Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Old People

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,374 ✭✭✭twirlagig

Isn't it great to get to that age and STILL be able to drive? I lost my Gran about 5 yrs ago, and I'd gladly be a passenger with her now the whole way up the motorway to Dublin and back! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭James2693

twirlagig wrote: »
    Isn't it great to get to that age and STILL be able to drive? I lost my Gran about 5 yrs ago, and I'd gladly be a passenger with her now the whole way up the motorway to Dublin and back! :)

The problem Is alot of people get to that age and can't drive though and are still on our roads.

Sorry to hear about your gran.

James2693 wrote: »
    The problem Is alot of people get to that age and can't drive though and are still on our roads.

Sorry to hear about your gran.

Sure I know that too James.... Still gets to me though. I see young lads sniggering at old people on the street and I want to break their fecking jaw! :mad:

twirlagig wrote: »
    Sure I know that too James.... Still gets to me though. I see young lads sniggering at old people on the street and I want to break their fecking jaw! :mad:
    Couldn't agree with you more. Complete scumbags. If they fell over, they would step over them and walk on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

That would be your parkinsons auld lad

Empty threats tends to bring it on, I find.

stovelid wrote: »
    Empty threats tends to bring it on, I find.

Sure you can't find nothing, without your glasses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

stovelid wrote: »
    They are irritating but not half as irritating as some young cretin driving up your arse in a tacky car. I know which one I fervently want to end up on life support.

One of those young ones in his souped up Corolla flashed me at the weekend almost in a way of thanks when I sped up. Could see himself and a car behind him weaving in and out over the centre line markings.

I had sped up from doing 50 in a 50 zone to about 70 when going into the 80 zone.

Couldn't agree with you more. Complete scumbags. If they fell over, they would step over them and walk on.

Exactly! I remember my Gran got robbed in a local supermarket by youngsters distracting her, took her purse while talking sh1te to her. She was never the same after that happened, robbed her of her confidence and independence. Lord Jesus, If I had got near them..... :mad:

We are ALL gonna be that age sometime, like.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

Tailgating yes, makes no difference because you know the old farts don't check their mirrors anyway.

Happens everyday now and I'm getting sick of it tbh

James, don't ever tailgate me ok, ill slow down just to piss you off. That's what the old person was doing.

A thread which started with a reasonable discussion regarding old harzadous drivers on our roadshas descended into the old people fighting back by dragging the dicussion completely o/t by dicussing the "young ones are driving too fast in there ****boxes"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

irish-stew wrote: »
    One of those young ones in his souped up Corolla flashed me at the weekend almost in a way of thanks when I sped up. Could see himself and a car behind him weaving in and out over the centre line markings.

I had sped up from doing 50 in a 50 zone to about 70 when going into the 80 zone.

The disproportionate mortality rates among that age group do offer some consolation at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭swingking

Tailgating yes, makes no difference because you know the old farts don't check their mirrors anyway.

Happens everyday now and I'm getting sick of it tbh

Ever think while tailgating these 'old' people, that they might suddenly break leaving you with a damaged car and a lawsuit??