Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

US president Obama visits Ireland megathread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

iMax wrote: »
    Clinton had Aer Lingus branded steps
    Nodin wrote: »
    Clinton had a lot of things.

Clinton could play sax!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,775 ✭✭✭Fittle

Auvers wrote: »
    its only around 1hr 15mins to Moneygall and thats at 100-120kph for me driving in an Astra, they could make it there in less than 1hr with the whole road to themselves

Not according to this, and other websites...it took 1hr 40 for the advance team in a practice run...

http://midlandrecord.ie/news/?p=778

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

The people of Moneygall to Obama later..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭dan185

Jake1 wrote: »
    wonders if they'll fly over lucan again???
    the ****ing noise of that was epic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

Justr spotted the chinooks head over Liffey Valley heading South West.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Fittle wrote: »
    Not according to this, and other websites...it took 1hr 40 for the advance team in a practice run...

http://midlandrecord.ie/news/?p=778

That was a few weeks ago, I was on the motorway when they did the run. They had brand new black Audi A6 cars, they were really shifting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭sportzstar

Is it going to be possible to walk through town, ie College Green, later?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Moneygall awaits! Very stormy - pity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

Don't think you'd get anywhere close if you left your houses now:
    http://twitpic.com/51hwj4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Fago! wrote: »

Holy crap!!
    Ah I would go down there but its too feckin windy to spend 4 hours waiting in this weather listening to jedward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭tiger55

Bet people are scared to death to protest Obama about Libya and Guantanamo bay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭tiger55

Fago! wrote: »

Whats with the red hats?

Holy crap!!
    Ah I would go down there but its too feckin windy *anything on earth* to spend 4 hours waiting in this weather listening listen to jedward

FYP

tiger55 wrote: »
    Whats with the red hats?

Maybe there's hundreds of "Wally" impersonators in the crowd :/

You'd wanna be mad if you think you can get a place down there now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

iMax wrote: »
    Clinton had Aer Lingus branded steps

I made up the thing about the steps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Bush was funnier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭daedal

I heard there was a man gunned down by gardai in connolly station earlier today!

He said he was going to killbarrack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

It all looks very 80's in Moneygall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭damoz

daedal wrote: »
    I heard there was a man gunned down by gardai in connolly station earlier today!

He said he was going to killbarrack

wow - another one? the 10th today :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Just watching the RTE coverage in work (yah, fire me!) and wondering if anyone else is having a problem with the net coverage? RTE just showing stock crowd footage (though sound is fine) and then feed dies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

some crowd, can imagine what college green itself is like, was gonna head in now but not a hope!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭damoz

later10 wrote: »
    Just watching the RTE coverage in work (yah, fire me!) and wondering if anyone else is having a provlem with the net coverage? RTE just showing stock crowd footage and then feed dies.

yep - rte sucks for me. resigned to watching TV3 - terrible coverage and commentary.

later10 wrote: »
    Just watching the RTE coverage in work (yah, fire me!) and wondering if anyone else is having a problem with the net coverage? RTE just showing stock crowd footage (though sound is fine) and then feed dies.

I have the TV3 stream going on the net and all perfect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

It's pretty embarrassing that americans are going to see all this footage of Offaly and think Ireland is exactly how they imagine :/

Commentator - "It will be a hugely emotional moment for him when he sees the family record"

Really??????????

Im watching the footage on tv3 but just checked rte player and the footage looks the exact same

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Poor old Moneygall - it's feckin pissing down!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Jaysus, it's absolutely pissing down in Moneygall

Bastid brought the rain with him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Voodoo_rasher

Mick Lowry is ,i'd say.

--LOS-- wrote: »
    Im watching the footage on tv3 but just checked rte player and the footage looks the exact same
    yeah it's fine again now; just dies every time something relevant happens!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭the west wing

gambiaman wrote: »
    Poor old Moneygall - it's feckin pissing down!
    Well it wouldn't be Ireland without a bit of rain!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Watching all the events live here on the BBC news 24 website

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/10318089

great shot of wild and windy Moneygall

Hey Moneygall - this wouldn't all be happening if your historical son wasn't also a slave owner.

Go slavery!!! Wooooooooooot!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Well it wouldn't be Ireland without a bit of rain!

Mrs Obama looked mightily pissed off and frozen getting out of that helicopter - it'll probably be boiling come 6o'clock in College Green!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Just tuned in now, nearly brings a tear to my eye.

He's on route to Moneygall by road. Chopper landed in the local hurling pitch a few mins ago.

Pity about the rain. Hopefully he will still go for a walkabout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

It all looks very 80's in Moneygall

They updated it for the visit.

Rain, rain, go away!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

welcome home Barack, welcome home...

I always said he wasn't really black - it's just generations worth caked on turf dust has him like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Balls. It couldn't have stayed dry for an hour could it. Really putting a dampner on things.

Aidric wrote: »
    Balls. It couldn't have stayed dry for an hour could it. Really putting a dampner on things.
    It just makes it all the more amusing! Some of this RTE commentary is just bizarre
    "WE HAVE SANDED THE FLOORS AND PAINTED IT"
    - "What colour?"
    "WHITE!!!!"

This is great to watch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Guy killed at Connolly Station earlier today!

Apparently, he tried to tell some guy that Kill Barrick joke that had already heard it seventy four times, and the guy threw him under a train.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

So Moneygall is your typical one street-no horse culchie townlet? Probably has a pub called kennedys and all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭TaraFoxglove

This is all a bit cringey. It's just a bog standard Irish village. So much nicer places he could have gone, ancestral home or not.
    Bambi wrote: »
    So Moneygall is your typical one street-no horse culchie townlet? Probably has a pub called kennedys and all.

Snap, Bambi! :D

The sun comes out on time:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭the west wing

Obama really can bring out the sun, first in the Phoenix Park, now Moneygall. He is a God!

He got the loan of Dog The Bounty Hunters jeep.