Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

laws on illegal partys

• 25-05-2011 9:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7

i am just wondering the laws on having a party in a field. i have permission off the land owner but just wondering can it be shut down or can i get fined etc

• Registered Users Posts: 84 ✭✭medicsie

You will need to outline what kind of party this is e.g. private party for a wedding, corporate, personal (e.g. birthday) before we will be able to answer on which laws/regulations apply.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 dj_mooney

its a birthday rave no charge into it

• Registered Users Posts: 84 ✭✭medicsie

And have you put a limit on how many people are going to be there?

Will there be alcohol served at the event?

For the most part, 'rave' will be met with a frown by both authorities and land owners alike.

You will need to adhere to noise limits as set down by the local county council, best contact them and find out their position on holding such events late into the night.

• Registered Users Posts: 295 ✭✭montreal2011

You can pretty much do what you want on private land with the permission of the owner. The cops cannot do much unless there are noise complaints or visible illegal or dangerous activities. As long as neighbours are not complaining about noise then you should have no problems.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,301 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Maybe point the speakers towards a hedge, as opposed to having the hedge behind the speakers? Have some sort of wall/fence on the sides of the speakers, to direct the sound towards the hedge, to minimise sound pollution.

Get a signed piece of paper from the landowner, and show it to the Gardai: if they're sound, they'll tell you what not to do. Oh, and check if the nearest gaff is a few miles away.

After some reasonable hour, like 11pm, tone down the music a tad, so you can still party to it, but the neighbours windows won't be jumping to the beat :D May also be an idea to ensure there are no people under 18 drinking alcohol if the Gardai do come out. Oh, and if talking to the Gardai, don't mention "rave". Call it anything but a "rave", actually :pac:

Oh, and finally, get a tent like this one: http://www.buy4now.ie/woodiesdiy/productdetail.aspx?pid=8096&loc=P&catid=100.4 - mate had it for his BBQ, and it ain't bad.

Nothing worse than rain going on your DJ stuff, and it'll allow everyone to cram in if Jeasus decides to piss on your rave :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 UnklePhil

You can pretty much do what you want on private land with the permission of the owner. The cops cannot do much unless there are noise complaints or visible illegal or dangerous activities. As long as neighbours are not complaining about noise then you should have no problems.

Agreed. As long as the neighbours don't mind, you should be ok. You might want to have some 'security' people keeping a lookout on things.

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭BlueValkyrie

Agree that you should have some 'security' people to keep an eye, and maybe check (or be seen to check) for invitations to emphasise that it is a private event. You should be ok if the neighbours aren't bothered by noise, and provided that drug use or underage drinking isn't being carried out (or isn't caught anyway), and you are not selling alcohol without a licence.

The other things that they can close you down over are mostly safety concerns (whether legitimate or being used as an excuse to close you), so try to ensure that you are compliant with fire regs - signpost your exits (yes, even outdoors), and have fire extinguishers visible and accessible, particularly near anything using electricity or generators. Obviously don't have any electrics anywhere that it could come into contact with water.

Make sure that any structures (which can include marquees etc) are put up properly , and well secured in case of wind etc. Make sure you don't litter, don't block access to any other fields, or cause other traffic issues, and you'll probably be grand.

Decide in advance who will speak to the guards, if they arrive - that person should be familiar with the setup, and sufficiently sober and coherent for the job. Try to avoid any scenario where random guests speak to anyone in authority-it usually just gets messy! And as previously stated, never ever call it a rave.

• Registered Users Posts: 813 ✭✭✭CaSCaDe711

Uns uns uns uns uns uns uns uns :D