Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

best dublin slang

• 18-05-2011 6:14pm
    Registered Users Posts: 328 ✭✭

there has been many classics over the years...whats the best ones; D’yaknowhwatimeanlike

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 25,324 CMod ✭✭✭✭Spear

As a reminder ap1986, N&F isn't a dumping ground for your random questions, please stop making work for me.

Moved from N&F to somewhere appropriate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 901 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover_53

ap1986 wrote: »
    there has been many classics over the years...whats the best ones; D’yaknowhwatimeanlike

Hey ap1986, do you know where the 5 lamps are? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

ger ou' ih' dah garden, geh off dah wall and take dah yung wan wih ye

• Registered Users Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Come 'er to me!

Sounds threatening to the majority of people who don't understand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

if ye fall off tha wall and break both your legs,...dont come running to me

• Registered Users Posts: 4,250 ✭✭✭Juwwi

Edit Admiral beat me to it

• Registered Users Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭vektarman

When I caught up on ye ye were gone...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭tfak85

in all in anyways

• Closed Accounts Posts: 588 ✭✭✭R.Dub.Fusilier

not slang but...

" come out and fight the ten of us you chicken "

and

" spread out in a bunch "

• Registered Users Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

ger ou' ih' dah garden, geh off dah wall and take dah yung wan wih ye

Get dah young wan outta yer mouth!

• Registered Users Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Lustrum

"Chisler" for a young fella' has always been a favourite of mine. Or a single for a bag of chips, they definitely don't use it in Sligo anyway!

• Registered Users Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Get up the yard.

He's in the scratcher.

I love when my Dad says 'Pictures' instead of Cinema. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭cosmic

SKETCH!

I don't know if it's specific to Dublin but it's my favourite :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,869 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

I will in me bollix!
    Go and ask me hole!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,691 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

d'Je get your ecker done?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

'Will ye cop on and do yer feckin homework, otherwise I will break yer face for ye/swing for ye'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭AnalogueKid

Shuh' yoh hed!

Ask de back of me sack

Not slang, but the pronunciation of Fizzbrah (Phibsboro) always cracks me up.

• Registered Users Posts: 361 ✭✭breadandjam

Geebag and gicknah would be my favourite Dublin slang terms of abuse

• Registered Users Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Crow92

It could be worse,
    You could be from Tallaght ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Lao Lao

I'll bleedin' streeeel it out of ya...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭tfak85

I'll bleedin' brain yeh!

i worked with this woman who is such an amazing "alpha dub" and when she'd get really busy in work she'd go "Oh the paraphernalia of it all"... then she's be like "I don't know what that word means love, but it works".

• Registered Users Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

My neighbour calls the Luas the Daniel Day!

''We got the Daniel Day into towin''

• Closed Accounts Posts: 901 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover_53

My neighbour calls the Luas the Daniel Day!

''We got the Daniel Day into towin''

Also the Jerry Lee and Huey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 orl677

Howeya head, smell of benji of ye, ****ehawk!, scarlet for your ma for havin ye, ye wha!, me aul flower ;)
    (some of them probably more so just people I know..)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

Refering to someone as headtheball

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

A bag of chips is a single
    Fish n'chips is a one n' one

Everyone old lady shop assistant in Ballyfermot calls me love

Gowl
    Hey ap1986, do you know where the 5 lamps are? ;)

I know where the Five Lamps are but this post got lots of thanks and if there's a joke here I missed it :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 GetTheFFOut

A bag of chips is a single
    Fish n'chips is a one n' one

Everyone old lady shop assistant in Ballyfermot calls me love

Gowl

I know where the Five Lamps are but this post got lots of thanks and if there's a joke here I missed it :confused:
    Hang your bollox of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

"I wouldn't ride her in to battle"

makes me laugh every time :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭thebullkf

Hardshaw...:D

as in tough cookie.

Diddy's (tits)

A packet of firelighters (crisps/king/Tayto)

"I was full as a butchers dog"... (as in stuffed)

Theres a breeze out that'd shave ya.

giving someone a few clatters...;)

Brass Monkeys (freezin' out)

Oddball.

Bursting me shoite laffing.