Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

bad crash near Punches cross last night.

• 16-05-2011 1:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭

The three folk who had to be cut from their cars had very lucky escapes, and the ambulance crew that were driving on the road at the time had to swerve to avoid the scumbag driving the stolen car.

I guess the scumbag will be another poor mislead "victim" :rolleyes:

Thankfully the only person in a critical condition is the scumbag in the stolen car and the three people who were in the cars dribing in the opposite direction do not seem to be as badly injured.

http://www.live95fm.ie/news/news-item/four-injured-one-critically-in-city-crash-involving-stolen-car/bcf7020c-5e27-4870-8b6f-59d1d7023dd8

FOUR INJURED, ONE CRITICALLY IN CITY CRASH INVOLVING STOLEN CAR
    16 May 2011The 17 year old driver of a stolen car is in a critical condition in hospital this morning following a serious crash at Punch's Cross last night.
    Three other people were injured in the crash and are also being treated at the Midwestern Regional Hospital in Dooradoyle.
    Live95fm's Denis Tierney reports:
    Gardai were alerted by a motorist driving in an erratic fashion near the monument on O'Connell Avenue around 11o'clock last night.
    They signalled to the driver to stop but he took off at speed in the direction of Punches Cross.
    He broke a red light at the junction and smashed into two oncoming cars.
    The occupants of one of the other cars, two women and one man had to be rescued by Fire crews using specialist cutting equipment.
    They are all being treated at the Midwestern Regional Hospital for minor injuries while the 17 year old driver of the stolen car is in a critical condition suffering from head injuries.
    The third car only suffered minor damage.
    Forensic Collision Investigators worked through the night documenting the scene outside Punches Hotel.
    Gardaí at Roxboro are investigating, while the Garda Siochana Ombudsman Commission has also been notified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Can't really say what I want to as some may find it distasteful but I wish the 3 occupants of that car a speedy recovery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Can't really say what I want to as some may find it distasteful but I wish the 3 occupants of that car a speedy recovery

Yep I hope the three have quick recoveries both of body and mind. Given that where the car hit is a spot that can have people on foot there at that time, it is a mercy that more were not hurt and that the ambulance managed to swerve out of the way as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Corky021

Maybe the boy did wrong but he is suffering. And even if you have no hope or compassion for the young man that is lying in hospital fighting for his life think of his parents and siblings who are sitting holding vigual that they may see their son or brother open his eyes again!!! He is not a scumbag but a misguided young person who has made a huge mistake and maybe we as a society have f-ed up to let a 17 get involved in the gang and drug culture in Limerick city. I hope that all of ye are never the ones who gave to sit by the side of a bed and pray for them to wake up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

Corky021 wrote: »
    Maybe the boy did wrong but he is suffering. And even if you have no hope or compassion for the young man that is lying in hospital fighting for his life think of his parents and siblings who are sitting holding vigual that they may see their son or brother open his eyes again!!! He is not a scumbag but a misguided young person who has made a huge mistake and maybe we as a society have f-ed up to let a 17 get involved in the gang and drug culture in Limerick city. I hope that all of ye are never the ones who gave to sit by the side of a bed and pray for them to wake up

who said anything about him being involved in a gang or drug culture? thats a pretty serious accusation to make. Car thief, joyrider, dangerous driver, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭niallers1

You obviously don't know anybody who has been killed or disfigured or put in a wheel chair becuase somebody decided to steal a car and plough it into an innocent pedestrian or a person just going about their business.

So basically, you do not know what you are talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 lim2011

I completely agree with you, ive seen this young boy fighting for his life and his family torn to pieces sitting at his bed side. He made a mistake , how may of ye can say ye never made a mistake ?? may not be as serious as this but its about time ye took yer heads out of yer holes and looked at the bigger picture here. He is 17 yrs old and left fighting for his life NO ONE deserves that and im sure he never set out to hurt innocent people, and this young boy suffers from ADHD which isnt just a brand name for kids that misbehave, its a serious neurological disease and maybe if u just stop and think of the fear and regret he felt before he was left fighting for his life then maybe you wouldnt be wishing such bad things to happen him. I for one hope he makes a full recovery and then let him be punished in the right way , he does deserve what ever a judge sentences him too..but no one deserve to be punished like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,908 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

lim2011 wrote: »
    I completely agree with you, ive seen this young boy fighting for his life and his family torn to pieces sitting at his bed side. He made a mistake , how may of ye can say ye never made a mistake ?? may not be as serious as this but its about time ye took yer heads out of yer holes and looked at the bigger picture here. He is 17 yrs old and left fighting for his life NO ONE deserves that and im sure he never set out to hurt innocent people, and this young boy suffers from ADHD which isnt just a brand name for kids that misbehave, its a serious neurological disease and maybe if u just stop and think of the fear and regret he felt before he was left fighting for his life then maybe you wouldnt be wishing such bad things to happen him. I for one hope he makes a full recovery and then let him be punished in the right way , he does deserve what ever a judge sentences him too..but no one deserve to be punished like this.

I sure there are plenty out there with ADHD who aren't joy-riding, thieving scumbags. I even know one myself so don't use that as an excuse. He could have killed a decent member of the public.

As was said, you play with fire you get burnt. I prefer not to see innocent people get burnt with their antics.

He stole the car. He drove in a manner that showed he did care for the safety of others. He caused an ambulance to have to swerve on the road, and he put three innocent people in hospital.

He is no victim in this. He is the criminal who caused it.

Funny how you claim he has a disorder. The same disorder that has been used a number of times in the Limerick courts already by people with crimes to their name.

I wonder how the thousands and thousands of other people in this country manage to get by without having to rob cars and put innocent people in hospital?

So you can paint a picture of how he does not deserve what he got all you want, but he got exactly what he behaviour caused and it is just a small miracle that his scumbag actions did not kill any of the three people he hit with his stolen car, and that the ambulance driver was able to swerve to avoid a collision as well.

And as for it being society at fault if he is involved with a criminal gang, as you mentioned. Well no it is not society as a whole that is at fault if he is involved with a gang. It's up to his own family to instill right and wrong in him and to do something about him being involved in a criminal gang. Just as the majority of families manage to do with their teenage children in the country.

Spudmonkey wrote: »
    I sure there are plenty out there with ADHD who aren't joy-riding, thieving scumbags. I even know one myself so don't use that as an excuse. He could have killed a decent member of the public.

As was said, you play with fire you get burnt. I prefer not to see innocent people get burnt with their antics.

I wasnt using it as an EXCUSE for what he did , in fact i said i hope he gets punished and serves his time for what he did...but how would u like if that was a member of your family or someone that u know and had to see them fighting for there life because of a mistake they made...im not tryin to justify what he did at all but for heavens sake he is 17 yrs old and people here are wishing him dead and hoping he is left disabled. If thats the case its his poor family that will be left to pick up the pieces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,071 ✭✭✭afatbollix

HE made the choice..

He put 3 people in hospital. HE also put himself in hospital as well.

Why am I angry?

How much is the fire brigade for a night?
    Road closed for the night?
    A CSI gardai crew to photo the scene? & investigation.
    how much will the insurance company's have to pay out due to him stealing the car? Putting up the normal working mans insurance premiums?
    how much to keep him in hospital? Where HE put himself?

When he is better he will want legal aid... That the tax payer will pay for..

This lad is about to rack up a million euro bill that the tax payer will pay.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

I wasnt using it as an EXCUSE for what he did , in fact i said i hope he gets punished and serves his time for what he did...but how would u like if that was a member of your family or someone that u know and had to see them fighting for there life because of a mistake they made...im not tryin to justify what he did at all but for heavens sake he is 17 yrs old and people here are wishing him dead and hoping he is left disabled. If thats the case its his poor family that will be left to pick up the pieces.

Who cares if he is 17? He will be the same way if he manages to reach his 30's. I would love to know if this is his first "mistake". And to be honest, i would say his family would be better off without him.

Kess73 wrote: »
    He stole the car. He drove in a manner that showed he did care for the safety of others. He caused an ambulance to have to swerve on the road, and he put three innocent people in hospital.

He is no victim in this. He is the criminal who caused it.

Funny how you claim he has a disorder. The same disorder that has been used a number of times in the Limerick courts already by people with crimes to their name.

I wonder how the thousands and thousands of other people in this country manage to get by without having to rob cars and put innocent people in hospital?

So you can paint a picture of how he does not deserve what he got all you want, but he got exactly what he behaviour caused and it is just a small miracle that his scumbag actions did not kill any of the three people he hit with his stolen car, and that the ambulance driver was able to swerve to avoid a collision as well.

And as for it being society at fault if he is involved with a criminal gang, as you mentioned. Well no it is not society as a whole that is at fault if he is involved with a gang. It's up to his own family to instill right and wrong in him and to do something about him being involved in a criminal gang. Just as the majority of families manage to do with their teenage children in the country.

Did i once say he was a VICTIM ..and im sure he didnt intentionally set out to put three people in hospital.....he took a car for a joy ride, i dont justify it (my own car was robbed for god sake ) but its not like he went out on the road with a gun and starting shooting people. what started out as a little bit of fun in his eyes had left him fighting for his life and im sure he regrets everything that happened. BUT some people really need to think before they start wishing him dead or disabled how would you feel if it was a relative of yours ?? no one deserves to be left the way he is ... i dont care what you say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,908 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

So what has ADHD got to do with anything then? Why even mention it?

Thats a pretty big mistake. I can think of loads of mistakes I've made but none come within an asses roar of stealing a car and crashing into three other cars. And you mention his family gathered around his bedside? Is this the same family that didn't seem to guide him on the straight and narrow? The same ones who should have been teaching him that stealing a car is wrong? Yeah I'm sure they are the loving sort alright. :rolleyes:

Again, had it been a innocent person and their family gathered around their bedside, well then thats an entirely different story, but if you ask me this is poetic justice. He's got punished doing what he loves best.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

I suppose we'll just have to wait for next weeks Leader or Chronicle to see his family saying its someone elses fault. Probably the car owner for allowing his car to be robbed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,071 ✭✭✭afatbollix

but its not like he went out on the road with a gun and starting shooting people. w

A car is as lethal as a loaded weapon.. Its the reason people are charged with Murder/manslaughter when they kill someone on the road with there car.

Did i once say he was a VICTIM ..and im sure he didnt intentionally set out to put three people in hospital.....he took a car for a joy ride, i dont justify it (my own car was robbed for god sake ) but its not like he went out on the road with a gun and starting shooting people. what started out as a little bit of fun in his eyes had left him fighting for his life and im sure he regrets everything that happened. BUT some people really need to think before they start wishing him dead or disabled how would you feel if it was a relative of yours ?? no one deserves to be left the way he is ... i dont care what you say.

Ah sure it is ok then,. He only took someone's car for a bit of a joy ride. Totally normal behaviour for a 17 year old.

Oh wait it is not normal behaviour and generally only done by thieving scumbags.

His little bit of fun put three other people who are innocent in all of this in hospital. It left those three people in need of being cut from cars.

You say it is not like having a gun. He came damn close to killing three people with his thieving actions so yeah it is very like having a gun in terms of the damage he almost caused to a number of families.

Normal kids with morals don't go around robbing cars and putting innocent people in hospital.

Next thing we will probably hear from his family or friends is that it is the fault of the Gardai for being out looking for the stolen car.

The car thief is a scumbag in my eyes due to his actions. He robbed and did not give a damn if his dangerous driving in a stolen car was putting lives at risk.

It also appears that the same guy who was only doing it for fun in your eyes, has a nice long track record of robbing things and is known to the Gardai already. It seems he may be just another career criminal in his early days who is happy to blame everyone else for when he is caught doing criminal activities and who has a string of people making excuses for his criminal acts.

He is totally to blame for what happened the other night, but his type are happy to sponge what they can from the state and will rob anything else they want. With any luck he will heal up and then get put away for a long sentence once he is old enough for that, but the track record of crime in Limerick is littered with his type who just rob, assault , injure and do what they like, safe in the knowledge that they can sponge free legal aid from the State so that some excuses can be trotted out over and over for their actions.

No doubt the decent majority of folk in Limerick will be treated to years of his future crimes being in the paper, with various excuses being made again and again for him, and to hell with the real victims who get affected by his scumbag actions.

I hope all three of the people he almost killed get charges pressed against him and that he gets charged for the ambulance driver he caused to swerve off the road as well as getting charged for robbiong a car, dangerous driving that caused injury and for refusing to pull in for the Gardai.

His bleeding heart brigade can ignore all of that and just go on about how the poor guy was only robbing a car for a bit of fun and act like that kind of bahaviour is a normal thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

He made a mistake , how may of ye can say ye never made a mistake ??

A "mistake" ?

A mistake is driving your own car and taking a wrong turn, or forgetting to put petrol in it, or drifting 5 miles over the speed limit.

If he did any of those and hit a pedestrian, then your post might have some validity to it.

Choosing to rob a car and speed and ploughing into innocent people is not a "mistake".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭munstergirl

I feel sorry for person who's car was stolen, how are they getting to work, shops etc.
    Also 3 innocent people who did nothing wrong, injured. Another person without a car.

The 17 year old made a choice that night, hope he's enjoying his bit of fun.

I feel sorry for person who's car was stolen, how are they getting to work, shops etc.
    Also 3 innocent people who did nothing wrong, injured. Another person without a car.
    The 17 year old made a choice that night, hope he's enjoying his bit of fun.

Ah those folk don't count as the thief was only having some fun.

The people who lost cars in this might have to wait ages for the insurance companies to sort things so they may not be able to get to work, and will have their ability to get about curtailed. But all that matters is the thief having his fun. After all it was society that let him down.:rolleyes:

I guess in the eyes of some the best outcome would have been for the thief to rob the car, have his joyride, burn out the car, and then go home happy that he had his fun.

And to hell with the owner of the car in that scenario as well, and to hell with any hardship the car owner suffered as long as the thief had his fun.

There are a number of victims in all of this, but the criminal is not one of them. He caused everything through his criminal actions and his choice to break the law.

Ah sure it is ok then,. He only took someone's car for a bit of a joy ride. Totally normal behaviour for a 17 year old.

Oh wait it is not normal behaviour and generally only done by thieving scumbags.

His little bit of fun put three other people who are innocent in all of this in hospital. It left those three people in need of being cut from cars.

You say it is not like having a gun. He came damn close to killing three people with his thieving actions so yeah it is very like having a gun in terms of the damage he almost caused to a number of families.

Normal kids with morals don't go around robbing cars and putting innocent people in hospital.

Next thing we will probably hear from his family or friends is that it is the fault of the Gardai for being out looking for the stolen car.

The car thief is a scumbag in my eyes due to his actions. He robbed and did not give a damn if his dangerous driving in a stolen car was putting lives at risk.

It also appears that the same guy who was only doing it for fun in your eyes, has a nice long track record of robbing things and is known to the Gardai already. It seems he may be just another career criminal in his early days who is happy to blame everyone else for when he is caught doing criminal activities and who has a string of people making excuses for his criminal acts.

He is totally to blame for what happened the other night, but his type are happy to sponge what they can from the state and will rob anything else they want. With any luck he will heal up and then get put away for a long sentence once he is old enough for that, but the track record of crime in Limerick is littered with his type who just rob, assault , injure and do what they like, safe in the knowledge that they can sponge free legal aid from the State so that some excuses can be trotted out over and over for their actions.

No doubt the decent majority of folk in Limerick will be treated to years of his future crimes being in the paper, with various excuses being made again and again for him, and to hell with the real victims who get affected by his scumbag actions.

I hope all three of the people he almost killed get charges pressed against him and that he gets charged for the ambulance driver he caused to swerve off the road as well as getting charged for robbiong a car, dangerous driving that caused injury and for refusing to pull in for the Gardai.

His bleeding heart brigade can ignore all of that and just go on about how the poor guy was only robbing a car for a bit of fun and act like that kind of bahaviour is a normal thing.

Firstly ..did i say it was "fun in my eyes" no i said " i dont justify it, it was probably a bit of fun in HIS eye" ...and never said his behaviour was normal so if you going to have a rant at me be sure to read EXACTLY what i wrote OK . The point im trying to make is that people here are wishing a 17 year old boy dead or disabled, I clearly said already that i hope he makes a recovery and then serves his time for what he did because he deserves what ever sentence a judge hands him. i do not justify what he did at all but wishing people dead or disabled no matter what they did is just uncalled for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

i do not justify what he did at all but wishing people dead or disabled no matter what they did is just uncalled for.

You trivialised what he did by comparing it to a mere "mistake" that any of us might make.

Ah those folk don't count as the thief was only having some fun.

The people who lost cars in this might have to wait ages for the insurance companies to sort things so they may not be able to get to work, and will have their ability to get about curtailed. But all that matters is the thief having his fun. After all it was society that let him down.:rolleyes:

I guess in the eyes of some the best outcome would have been for the thief to rob the car, have his joyride, burn out the car, and then go home happy that he had his fun.

And to hell with the owner of the car in that scenario as well, and to hell with any hardship the car owner suffered as long as the thief had his fun.

There are a number of victims in all of this, but the criminal is not one of them. He caused everything through his criminal actions and his choice to break the law.

Is there a reason your putting words in my mouth ??? i never said it was ok for him to rob a car and have his fun. the point i was making was he robbed the car .. it happens in limerick 10 times a bloody week..i dont see people ranting on about it all the time, the only difference is this time it got out of hand, i dont justify it one bit. And i know exactly what the people without there cars have to go through to get to work and back because i had to do it myself . You are blown what im saying waaaay out of proportion. my one and only point is people need to stop wishing him dead or disabled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,889 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

<snip>

Hope the people in the car are ok, despite only having minor injuries its the fear of cars and crashing that will stay with them for a long long time.

I hope the 17 year old makes a recovery, turns his life around and starts working to help other young people stay away from crime. :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,909 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Mod note: thread re-opened. Tone down the vitriol this time around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

wish wish wish wish wish..

wishing doesnt achieve anything, save your energy for supporting his family, because people on here "wishing" he was dead is having no effect on his health. Him smashing a car into three innocent people, thats how to have a direct effect on peoples health.

What I hope happens to him is of no concern and has no effect on him, because I'm not going to smash a car into him.

Firstly ..did i say it was "fun in my eyes" no i said " i dont justify it, it was probably a bit of fun in HIS eye" ...and never said his behaviour was normal so if you going to have a rant at me be sure to read EXACTLY what i wrote OK . The point im trying to make is that people here are wishing a 17 year old boy dead or disabled, I clearly said already that i hope he makes a recovery and then serves his time for what he did because he deserves what ever sentence a judge hands him. i do not justify what he did at all but wishing people dead or disabled no matter what they did is just uncalled for.

Read what was actually typed. I never said you personally thought it was fun, plus I never said I wanted him dead. I said that in the eyes of some what he did was alright and that bleeding hearts would make excuses for him and his type. Not once did I say that it was YOUR opinion.

In this thread I said I hoped he recovered and then was charged for every law he broke the other night and that the victims of his actions pressed charges against him as well.

So if you see a post saying that they hope he is dead or dies, then address them about it but don't reply to me complaining about words being put in your mouth and then say in your post to me about anyone wanting him dead, otherwise you are just doing what you are blaming me for.

You also make comment that cars being robbed is a commonplace occurance in your other reply to me and that people don't go on about it.

I suggest that before you make comments like that you use the search function as there was a thread here not too long back about a poor girl who had her Saab robbed and ruined by some scumbag thief and plenty here were vocal about her loss and the scum who stole here means of getting about and her means of getting to work.

If you are a friend of the thief who robbed the car and whop put three people in hospital, then I suggest you do what you can to comfort his family and be a friend to him by getting him to stop robbing people's property and encourage him to follow the harder path that most people follow by trying to get a job and staying away from crime.

I'm not picking a fight with you, but I sure as hell won't offer false sympathies about a thief either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

He made a mistake , how may of ye can say ye never made a mistake ??

Total, total rubbish. I make "mistakes" all the time. Hell, I've probably made 20 today. However, my "mistakes" generally don't tend to almost 3 kill people by smashing into them at high speed in a car I've stolen.
    maybe if u just stop and think of the fear and regret he felt

This is laughable. Fear and regret he felt when? When he was stealing the car? Or when he decided to race away from a cop car?
    the point i was making was he robbed the car .. it happens in limerick 10 times a bloody week..i dont see people ranting on about it all the time

Sure, it probably does happen 10 times a week, and thats fine, is it? And why does it happen? Because they are let away with it because people dismiss it as a "mistake" and completely trivialise it. Stealing a car is a pretty f*cking big deal - not a mistake, not to mention trying to run from the Gardai, or nearly killing 3 completely innocent people.

He did it, he should face the consequences, whatever they may be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Tango Alpha 51

The driver of the third car had a lucky escape too. Some "person" on the scene already stated it was the gardai's fault for chasing a stolen car on the first place. Tied up 4 ambulances (2 of which were not from the city) which in turn deprived their respective areas of cover. Only one person was extricated from the second car. Other persons involved were already out of it. As for the press saying they were minor injuries, I wish the press would get the facts right before going to print.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Reminder from previous mod note
    Mod note: thread re-opened. Tone down the vitriol this time around.
    I have no problem banning people if I think they are being out of hand, this is the second mod warning on this thread, there won't be a third

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭irishproduce

Have to say I agree with everything coming from Kess!