Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wicklow 200 2011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭g0g

Some photos from start on website now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Phil2me wrote: »
    Well did you take on my advice to reach 200k ie Kippure LOL...

no, not with the wee bit of rain up there :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

First photo there:

IMG_0678.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

g0g wrote: »
    Some photos from start on website now!

God love them!, They're all still smiling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

happytramp wrote: »
    God love them!, Their all still smiling.

Aye, can't wait to see photos from the end :)

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

seamus wrote: »
    I've slept a good bit. Fairly sore.....
    Great report Seamus - it's reports like this that make it all worthwhile ....

....worthwhile sitting at home, watching TV with the kids while it's raining cats and dogs outside, waiting for the reports to come in ....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭Zorba

First wicklow200 was a baptism of fire or water !

Day before i tried to change my 38 ring to a 34 but one of the bolts rung so thought sure it'll be grand i'm only doing the 100 i'll struggle through. Just before the 100 turnoff my mate is saying sure 100 is just like a sunday spin to us seems a bit of a waste not to do the 200 so off i went with my 38*25 and jesus did i pay for it on the Slieve Maan and Shay Elliot climbs, cadence was only around 40, talk about grinding gears, suppose it might pay off sometime in the future, power training type of thing !

Only seen one crash at the bottom of Sally Gap, at the time couldn't get a good look so wasn't sure if he stopped for a piss or if he crashed, hopefully he's ok.

Only wore knee warmers, two jerseys and gillet for the day and was frozen to the bone, lost the feeling in my left hand for the last 3 hrs so had use my fist to change between big ring and small ring, had to stop to get food and gels in.

Agree with others about the first stop was a joke, shivering in the rain for tea and sambo so i didn't stop at any of the other water or food stops, had enough of both with me, didn't actually drink much only 2 bottles think the rain kept me well hydrated. I went by the second stop and kept going thinking i was on the right road was wondering why some cyclist were looking at me funny so asked one am i going the right way, he said no so back to the food stop, seen some swords lads heading out and followed them to get on the right road.

Food at the end was very disappointing seen the size of the tray and thought yummy i'm gonna be nicely fed after that, but when i got the thing it wasn't even half full with food. One of the volunteers told me the pool viewing area was open and it's 32 degrees in there so had my food and tea in there. Showers were great though.

Despite the Shay Elliot climb killing me the pink 410 on the road and cheers at the top did make me smile.

During the event i constantly said feck this crap i'm never going out on the bike again nevermind doing 200k in the pissing rain, this morning though i'm thinking i might just sign up for another wicklow200 next yr ;)

Completed the course in 8.33, reasonably happy with that considering the stupid gearing i had and the weather, do have to admit though cycling is THE best sport there is :D

Fair play to anyone that completed either the 100 or 200 in whatever time, it's a great achievement in them conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭daragh_

Unedited report - I suck at spelling and the like.

Was tough going.

Left home at 6 and cycled down to Greystones to meet the lads (Unionman and '68 Fastback).

The first 30mins or so were pleasant enough. The climb up to Powerscourt Mountain was a lot quieter than last year. I assume numbers were down on account of the weather forecast.

We all seemed to be motoring along and confident enough. As we climbed we agreed a few regrouping points and then split up naturally along the climb.

After Powerscourt Mountain the bad weather really kicked in. I had arm-warmers, base layer, Jersey and overshoes but my jacket was in my jersey. I should have stopped at that point and put the jacket on but I felt strong and wanted to keep going. I caught up with '68 Fastback at the crossroads and put it on then. Sweatbag over damp clothes - classic newbie error which I paid for later.

Unionman joined us a few minutes later and the two lads lashed off down to Manor Kilbride.

I've been very nervous on descents since the Mick Byrne so I sat on the brakes and went down very slowly after them.
    My confidence wasn't helped by the ambulance attending to multiple crash victims at the bridge. Turns out ten guys had piled into each other there not long before. Ouch.

Caught the guys at Manor Kilbride and Unionman shot off like a rocket. We were doing something like a 40k average, which was nice but unsustainable given what was to come and the harsh conditions. I just sat back a bit then and we all slowed. Shortly after we watched '68 Fastback bridge over to a large group ahead of us.

We drifted slowly apart then. Unionman must have lost his stuff soon after as i couldn't see him behind me. We had arranged to regroup at the first foodstop so I carried on through the howling wind.

Picked up a bit of speed at Ballyknockan and found myself struggling to control the bike on a sharp right hand turn. Skidded right across the road and came off, landing on my right side. Road rash and harsh bang to my rib cage. Couple of guys helped me up and stayed while I checked the gears and brakes on my bike. I felt ok after a few minutes so decided to continue. Was convinced both of the lads were tucked into the sambos in Donard at this stage but was reluctant to put the hammer down because of the conditions (theme for the day).

Surge of adrenaline from the crash warmed me up and I made it to Donard in good time. Was feeling ok (maybe a little shaken if I'm honest) despite being soaked but stopping changed everything. Parked the bike, jumped into the line for food with '68 Fastback (sorry disgruntled roadie behind him!) and waited, and waited and waited. Core temperature dropped rapidly and by the time I got inside I could barely hold my tea I was shaking so much.

We grabbed chairs and tucked into the crappy W200 Sambos. The food really leaves a lot to be desired. The room was full of people in the advanced stages of Hypothermia with a scattering of smug looking roadies in full winter gear.

Unionman arrived in about 20 minutes looking very distressed. We had a chat about how he was feeling and he made the (wise) decision to abandon. I was very tempted to go with him but we had warmed up a bit by then so decided to press on to the climbs at least. I figured if I could make it that far I could peel off and go home by Roundwood.

I gave Unionman my phone and laser so he could get back to Greystones. I wasn't expecting him to jump in the car and head right back to Rathdrum, but he did. Fair play dude!

'68 Fastback and I made good time leaving Donard and we were passing lots of groups which was a bit of a bonus. Passed Seamus on the way - that was us shouting.

I had really hated that stretch before the climbs last year but it seemed a lot easier, despite the weather. Had to stop once to stretch as my back was acting up and then on to the hills.

'68 Fastback was looking strong and I managed to stay with him until the top of the first climb before Sliabh Mann. We had been warned about loose chippings on the descent so I took it very handy going down. As I turned to start onto the first steep bit of Sliabh Mann I could see '68 Fastback's orange jacket fading away into the fog in the distance and that was the last I saw of him.

Sliabh Mann was really hard on me this year. I got past the first really steep section and then I bonked. Had to stop and walk for a minute and regain some strength. This happened to me in the same spot last year! Hmm.

Back on the bike and on to the top where I grabbed a quick free gel and got off the hill as soon as I could as it was very exposed. Slow crawl down to Glenmalure - very nervous again. We were flagged down by a group of riders tending to someone who had crashed, looked pretty serious. I saw someone lying on the ground with what looked like a head injury. Hope they were ok.

The first two thirds of the Shay Elliott climb is reasonably sheltered and I felt good as I climbed. The last bit was into fog and was a bit of a struggle.
    I could hear a crowd at the top cheering and beeping horns which was nice as it gave me something to focus on. Also wanted to check if the stencils had survived the week!

As I got to the top I could see the car whose horn was beeping. Turned out to be my wife and my three duaghters. They had been waiting for over an hour for me, cheering everyone who passed. It was really great to seem them and it gave me a huge lift. I have the best wife - it's official.

On top of that she had brought a bag of dry kit I had left in the house in case she made it down. Pretty soon I was wrapped up in my winter jersey, dry base layer, dry bib shorts and dry socks. It was like getting into a warm bath!

I was very tempted to abandon then and there but the dry kit made me feel a whole lot better. My wife volunteered to come and get me in Greystones and that made my mind up.

On and down to Clara Vale, nervous again on the descent but feeling a whole lot better.

On my own until Rathdrum where I met Unionman in his car, looking warm and snug in actual clothes. I had missed '68 Fastback by about 20 minutes so I decided to grab a quick coffee and see if i could make up some time on the last leg.

Rathdrum to Redcross was a lot easier this time around - but constant back pain was becoming a big issue. Heading down to the N11 I nearly cried when I realised how much extra climbing they had put in with the new diversion to Deputy's Pass. I'm sure none of ye noticed it but at one point I had to get off and walk up a hill I normally wouldn't even break a sweat on.

Soon after I jumped into a fast moving group (Emyvale CC I think - thanks!) which got me as far as Rathnew in good time. Sat back then and took two painkillers for my back and gritted my teeth for the last 20k. The road surface between there and Greystones is terrible and sent waves up pain rippling up my back.

Very few on the road and no groups to speak of (unlike last year when I did that bit in about 20 minutes as part of a bunch) so I crawled through Newcastle, Kilcoole and into Greystones where my lovely wife was waiting.

Home for a shower, food and then out to the airport to pick up my dad.

I registered at 6.45 but we didn't leave until around 7.15. I got into Greystones around 6, an hour later than last year. No idea how long I was rolling but I stopped a good bit more and spent longer at the foodstops. My official time is 11.18. If I take off time for stops, faffing about etc it's still nearly an hour slower than last year. Happy enough just to have finished TBH.

220k for the day.

No bloody medal though! it's coming in the post. Grrrr

Well done '68 Fastback for an awesome performance.

And massive respect to Unionman for being the only one of our group to display any kind of rational behaviour yesterday. Suffering is one thing, self-inflicted hardship is another. I love cycling but I don't want to actually die doing it. :D

No point in posting the lengthy entry twice, but have done up a full report on the day in my blog (Training Logs)! :) Dunno how to link the post sorry!

here you go:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=72736964&postcount=52

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭Whats a derailleur?

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    First photo there:

IMG_0678.jpg

Considering that was taken at 5.45am I'm surprised only one of us looks drunk.....oh yes, that's because my sunglasses are hiding the horror...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭eoghan84

I did my first w200 yester! I left at 8 and finished just before 5, so it was about 9 hours but the battery in my garmin was low so I turned it off, so no moving time!

The weather made it dangerous. I was generally very careful on all the descents so thankfully it went well but it was terrible to see the ambulances coming for the guys who fell after Sally Gap. After descending Shay Elliot my fingers were able to pull the brakes but I couldn't push the bigger leaver to go into an easier gear so I was using my whole hand. At the stop a woman very kindly opened two nutrigrain bars after I struggled for about 10mins!

Well done to everyone who did the 100 and the 200. Also thanks for advice leading up to the event to be vigilant over the road surfaces and also about the climb before Slieve Mann-I knew that was coming and I knew some people made the mistake last year thinking it was actually Slieve Mann. I'm hoping to recover and do the Tour de Burren next saturday-hope to see some boards guys there? (will check the thread)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭Phil2me

Met a guy just coming into Greystones yesterday who cycled the last 12K on one pedal, his left pedal was broke, now that deserves a mention whoever you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 jtwoods

As a W200 newbie I new it was going to be hard but that was some day out.
    Up to SG not too bad and legs felt good. Weather turned at that point and never got any better. Really glad I'd remembered my shoe-covers. Water got in eventually but feet stayed fairly warm. Around the lake to Donard I was by myself the whole time and found it pretty hard.
    Oddly as I'm not a climber at all I found SM and SE relatively ok. Maybe because they were some of the few times on the ride when I wasn't cold. The descents were freezing.
    All the cars at the top of SE beeping their horns were much appreciated, a good boost for the last few hundred mtrs.
    Rathdrum back to Greystones was much bumpier that I expected it to be so was glad to make it in the end. 9h30 total time, 8h46 moving.
    As I started early I had no problems with queueing at rest stops and thought all the people were really friendly and helpful. Hope to come back next year (with better weather)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 jtwoods

Met a guy just coming into Greystones yesterday who cycled the last 12K on one pedal, his left pedal was broke, now that deserves a mention whoever you are.
    I passed another guy with about 8km to go whose rear mech had broken and he was keeping going with the long chain strung between front and rear cogs. Pretty impressive I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,085 ✭✭✭✭neris

I passed him aswell. He was able to laugh about it as i went past. Saw some funny n odd things on the road yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Lashed

8:15 Rolling Time.
    I was very glad to see the finish. Numb with the cold and wet. I don't think any amount of rain gear would have stood up to yesterdays torrents.
    Would try it again next year though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

smacl wrote: »
    11:28:14 here, do I win the boardsie wooden spoon?

You did the Wicklow 200 on a hybrid. You win at cycling.
    daragh wrote:
    As I got to the top I could see the car whose horn was beeping. Turned out to be my wife and my three duaghters.

They were brilliant. They had the windows rolled down in the lashing rain and were roaring their heads off. It was really nice to be cheered indiscriminately!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,313 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

They were brilliant. They had the windows rolled down in the lashing rain and were roaring their heads off. It was really nice to be cheered indiscriminately!

+1 it was great! a real morale booster!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭Plastik

That was Midleton CC with ISAACs Bar and Restaurant on the back of the kit. Murf85 and I gave you the shout just after the 100/200 split :) I was in Boards kit, he was in club colours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    First photo there:

IMG_0678.jpg

Considering that was taken at 5.45am I'm surprised only one of us looks drunk.....oh yes, that's because my sunglasses are hiding the horror...

I love the spanner / wineglass logo...

cdaly_ wrote: »
    I love the spanner / wineglass logo...

I asked the question on boards last week on the Carrick Sportif, what does MAWS stand for and got a series of smart comments, any chance of a straight answer this week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Mags' and Anne's Winter Spins ?

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Mags' and Anne's Winter Spins ?

Is that it ??? that was put forward last week as well, but it was in the middle of so many smart answers I just assumed it was another one.

That answer is quite plausible actually....

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

I asked the question on boards last week on the Carrick Sportif, what does MAWS stand for and got a series of smart comments, any chance of a straight answer this week.
    98% of your posts since signing up 9 months ago have been in the Cycling Forum, and you've failed to notice this thread? :D

Beasty wrote: »
    98% of your posts since signing up 9 months ago have been in the Cycling Forum, and you've failed to notice this thread? :D

Thanks, I shall pay more attention the next time.

I have Jersey envy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

Can anyone confirm the condition of those who crashed? I've heard reports of somebody bleeding from the head atbottom of SG and Glenmalure. A couple of us would like to know if they're ok.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

daragh_ wrote: »
    I have Jersey envy.

You can't have Jersey envy til you've met Beasty in the flesh

RobFowl wrote: »
    You can't have Jersey envy til you've met Beasty in the flesh

I met him last year in Kilkenny. When I say 'met', he lashed past me at a ridiculous speed shouting something about jerseys. I think I remember some swanky looking overshoes but I can't be certain as he was going so fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Yi Harr

Can anyone confirm the condition of those who crashed? I've heard reports of somebody bleeding from the head atbottom of SG and Glenmalure. A couple of us would like to know if they're ok.

I only know of one cyclist for definite. Came off at SG and has ended up with three fractured vertebrae.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭QueensGael

Finished the 200km in 9h26 rolling. Lost my team-mates before we ever set off (thanks to different groups of guys who let me tag along!), had a flat at 55km and was nearly blinded with that bloody rain on the descent from Slieve Maan. Freezing and filthy by the time I got back to Greystones. All capped off by Limerick's loss to Waterford in the hurling :mad:

24 hours later though, basking in the glory stories :P. Would totally do it again.

daragh_ wrote: »
    I met him last year in Kilkenny. When I say 'met', he lashed past me at a ridiculous speed shouting something about jerseys. I think I remember some swanky looking overshoes but I can't be certain as he was going so fast.

Ah - the "Beasty" top - yet to debut this year;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭pprendeville

Did the 100, didn’t sleep a wink last night, not cause of the cycle, I just never sleep well when I know I have to get up early, and I had to get up before six because I had to cycle 20 km to Greystones for the start. Anyway enjoyed it apart from the rain, very glad I wasn’t able to train for the 200. I hate descending at the best of times.
    A friend of mine also did the 100, he refuses to wear gloves, even mountain biking. I took leave of him after Avoca, later found out that at the finish he was treated for hyperthermia, his hands turned purple and he couldn’t change gears because he couldn’t move his thumbs.
    He really suffered, I want to buy him a pair of gloves, any recommendations, money no object, I want to get him the Rolls Royce of cycling gloves, I kind of talked him into doing the Wicklow 100 (though I did encourage him to ware gloves), I feel I owe him.

Put on a pair of latex gloves inside a 1/2 decent pair of fluu finger/fingerless gloves and that should do the trick. ?Works for me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Bikerbhoy

Jaysus wud ye look at the weather today wudnt that just piss u off no end....

Did not enjoy one minute of yesterday..... but sure am glad I done it today.... respect and well done to all the other souls who completed this years W200.

Without doubt the challenge of the year, nothing can or will come near the effort that was required to finish yesterday.

neris wrote: »
    Saw some funny n odd things on the road yesterday.

Like the guy at top of short climb after waterfall doing repairs with a fag hanging out of this mouth ,raised a chuckle ,one of the few throughout the day

Wonder how many he had before the day was over

Can anyone confirm the following : 2 dudes on a tandem and only one finished ?

Yep, think they parted company at top of SM due to injury.

Bikerbhoy wrote: »
    Like the guy at top of short climb after waterfall doing repairs with a fag hanging out of this mouth ,raised a chuckle ,one of the few throughout the day

Wonder how many he had before the day was over

Can anyone confirm the following : 2 dudes on a tandem and only one finished ?
    one packed it in (the rear end I think!) bottom of SE. I saw the remainder of the duo still going solo in Rathdrum but his chain appeared to have broken for the second time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭pprendeville

Hadn’t intended on doing this but due to mixing up the dates of the Roundwood GP I said I’d better get something done over the weekend so went out with Manwithaplan. Sat night I got about 2 hours sleep thanks to a party next door. Had enough Tupac to last me a lifetime. I’d swear purgatory must be like listening to that music for a 1000 years. Absolute torture. Up at 5.10 and got some porridge into me and a cuppa tea and was ready to roll. Departed around 6 and we were on the bikes around 7.

Massive crowds on the road and didn’t really get any speed up til going into Powerscourt. Drag up to Sally Gap there seemed to be a bit of volcanic activity going on (steamed glasses). Took on Sally Gap and I hit my highest HR of the day at 180. Passed Joe McNally on the way up and a few other Swords lads I think. Took the foot off the gas from here on as it was going to be a long day and hooked up with 07Lapierre and another Swords guy for next 25k. They absolutely bombed it down the R759 and me being a poor descender just took my ease although at that bridge (where there was an accident) I almost overcooked it and had to slam on the brakes but avoided going down. Saw the ambulance but didn’t realise a couple of guys came off. Hope they’re all ok. There should definitely have been some sort of “Slow” (from reading posts seems there was one but I never saw it) sign or marshalls there as it was my first time down there and I imagine a lot of people were in the same boat and it comes up fairly quickly without any warning IMO.

07Lapierre and other Swords lad took over the pace setting from here on until about Pollaphuca. We headed on from here and next almost major incident happened on descent into Hollywood when on a really bad bend a bus came round the corner but luckily I was taking my ease and just slowed up. Perhaps another marshall could have been situated here? Anyone else have any probs here? Hope not.

On up then into Donard for 1st stop of the day and we were absolutely soaked to the skin. Got a cuppa tea and changed my socks and gloves. Usually wear a pair of latex gloves underneath main gloves to prevent my hands from freezing. The sweat keeps them warm and doesn’t allow heat to escape but hadn’t packed a second pair (discarded 1st pair like a fool) so after rolling off, my hands were numb within 10 mins so had to put on the original pair of the full finger over fingerless ones and about an hour later I wasn’t too bad.

First of the 3 consecutive climbs. Aghavanagh was grand up over then onto Slieve Mann which was hard but I kept a good steady pace to the top where Powerbar had some refreshments. Had a lovely bar and got the bottle topped up with some energy drink. Lost my buddy here so headed down the descent. Took off my glasses and it was like having sand thrown in my eyes as the rain was so bad. Then when I put them on it was hard to see so I had them half down my eyes in the end. Some guys were going kamikaze down this but I just took it reasonably handy although it was hard to stay below 40km/hr. Onto the last big climb of Shay Elliott. Kept a good steady pace again averaging 14km/hr up this and only found the last 200-300m tough so was glad to get over it. TT’d my way to the next stop in rathdrum as didn’t want to keep Manwithaplan waiting too long if he was already there. Pulled in and was delighted to see his bike outside. Had lovely cuppa tea and 2-3 rice krispie bars which were fab. Went out to head off on the last leg of the journey only to find a puncture in Phil’s bike. Apparently the rear wheel exploded so I headed back in as I was freezing and shivering. Found out they had a warm room so went in there and sat on a heater for 5 minutes. Twas lovely and badly needed. Back into the wind and rain and up the road to Avoca and a nice climb out of here. A good few drags after this, one in particular stood out – sharp left at a junction and about 10-15% climb for 150-200m. Luckily I’d fuelled pretty well for the day and had a good rest the past week so I was fine.

Last leg of the journey was a bit of a stop-start affair. I punctured with about 20k left so had to stop and fix that. Then had to stop to pee, then Phil punctured less than a 1k from home and then when he had changed my front tyre was flat so I just walked the last few hundred metres home. Had a few more chocolate rice krispie things and some of Phil’s pasta which was terrible. Like an ejit I never brought a change of clothes with me but luckily enough there was a blanket in the car which was being used to stop the bikes getting scratched. Never have I so graciously accepted one in my life. This experience has taught me to invest in some serious wet gear starting with a decent pair of overshoes and lizard skin socks.

All in all, a great day out bar the weather which was brutal. You’d swear twas the middle of winter. Typically today is lovely with a nice warm breeze. Couldn’t feel my toes for the majority of the day and my finders/hands took a hammering as well. Don’t mind the rain but when it’s combined with cold it makes things tough. Glad I took plenty of wet gear and layered up. Stops were great. No long queues for us and lots of grub available. 7:59 according to the Garmin but I rekon between me not pressing the stop button and walking a share of the distance it’s closer to 7:30 rolling time. Disappointing to hear Limerick lose as well when they seemed to have it in the bag. Fair play to Carlow I think beating Louth? Twas hard getting up off the bed after the shower and apple tart but made it into Gardiner St Gospel Choir mass “on time” imagine with the kids to give thanks to The Man Above for keeping me safe all day.
    In relation to the litter, I thought the banana skins on the road were the most dangerous of the lot. Saw 2 or 3. I have no problems with throwing banana skins into the ditch (they are good for the soil in fact and degrade quickly) and there weren’t too many wrappers on the road. People probably attempted putting them in their pockets but when you can’t feel your fingers and are trying to navigate a gammy back pocket it can be tough so a few fell I’m sure.

Big thanks to the Mrs for looking after the kids and making delish energy bars at 11pm night before.

Question: What’s the 410 about on SE?
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/92153559

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 cautiouskate

64 year old husband and son did the 100 yesterday. Son said his Dad was 'flying it'. Congratulations to them and all who took part and to the organisers who keep this up year after year. Everything well organised and to hell with the whingers who went ill-dressed and ill-prepared!!!

Question: What’s the 410 about on SE?
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/92153559

I think someone on this thread said it's part of the forum URL.
    64 year old husband and son did the 100 yesterday. Son said his Dad was 'flying it'. Congratulations to them and all who took part and to the organisers who keep this up year after year. Everything well organised and to hell with the whingers who went ill-dressed and ill-prepared!!!

Plenty of us who were well prepared are whinging too, nothing can save you from that kind of wind and rain. As for organisation, many valid points in this thread.

to hell with the whingers who went ill-dressed and ill-prepared!!!

Hey hey no need for remarks like that nobody was whinging as you put it ,any referances were merely individual stories and reports of the day.... maybe if more tried the 200 they would actually see infact how well prepared we actually were for such an outing.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=72744153&postcount=36

full report from my log, lots more detail than earlier post in here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭oconnpad

Have you found yourself in the photos yet?
    Face to the name for oconnpad
    http://www.wicklow200.ie/gallery/2011wicklow200/IMG_0834

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

I know that I gave a few moans in earlier posts on this thread.

Can I say a big congratulations to those folks who the WW200 (or 100) was your big goal this year. The training logs of Cookie, gOg etc etc were well written. It seems from that and the WW200 training thread that a helluva a lot of effort was put in. You can feel justifiably proud of yourselves.

The WW200 was my major goal two years back. Its a big achievement in normal conditions. The weather yesterday just added to the sense of occasion that ye can look back upon.

Onwards and upwards.
    Well done.

ROK ON wrote: »
    I know that I gave a few moans in earlier posts on this thread.

Can I say a big congratulations to those folks who the WW200 (or 100) was your big goal this year. The training logs of Cookie, gOg etc etc were well written. It seems from that and the WW200 training thread that a helluva a lot of effort was put in. You can feel justifiably proud of yourselves.

The WW200 was my major goal two years back. Its a big achievement in normal conditions. The weather yesterday just added to the sense of occasion that ye can look back upon.

Onwards and upwards.
    Well done.

cheers
    th_thumbs_up_smiley.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭stas

oconnpad wrote: »
    Have you found yourself in the photos yet?

http://www.wicklow200.ie/gallery/2011wicklow200/IMG_0729

Still no idea what's ahead of me, doing it first time, but already assuming the bewildered look.

Also particularly ill-dressed and ill-prepared as per above comments, but I will only have found out about it a little later :p

A little OT, but does anyone know who owned the Klein, was at the finish around 5pm. Lush bike.

Oh, and best photo of the day: IMG_0874.jpg

Anyone got links to more photos?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭Actual Paramedic

Having a little inside knowledge the SG crash, one of the people injured badly but not serious or life threatening.

The SM crash, was right behind them and seen it happen, broken collar bone and head injury. All is well I believe.

As for marshalling, think they should have an ambulance stationed at Glenmalure as last year there was a bad accident there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

My log of the day is in my blog here for those who might be interested.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=72745973&postcount=53