Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FM 11 Sign Up Challenge

• 18-05-2011 9:30am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭

Hey all,

I got an idea the other day with a few of my friends where we all put each other into the game database and holiday'd our way from season to season to see if any of us made it big

So the basics of the sign up are:

You give your Name, DOB, Favourite Club, Position(s) & Nationality(s)

There will be 16 places available, and there will be updates at the end of each in-game season. All players will start out as youngsters, with there potential ability set to random, and current ability will be randomely generated with a minimum of 50

Just post in this thread if you’re interested along with the relevant information

I'll Start

Name: Mike Lowe
    Nationality: Irish
    DOB: 27/03
    Fav Club: Leeds Utd & Limerick
    Position: D (RC) , DM & Cm

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Cool idea!

Might aswell give it a go

Name: David Murphy
    DOB: 11th June
    Fav Club: Liverpool - Reading
    Position: MC (R) AMC (R)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Should be fun.

Name: Dan Fink
    DOB: 24/8/87
    Fav Club: Liverpool - Roma - Valencia
    Position: MC - DL - WBL

• Registered Users Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

Ahh sure why not :D

Name: Kevin Reganio
    DOB: 20/10/89
    Fav Club: Liverpool
    Position: FC

• Registered Users Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭ynwa_17

Name: Roberto Di Maria
    Nationality: Spanish
    DOB: 23/03/91
    Position: ST

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

Name: Iulio Vendetta
    Nationality: Bolivian
    DOB: 26/05/89
    Fav Club: Leeds/The Strongest
    Position: DMC

• Registered Users Posts: 846 ✭✭✭TheFullDuck

Name: David Spain
    DOB: 27/07/91
    Fav Club: Man Utd
    Position: ST

• Registered Users Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭markc91

Name: Mark Cummins
    D.O.B: 01/09/91
    Fav Club: Man United
    Position: Rw,Lw,Rwb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 wicklad

Name: David Stephenson
    D.O.B. 29/07/91
    Fav Club: Man Utd/Bray Wanderers
    Position: AMC/ST

• Registered Users Posts: 565 ✭✭✭bigwormbundoran

Class idea now

Name: Dermot Connolly
    DOB: 18/06/1990
    Fav Clubs: Finn Harps, Celtic, Chelsea
    Position: AMC/ST

• Registered Users Posts: 320 ✭✭danwhite88

How do you add players to the database?:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭busyliving

danwhite88 wrote: »
    How do you add players to the database?:confused:

In the game editor

• Registered Users Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Name: Cian Roche
    DOB: 12/03/1992
    Fav Clubs: Shamrock Rovers/Liverpool
    Position: DL

• Registered Users Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭Average-Ro

Name: Ronan O'Conghaile
    DOB: 20th September
    Fav Clubs: Man Utd
    Position: DR/WBR/MR

• Registered Users Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭peabutler

Name: Mick McCarthy Jnr.
    Nationality: Irish/English
    DOB: 3/3/1993
    Fav Club: Millwall and Wolves
    Position: D (RC) CM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Name: Ben Dover
    DOB: 19/4/1994
    Fav Club: Manchester United & Shamrock Rovers
    Position: ML/AML/CM

• Registered Users Posts: 17,187 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Name: David-Valentine Sutton
    DOB: 19/12/1988
    Favourite Club: Shamrock Rovers/Man Utd
    Position: GK

Damn I'm 17th :o

IvySlayer wrote: »
    Name: David-Valentine Sutton
    DOB: 19/12/1988
    Favourite Club: Shamrock Rovers/Man Utd
    Position: GK

Damn I'm 17th :o

Your the 15th player not 17th

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

Last one?

Ed Kevin
    Irish/Italian
    09/05
    Varese
    DR/WBR/MR/AMR

• Registered Users Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

Reganio 2 wrote: »
    Ahh sure why not :D

Name: Kevin Reganio
    DOB: 20/10/89
    Position: CM

I can't seem to edit my post but I am going to change to CM, that's actually where I play and we have way too many forwards :D

Not a worry Reganio 2, so i've started putting the players into the DB, should be done fairly soon and then i'll post screen shots of each player and we'll go from there.

If I don't post the screen shots within the next two days, just take it that i'm busy trying to get a job and i haven't gotten the change to get it all up and running:D

• Registered Users Posts: 12,039 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Sounds like a laugh, ragin I'm too late :(

L'prof wrote: »
    Sounds like a laugh, ragin I'm too late :(

Hey mate, if your still interested please post your details ASAP, I can fit you into the DB...then we'll get started:D

busyliving wrote: »
    Hey mate, if your still interested please post your details ASAP, I can fit you into the DB...then we'll get started:D

Sent the PM there.

So everybody has been uploaded into the database, I've put each of ye with one of your favourite clubs and have taken screenshots which can be seen below:

Players in England:

Jason L'Prof (Arsenal)
    Mike Lowe (Leeds)
    Iulio Vendetta (Leeds)
    Kevin Reganio (Liverpool)
    Roberto Di Maria (Liverpool)
    David Spain (Man Utd)
    Mark Cummins (Man Utd)
    David Stephenson (Man Utd)
    Ronan O'Conghaile (Man Utd)
    Mick McCarthy Jnr. (Millwall)
    David Murphy (Reading)

Players in Italy:

Dan Fink (Roma)
    Ed Kevin (Varese)

Players in Ireland:

Cian Roche (Shamrock Rovers)
    Ben Dover (Shamrock Rovers)
    David-Valentine Sutton (Shamrock Rovers)
    Dermot Connolly (Finn Harps)

Ben Dover is the first player to make the break through...coming on as a 76th minute sub in Rovers in their 2nd Rnd FAI Cup game against Limerick which finished 1-1. He also managed to pick up a yellow card during the short time on the field

Then in the very next game, David-Valentine Sutton is the first player to play a league game, which was 0-0 against Drogheda...Playing from the start, Sutton kept and Clean Sheet and getting a Rating of 6.7

Ben Dover is the first player to make the break through...coming on as a 76th minute sub in Rovers in their 2nd Rnd FAI Cup game against Limerick which finished 1-1. He also managed to pick up a yellow card during the short time on the field

Then in the very next game, David-Valentine Sutton is the first player to play a league game, which was 0-0 against Drogheda...Playing from the start, Sutton kept and Clean Sheet and getting a Rating of 6.7

Jaysus, seems like an awful lot of detail to go into. Fair play man, really looking forward to this!

• Registered Users Posts: 846 ✭✭✭TheFullDuck

Iulio Vendetta 750k at 15 :eek:

I'm only worth £9,000 :P

Iulio Vendetta 750k at 15 :eek:

I'm only worth £9,000 :P

Yeah I know, but the fact his with Leeds has a massive influence on his value:D

With you being at Utd, it's going to be hard to break through, but in saying that...its still very very early

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

Ed Kevin (Varese)

Nice stats - can imagine the phrase 'bombing up the right' being used at some point...

• Registered Users Posts: 17,187 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

David-Valentine Sutton (Shamrock Rovers)

Nice salary I have there :D