Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Queens Visit and GOH etc

• 17-05-2011 11:51am
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Seriously, who sized these people off????

This is coming LIVE from Baldonnel

anyone there reading this, PLEASE sort out this parade!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

1224297153891.jpg?ts=1305629988

Message received. Target will be eliminated.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

someone suggested that he may be the NCO in charge of the parade and as such isnt dressed off ???? Im not so sure? maybe someone can correct us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,448 ✭✭✭davetherave

Morphéus wrote: »
    someone suggested that he may be the NCO in charge of the parade and as such isnt dressed off ???? Im not so sure? maybe someone can correct us?

That's would I would have suggested, and is the most likely answer, but wouldn't the NCO go to the RHS though?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

Dont know, ive only done a full GOH but trying to recall where the NCO goes on that... this is an honorary GOH for her which is a different job?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

Do ye not Blue the Guns? They look a bit tattered

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 mhorda

Morphéus wrote: »
    Dont know, ive only done a full GOH but trying to recall where the NCO goes on that... this is an honorary GOH for her which is a different job?!

Right hand side and then walks with dignitary when they are inspecting the guard??

edit: on further thought...the 1st man could be the officer I/c and last man NCO I/c ...that would make sense

edit 2: first man not wearing sam brown..not officer..disregard the above

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

I thought it went very well, A person on Sky News who said he was an ex Guardsman ( Open to correction ) said she got a brilliant welcome and everything was very professional and he was extremely impressed.

Well done to all involved IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭roundymac

Yes the guy on sky was an ex-guardsman, and he was very impressed. Well done to all three services.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭Utrinque Paratus

Steyr wrote: »
    I thought it went very well, A person on Sky News who said he was an ex Guardsman ( Open to correction ) said she got a brilliant welcome and everything was very professional and he was extremely impressed.

Well done to all involved IMO.

Court mounted medals would look alot smarter, as would drill without the weapon slung across the body. Some of the Navy bods looked a bit slack.

Id give them a 6 out of 10.

The field guns looked like they should have been painted.

But overall it was fair to good.

I dont know what resolution you had on your TV channel but those guns were pristine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭Donny5

I dont know what resolution you had on your TV channel but those guns were pristine.

I'm guessing he means they should have been painted white or whatever.

Donny5 wrote: »
    I'm guessing he means they should have been painted white or whatever.

He didnt mention but they were perfect. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭Teangalad

Congrats to everyone involed I was very impressed, and to the lad/lassie talking about the guns, I could see nothing wrong with them they looked perfect. 2 questions, I don't know much about the outriders so was the first Rider( a lady I think) an offcer if so which rank 1st Lieutenant? and where are the outriders taken from MP's???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

He didnt mention but they were perfect. :)

You should see those gun's in the flesh (so to speak), they are sparking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

Teangalad wrote: »
    Congrats to everyone involed I was very impressed, and to the lad/lassie talking about the guns, I could see nothing wrong with them they looked perfect. 2 questions, I don't know much about the outriders so was the first Rider( a lady I think) an offcer if so which rank 1st Lieutenant? and where are the outriders taken from MP's???

The leader of the motorcade's escort (she drove beside the Queen's jeep) is a Captain. I believe the unit is nicknamed the 'Blue Hussars'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

The leader of the motorcade's escort (she drove beside the Queen's jeep) is a Captain. I believe the unit is nicknamed the 'Blue Hussars'.

Unless she has been promoted very recently, she's a Lt. I'll check in work tomorrow to be sure though.

2 Cav Squadron aren't nicknamed the Blue Hussars. They'd have a ****fit if they thought people we calling them that. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭Dogwatch

Poccington wrote: »
    Unless she has been promoted very recently, she's a Lt. I'll check in work tomorrow to be sure though.

2 Cav Squadron aren't nicknamed the Blue Hussars. They'd have a ****fit if they thought people we calling them that. :pac:
    According to RTE commentary today, the Escort Commander is a Capt. and the Escort troop is nicknamed the "Blue Hussars" after their predecessors.

Is it possible the National broadcaster got it wrong???:rolleyes::rolleyes:

Poccington wrote: »

Fair enough, was going by the RTE commentary.

Court mounted medals would look alot smarter, as would drill without the weapon slung across the body. Some of the Navy bods looked a bit slack.
    Id give them a 6 out of 10.
    But overall it was fair to good.

Ah would ya give over, if anybody was a bit slack then they wouldn't be on a GOH.

Looking back at the highlights on the news, the guy at the end is wearing a F/Sgt's rank marking so that would tie in with the NCO i/c theory.

I also heard the distinctive clink of a medal hitting the ground when the honour guard presented arms :(

"Cúirtéis den banríon Éilís a do"...Who ever that we would have heard that? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭OS119

the outriders had a Green, Red and Black flag on the bikes - anyone know what that is?

i liked the stuff i saw on tv - obviously i'm partial to Scarlet or Navy dress uniforms - but nothing i saw required a pacepalm.

well done to all involved, i know PD's can be a pain in the arse and that its all standing around being bored out of your mind, getting fed duff info and then panicked when your VIP's emerge with no warning. good job, no sniping from me. oh, and M and FIL (with no Irish connections) have decided to visit Dublin on the strength of todays pictures - Book of Kells and Trinity library impressed mightily...

Dogwatch wrote: »
    According to RTE commentary today, the Escort Commander is a Capt. and the Escort troop is nicknamed the "Blue Hussars" after their predecessors.

I know who all the officers in 2 Cav are, like I said, unless one of them got promoted lately, she's a Lt. Again, there's a chance she did and I haven't noticed it in work, I'll see tomorrow.

They're definitely not nicknamed the Blue Hussars. That much I know.
    OS119 wrote: »
    the outriders had a Green, Red and Black flag on the bikes - anyone know what that is?

It's the Squadron's colours, same colours are used in their lanyards and Unit flash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭mcgarrett

Out of curiousity who is in charge of the m/cycle GOH, I thought the m/cyclist riding beside the VIP vehicle seemed to be calling the shots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 719 ✭✭✭V Bull

Dogwatch wrote: »

img5867x.jpg

Close-up view..
    img5867copy.jpg

I think she is wearing 3 pips on her shoulder pads...Capt alright..

V Bull wrote: »

I think she is wearing 3 pips on her shoulder pads...Capt alright..

Certainly looks it. She must have got promoted fairly recently, or else I've been referring to her as a Lt. for the past while and somehow managed to avoid getting myself in trouble. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 114 ✭✭dodgydes

Ref the OP, there were two lines, one not in this shot. The shortass on the end is the senior NCO. They are arranged so that when they march into position parallel to the red carpet, they are in the right order.

Disclaimer: i know that Makikomi is probably only taking the piss, but there are people here that could use any excuse to diss the fine display the DF put on today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

dodgydes wrote: »
    Ref the OP, there were two lines, one not in this shot. The shortass on the end is the senior NCO. They are arranged so that when they march into position parallel to the red carpet, they are in the right order.

Correct and right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

Outstanding display by the lads today, job well done. Drinks are Manic I believe...his Boss is calling later next week I believe to pick up the chit :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

All becomes clear in this video regarding the dressing!

Excellent display all round I thought.

The Cadets looked smart in the Garden too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,076 ✭✭✭questionmark?

The colours that you saw are used by the cavalry corp not just this squadron. Stands for something along the lines of through the mud, blood to the green fields of home. They also dont use the beraet as standard dress but rather the glengarry(sic?) with two black ribbons to show their respect for failing to protect michael collins afaik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭Yitzhak Rabin

OS119 wrote: »
    oh, and M and FIL

Who?

Who?

I'm guess Mother and Father In Law?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

Yeah I dont know what that means?

Very Impressed overall good job

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,502 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

The colours that you saw are used by the cavalry corp not just this squadron. Stands for something along the lines of through the mud, blood to the green fields of home.

Stolen directly from the Royal Tank Regiment, it must be said.

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭loldog

I thought the defence forces did a great job today. Maybe the wrong place to ask, but what is that blue light you can see in the radiator grille of the some of the cars in the convoy? Some kind of threat detection device?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

Bug Zapper

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,502 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

In most places, a blue light in a grille indicates 'get out of my way'

Not so sure about this one.

95D61841041F4B66B875A13D9EEA5.jpg

NTM

Zambia wrote: »
    Yeah I dont know what that means?

Very Impressed overall good job

You would normally hear "Cúirtéis den t-Uachtaráin, tairgig airm" or "Cúirtéis den Taoiseach, tairgig airm. Or else just a "Cúirtéis ginearálta, tairgig airm" Which in English is Salute for the Presidental/Taoiseach or General salute...present arms.

"Cúirtéis den banríon Éilís a do" would be Salute for Queen Lizzie II

I just thought it was significant or showed how times have changed that Lizzie or any British Monarch would be getting a salute over here as Gaeilge
    :o

I was also impressed to see that she was actually inspecting them rather than Mary's lets get this over with brisk walk up and down the ranks. You would be mortified if she did check anyone though :eek:

dodgydes wrote: »
    Disclaimer: i know that Makikomi is probably only taking the piss, but there are people here that could use any excuse to diss the fine display the DF put on today

Nope, the guns are gleaming.

I didn't see them on TV, but they're polished to a very high gloss with lots of polished silver and brass - very impressive looking.

As regards the display the DF put on, I was going to post a thread giving ourselves a big clap on the back for a job well done - from the pomp & ceremony on TV to the stuff behind the scenes which aren't/can't be shown on TV - I feel we can hold our heads very high for a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭xflyer

All involved and the Defence forces in general can be justifiable proud of their peformance. I was duly impressed. I'm a bit of sucker for military parades and frankly not really interested in the Queen's visit otherwise. Everything seemed to go well, including the flypast which seemed timed to perfection.

Indeed the Sky News commentator who is ex Guards praised the display and he should know all about military ceremonials.

We should all take pride in the Defence forces after seeing this.

xflyer wrote: »
    All involved and the Defence forces in general can be justifiable proud of their peformance. I was duly impressed. I'm a bit of sucker for military parades and frankly not really interested in the Queen's visit otherwise. Everything seemed to go well, including the flypast which seemed timed to perfection.

Indeed the Sky News commentator who is ex Guards praised the display and he should know all about military ceremonials.

We should all take pride in the Defence forces after seeing this.

Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭loldog

I think it would be "Curtéis don Banríon" rather than "den Banríon".

den = "from"

don = "for" or "to" or "towards"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,948 ✭✭✭gizmo555

What was that extraordinary uniform the band was wearing at the Aras yesterday? Made them look like the Artane Boys Band.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭steve9859

Watched the ceremony at Islandbridge this morning, and thought the defence forces looked great. It was a great ceremony and as good as anything you see put on by the British. the Memorial Gardens looked fantastic and it was simply a great show put on in an important and often forgottten memorial. Good job to everyone involved

• Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭Teangalad

gizmo555 wrote: »
    What was that extraordinary uniform the band was wearing at the Aras yesterday? Made them look like the Artane Boys Band.

Was going to ask that question aswell, very strange looking uniform.

steve9859 wrote: »
    Watched the ceremony at Islandbridge this morning, and thought the defence forces looked great. It was a great ceremony and as good as anything you see put on by the British. the Memorial Gardens looked fantastic and it was simply a great show put on in an important and often forgottten memorial. Good job to everyone involved

quoteIt was a great ceremony and as good as anything you see put on by the British

..................Troop in the colour, Queens colour sqn, household cavelry, kings troop Royal Marines drill company, kings troop RHA Saluting Battery ?

It was well done and looked good, but lets not get carried away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭Donny5

quoteIt was a great ceremony and as good as anything you see put on by the British

..................Troop in the colour, Queens colour sqn, household cavelry, kings troop Royal Marines, kings troop RHA ?

It was well done and looked good, but lets not get carried away.

Who gives a ****? Let the DF have their day without the ridiculous dick-measuring, please.

Donny5 wrote: »
    Who gives a ****? Let the DF have their day without the ridiculous dick-measuring, please.

The previous poster made the claim.

For a small nation it was well done and compares to well to most European nations, but larger nations have ceremonial units hence why they look so impressive in terms of uniforms, drill, field guns etc, so the posters claim had to be challenged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭xflyer

Yes we get it UP, you don't like the Irish Defence Forces and you particularly don't like anyone taking pride in the Defence Forces. You made that abundantly clear in previous posts. You like to disguise it by making pedantic comments. But you know, pedants are just as irritating. Your intervention was unneccessary and pointless. You join my ignore list now. Goodbye.

It's the traditional full dress uniform as used in the 1930s. Seems to be based on the French model with particularly the Kepi. It's far from anything like the Artane boys band uniform. It's a very traditional military full dress uniform.

Irish202.jpg