Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best Donegal Slang

• Registered Users Posts: 46,098 ✭✭✭✭muffler

Donegal people realise they're lower class!
    Give people like you an inch and you take a yard.

You have trolled once to often on this forum so bye bye.

Madam wrote: »
    I've often wondered why folk(maybe the older ones)in Donegal say their going 'up' to Dublin(Sligo or wherever):confused:
    I'd say it has more to do with Dublin being the capital city of Ireland.

In relation to Sligo I have no idea yet I have even used the phrase myself on numerous occasions

• Registered Users Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

Is it a country thing do you think? - I was going to put culchie but did'nt want to offend;)

Has anyone mention thole or thoal? Aas in - 'she has a great thole' - meaning, she can hold her water;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭yuloni

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Rds1989

A few more here from the laggan area.

Doon-down
    wusnae-was not
    whist-be quiet
    redd-tidy
    hame-home
    brae-a slope
    coddin-joking
    crabbit-angry
    purdies-potatoes
    a wee cuttie-young girl
    blabber-talk

• Registered Users Posts: 3,937 ✭✭✭implausible

Noreen1 wrote: »
    I don't spend enough time around Letterkenny, it seems.:D
    I've never heard any of the bolded text - and I've lived in Donegal for most of my life..... :confused:
    muffler wrote: »
    I've no idea where people have heard those.

Ye need to spend more time around 15 year olds, especially the lads!

And speaking of 'ye', the same young lads go into convulsions every time I say it - it's more grammatically correct than 'yous'!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭Noreen1

deemark wrote: »
    Ye need to spend more time around 15 year olds, especially the lads!

And speaking of 'ye', the same young lads go into convulsions every time I say it - it's more grammatically correct than 'yous'!

Do 16 and 17 year old lads count?
    My kids don't use those word - neither do their "mates". I've honestly never heard those words before, and I sometimes feel like I get far too much teenage company.:P:D:D

"Ye", on the other hand, gets used a lot around this house.....:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

redd-tidy

Still cannot get my head around this one can anyone explain it

Hootanany wrote: »
    redd-tidy

Still cannot get my head around this one can anyone explain it

redd = get rid (of clutter) = tidy (up).

• Registered Users Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Noreen1 wrote: »
    redd = get rid (of clutter) = tidy (up).

Are most of those slang words we use not just Ulster/Scots words or derived from Irish? Like the word 'clabber' it that an Irish word for mud?

Drooked.........= got wet/drenched

Are most of those slang words we use not just Ulster/Scots words or derived from Irish? Like the word 'clabber' it that an Irish word for mud?

Clabber (spelled differently) is indeed the Irish word for mud.
    I've been wondering about the Ulster/Scots connection myself, though I think it's mostly just localised dialects. Some of the slang used definitely has a Scots or Ulster connection, though.

• Registered Users Posts: 18 lovebud

ya big hallion ye

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Dr. Bad Touch

RMDrive wrote: »
    Staish the shape of the juck with the yock

Super 8 kids yo :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Billy Bunting

Done 6 pages an can do no more :P

How's she cuttin!!! culchies :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 461 ✭✭mk2

It was going so well until wee Danieeeellllll appeared :(

• Registered Users Posts: 52 ✭✭Dr. Fell

I've often wondered why folk(maybe the older ones)in Donegal say their going 'up' to Dublin(Sligo or wherever):confused:

From Glencolmcille, you would go up to Dublin, down to Sligo, over to Strabane, out to Port, down to Killybegs but out to Kilcar.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Duddy

I love around 5.08 on that video "A HAM SHURELAY!" :D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 154 ✭✭mac_iomhair

I have only ever heard donegal people say the word "schlipe" or "slipe" ( id imagine thats hows it spelt) meaning to drag something along the ground. Maybe its Ulster Scots?
    or porthaaaal :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

muffler wrote: »
    It was going so well until wee Danieeeellllll appeared :(

His mullet wasn't that wee!

fontanalis wrote: »
    His mullet wasn't that wee!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,587 ✭✭✭Penfailed

I have only ever heard donegal people say the word "schlipe" or "slipe" ( id imagine thats hows it spelt) meaning to drag something along the ground. Maybe its Ulster Scots?
    or porthaaaal :D

I've heard it in Derry too :)

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Ride, PJ Harvey, Pixies, Public Service Broadcasting, Therapy?, IDLES(x2)

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Joannie

One I haven't seen mentioned is "Skitter". A skitter is a brat or bauld wean but you can also have "the skitter" which is diarrhoea and you could even be served "skittery tay" - very weak tea.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

deman wrote: »
    No Laggan accent??

*Ahem* Is L'Kenny not in the laggan? - My parents used to have this row now and then, with my mum saying it is and my dad (from the Finn Valley)saying no it's not;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭stephendevlin

everything is NAAW SO BUAD

• Registered Users Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

*Ahem* Is L'Kenny not in the laggan? - My parents used to have this row now and then, with my mum saying it is and my dad (from the Finn Valley)saying no it's not;)

Absolutely not. The Laggan accent ends around Manor and then continues up around Ramelton a bit.