Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Queen visit related discussion goes here.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

In Dublin city centre the queen arrived to the sound of bangers going off in Cork she arrived to the sound of cheering.We showed today who the number 1 city in Ireland is.:pac:

Pack of West Brits ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 320 ✭✭Mr Cork Man

Oh Cork people :rolleyes:

At least we didn't have junkie scum running amok throwing fireworks and setting bins on fire.:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 28,476 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

In Dublin city centre the queen arrived to the sound of bangers going off in Cork she arrived to the sound of cheering.We showed today who the number 1 city in Ireland is.:pac:

Why are so many Cork people with inferiority complexes such a pain in the arse?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭baldbear

i just realised she didn't go throught security checks. What if she's carrying a bomb or smuggling over a few pounds of bacon???

• Registered Users Posts: 51,920 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

vicwatson wrote: »
    What does she do with all the gifts and souvenirs I wonder?

Keep your head down when the plane is flying over Cork lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Xivilai

A very proud day for West Britian :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

So Dubs are now no longer jackeens and that happy title has passed to the people of Cork?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,716 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Dont be a tool. She got cheers in cashel too. Security meant she didnt in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

BBC news 24 just said '' a few hundred protesters aside , nothing destroyed the dignity of the occasion '' and that's how it will be viewed by the British media and public in the main , a great success for all concerned

• Registered Users Posts: 28,476 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

baldbear wrote: »
    i just trealised she didn't go throught security checks. What if she's carrying a bomb or smuggling over a few pounds of bacon???

She's not a suicide bomber and also UK & Ireland is a free travel are so she can bring as much bacon home as she wants!

• Registered Users Posts: 320 ✭✭Mr Cork Man

dan1895 wrote: »
    Pack of West Brits ;)

Im just glad to see that the whole world now knows that Cork is home to the friendliest people in ireland and at least we fought the british.You lot allowed the brits to rule ireland for 800 years.When you did fight you surrendered after a week.:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,323 ✭✭✭sunbabe08

the title of jackeens has passed from Dublin to Cork

no that title still belongs to you guys. we're a civilized bunch.

• Registered Users Posts: 417 ✭✭twincamman

SHES OFF !!!!!!OUT WITH THE WOLFE TONE CDS AGAIN HAHA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

Just another Shinner who can't stand the fact that the Queen was welcomed by the vast majority of the Irish people and another very poor attempt at getting a dig at the Gardai.
    Must try harder.

I'm not sure about the gardai confiscating flags actually I seen an article on it but have since decided the article isnt based on any credible evidence. Wasnt designed to have a "dig" at the Gardai.

And I'm not a member of nor do I support Sinn Fein. By calling anyone you disagree with "another Shinner" just shows your lack of intelligence. Not everyone against the Queens visit supports Sinn Fein. And I have already pointed out several times that I think the Queens visit was good and I'm glad it happened. But just because the majority of people are ready to lick the queens arse for saying a couple of nice things doesnt mean everyone is that gullible or lacking in sufficient brain power to have their own opinion.

I hope all replying to him realise ye come across as just as idiotic.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭forzacalcio

I dont think there were any Union Jacks being waved by the public of Cork! Cant pass the buck that quick Im afraid!

• Registered Users Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Surely that flag won't survive the flight? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭CHealy

Wasnt all dandy, apparently there was clashes with riot police along Wandesford Quay, 32C Movement were marching up that way when I was at the end of Barracks street.

Hope the Plane doesn't crash into Obama's incoming one

Im just glad to see that the whole world now knows that Cork is home to the friendliest people in ireland and at least we fought the british.You lot allowed the brits to rule ireland for 800 years.When you did fight you surrendered after a week.:pac:

Don't seem to remember being around 800 years ago:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Latchy wrote: »
    BBC news 24 just said '' a few hundred protesters aside , nothing destroyed the dignity of the occasion '' and that's how it will be viewed by the British media and public in the main , a great success for all concerned

Not quite

Stroll over to the Daily Mail site. They misquoted Gerry Adams, invented a headline and the website is exploded in rage, hundreds of angry comments about the Irish

I'm not a Sinn Féin supporter but they twisted his words completely

So not every British media is viewing it that way

dan1895 wrote: »
    Don't seem to remember being around 800 years ago:)

Ask yore ma, she can probably tell you more

• Registered Users Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

take the flag in quick if that gets sucked into the engine

• Registered Users Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭Dostoevsky

What does the Queen do with all these 'gifts' she gets.

More to the point is it not odd for adults to receive gifts for arriving in a place? I would usually give a gift when I visit somebody's place. As far as I'm aware that's the normal practice among what the English might term 'civilised' people.

There's a fine line between friendliness/politeness, and sycophancy.

A few protestors over by FAS. Some SF but mostly Socialists. They had a van playing rebel songs also which were quite aggressive but when the queen drove along the cheering drowned them out and the black balloons they let go all headed away over FAS so werent seen.

Xivilai wrote: »
    Ask yore ma, she can probably tell you more

sure she's British!!! :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Not quite

Stroll over to the Daily Mail site. They misquoted Gerry Adams, invented a headline and the website is exploded in rage, hundreds of angry comments about the Irish

I'm not a Sinn Féin supporter but they twisted his words completely

So not every British media is viewing it that way

Sure Enda Kenny done the same. He's repeatedly attacked Adams over the last few days for not attending any of the functions, and accused him of taking Northern politics into Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

Seanbeag1 wrote: »
    I didn't hear of any flag confiscated or destroyed.

I seen a video on youtube and some articles about it on various news sites. Gardai tried to take a flag off a woman but after a closer look I think the Gadrai were just confiscating the poles that the flags were on. Video was very misleading and I was duped for a lil while. I hereby retract my statement.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,174 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

She's probably looking through all her gifts now. Either that or asleep, she must be wrecked.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Dostoevsky wrote: »
    There's a fine line between friendliness/politeness, and sycophancy.

Jesus. A new low. Anything to latch onto and make some sort of complaint about it. The Madrilenos must be sycophants for us and McAleese so. Or it could you know, just be a gesture for a visiting dignitary..

http://www.president.ie/index.php?section=5&speech=931&lang=eng