Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Mid Louth 100k

• 30-05-2011 11:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭

Just got word that this cycle is now on the 23-7-11, starts in Dunleer and takes you out towards the coast back in towards tallanstown, Ardee and Dunleer foodstop approx 50k, on then to Drogheda out through collon up oriel belpatrick back into Ardee Dromin and home soup tea sandwiches and cake and hot showers.
    More details to follow, think entry is €15 I will see if can I get a reduction for boardsies.
    This event will be organised by local cyclists to help out local charities and youth projects all welcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

macadam wrote: »
    Just got word that this cycle is now on the 23-7-11, starts in Dunleer and takes you out towards the coast back in towards tallanstown, Ardee and Dunleer foodstop approx 50k, on then to Drogheda out through collon up oriel belpatrick back into Ardee Dromin and home soup tea sandwiches and cake and hot showers.
    More details to follow, think entry is €15 I will see if can I get a reduction for boardsies.
    This event will be organised by local cyclists to help out local charities and youth projects all welcome.

i think i'll do that but when we hit drogheda i'll head home;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭Zorba

Sounds good and right on my doorstep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,458 ✭✭✭lennymc

ill do this aswell.

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭AtomMcC

Sounds good to me too. Count me in. This spin passes my door twice! I think I'll be in race mode that weekend. No taking it handy like the Tour of Armagh!:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭macadam

AtomMcC wrote: »
    Sounds good to me too. Count me in. This spin passes my door twice! I think I'll be in race mode that weekend. No taking it handy like the Tour of Armagh!:cool:
    You'll hardly get lost outside your own door!!!

There is also a family cycle and the fee for families is €25, also talk of an evening BBQ and Karaoke in one of the local pubs.
    Route to follow once its verified and Ok'ed.

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭AtomMcC

Looks like a tough route. Well done.
    Is it an option for lesser experienced riders to just participate in the first half?
    It doesn't look too difficult up to that point.

AtomMcC wrote: »
    Looks like a tough route. Well done.
    Is it an option for lesser experienced riders to just participate in the first half?
    It doesn't look too difficult up to that point.
    Yes, there is a 50k, 100k and a separate 15k or so family route.€15 entry fee and €25 for families..

This is on the day before the tour of meath.

Sorry but think the tour of meath will be getting my money.

no i'll be keeping my dosh in louth thank you very much.
    15 euro is reasonable for this as i said when i get to drogheda i'll head home ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭granda

i,ve already been ropped into this and i think(i'll check with one of the organisers) if you get some sponshership the entry is free

Zorba wrote: »
    This is on the day before the tour of meath.

Sorry but think the tour of meath will be getting my money.
    I hope to be doing both, how much is the entry to the TOM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,015 ✭✭✭furiousox

30 quid for the 100km
    35 for the 160km

http://www.meathsports.ie/cycle-tour/how-to-enter0.html

CPL 593H

furiousox wrote: »
    30 quid for the 100km
    35 for the 160km

Pricey even with the jersey.

30 quid if u can convince them your unemployed !!

Macadam

Your a better man than me doing both ;)

30 quid if u can convince them your unemployed !!

Macadam

Your a better man than me doing both ;)

I meant both 100klms, the way you were moving on the TOL you could do both the one day:p

Ah right think i'll still chicken out and just do the 160 tour of meath.

As for the way i was moving in the TOL well u didn't see how slowly i grinded up the long womans grave !!

furiousox wrote: »
    30 quid for the 100km
    35 for the 160km

they have some balls looking for that kind of money:mad:

What does that say about the wicklow then looking for 42 quid.

Tour of meath is a lot better organised, more food at the stops and u get a goodie bag at the end, still expensive to enter i agree but compared to the wicklow it's a bargain.

What does that say about the wicklow then looking for 42 quid.

Tour of meath is a lot better organised, more food at the stops and u get a goodie bag at the end, still expensive to enter i agree but compared to the wicklow it's a bargain.

zorba i think 5 to 10 euro is plenty for any of these things ,if people are giving there time for free what costs is involved .

Yes i see your point but proceeds from the tour of meath do go to st vincent de paul so makes me feel like i'm not killing myself on the bike in vain :D

Our proceeds are also going to VdP and various other charities and the local youth club, and we also have a food stop and plenty of food for all participants after the finish and hot showers you even can have a game of pool or table tennis to help you relax, we ran this about two years ago and raised a nice few €€ for the blind and a few local charities most of the fund raising is done by sponsorship cards by local cyclists.
    Today I had a phone call from the Local Gardai who are willing to give us a traffic corps escort for most of the route, this came voluntarily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Vizzy

Our proceeds are also going to VdP and various other charities and the local youth club, and we also have a food stop and plenty of food for all participants after the finish and hot showers you even can have a game of pool or table tennis to help you relax, we ran this about two years ago and raised a nice few €€ for the blind and a few local charities most of the fund raising is done by sponsorship cards by local cyclists.
    Today I had a phone call from the Local Gardai who are willing to give us a traffic corps escort for most of the route, this came voluntarily.

Slightly off topic but I am organising a spin on Friday as part of bike week.
    (just something to get all my workmates to get on the bikes that they got om the BTW scheme)
    Anyway,rang the Gardai and the cycle cops are now coming with us ! and they also hope to give us a Garda escort .
    Just shows what you can get if you just ask.

well done macadam your price for this event is very reasonable indeed ,imho i think most of these clubs are jumping on the bandwagon 30 to 50 euro for some events is crazy.,ok even if all the money is going to charities charging 10 euro is quiet a lot of money when you multiply it by a couple hundred or even more .
    this recession is real it's not a feckin joke believe me i know:mad:

Ah right didn't know the mid louth one was for charity too. Would be curious how much of the money from the likes of tour of meath and such actually gets to the charity in question.
    well done macadam your price for this event is very reasonable indeed ,imho i think most of these clubs are jumping on the bandwagon 30 to 50 euro for some events is crazy.,ok even if all the money is going to charities charging 10 euro is quiet a lot of money when you multiply it by a couple hundred or even more .
    this recession is real it's not a feckin joke believe me i know:mad:

I'd say if u really wanted u could do a sportive somewhere every weekend at this stage, dunno but it might be cheaper to take up racing again !

I'd also say they're a great money spinner for the clubs, there was around 2600 registered for the wicklow multiply that by 42 quid entry = nice profit margin !

don't take me up wrong im not saying the money goes astray in any way just that most of them are to expensive for what they are.

Yep i read ya boss that's why i only do a few a yr

I was on to the committee this evening and they are willing to take 20% of if you have a CI licence and produce it on the day, so its now €12 for you pro's!!!!!!!!!
    There are also sponsorship cards if anyone wants one PM me.

Counted 6 potholes on the last 50klms on Monday and I asked a friend of mine in Louth Co Co could we get them filled for the event and low and behold they are all filled this evening.
    Thanks JP..

Counted 6 potholes on the last 50klms on Monday and I asked a friend of mine in Louth Co Co could we get them filled for the event and low and behold they are all filled this evening.
    Thanks JP..
    doing yourself out of work there buddy:D:D
    ah the auld saying it's who you know;)

They wouldnt let me fill one outside my own door after 3 accidents a few years ago, big insurance issue. The local guys are sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Vizzy

Yes and no.

If you tell the Co Co that you are holding event and if the can,they will generally help you out( they might also hold of on resurfacing a road too near an event to avoid all the chippings etc)
    From where I am from it doesn't do any harm that the Road Safety Officer is also a cyclist.:D

ah well the only person i know thats any way important is
    THE WIFE;)
    she can get loads of things done with just one look.:D:D

Anyone that needs any questions answered just ask here or PM me..
    We are having plenty of interest, and the long range forecast is good from middle of July onwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭CarlosK

Hi all...

Myself and a few friends are withdrawing from the Tour of Meath to participate in this. It's much more appealing to us, the fee is good, the route looks good and for us, its good to stay local. So needless to say, we're looking forward to it. We're also trying to rope one or two more into joining us if they manage to get off their lazy a55e5 :D

So, I was wondering, do we just show up on the day and register then as well as handing over the dollars? Or what way do you usually organise it? Also, what kind of numbers do you expect and what is the pace usually like? We're not speed merchants by any stretch of the imagination, but we have completed the odd sportive... we'd hope to get amongst people for a bit of a moral boosting chat rather than get left behind holding up the traffic along the way.

Looking forward to meeting you all on the day.... bring on the sunshine and cake !!!

Adios :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭CarlosK

Vizzy wrote: »
    Yes and no.

If you tell the Co Co that you are holding event and if the can,they will generally help you out( they might also hold of on resurfacing a road too near an event to avoid all the chippings etc)
    From where I am from it doesn't do any harm that the Road Safety Officer is also a cyclist.:D

Is this for real??? Happy days... I must try this one... the kids on the street here hold a kerbs championship event every day in front of the house... maybe if i tell the council, they'll be out to sort out the pot holes here too....

Thanks for the advice !!! :D

P.S. I ain't holding my breath tho

CarlosK wrote: »
    Hi all...

Myself and a few friends are withdrawing from the Tour of Meath to participate in this. It's much more appealing to us, the fee is good, the route looks good and for us, its good to stay local. So needless to say, we're looking forward to it. We're also trying to rope one or two more into joining us if they manage to get off their lazy a55e5 :D

So, I was wondering, do we just show up on the day and register then as well as handing over the dollars? Or what way do you usually organise it? Also, what kind of numbers do you expect and what is the pace usually like? We're not speed merchants by any stretch of the imagination, but we have completed the odd sportive... we'd hope to get amongst people for a bit of a moral boosting chat rather than get left behind holding up the traffic along the way.

Looking forward to meeting you all on the day.... bring on the sunshine and cake !!!

Adios :D
    Turn up and pay or I can meet you with some sponsorship cards, there will be some speed merchants ad usual bur most will be out for the day and the craic, it'd a lively route on mostly quiet roads all we need is the weather. Keep in touch

so who's doing this on saturday

Im doing it, however, thinking of cycling up from Drogheda.

I'll be going what time is kick off cycling from drogheda.
    i told ken to watch out for me as i'll be at the back struggling along, hope he's driving the broom wagon.:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,015 ✭✭✭furiousox

Working on Saturday so won't make it.
    Been drinking sangria for the last 2 weeks anyway so not ideal preparation :pac:
    Are you organising this one macadam?
    Good luck to all involved! :)

CPL 593H

Part of the organising committee alright, I will be marshaling on the day.

macadam, what time and where is the sign on?

Sign on from 9.15am at the Lannleire pavilion with is situated behind the Gaelic field in Dunleer about 200mtrs past Dimplex head quarters, there is ample parking and shower facilities available.
    Cycle starts at 10am

Route map..

• Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭alan2348

you not cycling in it on saturday ken?:confused:

alan2348 wrote: »
    No Im marshaling, physio give me the go ahead to do 30klm cycles for a week so at least Im back in action, hows the new bike.

• Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭alan2348

alan2348 wrote: »
    No Im marshaling, physio give me the go ahead to do 30klm cycles for a week so at least Im back in action, hows the new bike.
    Bike is great love it!! Did the Louth spin on sunday the second 50k is good . Good route. The carbon makes hill climbing easier looking 4 word to Saturday .

route looks good ken