Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

tGC Summer Beers - Saturday June 25th - Lafayette

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Screw You Hippies!
    Czech Inn is where?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭18AD

Saturday June 25th
    Just off Parliament Street. Near the Turk's Head.

Screw You Hippies!
    Could be a good shout so.The 4 am opening time merely sweetens the deal.

What say the rest of the attendees?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Czech Inn is where?

It's kind off tucked in between the Button factory and Film Base in Temple Bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Is it that Isolde's Towers place or somewhere different?

Screw You Hippies!
    18AD wrote: »
    Just off Parliament Street. Near the Turk's Head.
    Galvasean wrote: »
    It's kind off tucked in between the Button factory and Film Base in Temple Bar.
    Larianne wrote: »
    Is it that Isolde's Towers place or somewhere different?

Lads Im from Longford.

Detailed map or GTFO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,368 ✭✭✭The_Morrigan

Screw You Hippies!
    Lads Im from Longford.

Detailed map or GTFO!

LMAO

You're too kind 18AD, I was ready to scream, "Just google it!!!"

Lads Im from Longford.

Detailed map or GTFO!

Longford?

I think its you that needs to GTFO! :p

Screw You Hippies!
    /smacks Larianne upside the noggin with ban hammer.

Anyone else wanna have a pop???

D'mind him. :rolleyes:

Don't think I've ever been to The Czech Inn so dunno.

Oh, is there two Czech Inn??? :confused:

You do not want to make an enemy of the Palaeontology forum moderator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

Screw You Hippies!
    /smacks Larianne upside the noggin with ban hammer.

After having spent the weekend in Longford I actually can't fault the place! :eek:
    Though seriously.......you lot breed some hot looking 18yr old lads it's disturbing yet you can't help but perv :pac:

Also all of the suggestions so far I haven't a feicin notion and don't like as they sound too far away :pac::p

Czech Inn I'll vote for as I can still technically walk there from the hostel :D

Screw You Hippies!
    /Adds Tuds to the Christmas card list.

Screw You Hippies!
    \o/

Pervert likes Longford

'nuf said

If they're shop bought, I don't care!

Screw You Hippies!
    Pervert likes Longford
    If they're shop bought, I don't care!

Shop bought perverts?

What the deuce?

Saturday June 25th
    I think they've caught The Longford.

Screw You Hippies!
    Pervert likes Longford

Are you calling me a pervert!!!**
    I think they've caught The Longford.

And are ye saying I've caught something :eek::eek:

Well feic the two of ye's :p

**In my defense I did try to stop perving when I found out their actual age but their faces were too lovely not to look at the odd time :pac:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Friday June 24th
    I'll drink anything from anywhere though.

Just for the record, that's not a dual account of mine, ya'll saw him at the beers the other week.

ToniTuddle wrote: »
    **In my defense I did try to stop perving when I found out their actual age but their faces were too lovely not to look at the odd time :pac:

Gaaaaze into the abysssss..........
    robert-pattinson.jpg%3F__SQUARESPACE_CACHEVERSION%3D1300422512547&sa=X&ei=imTnTa2kBcmxhAeSmfXGCg&ved=0CAQQ8wc&usg=AFQjCNH_NoZQ760lNWU_upHhb8cUDMB1gQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭Hyperbullet

Friday June 24th
    robert-pattinson.jpg%3F__SQUARESPACE_CACHEVERSION%3D1300422512547&sa=X&ei=imTnTa2kBcmxhAeSmfXGCg&ved=0CAQQ8wc&usg=AFQjCNH_NoZQ760lNWU_upHhb8cUDMB1gQ

I just punched the monitor. Thanks for that :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,637 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

picture.php?albumid=1433&pictureid=8257

FYP :cool:

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

Saturday June 25th
    Just for the record, that's not a dual account of mine, ya'll saw him at the beers the other week.

Yes it is. :confused:

Anyone been to that new Lafayette place beside O'Connell Bridge?

http://www.lafayettecafebar.ie/

Screw You Hippies!

That has to be the worst possible photo of him!

This one is much better :pac::pac:

Rob_on_floor.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭Hyperbullet

Friday June 24th
    Stop this Pattinson madness! More talk of beer! I've time booked off work so count me in for this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Screw You Hippies!
    How about the D2 in harcourt st? I heard they do good deals on drinks,and its a reasonably classy place.i'll look up the details when I get home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,368 ✭✭✭The_Morrigan

Screw You Hippies!
    How about the D2 in harcourt st? I heard they do good deals on drinks,and its a reasonably classy place.i'll look up the details when I get home.

That is the same location as The Bernard Shaw, which was already classified as too far from the center to suit everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

Friday June 17th
    That is the same location as The Bernard Shaw, which was already classified as too far from the center to suit everyone.

D2 is pretty central, it's a 2-3 minute walk from Stephens Green. It's directly opposite Coppers, so I don't think anybody would say Coppers is not central. Bernard Shaw is fairly close but not exactly the same place and people not familiar with the area would find it harder to locate. I still think the Bernard Shaw would have suited (and is one of my favourites in Dublin).

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Friday June 24th
    Well the Bernard Shaw is just around the corner from the other 2.

As far as I can remember though, that place closes up rather early anyhow? Well it did the last time I was in there.

D2 is pretty central, it's a 2-3 minute walk from Stephens Green. It's directly opposite Coppers, so I don't think anybody would say Coppers is not central. Bernard Shaw is fairly close but not exactly the same place and people not familiar with the area would find it harder to locate. I still think the Bernard Shaw would have suited (and is one of my favourites in Dublin).

It's very far away! But then again, everything is.. :pac: (Northsider)

Screw You Hippies!
    Anyone been to that new Lafayette place beside O'Connell Bridge?

http://www.lafayettecafebar.ie/

Oh I saw that the last time I was down made me think of True Blood as that's one of the characters names :D

The website makes it sound pretty damn funky. :)
    Plus late bar until 3am and the pub turn into a club...two levels it says so ya probably don't have to go to the club part if you don't want too.

If anyone passes by there maybe they could pop in and find out about drink prices? It has a list of the drinks but the prices wouldn't come up for me something about the text....

I also greatly approve of this place in relation to me hostel :pac::pac:

*big thumbs up*

:p

Friday June 17th
    It's very far away! But then again, everything is.. :pac: (Northsider)

I don't even live in Dublin :D

My point yesterday about things being central is that it should be easy to find, given people will be coming from all over. I don't think the location of Bernard Shaw or D2 is the problem with them. Although of the 2, Bernard Shaw would be mildly harder to find due to the chance of wandering off in the wrong direction. Though the two of them would suit drinks first followed by somewhere suited to dancing/drinks.

Maybe we should pick a list of places and vote on them?

Screw You Hippies!
    I vote for voting! I'm not exactly near stephens green but I kinda expect to have to travel a bit.sure a poll on a few decent choices would do.i could call in to lafayette monday,wont get a chance before then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Screw You Hippies!
    Was in Harcourt Hotel/D2 there at the weekend...wasnt drinking myself but told that most pints are close enough to a fiver, and it was a drain on the wallet for quite a few people with us!

Screw You Hippies!
    Was in Harcourt Hotel/D2 there at the weekend...wasnt drinking myself but told that most pints are close enough to a fiver, and it was a drain on the wallet for quite a few people with us!

hmm.... just curious though, where exactly does pints for less than that? or significantly less? i just read something about them doing deals up until 11pm so i dunno. don't know the place at all like, was just suggesting it as i heard of that.

oh hai you, btw :)

Screw You Hippies!
    Sub Lounge does the cheapest pints on a Saturday night for Dublin as far as I know. Plus it's a perfect spot for beers(many have been had in there), goes on late enough if memory serves me right! Plus they make certain shots depending on the hour...very very cheap :pac:

Another option for the poll.

Screw You Hippies!
    ToniTuddle wrote: »
    Sub Lounge does the cheapest pints on a Saturday night for Dublin as far as I know. Plus it's a perfect spot for beers(many have been had in there), goes on late enough if memory serves me right! Plus they make certain shots depending on the hour...very very cheap :pac:

Another option for the poll.

yes forgot about here. it's a nice place and all.

(and I do remember thinking good jebus there's a lot of good looking men here :D)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,247 ✭✭✭Maguined

Probably not to everyones tastes but Gypsy Rose!

Screw You Hippies!
    Wouldn't mind checking that place out at some point again....perfect location :pac:

But if some folks gonna be all dressed up in suits and such carry on then it probably aint a good location or the Sub Lounge for that matter as they kinda more casual dressy/rocky/anything.

Feic the damn suits and fancy pants dresses!! :p

Screw You Hippies!
    Poll now available in other thread.I plumped for Lafayette.Looks nice and Ive been meaning to stop in since I noticed it.

Friday June 17th
    I went Lafayette because it is new and exciting to me. The Art Gallery alone won my vote.

Plus it reminds me of True Blood :P

I wanted to vote for all but Bernard Shaw (me, I hate taht part of town for some reason), but gave my vote to Front Lounge because I want to help Pepe LeFrits score a woman there and win my tenner.

Friday June 17th
    I love the Bernard Shaw, but I go there enough on my own time (well I used to go there before moving away from Dublin). Time for a change of venue! All these places are within a fairly short walk of each other anyway.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Friday June 24th
    Ooooh Front Lounge or Lafayette for me :D

Screw You Hippies!
    Plus it reminds me of True Blood :P

*starts some quotes of the dude himself*

-if she talked anymore **** she would be shaped like a toilet
    -well you go ahead on, hookah with yo badass
    -them f**kers is a whole new dimension of trash
    -go tell yo mamma that two ******s whooped yo ass!
    -Excuse me. Who ordered the hamburger with AIDS?
    -Well I'm goin' to head on over to the bar. Make sure Terry aint PTSDing all over my clam chowder.
    -Oh damn, white folk just all f**ked up!

*ends quotes for now*

I only watched one episode of True blood. it was the one where the stupid guy took too much V and it made his dick swell up in an obscenely painful way. The black girl took him to the doctor who then extracted the toxins with a big needle.
    "keep that needle away from mah penis!"