Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Queen visit related discussion goes here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

So did anything interesting happen today then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭The Left Hand Of God

Wolfe Tone wrote: »

She is wearing a very cool outfit? Suits her. Cool for her age. Well dressed lady tbh!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,571 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Oh God, Mary Byrne is singing for the Queen now on RTE- cringe!!
    Do we not have any singers that can sing in tune? *Embarrassing*

• Registered Users Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

Mary Byrne singing for her on rte.....thats one way for her not to come back, christ!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

The Queens visit is like one big massive Bord Failte advert, fair play to her for playing along with it.

I know the country is strapped for cash at the moment but the €30 million that was spent on her trip will be worth every cent, you literally cannot buy this media exposure.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,194 ✭✭✭jos28

I expect to see droves of tourists this summer with loadsa money. Bring it on !

• Registered Users Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭KINGVictor

I think the day was overshadowed by the unfortunate death of Garret Fitzgerald , the former Taoiseach.

Interestingly (well to the dismay of some folks), the Queen offered her sympathies.

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/republic-of-ireland/queens-word-of-comfort-over-garret-fitzgerald-death-16002045.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

TheZohan wrote: »
    The Queens visit is like one big massive Bord Failte advert, fair play to her for playing along with it.

I know the country is strapped for cash at the moment but the €30 million that was spent on her trip will be worth every cent, you literally cannot buy this media exposure.
    Where will th extra money that we will supposedly raise go? To schools and hospitals, frontline services, to help those in need?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

df1985 wrote: »
    Mary Byrne singing for her on rte.....thats one way for her not to come back, christ!
    I thought there were a few tuning issues with her performance tonight definitely great.

Is Olivia trying to p1ss off the Queen or what?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Trying to be funny doesnt suit Olivia
    First time in a while Mary Byrne hasnt sang This is a Mans World during a TV appearance

• Registered Users Posts: 28,476 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Watching the show now......glad I wasn't there.

Queen being made to pay for 800 years of suffering now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Mary Byrne's inclusion was a farce. She does not have one song of her own. How does she represent the talent of Ireland :confused: There are thousands of better singers than her in the country who could of done a better job and deserved the chance and are real artists. I did enjoy The Queens little dig at her when she said she didnt watch the x-factor :D

What the f*ck is this all about ? Thought this was supposed to be light entertainment.

First time in a while Mary Byrne hasnt sang This is a Mans World during a TV appearence
    I have respect for Olivia's work as a journalist and broadcaster but this isn't great.

Yea....with Gaybo's intro I thought Tommy Tiernan(:eek:) or Pat Shortt(:mad:) was coming on, not Olivia!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,469 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

A horse gave the Queen a standing ovation.

Cringeworthy. Please make it stop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

MrsD007 wrote: »
    I have respect for Olivia's work as a journalist and broadcaster but this isn't great.

It is awful!

This woman is doing damage :mad: :mad: :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

gambiaman wrote: »
    It is awful!

I had to switch, couldn't take any more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

cringe

Oh Jaysis, are Skynews covering this ?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Miriam O Callaghan would have been better,at least she would be something to look at ;)

Off to see John Magnier tomorrow :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

MrsD007 wrote: »
    Is Olivia trying to p1ss off the Queen or what?

She sounds so bitter. Somebody really should of read her speech before she went up there and talked about her as if she wasnt there. I doubt one is amused.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,849 ✭✭✭Poxyshamrock

Olivia's speech was so insulting IMO.

This is now the time for Philip to shout out STFU!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

Is there a few digs in this speech or am I picking it up wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

galwayrush wrote: »
    I had to switch, couldn't take any more.

I'm dumbstruck with absolute horror! Byrne is so patronising as well! Grrr feck off ya bunch of toadying nobsticks!:eek: