Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Republic Of Ireland Vs Scotland(Carling Cup) Kick Off 6:30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

Yawn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

Where are Scotland ranked in the world?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭busyliving

66th just below N.Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Desire.

66th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭BeanFlicker

Pure ****e second half. How many at the match?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,287 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Walk away, Miller, walk away :D.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,976 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Referee acting the fool at this stage. Some awful decisions this evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭ollie1

That should have been a penalty for Scotland

Should have been a peno, but well done to the ref for booking Miller for his reaction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

Scotland putting on good pressure. We havn't had a chance in a while.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

This is brutal by Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

this is a nice test for us

If we can hold out, it will give us confidance going into the FYRM game, because if we are winning by a goal in the last ten minutes aginst FYRM this is the kind of pressure we'll have to withstand

Let off there, Gaping hole in the middle

Phew...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭ollie1

That was close from Kenny

Sitter:eek:

I think the ref got offered a few bottles of carling after that decision :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Job done. Good confidence boost heading into the qualifier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

No longer do Ireland players have to live in the shadow of the heroic Icelandic Cup team :D

Wo hoo, silverware!!!! It just like winning... well... the Carling cup

YEEEEEEESSSSS!!! CHAMPIONS!!!! :D

Seriously though, 3 wins from 3, 9 scored, 0 conceded, few new players brought in.
    Can't complain with that, well done Trap and the lads.

Important one is Saturday though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

epic victory music being pumped through the speakers there

Am I the only one that finds it cringeworthy to hear Keane talk about beating Bobby Charlton's goalscoring record? It is an English record and has nothing to do with Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

3 clean sheets, keep that going into next weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,639 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Why is Robbie Keane still going on about Bobby Charlton's record?

Charlton will remain England's top scorer no matter how many goals Keane scores for Ireland!

Congrats on the win lads. Take an ash tray.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

This is great team bonding stuff!

We have just witnessed the pinnacle of Traps career, forget about European Trophies et al.

All in all good confidence boost for the boys in green,

Am I the only one that finds it cringeworthy to hear Keane talk about beating Bobby Charlton's goalscoring record? It is an English record and has nothing to do with Ireland.

Very cringeworthy. I absolutely HATE the phrase but West Brit comes to mind. I actually think that he feels he is up there with Bobby Charlton as a player as well :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

I suppose its the "its an English sport and we have a player who scored more goals than any player from that country" i.e. from a country who invented it and taught us how to play it. One over our colonial masters.

I'm watching the trophy being lifted, players celebrating and Trophy being lifted and pretending it's 12 months ago and it's really the World Cup.

The I see the paper-weights they got and Carling beer brings me back to reality!

• Site Banned Posts: 1,856 ✭✭✭paddy kerins

CHAMP-I-ONEY CHAMP-I-ONEY OLE OLE OLE etc.

What a hilariously pointless tournament. Still, bit of a confidence booster I suppose

Gnobe wrote: »
    I suppose its the "its an English sport and we have a player who scored more goals than any player from that country" i.e. from a country who invented it and taught us how to play it. One over our colonial masters.

So according to your logic, every player in the world is after Charlton's record.

What a load of rubbish.

Keane has been living in England too long if he thinks he really has that record.

Even if he gets over 50 goals Charlton's record will still stand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

I can't believe we have won it, unreal so so happy going to call in sick tomorrow!

Johner wrote: »
    I can't believe we have won it, unreal so so happy going to call in sick tomorrow!

There wont be a man or women in work tomorrow. Everyone will be attending the open top bus parade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

I don't see any problem really with Keane going on about Charlton's record, he sees it as a big milestone and one that'd be a good achievement to exceed. So what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

murpho999 wrote: »
    So according to your logic, every player in the world is after Charlton's record.

What a load of rubbish.

Keane has been living in England too long if he thinks he really has that record.

Even if he gets over 50 goals Charlton's record will still stand!

No because I guess everyone in this country grows up watching English football and so are more inclined to believe that England are the 'big' team from the two islands, the team that everyone hates etc. I'm not saying I support him saying all this stuff merely just looking for a reason for it. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Clemon

Cant wait for the Macedonian Kants this saturday now!!!!!! Were goin to Poland/Ukraine!!

BELIEVE!!!!!!!!

flahavaj wrote: »
    I don't see any problem really with Keane going on about Charlton's record, he sees it as a big milestone and one that'd be a good achievement to exceed. So what?

My problem with it is why does he see it as a big milestone when he's not English? I could understand if he wanted to get to 50 goals which is a fantastic milestone in itself but going on about wanting to break the English record just makes him (and us) look small-time, and as if we have a chip on our shoulder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

My problem with it is why does he see it as a big milestone when he's not English? I could understand if he wanted to get to 50 goals which is a fantastic milestone in itself but going on about wanting to break the English record just makes him (and us) look small-time, and as if we have a chip on our shoulder.

.... which is the case.

Tho that said I'm waiting to celebrate until he beats Hakan Sukurs record. Take that Turkey!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,903 ✭✭✭The Rooster

better to win it than not win it, so fair play to the lads

Agreed. I'd say this is going to do a lot to bond the team. Also as result I reckon you're going to see a freeze-out of certain players who didn't make an effort to report for duty.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

I did not think Ireland played well at all. The 1 - 0 masks a worringly delinquent performance throughout the match. Midfield was non existent. If Trapattoni is going to "freeze out" certain of our best players after a performance like that then there is trouble ahead. We can't afford to freeze anyone out.

I thought Ireland were awful for most of the game. Better teams would have put us to the sword this evening.

darkman2 wrote: »
    I did not think Ireland played well at all. The 1 - 0 masks a worringly delinquent performance throughout the match. Midfield was non existent. If Trapattoni is going to "freeze out" certain of our best players after a performance like that then there is trouble ahead. We can't afford to freeze anyone out.

I thought Ireland were awful for most of the game.

Yeah our third string against a near full strenght Scottish team

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

I don't see it as a chip on the shoulder thing, more so just Charlton being one of the greatest players of al time. Wouldn't it be a nice thing to say that you scored more goals than Bobby Charlton at international level? I think way too much is being read into this tbh. The fact that Charlton is English is incidental and kinda says more about us that we still make a big deal of that than any wrongdoing on Robbie's part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Who cares, you shouldn't have a "problem" with this at all. Bobby Charlton was a great player that played for a neighbouring country and holds a record which Robbie matched.

Whatever the next most famous / well known record is, is Robbie's next personal goal.

Like he said, Ireland winning comes first. Bring on Macedonia.

Delighted they won this tournament even though it didnt capture the publics eye. Well done lads

I remember when I started following Irish football I was big into the stats and one of the first things I noticed was the Irish record was 19 goals and England was 49. It was only later on that I learnt that some other countries had even higher scorers but the point was I knew about the 49 right away so it was always there. I imagine it was the same for Keane himself when he started learning about the game so that's prob why Charltons number was important to him.

I think Keane will never reach the likes of 68 (Gerd Muller) let alone 109 (Ali Daei) but I think he should forget about Charlton now set a target of 56, which would put Ireland 3rd in terms of European nation top scorers. That would be some achievement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

Don't see the harm tbh. He plays in England, has played there for all his career except a few weeks in Italy. Makes sense that it might be mildly pleasing for him to equal that record. I doubt he is dancing down O'Connell Street with happiness, but it is a nice achievement.

We can't deny that the British Isles and England in particular play a large role in the Irish psyche, particularly in football.