

I didn't have a digital camera sadly so I just shot it all on film and that's going be a few days before I have it all developed scanned as I'm working the next two days. It was a little dangerous at times but I actually enjoyed it.. Taking photos that is.

A friend told me an hour later he saw me running around on sky news taking photos :pac:

I didn't make the one at Christchurch, I was knackered from teh walk to the Kilmainham one at 12.30.....furtherst I've walked in years :|

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭.Longshanks.

Some excellent shots in there!

Here's most of my shots.. I recorded some audio and put it in with a slide show which is converting on vimeo at the moment but here's 3 of my favourites and the link to the rest.

5741607734_844ce4ef33_z.jpg

5741608360_a634d10417_z.jpg

5741059771_f2a9d92948_z.jpg

http://www.flickr.com/photos/dazftw/sets/72157626767511034/

I've always wanted to shoot something like this.. I didn't know how id deal with it but I seriously enjoyed it.. the closest thing to "combat photography" :p fireworks and rocks all over the place. A friend had a close shave(rock flying over his head)

Video: http://vimeo.com/24033551

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,570 ✭✭✭sNarah

An excellent collection on Boston's Big Picture of the visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,027 ✭✭✭jpb1974

First pic on this page is a good 'un -

"A man was detained by riot police during demonstrations in North Dublin..."

http://lens.blogs.nytimes.com/2011/05/17/pictures-of-the-day-ireland-and-elsewhere/

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,261 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

sNarah wrote: »
    An excellent collection on Boston's Big Picture of the visit.
    looking at that with a non-photographic hat on, it's a pity that so many of the photos being seen abroad are a result of no more than several dozen protestors. still, protests make better photo fodder than most official engagements.