Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Europa League Final Dublin 2011

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 304 ✭✭WhiteRussian

Yes! It's over!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Hulk is so fooking selfish, it's infuriating. Congrats Porto, fantastic team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Turn on the sprinklers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭seriousfizz

Braga deserve no less, shocking waste of chances during that game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭enviro

Well done Porto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

God Braga were poor. They can feel unlucky that the ref bottled that second yellow, but they did themselves no favours with all the opportunities they wasted throughout the game.

I hope Porto can hold onto their stars for next year's CL, they would bring a lot to the competition.

Dublin Stadium doesn't look too bad without all that Aviva shíte plastered all over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

my god trevor welch is utterly sh*te at his job.

just thought I would add that nugget of wisdom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Braga were shocking. Outside of the first 15 minutes of the second half, they never looked bothered, with 10 minutes to go in a European final it looked like they were playing down the clock in a friendly. I know it's at the end of the season and they might be tired, but they didn't appear to be even trying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Braga were shocking. Outside of the first 15 minutes of the second half, they never looked bothered, with 10 minutes to go in a European final it looked like they were playing down the clock in a friendly. I know it's at the end of the season and they might be tired, but they didn't appear to be even trying.

You look at it from a Liverpool perspective and it's kind of embarrassing that they couldn't beat a very poor side over two legs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,472 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Sligo Rovers in the 3rd Qualifying Round now :D.

Disappointed for Braga I like to see the underdog win. But no doubt Porto deserved it. Top team and a top manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Braga poor up front but they at least tried. Porto stopped playing for the entire second half, I know they didn't have to come out and score more but they could have at least played some football.

Very poor final really, can't see Porto challenging the elite next season to be honest on that showing.

Babb having a sneaky look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Oatesy23 wrote: »

Disappointed for Braga I like to see the underdog win. But no doubt Porto deserved it. Top team and a top manager.

Still not sure if thats a good or a bad thing. Its a bigger game, a home game not being played at the showgrounds due to ground suitability, and without the experience of the 2nd round which whould have been played in the Showgies.

It would be a money spinner, but whow much will it cost to rent somewhere like Tallaght Stadium for a few days.

Anyhow, well done Porto.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Falcao trying to get in on Helton's trophy lifting moment was typical striker actions. As a striker, im proud of him :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

Back from the match, enjoyed it thought it was an alright match 2nd half especially. Braga started trying to get the goal, but tbh it always looked like that if they were bothered Porto could score at any moment. Amazing header by Falcao though, but poor defending. Interesting to read what people see on the telly compared to being there though.

The Porto fans were incredible, hardly stopped singnig and jumping and waving their scarves all night, glad they won it just for the fans.

Oh and 30 for Braga, Alan is a dreadful player, don't think he kept the ball once and didn't track back all that much. The Left Full of Porto Pereira? I think. Had the freedom of the wing and was winning everything and didn't even have to do all that much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭cardwizzard

Just in the door from the game. Thought Porto was the better team, especially first half. Hulk had a blinder and had a tenner on Falco, first to score. Both sets of fans were amazing, Porto outnumbered them maybe 4-1. The lad missed a sitter at the start of the second half for Braga, could have changed it.

Well done Porto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

I was at the game myself; we did well hosting this... Very well, well organised, very impressed... Ah why don't they sell alcohol at football matches? Very annoying!

How did Braga beat Liverpool? :pac: seriously....

MIN2511 wrote: »
    I was at the game myself; we did well hosting this... Very well, well organised, very impressed.

I was impressed with it bar getting the train, still can't figure out why they stopped people getting off at the Lansdowne stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Some pics i took from work

IMG_5784.jpg

IMG_5730.jpg

IMG_5743.jpg

IMG_5746.jpg

IMG_5749.jpg

IMG_5751.jpg

Reganio 2 wrote: »
    I was impressed with it bar getting the train, still can't figure out why they stopped people getting off at the Lansdowne stop.

Security measures?

I walked so didn't notice that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭thegills

No beers. No Match programs.100+ for an average ticket. Apart from the Portuguese fans what do we have to proud of?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

no match programmes???

thegills wrote: »
    No beers. No Match programs.100+ for an average ticket. Apart from the Portuguese fans what do we have to proud of?
    1. I paid €40 for my tickets
    2. No beer idea is silly but sure no worries
    3. No match programme - heard/read somewhere that UEFA didn't want them(could be wrong) something to do with rights/sponsorship

We hosted the Europa League final - that's exposure in every 'football watching country' in the world...
    Something to be proud of :)

Their was match programmes. I have one here.

€50 for my ticket and was impressed even though we were fairly high up could see absoloutly everything.

Stop giving out about everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,898 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

p_larkin99 wrote: »
    no match programmes???

There was - 7 quid!

Match day scarfs official ones were 20 quid also. Disgrace.

My ticket was 50, orignally cost 105...I would be bulling if I paid that. Great view but thats aobut it. Porto walked the league yet had one attempt on goal.... a free header.

Mehsville

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,621 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Back in from the match now, have to say despite it not being the greatest football match I've ever seen, I really, really enjoyed the night and the large group I went with all enjoyed themselves and thought it was a great night. The opening ceremony or whatever you may call it before the game looked brilliant and was well organised, stewards and staff seemed to know more and be more of a help than they usually do at Ireland matches, the stadium/pitch looked fantastic, place seemed fairly full from where I was sitting (45,000 official attendance?), traffic didn't even seem too bad coming up to the stadium which was good organisation from the gardaí presumably(?). On top of that all the portuguese fans were brilliant, very friendly vibe to the atmosphere and they had the place rocking.

People can have their opinions on it and give out about things, but personally I thought it was a brilliant event and fair play to everyone involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

thegills wrote: »
    UEFA have a ban on alcohol sales within stadiums for events within their control. This includes qualifiers.

I cannot comment on the programmes although I did see them on sale. Your comment on ticket prices are also way off the mark.

Nice moan from the typical Irish begrudger. How about saying well done to this country for hosting its biggest sporting event to date?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

Too many fools like to complain.

Fair play to the lads gettin' their League and Irish flags up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

Well that was ****.

I liked the ground though, great view and a good atmosphere.
    The game itself was crap though.

NufcNavan wrote: »
    UEFA have a ban on alcohol sales within stadiums for events within their control. This includes qualifiers.

I cannot comment on the programmes although I did see them on sale. Your comment on ticket prices are also way off the mark.

Nice moan from the typical Irish begrudger. How about saying well done to this country for hosting its biggest sporting event to date?

Lol, u fishing for thanks or something?

The man was expressing his opinion on the night out. I only saw 1 programme stand, a lot of people dislike the uefa beer rule, ticket prices were a bit high, some sign posts for zones wre wrong, some gardai couldnt direct people.

Typical "typical Irish begrudger response" response.

Oh ye and the game was poo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

I've been to 3 CL finals before last night and this was by far the best run. However, not having a "big" or english/italian team in it let us all off the hook because there were quite a few stewards in the ground that looked like they were only there for the day out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭bohsfan

Reganio 2 wrote: »

I believe they do it for big games so they can have people from the opposite sides of the ground approaching from different routes, rather than have everyone dumped right at the stadium and creating congestion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

sat in the south stand for the first time in the Aviva, just found myself staring at the the disappointment of the North stand :(

will post up some of my pics and videos when i get a chance later...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭villains77

3. No match programme - heard/read somewhere that UEFA didn't want them(could be wrong) something to do with rights/sponsorship

We hosted the Europa League final - that's exposure in every 'football watching country' in the world...

I work there at the stadium on match days doing the first aid and for all soccer matches they dont serve beer. (except in the premium levels) but the rugby games you can buy pints and bring them out to the seats. I remember working at the northen ireland v scotland game some northies were giving out about the pubs not serving pints . wasnt there last night though. watched it on tv some atmosphere at it. Think it has something to do with fifa rules, cool photos

i saw people with programmes, didn't look at them properly so they could have been in portuguese, but i definitely saw people with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,788 ✭✭✭Benimar

i saw people with programmes, didn't look at them properly so they could have been in portuguese, but i definitely saw people with them.

Some people had programmes, but there was definitely a problem. I went looking for one at 7.05 and was told that they were sold out!! A number of us were queueing and the 2 security lads were telling us that there had been some screw up as normally the programme sellers are all over the ground.

To be fair to the lads they went looking for information for us as they were surprised by the lack of programme sellers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭spudwiser

Benimar wrote: »
    Some people had programmes, but there was definitely a problem. I went looking for one at 7.05 and was told that they were sold out!! A number of us were queueing and the 2 security lads were telling us that there had been some screw up as normally the programme sellers are all over the ground.

To be fair to the lads they went looking for information for us as they were surprised by the lack of programme sellers.

Yeah i had to follow a guy with 2 boxes of them as far as one of the stalls to make sure i got one. even these flew out of the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭Ste-

There did seem to be a lack of prrogrammes.
    I found them over at the red route €7, got two.
    €20 for a scarf was mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Braga is lovely small city and they were the real underdogs, with half their team already sold, but they didn't deserve to win on last night and on their other matches in comparison to Porto.

Porto have played some great stuff upto last night.
    Corholio wrote: »
    Braga poor up front but they at least tried. Porto stopped playing for the entire second half, I know they didn't have to come out and score more but they could have at least played some football.

Very poor final really, can't see Porto challenging the elite next season to be honest on that showing.

The real final was probably Porto vs Villareal.
    I always got the feeling that Porto had the measure of Braga and could have upped a gear if they needed to.
    sat in the south stand for the first time in the Aviva, just found myself staring at the the disappointment of the North stand :(

Don't go there.
    Croke Park looks even weirder.
    I would imagine that when FIFA, UEFA, IRB officals come to view our big stadiums they must think that there is some offical planning rules that we can only have three proper sides to them. :o

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

Trilla wrote: »
    Lol, u fishing for thanks or something?

The man was expressing his opinion on the night out. I only saw 1 programme stand, a lot of people dislike the uefa beer rule, ticket prices were a bit high, some sign posts for zones wre wrong, some gardai couldnt direct people.

Typical "typical Irish begrudger response" response.

Oh ye and the game was poo
    So you agree that we have nothing to be proud of ater last night? Was it such a bad experience for you? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

I thought last night was a great event. Ok, the match itself wasn't brilliant, but everything else was top class.

I have my match programme. Very well made.

Well organised by the stewards, and there was a good party atmosphere on the streets. Strict enough security checks coming in, but all very friendly and helpful.

The Porto fans were loud, but in a good way. Plenty of chanting and singing. Plenty of flag waving too. A great buzz.

Overall, I think it was an event that was well run. Something we should be proud of.

NufcNavan wrote: »
    So you agree that we have nothing to be proud of ater last night? Was it such a bad experience for you? :rolleyes:

Why u rolling your eyes, can u not accept that some didn't enjoy it.

I didn't to be fair, I'm not moaning but I found a lot wring both inside and outside the stadium last night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

'Tis but the first step on our path to total European domination.

villains77 wrote: »
    I work there at the stadium on match days doing the first aid and for all soccer matches they dont serve beer. (except in the premium levels) but the rugby games you can buy pints and bring them out to the seats. I remember working at the northen ireland v scotland game some northies were giving out about the pubs not serving pints . wasnt there last night though. watched it on tv some atmosphere at it. Think it has something to do with fifa rules, cool photos

Watched two soccer matches there and was at the premium level - I remember buying alcohol at one of the matches...
    Thanks for clearing that up :D
    Ah I didn't; wanted one as a souvenir but I've got my ticket :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭Ste-

Paulw wrote: »
    I thought last night was a great event. Ok, the match itself wasn't brilliant, but everything else was top class.

I have my match programme. Very well made.

Well organised by the stewards, and there was a good party atmosphere on the streets. Strict enough security checks coming in, but all very friendly and helpful.

The Porto fans were loud, but in a good way. Plenty of chanting and singing. Plenty of flag waving too. A great buzz.

Overall, I think it was an event that was well run. Something we should be proud of.

Would agree with all of the above and from those I spoke to was most peoples feelings on the night.

some images and videos from the game last night

LEceEl.jpg
    v4yV0l.jpg
    0acvol.jpg
    REWjql.jpg

may have some more later!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Anyone tell me what the guys outside the Bath Ave exits holding up placards "need used ticket for my collection" are on about?

Are they literally ticket collectors and are they genuinely looking for someone to hand them their used ticket ? One guy had a sign printed and had it laminated (i.e. obviously he does it regularly to go to that trouble)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

My mate said there's a market for it, people buying up tickets of big events.

Beats me as to why, but I assume that's what they were doing, gathering tickets to sell on (after the actual event, go figure).

vicwatson wrote: »
    Anyone tell me what the guys outside the Bath Ave exits holding up placards "need used ticket for my collection" are on about?

Are they literally ticket collectors and are they genuinely looking for someone to hand them their used ticket ? One guy had a sign printed and had it laminated (i.e. obviously he does it regularly to go to that trouble)

I saw the same guy... beats me....