Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

supplies esp food colouring

Options
  • 28-05-2011 3:06pm
    Registered Users Posts: 439 ✭✭

Hi!

I'm brand new to baking and I was hoping to make Red Velvet cupcakes but I can't find red food colouring (I'm in Dublin 8 close to city centre)!

I also couldnt get vanilla essence in Tescos- which I was surprised by!

Where can I get my hands on things like food colouring and other baking supplies if I can't get them in my local supermarket?

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Both red food colouring and vanilla essence should be readily available in all the big supermarkets. I know that Stock has a baking section and there's Kitchen Complements too.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Every big supermarket should sell that stuff, try Dunnes on Georges Street (i've definitely gotten vanilla essence there before) or Tesco in Temple bar.

• Registered Users Posts: 439 ✭✭CBFi

thanks guys! ill keep looking! :) fingers crossed my first attempt at baking isnt a disaster!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,657 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

You should be able to get this vanilla extract in most big supermarkets:

pure-vanilla-extract.jpg

And try to get Dr. Oetker food colouring - it's the most vibrant.

is vanilla extract the same as vanilla essence?

• Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭nothing

No, extract is made from vanilla pods soaked in alcohol/water, whereas essence is a manufactured flavouring. (at least that's how it is here in Ireland)