Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Martin McAleese for President?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭whoopdedoo

Allie G wrote: »
    I'm not saying they shouldn't but in fairness look at David Norris's campaign. Legalising drugs, legalising prostitution , getting rid of the age of consent. In fairness with a President like that the country will be a laughing stock.

All I'm saying is the McAleeses have gained the respect of most of the people of this country. They have went out and met with the people even in this economic climate. Both Mary Robinson and Mary McAleese put Ireland on the map. Ireland needs somebody to lead the country who isn't afraid of pissing off the government. A person who will go above and beyond the call of duty to actually make a difference instead of sitting inside hiding behind the walls of the Aras.

I think Martin McAleese would be able to do that!

where was his wife Mary when she could have called a halt to the fianna fail government with a stroke of her pen!?! the horsesh1te being spoken about all candidates at the mo is making me sick!

as regards David Norris radical thinking you point out above, you think this country needs someone who's of the mind we need another 50 years of FAILED drugs policies is it? I dont. you want some ****ing square who wants to keep the oldest profession on the planet illegal? I don't as I know some who've never experienced sex who should be able to pay for it and not miss out! the age of consent should be looked at cos the way it is today is doing nothing to stop teen pregnancy! OUR SOLE PURPOSE ON THIS PLANET IS TO PROCREATE AND CONSUME for crying out loud.

yes let's have another square in the arùs again PLEASE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

mikom wrote: »
    To where?[/QUOTE
    http://www.yourcountryyourcall.com/about.html
    theres the link on it!

Whoosh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 Allie G

whoopdedoo wrote: »
    where was his wife Mary when she could have called a halt to the fianna fail government with a stroke of her pen!?! the horsesh1te being spoken about all candidates at the mo is making me sick!

as regards David Norris radical thinking you point out above, you think this country needs someone who's of the mind we need another 50 years of FAILED drugs policies is it? I dont. you want some ****ing square who wants to keep the oldest profession on the planet illegal? I don't as I know some who've never experienced sex who should be able to pay for it and not miss out! the age of consent should be looked at cos the way it is today is doing nothing to stop teen pregnancy! OUR SOLE PURPOSE ON THIS PLANET IS TO PROCREATE AND CONSUME for crying out loud.

Ok so you think its okay for people to die of drug overdoses? You agree that women and men who are on the streets selling themselves should be left there instead of helped get their lives back together?? And is it okay for a 60 year old and a 13 year old to start having sex together? really?

Ok so you think its okay for people to die of drug overdoses?
    A study by the Cato Institute, a libertarian think tank, has found that in the five years after decriminalisation, Portugal’s drug problems had improved in every measured way. The man behind the research, Glenn Greenwald, a lawyer, told Time: “Judging by every metric, decriminalization in Portugal has been a resounding success.”

Portuguese policy is that possession of small amounts of any drug is not a criminal offence; if you are found possessing it, you can be put before a panel of a psychologist, social worker and legal adviser, who will decide appropriate treatment. You are free to refuse that treatment, and a jail sentence is not an option. Drug trafficking is still illegal and punishable by jail.

I’ll just go through the figures; apologies for the slew of statistics. Drug use among 13- to 15-year-olds fell from 14.1 per cent in 2001 to 10.6 per cent in 2006. Among 16- to 18-year-olds it has dropped from 27.6 per cent to 21.6 per cent. This, incidentally, has come after years of steadily increasing drug use among the young; between 1995 and 2001, use in the 16-to-18 bracket leapt up from 14.1 per cent to its 2001 high. This drop has come against a background of increasing drug use across the rest of the EU.

There has been a mild increase in use among older groups, 19-24 and up, but this is expected due to the rise in use in the young in the 1990s; it’s a “cohort effect”, meaning that young people get older, and take their habits with them.

Further, HIV infections among drug users fell, drug-related deaths fell, there was a decrease in trafficking, and a huge amount of money was saved by offering treatment instead of prison sentences.

The Portugal experience suggests that decriminalisation is exactly the right approach for their stated priorities of reducing drug use and reducing crime. If your approach has been shown, several times, to achieve the opposite of what you intend, it may be time to change that approach.
    http://blogs.telegraph.co.uk/culture/tomchivers/100047485/portugal-drug-decriminalisation-a-resounding-success-will-britain-respond-no/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

where was his wife Mary when she could have called a halt to the fianna fail government with a stroke of her pen!?!

Explain?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

The McAleese's have done a fantastic job in Ireland. They have represented this country with dignity and respect. I can't remember a single time there was a scandal with them. Had the pleasure of spending a little bit of time with President and Senator McAleese. They treat us common Irish people with the same warmth and friendliness they have treated every other visitor ie The Queen!

I personally would love to see Martin McAleese run for presidency. At least he wont be legalising drugs and Prostitution!!

Ye have none of these in Tipperary as it is.:rolleyes:

Ok so you think its okay for people to die of drug overdoses? You agree that women and men who are on the streets selling themselves should be left there instead of helped get their lives back together?? And is it okay for a 60 year old and a 13 year old to start having sex together? really?

no, no and no!

let me point out that people have been dying of drug overdoses long before and more to the point are still doing so despite the war on durgs!

as for the desperate souls you call prostitutes, they are not! when I think prostitution I think clean, comfortable surroundings which is so far removed from your nightmarish example of people who need help and not those who are just professionally sexy people!

the extreme consent example you gave was also way off! correct me if I'm wrong but the age of consent is different from boy and girl right? a boy 16 and girl 17, so the state can and has prosecuted a 16 boy if he slept with his 16 year old girlfriend!

shame and you and your ilk!!

Dont go away just yet, Your a rare breed of Irish person who has actually got sense.:cool:

http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/0217/drugsfeature.html

Thats all well and good but its not the small amounts of drugs that are the problem! It's the vast amounts that are in this country! Drugs have become easy to get nowadays. I saw what the consequences of drug abuse can be first hand and IN MY OPINION legalising them is only going to make that problem worse.

I'm not saying I'm right, I'm just giving my opinion! I saw the extremes a person would go to to fund a drug habbit! These people need help not more encouragement to stay addicted to drugs!

ninty9er wrote: »
    Explain?

she had ample opportunity to disolve the previous government but decided to let them run the country into the ground cos she knows what side her bread is buttered!

it makes me laugh the way some are quoting "they done so much for the people of Ireland and won the respect of so many of us"

we're all living in 2011 and don't buy that bull anymore! I have not been bowled over by her to be honest. I couldn't care less if we had a president, actually no I wish we didn't have one and could instead plough the money into other services instead!

charlemont wrote: »
    Ye have none of these in Tipperary as it is.:rolleyes:

Thats Bull and you know it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,895 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Never really gave much thought to it

Yep.

no, no and no!

let me point out that people have been dying of drug overdoses long before and more to the point are still doing so despite the war on durgs!

as for the desperate souls you call prostitutes, they are not! when I think prostitution I think clean, comfortable surroundings which is so far removed from your nightmarish example of people who need help and not those who are just professionally sexy people!

the extreme consent example you gave was also way off! correct me if I'm wrong but the age of consent is different from boy and girl right? a boy 16 and girl 17, so the state can and has prosecuted a 16 boy if he slept with his 16 year old girlfriend!

Yep totally agree with you! Drugs have been always been a problem! There's no denying that.

Prostitution can what you just said it was but it is also people on the streets desperate for money!

All I'm saying is if the age of consent is abolished it will be okay for perverts to have sex with kids! I do agree the age of consent should be the same for both male and female just not completely abolished!

Your link actually argues in favor of the Portuguese method.
    So a bit of a backfire there.

Thats all well and good but its not the small amounts of drugs that are the problem! It's the vast amounts that are in this country!

Where do you think the small amounts come from?

Drugs have become easy to get nowadays.

Current system working well so, do ya think.
    These people need help not more encouragement to stay addicted to drugs!

Your answer as stated earlier.
    Portuguese policy is that possession of small amounts of any drug is not a criminal offence; if you are found possessing it, you can be put before a panel of a psychologist, social worker and legal adviser, who will decide appropriate treatment. You are free to refuse that treatment, and a jail sentence is not an option. Drug trafficking is still illegal and punishable by jail.

I’ll just go through the figures; apologies for the slew of statistics. Drug use among 13- to 15-year-olds fell from 14.1 per cent in 2001 to 10.6 per cent in 2006. Among 16- to 18-year-olds it has dropped from 27.6 per cent to 21.6 per cent. This, incidentally, has come after years of steadily increasing drug use among the young; between 1995 and 2001, use in the 16-to-18 bracket leapt up from 14.1 per cent to its 2001 high. This drop has come against a background of increasing drug use across the rest of the EU.

There has been a mild increase in use among older groups, 19-24 and up, but this is expected due to the rise in use in the young in the 1990s; it’s a “cohort effect”, meaning that young people get older, and take their habits with them.

Further, HIV infections among drug users fell, drug-related deaths fell, there was a decrease in trafficking, and a huge amount of money was saved by offering treatment instead of prison sentences.

The Portugal experience suggests that decriminalisation is exactly the right approach for their stated priorities of reducing drug use and reducing crime. If your approach has been shown, several times, to achieve the opposite of what you intend, it may be time to change that approach.
    http://blogs.telegraph.co.uk/culture/tomchivers/100047485/portugal-drug-decriminalisation-a-resounding-success-will-britain-respond-no/

But sure you can keep walking into that wall with your nose if you want.
    I'm sure some day it will crumble and fall.

Thats Bull and you know it!

So your saying Tipperary has no Prostitutes and no drugs, Thats a bold statement, But which Tipperary is this ?, I know iv had a few puffs of the grass in Tipperary but it must be a different Tipperary to the one your on about so.
    So even Clonmel has no prostitutes now, Wasnt like that last time I heard.
    Must be totally different Tipperary in a parallel universe.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/0217/drugsfeature.html

Thats all well and good but its not the small amounts of drugs that are the problem! It's the vast amounts that are in this country! Drugs have become easy to get nowadays. I saw what the consequences of drug abuse can be first hand and IN MY OPINION legalising them is only going to make that problem worse.

I'm not saying I'm right, I'm just giving my opinion! I saw the extremes a person would go to to fund a drug habbit! These people need help not more encouragement to stay addicted to drugs!

within 3/6 months of cannabis being legalised in this country you will see such a rapid drop in alcoholism and serious drug addiction is just not even funny!

the reaction of a few who probably couldn't handle been given a glass of water without nearly drowning themselves are going to keep certain drugs illegal for us all who can very much handle them?

it's come out in the last week that the majority of irish drinkers are binging and doing themselves, their family,'friends and he state a lot of damage.

it also came out that deaths from smoking cigarettes in Ireland account for more than illegal drugs, road deaths and murders put together!

no, no and no!

charlemont wrote: »
    So your saying Tipperary has no Prostitutes and no drugs, Thats a bold statement, But which Tipperary is this ?, I know iv had a few puffs of the grass in Tipperary but it must be a different Tipperary to the one your on about so.
    So even Clonmel has no prostitutes now, Wasnt like that last time I heard.
    Must be totally different Tipperary in a parallel universe.

I never said Tipperary had no drugs or prostitutes!!

she had ample opportunity to disolve the previous government but decided to let them run the country into the ground cos she knows what side her bread is buttered!

it makes me laugh the way some are quoting "they done so much for the people of Ireland and won the respect of so many of us"

we're all living in 2011 and don't buy that bull anymore! I have not been bowled over by her to be honest. I couldn't care less if we had a president, actually no I wish we didn't have one and could instead plough the money into other services instead!

You should read Article 13.2 a bit more carefully.:rolleyes:

ninty9er wrote: »
    You should read Article 13.2 a bit more carefully.:rolleyes:

care to quote it for me oh wise one?

I never said Tipperary had no drugs or prostitutes!!

I was being sarcastic when I replied first time.

C'mon, Grow a pair, People like the McAleese's wont do anything out of the ordinary for this country. Just the same old, same old policies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭The Internet Explorer

Sorry, did somebody just say David Norris was in favour of legalising drugs ? Can somebody kindly confirm or deny this ?

I had a lad try to start spouting sh1t at me about Michael d yesterday and he only managed to say (there's his booklet and in there you'll see all about his policies) to which i replied "and what policy changes have been brought in specifically by a previous recent president?

he had no answer for me and so I went on to tell him I was told Michael D would be the next president of Ireland this time last year so I wished him best of luck in his campaign!

Sorry, did somebody just say David Norris was in favour of legalising drugs ? Can somebody kindly confirm or deny this ?

I think he caused the big bang too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭The Internet Explorer

I think he caused the big bang too

Sorry pal I gotta be honest and say I don't really know what your on about. My mind is elsewhere. Not to worry though. But seriously, if I vote for the N-Dogg, will he ?

• Site Banned Posts: 4,066 ✭✭✭Silvio.Dante

Yep :) and met them in Cork hospital as well!
    lucky you. A friend in work was at the Garden Party aswell. She had a lovely day.

Norris would never get my vote now. I do think he's contributed to Irish socety in an overall positive way but how could I vote for him while he promotes Pedastry...?

care to quote it for me oh wise one?
    Lovely. A complete genius that didn't check what the President can actually do before granting him/her the power.

The President cannot take it upon him/herself to dissolve the Dáil:
    Dáil Éireann shall be summoned and dissolved by the President on the advice of the Taoiseach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭anymore

Sand wrote: »
    Looks like Irish presidential hopeful Michael D is establishing his Irish intellectual credentials, writing about his bitter, bleak and harsh Irish childhood in the priest ridden grey country of DeValera...so at least we know he'll be able to properly represent the Irish attitude to our country.

You'd wonder if anyone born in Ireland had a happy childhood, or even a "grand" childhood. Its not really Obama Yes-We-Can! type stuff, is it?

He as so traumatised by the experience that he thinks that in the midst of recession we should continue pouring millions and millions in the form of grants etc into the arts and culture sector and on top of that we should continue to allow artists and writers to earn € 100,000 a years tax free not to mention all the millions and millions to go into the Gaeltacht areas. That is really being traumatised isn't ? Kinda coincidence that he is a writer and lives in a Gaelacht !
    And for all his poor impoverished background, he managed to get through UCG. Many poor kids in the fifties and sixties were lucky if they got as far as the Group Cert in Secondary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭anymore

anymore wrote: »
    He as so traumatised by the experience that he thinks that in the midst of recession we should continue pouring millions and millions in the form of grants etc into the arts and culture sector and on top of that we should continue to allow artists and writers to earn € 100,000 a years tax free not to mention all the millions and millions to go into the Gaeltacht areas. That is really being traumatised isn't ? Kinda coincidence that he is a writer and lives in a Gaelacht !
    And for all his poor impoverished background, he managed to get through UCG. Many poor kids in the fifties and sixties were lucky if they got as far as the Group Cert in Secondary.

To answer my own question, I had a quick peek at his wikipedia entry and clearly there were difficulties in his early years, but how much this was attributable to De valera is questionable. Unfortunately part of the problem was the age old irish one.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Michael_D._Higgins

lucky you. A friend in work was at the Garden Party aswell. She had a lovely day.

Norris would never get my vote now. I do think he's contributed to Irish socety in an overall positive way but how could I vote for him while he promotes Pedastry...?

It really was a great day! I think everyone that was there enjoyed it!!

Will ya stop how he is even running for presidency is beyond me! It is clearly a pure publicity stunt for his name to get out there! Don't think he'll actually go through with the whole campaign!

• Site Banned Posts: 4,066 ✭✭✭Silvio.Dante

It really was a great day! I think everyone that was there enjoyed it!!

Will ya stop how he is even running for presidency is beyond me! It is clearly a pure publicity stunt for his name to get out there! Don't think he'll actually go through with the whole campaign!

My friend said the Coronas were very good, if a little tired after Oxegen :)

I hear Fianna Fail might support Norris in the Dail. Perfect bedfellows...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,140 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

sorry still missing the details of what he did.