Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Losing retailers and sites

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

Fair enough on your point I guess but I would be with him on in it. You shouldn't be allowed to be a mod if the people you are modding absolutely disagree with how you are doing it and you constantly show to be bias towards certain sites.

With posts containing tripe such as this:
    gerrowadat wrote: »
    Actual airsofters aren't reading or taking boards seriously any more, leaving the sleeve chewers. Which, let's face it, are the same folks who are tyre-kickers in shops, and whinging mongoloids on the field.

I'm gonna go right ahead and say the problems in the Airsoft forum are a lot more than solely Mod based.

If members feel a Mod needs to be taken to task over the job their doing, go to Feedback with it. Admins will look at it and if there's a genuine issue, it will be dealt with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Airsoft Reloded

Poccington wrote: »
    With posts containing tripe such as this:

I'm gonna go right ahead and say the problems in the Airsoft forum are a lot more than solely Mod based.

If members feel a Mod needs to be taken to task over the job their doing, go to Feedback with it. Admins will look at it and if there's a genuine issue, it will be dealt with.

What tripe is in the statement that you quoted me on?

PEOPLE HAVE USED THE FEEDBACK FORM AND IT HAS NOT WORKED, feedback form bad, public discussion good. How many times do I have to repeat myself :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

What tripe is in the statement that you quoted me on?

PEOPLE HAVE USED THE FEEDBACK FORM AND IT HAS NOT WORKED, feedback form bad, public discussion good. How many times do I have to repeat myself :rolleyes:

The tripe I was referring to, was Gerrowadat's post, not yours.

Let's make it clear, the main gripe is obviously with the Mods, or a specific Mod, of the Airsoft forum. The forum itself isn't the place to discuss it, this isn't a rule specific to the Airsoft forum, it's a site-wide rule. If you wish to discuss something Mod specific, or argue for a Mod's dismissal etc. you go to Feedback.

It's simple enough. How people can complain about Mod decisions etc. then decide that they're just not gonna play by the rules, is beyond me. Mod stuff, outside of arguing against a banning, goes to Feedback or PM's. Not in the forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Firekitten

Feedback works fine, it just requires evidence before the cat mods will actually do what you want.

Fair enough so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭MerryDespot

sliabh wrote: »
    My "Seriously, WTF" moment, where I realised how bad things have got, was when Andy handed out a slap for talking about computer games in the Off-Topic thread last week!

Seriously, WTF??? You're joking Sliabh, right?
    Just when you think it can't get worse...

Leftyflip wrote: »
    I'm an actual airsofter, Thermo is an actual airsofter, Dogwatch, MerryDespot, Firekitten, Lemming, Harveey, Puding, Dar, horgan_p are all actual airsofters, yet we frequent Boards not to whinge or moan or chew sleeves, but to contribute to what good is in the community, to help the new players, offer advice, see what's going on around the Irish world of airsoft

Sorry Ger, but while I may not agree entirely with the posts either way on this, I do agree with the suggestion that the airsoft forum has lost credibility and (for want of a better description) gone to pot.

Why am I still here then? In short - I'm not sure. I think it's mainly to Not Give Up on what was the main airsoft resource for me when I started out - so I keep on giving it a go. But compared to the level of discussion that was here in 2009, this place is a pale version of what it was.

I know some of the people involved here on all sides - and Ger, you are (as you know) one of those regular people I go airsofting with. As is the mod in question being mentioned in this thread. That doesn't mean that I should abdicate my right to hold an opinion on their modding devoid/divorced from the person I meet on sites. Hence my post above.

I agree with Richard - the amount of times I've been taking to guys about airsoft where boards gets mentioned with disdain. It's a real pity. I don't even know if it can be changed (or ever would be). Again, a shame.

These days the only threads I really follow are the airsoft adverts, review (the odd time) and events. If I want to know something specific I go to a specialised resource (such as Arnies or other specific resources like Puding's Redbadger site) rather than Boards - granted boards pointed me in the right direction to these other resources, but I'm not sure that the same assistance is still there - I wonder would a new user find these resources as easily as I did a year ago.

We seem to enjoy finding the downsides, why don't we do something about it?

if its so bad, lets change it! its doable! The only thing stopping us, is us! Lets do something positive for once about our situation. Make people proud to say they're on boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭Inari

Why are sites and retailers leaving Boards.ie (i.e. the topic at hand)? In my opinion it comes down to one thing; cost over gain. Boards.ie charge a fee to advertise, and the sites/retailers do not feel that it is worth the nominal fee + maintenance costs (i.e. their own time to update the thread etc). Why has it happened all of a sudden? Chain reaction - one had the stones to up and leave, and now others are following suit after realising that boards.ie is not that important to their business model.

Why are we not important to their business model? Want to know the real truth of the matter? We, quite simply, are all talk. Out of all the sites, games and events we talk about, how many do we go to? Out of all the new product releases we discuss, how many of us buy the item? A tiny portion of a niche market do, which makes this forum all talk.

The moderators are not the problem, we are. The moderators are there to do their job, and we're here as the community. Sure, we can have a moan, but that just contributes to the negativity, not combating it. Defeatism reigns supreme, while discussion takes a back-seat just so we can get a stab in at someone. Instead if we actually TRY for once, instead of stating things as they are, perhaps there would be room for improvement?

I have been a member on Boards.ie for quite a while, and now I work for an Airsoft retailer. I used to be able to post when I knew Irish stores had stuff in stock, and now I can't. I used to be able to give my opinion on brands etc, and now I can't. I used to be able to post about products I use (BBs, Gas, Batteries, etc), and now I can't. This annoys me beyond belief that I have to restrict my activity so as I do not cross the line between discussion and shilling. I understand the need for protection against shilling, as it is hard to tell the difference between an opinion, and a weighted opinion.

Something that is rather infuriating for me, is when someone posts in the main fora inquiring about a product available in Ireland, I am not able to reply, even though I know there's tonnes of them in the store. What I have proposed to the moderators/admins is to allow retailers to reply to these threads, but with VERY strict rules i.e. if someone asks if a product is available in Ireland, then retailers can reply with "In stock & available - please visit our retailer thread" and NOTHING else. If anything else is said in the same post, then they are infracted or even billed - this is to protect against shilling, whilst simultaneously incentivising retailers to pay to have a retailer thread.

Now why bother mentioning that? Retailers are members of the community too, yet they are excluded from many parts of it. Perhaps it is necessary, but I don't believe so. I think there could very easily be a balance. I hope the moderator and admin team take to my suggestion, and also hope that you, the general airsoft community, like the concept too. But we shall see :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

You shouldn't be allowed to be a mod if the people you are modding absolutely disagree with how you are doing it and you constantly show to be bias towards certain sites.

They are two different things. There are procedures for dealing with both of them, but let's keep them separate.

The second one requires evidence to back it up, and if the mod really is biased then s/he should be replaced. But just disagreeing with them or even hating the way they do the job (as I also have done from time to time) is not enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭sliabh

Seriously, WTF??? You're joking Sliabh, right?
    Just when you think it can't get worse...
    No word of a lie.

3rd post from the bottom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

@ Sliabh, Andy never handed a slap to anyone in that thread, he reminded users of the games forum and sub fora - please point out who got "slapped".
    Otherwise, leave him the fúck alone - its getting to the point where people are attacking him, not the way he moderates - which may be strict, but it's fair and at least he does it and hasn't backed down like other mods. There are 4 other mods and after Thermo, Andy is the most active. Steve, The Master and kdouglas, don't do very much on the airsoft forum at all compared to Andy and Thermo.

Yes Andy and Thermo are my mates - but that's irrelevant right now, what isn't is the blatant online bullying that people are all too happy to use to air grievances.

As has been said, time and time again - if you have an issue with a mod, take it to feedback, where cmods and admins will deal with it, I'm gonna go ahead and presume you haven't done this, or if you have, no issue was found and you're still not happy - well you don't always get what you want.

If you want to make boards a better place for airsofters - then contribute, help, don't only post when a thread like this comes up and start giving out. That makes you part of the problem and doesn't solve it.

@Kev, of course man, don't worry :)

@Inari, completely agree with your post regarding giving opinions and all that craic once associated with a retailer.

when you said he handed out slappings, I was honestly not expecting it to be that post you referenced.

If thats what we call a slapping, jebus, the world is ending.

He suggested an indepth games discussion could go to the game section... part jokingly. He also took it good naturedly when Dex said he'd remind Andy to take it to the aviation forum when he started wittering on about pitot tubes, glide slopes and undercarriages.

If that was a slap, this place is a proverbial warzone daily.

OzCam wrote: »
    They are two different things. There are procedures for dealing with both of them, but let's keep them separate.

The second one requires evidence to back it up, and if the mod really is biased then s/he should be replaced. But just disagreeing with them or even hating the way they do the job (as I also have done from time to time) is not enough.

The proof is in the pudding oz, threads about certain sites are left open and threads about other sites are left closed (always the same sites). All you have to do is go back over the threads and you'll find loads.

This thread was open for nine days unhindered; http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056242548

This lasted less than two; http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056275498

The previous thread was only closed after ours was closed and I'm going to go ahead and assume it was only closed to save hastle. This is but one of a million examples that are right there now to look at. Both are not events and neither belong in the events section but one gets over a week (so obviously noticed) and the other got just over a day (most likely because it wasen't noticed quick enough). I don't mind following the rules, paying the fee and only advertising where I'm allowed but only if everyone else is stuck to the same ruleset.

The proof is in the pudding oz, threads about certain sites are left open and threads about other sites are left closed (always the same sites). All you have to do is go back over the threads and you'll find loads.
    Care to link them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

burn the witch!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

Firekitten wrote: »
    ...He also took it good naturedly when Dex said he'd remind Andy to take it to the aviation forum when he started wittering on about pitot tubes, glide slopes and undercarriages.

For the record, since I'm sure anal-grade accuracy will be required at some point in this debacle, that particular quote was Shiva's. I did make a joking comment just after Andy_g's post though.
    I do have a metric ton of things I'd like to say on this whole thread, mostly in direct replies to things some people have said, but for the sake of my sanity and complete unwillingness to get involved in yet another Boards.ie->Airsoft sturmscheiße, I'm keeping my own counsel.

Care to link them?

Have a look before posting son ^^

sliabh wrote: »
    No word of a lie.
    3rd post from the bottom.

Ah - in fairness it's not in bold, which suggests getting involved in the banter on the thread rather than a mod message. It's commonly accepted that bold = official, so I guess this is just picking this up in the incorrect context.

Have a look before posting son ^^
    Check the times before posting mate.

Edit: There's a high chance of something being missed, mods aren't gods and cannot be everywhere at once. It's no bias, bringing back Wednesday night gaming is in a sense an event - but a marketing idea isn't. That's my opinion, now I get on well with one the reloaded lads Adam and Karla, so I'm not picking holes and throwing stuff out there, timeframe has little to do with it. Both posts are still there and viewable to anyone - so it's somewhat irrelevant.

Check the times before posting lad.

Lol, I didn't mean son in a bad way man. Just the way I talk boss, I like to throw in a random word after I finish my sentece pal.

But yeah touché :p dude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭sliabh

Maybe my use of the term "slap" was wrong, but what it was was a person coming in wearing a mod hat telling us to take the discussion elsewhere. I didn't see a smiley or anything to say it was in jest.

I take the point above about the post not being in bold though.

Ah - in fairness it's not in bold, which suggests getting involved in the banter on the thread rather than a mod message. It's commonly accepted that bold = official, so I guess this is just picking this up in the incorrect context.
    Bingo... Can't belive I didn't remember that, bet nobody gunning for Andy wants to accept hes a poster too.
    NakedDex wrote: »
    For the record, since I'm sure anal-grade accuracy will be required at some point in this debacle, that particular quote was Shiva's. I did make a joking comment just after Andy_g's post though.
    I do have a metric ton of things I'd like to say on this whole thread, mostly in direct replies to things some people have said, but for the sake of my sanity and complete unwillingness to get involved in yet another Boards.ie->Airsoft sturmscheiße.
    Sorry dex, thought it was you.

I'll blame that evil old git shiva instead (He asked me to be nastier, as he thinks me being nice is scary)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭mafiaboy

i think it down to payment/rules on boards when they can put there site on Facebook for free, and if they wont they can place a add on Facebook and it can been seen by none airsofters, even all of the sites/retailers have moved over..
    IE
    M.I.A
    http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000030024151 (BANNED FROM Boards.ie)
    HobbyAirsoft
    http://www.facebook.com/pages/HobbyAirsoftie/110440529474
    wexford airsoft (not even on boards.ie)
    http://www.facebook.com/pages/wexford-airsoft/119686194731353
    even boards.ie are on facebook along with adverts.ie
    http://www.facebook.com/BoardsDeals
    http://www.facebook.com/Adverts.ie
    even Oddys airsoft last post here was 14-5-2011 but he posts alot more on facebook then here
    http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001445978559
    rules+payment= move to facebook

There's a high chance of something being missed, mods aren't gods and cannot be everywhere at once. It's no bias, bringing back Wednesday night gaming is in a sense an event - but a marketing idea isn't. That's my opinion, now I get on well with one the reloaded lads Adam and Karla, so I'm not picking holes and throwing stuff out there, timeframe has little to do with it. Both posts are still there and viewable to anyone - so it's somewhat irrelevant.

Over a week unnoticed at the top of the que? Unlikely dude, plus neither are events and if being open was an event we'd be doing it 5 days a week and wouldn't need a thread but that beside the point. They obviously didn't miss it sure Andy thanked it so they didn't miss it and yet he straight away closed ours the second he noticed it but again this is just an example, I posted more examples earlier in the thread.

I'm a big boy Lefty, you ccan say what you want and I'll still hug Charlie when I see him (Mike more so though)

Ah sure who knows why it happens, you're point (unlike others) holds some water.

It holds all the water baby, I'm a frickin water tanker in this bitch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

Firekitten wrote:
    (He asked me to be nastier, as he thinks me being nice is scary)

I'm pretty sure it's listed in Revelations as being one of the seven signs of the impending apocalypse.

"And lo, all the nations of the Earth were torn asunder, and fire fell from the sky, for a rider rode forth upon a pale horse, and she acted nice"

I may be slightly misquoting, but it's something like that.

Just pray none of that water spills, or you'll end up with a rather embarassing wet patch to explain...

(more because I could make a pun of the water comments than any sinister or logical meaning)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

FINALLY THIS FORUM IS INTERESTING TO READ AGAIN!

Ok so a number of topics going under the one banner and I want to through a thought on some of them

Retailers and site subforum
    When airsoft was small there was only HRTa, MIA and Eirsoft. As the sport grew retailers and sites sprang up like nobodies business wanting a slice of the pie. They all had a thread here. This was the central hub of information for airsoft. The people that run boards.ie arn't silly people. So someone said "Why dont we get a slice of the pie" And lets be honest it was a smart move.

But no one could anticipate it being a longterm plan, it was a short term milk the cash cow incentive. I nearly had a stroke reading that retailers pay €30 a month for a forum here, thats over €300 a year. No wonder so many of you are gone out of business for piss poor decision like that :P

A boards thread offered you a fair bit a few years ago. But nowadays its a dinosaur. Facebook and Twitter are the new internet face of retail and customer support and here is simply why

"Hmm, my rifle is With Shiva waiting to be fixed, lets see if its done"

Boot up PC........log onto internet......www.boards.ie....navigate airsoft.....navigate sites....**** they are split and im in wrong forum back up......navigate retailers....find thread.....post reply..." Tony is my rifle fixed"...send

Now lets look at how technology evolved, and that process now happens.

Unlock phone....open seesmic(twitter app)...type @Eirsoft Where is my ****ing gun....wait 10 minutes....reply sent @eirsoft haha funny story bout that

The process itself, at a base level, has been changed into simplistic easy to use media. The world has changed, we dont buy papers and watch the news, we need short burst of information, and we get them through Twitter,Facebook and RSS feeds.

With the recession, and there being 50 million retailers, its not worth anyones while keeping a thread open. Now I'm not saying I can run a business, no way, but what I do have is some business savvy and a bit of cop on. And I know that the traffic that comes to my thread currently on boards.ie and the potential revenue from it is nigh on piss poor nothing. I'm loosing money.

However with a free Facebook or Twitter account, the cost to run is zero and the return from it is much higher cause I can genuinely create revenue. Pictures, announcements, polls and competitions.

So in summary, its not boards fault. They say an opportunity to make a pretty penny during the 6mm boom like every redundant sucker did and now the gravy train has hit its last stop. Anyone still paying €300 annually for a thread here needs their head examined.

Moderation issue
    Sigh. I've given up on this because in my view the procedure for having a mod put under review doesnt really work. If your hear aslong as me , there have been about 4-5 major topics to appear in feedback / helpdesk in relation to a serious opinion and feeling.

Here is how that process goes

1) I don't agree with that, that was poor moderation, I'm going to PM that mod and suss out the sotry
    2) Wow, I was an idiot there, best go through the procedure
    3) Thread created, I best make the posters on the forum aware there is a feedback thread they should take a look at an express their feelings
    4) hu, weird, I'm not allowed talk about the feedback thread outside of feedback.....o...kkkk
    5) Well my points were pretty valid and I put some evidence there and was pretty calm, that should be taken seriously enough
    6) Well that mod isnt even in our forum, why is he getting involved, he just blanked defended the Airsoft mod without reading my post
    7) And there's another
    8) Did I just walk into Wimbledon, whats with the quote tennis?
    9) What has me being part of a team or having friends who have the same feelings got to do with a witch hunt?
    10) A **** this ****

There you have it. I think there was like ONE succesfull feedback thread where a The Master afaik admitted there was a bit of OTT from himself, but that we ( myself included) werent being the easiest to manage. Tipped our hats, and we all got along fine after that and everyones happy.

My point being feedback threads generally, dont work. And they are perceived a waste of time. Its usually seen as a game of quote tennis by mods trying to simply prove you so utterly wrong when the evidence you have is compelling. I know this is a private forum etc, but dont shove **** procedures and avenues of complaint down my throat when its a glorified joke for moderators.

Now to also address Leftys point. There isn't a personal vendetta against Andy as a person, nor any Moderator as a person, its on the moderation. Now to be fair I'm not sure there has been anything loltastic happening lately cause I simply could...not...give...a..bollox. But you'd be absolutely nieve to deny there has been epic **** moderation here in the past.

Most people take Gerrowadat as being elitist, a dick and riding on a very very high horse. And to be fair, your probably mostly right. Personally, I dont think his horse is high enough. And I like him on his horse, cause he calls the bull**** out that most of you cower to call straight because your afraid to hurt someones feelings or get an letter on a McDonalds burger wrap from a tinfoil hat lawyer.

There are a few people on this forum, that basically deserve respect. Wether you know them or not. Ironically alot happen to be my mates, but they have an Airsoft CV to make their opinion worth their weight in gold. Most of them will try to play coy and say " a stop" but I genuinelly think their opinions are worth their weight in gold because they are the pillar stone of this community.

I'm going to outline those people now, don't get offended if your not on the list, your just not a boss yet.

Gerrowadat
    Head of the IAA , acting, for about a year. In the commitees most turbulant year where there was the threat of a new organisation, there was bad press and there was the threat of an outright ban.
    Lead the IAA and airsoft in general into acceptance, organised mass epic positive PR and with his no BS attitude called people up on their ****. The result was airsoft was made legal and you can crack of your guns wtihout fear on a site.

Has being to pretty much every major event going and always conducts himself tops in games.

Fayer
    Pretty much similar as above, expect he did SOOO much legal work and articles and writing the lad probably had about 4 heart attacks. I don't think there is anyone that doesn't like this guy in person. Very outgoing, provides advice to people for free you'd otherwise pay €1,000's for. Created a serious network of contacts abroad and is THE perfect example of how to conduct yourself playing airsoft

Hivemind & Taz
    Not really posting much anymore, these guys put down the building blocks for your game being legal. Absolute brash as ****, tremendous articulation and writing ability. ****ed up alot of relationships with people, but its what every organisation needs. No bollox in your face getting **** done, dont like it, suck my kiss. Tried to lift milsim of its decrepit floor and it just didnt happen for them. Without these guys and their assosiates youd probably not have heard of the game imo.

Dex
    You literally have an wikipedia of information at your fingertips, except its not bollox. No question goes unanswered as he answers your questions wether your new or veteran, and smashes your ideas for airsoft cannons with his mad skills in physics. If Barney Stenson is the king of ****ing woman, Dex is the god of ****ing your brain full of knowledge

Puding
    I've never seen someone go to so much lengths to answer the same questions over and over again and do so much in terms of community stuff without even taking a bow. News thread, pics threads, community websites, gun information you name it this guy will help answer your question. That sort of selflessness is just scary and he pretty much jsut keeps this place ticking over most of the time.

Masada and Shiva
    Shiva still posts here, Masada unfortunately to this airsofting world doesn't. Essentially my bosses, but I literally learned everything I could about airsoft from them. Regarded as probably the best tech in country, still probably is, if he is arsed and a gent to talk with. No tolerance for bollox but I've seen him do stupid amounts of favours and stuff for people he doesnt even know.

And Shiva needs to explanation, anything serious goes on here, he has a straight as an arrow response and provides more then enough insights into the business model of airsoft.

Lemming and Firekitten
    Had more then our fair share of run ins, and to be honest there is probably alot of people going to freak seeing me even listing this, but in fairness I'm just over it at this stage. When you break it down these two do provide a wealth of information and help to alot of people new or vet on many a thread. Yeah it might contraversial sometimes, yeah there might be plenty of rows. But these two have travelled far and wide and bring a new dimension of thought process playing weekly in a country where airsoft is in existence alot longer.

I'm sure there is many more tbh. There is alot more people who I simply skip their posts when I see them written, I wasnt going to list the whole forum posters to say if I <3 them or hate them. But thats a sample of the people who when I read their posts I'm like "oooOOOooo" and sit up and take notice.

Thats was tbh was too lengthy but I hope I made my point. There is too much bollox that if someone calls someone up on something or calls something pony or bollox, they are being elitist, being on a witch hunt etc etc.

And to be honest I know best, why? Cause there used to be a little team called the Hawks. And that team didnt like reading or hearing bollox, and typically called people on that bollox. And what did we get for it? Labelled elitists among all names under the sun and what came off it?

Half of the lads just quit the game, sick of dealing with the rubbish that goes on and the labels they received for their assosiation and being cast outside for simply telling the truth and questioning. The rest of us still play, badge less and still good friends enjoying games, but taking things alot less serious and having alot more fun.

Why?

Because simply put this sport is going to go a certain way and there is nobody that can change it, there is no organisation that can steer it and no forum will amend it. Its just going to evolve and evolve into different forms and shapes. So instead of getting me knickers into a twist I'm just enjoying the game.

So there is my, offcially, longest post ever. It was wildly offtopic in a parts, but put a thought process behind someone like me who went through the process of coming in here as a noob, getting ok at the game, posting here alot, stirring **** cauldrons, then loosing interst in the game and loosing interest in here.

Shiva wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure it's listed in Revelations as being one of the seven signs of the impending apocalypse.

"And lo, all the nations of the Earth were torn asunder, and fire fell from the sky, for a rider rode forth upon a pale horse, and she acted nice"

I may be slightly misquoting, but it's something like that.
    Johnny Cash wants his lyric back. Unbastardised please.

At this point I'd also like to point out I <3 bollox

Johnny Cash wants his lyric back. Unbastardised please.

I think he stole it first.
    And mine has a nicer ring to it :)

TheDoc wrote: »
    At this point I'd also like to point out I <3 bollox
    we know you do dear. we know you do :P 'bollox' make the doc go round.:rolleyes:

Shiva: Yeah, but the Johnny Cash version is so much better than that daft novel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

Loving DOC's long post big thumbs up from me :D

~B

bullets wrote: »
    Loving DOC's long post big thumbs up from me :D

~B

Its tradition that once or twice a year when **** gets real on here I stop messing and post something serious....the above is one....

TheDoc wrote: »

Dex
    If Barney Stenson is the king of ****ing woman, Dex is the god of ****ing your brain full of knowledge

At some stage, you and I are getting a pint and you're going to explain that bit. It's already lending itself to some legendary dirty jokes that the Barnacle would be proud of.

That was serious?

Oh, I thought the bit about del boy Shiva being straight as an arrow was your idea of a joke... :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Even from a fairly outsidey perspective, there was a sense of community here before that's not quite there now. It shouldn't matter how many great things you can say about each poster's previous contribution to the airsoft community. All the airsoft cred or technical knowhow in the world will not counterbalance crappy attitudes, and life is too short to put up with -
    !!DAR!! wrote: »
    then why the f*** was mine locked and told i was advertising without even getting a chance to explain myself or fix my topic.
    **** happens honey.

- crappy attitudes.

I'm guessing I'm going to get sanctioned for picking up on this particular example, but you guys cannot seriously be blind to the effect exchanges like this have on both the atmosphere and perception of a forum to the wider internet. That's not something you can necessarily rule against or submit through the existing complaints procedure, but it's all the difference in the world to the tone of a given forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 457 ✭✭AUDIE MURPHY

YAWN.........!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,311 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

with the stipulation that certain mods are kicked
    Which ones? The ones that do this for free? Those ones? I can't see it happening tbh if you use threats. If you used cause, went through the Feedback and/or Helpdesk route, and then made your case about the mods, maybe something will be said, but if you just go and say "I want X mod removed or I leave", they'll allow you to leave, and the Airsoft section will still be the same. If you b|tch about them personally, you'll get mods back up the mods. If you show threads where they fucked up, and say how they fucked up, changes are usually made.
    horgan_p wrote: »
    If you want to mod your own forum I believe it's in the "talk to" section. And I understand its a hell of a lot more than €30 a month.
    Hrm... I'd say it's a lot more than €30 a month, but they don't get to mod the forums there. If they did mod the forums, I doubt the multi-page thread b|tching about Three would be in the Three forum :D

For those demanding the toys be thrown out of the forum, compared to the Blacknight, Currys/PC World, Eircom, Elara.ie, ESB, Gamesnash, Komplett, O2, QuoteDevil, richersounds, TheCostumeShop, Three, Vodafone forums, how much is the Airsoft forum bringing in?
    Inari wrote: »
    What I have proposed to the moderators/admins is to allow retailers to reply to these threads, but with VERY strict rules i.e. if someone asks if a product is available in Ireland, then retailers can reply with "In stock & available - please visit our retailer thread" and NOTHING else. If anything else is said in the same post, then they are infracted or even billed - this is to protect against shilling, whilst simultaneously incentivising retailers to pay to have a retailer thread.
    I like this idea.

=-=

It'll be sad to see the Airsoft forum quiten down, but boards.ie lives on, and random people will come on to it :/

the_syco wrote: »
    Which ones? The ones that do this for free? Those ones?

I just want to highlight this reasoning. You're not the only one to use it Syco, so I'm not picking on you - just using your quote cos its the latest in the thread, and the easiest to quote.

Mods know before they take on the responsibility that they dont get paid. They know its a thankless task, and they know they'll take flack for every mistake.

Holding up their voluntary and non-paid status as reasons for them not being held to high standards is a copout - if you take on the mantle of responsibility to be a mod, you also take the heat that comes with it. Especially if that heat is generated because you've made bad decisions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

just like to ask,does anyone else miss o1s1n?or is it just me??
    and i mean no disrespect to any mods that are here and now.
    plus lemmin was great in airsoft adverts.two of the best
    that also took a lot o s h i t e in thier time;)
    or maybe its just me:o
    (and yes o1s1n gave out to me,on boards.and by pm..
    and on thread.done fair and sq,also lemmin)
    yep its true see edit,but back then there was less
    moanin and more helpin of airsofters,now.more or

less all you get is..affs not this again.except those that the doc posted,
    for the most part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

The decline in the airsoft forum can be directly blamed on the popularity of magpul and multicam, and the coining of the term 'gucci'.

Now if we burn all multicam and magpul items on a big fire and banish whatever group of individuals pushed these things on us, we can all get lovely AK's and get back to the pleasant business of shooting each other. Doc's post was all well and good, but it ignored the above critical issues. I would be wary of the use of the word ridic also, its popularity came just before this whole mess.

The decline in the airsoft forum can be directly blamed on the popularity of magpul and multicam, and the coining of the term 'gucci'.

Now if we burn all multicam and magpul items on a big fire and banish whatever group of individuals pushed these things on us, we can all get lovely AK's and get back to the pleasant business of shooting each other. Doc's post was all well and good, but it ignored the above critical issues. I would be wary of the use of the word ridic also, its popularity came just before this whole mess.

how dare you!:pac:

Magpul and Crye products are both made from fire retardant materials.
    AK's, on the other hand, have a large amount of wood on them which would burn remarkably well...

(I'm not defending Gucci-ism, but I hate AK's more than Multicam)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Most of the multicam on our fields is probably made of the same material and in the same factory as cheap re-useable christmas trees. That has the fire retardant properties of petrol.

NakedDex wrote: »
    Magpul and Crye products are both made from fire retardant materials.
    AK's, on the other hand, have a large amount of wood on them which would burn remarkably well...

(I'm not defending Gucci-ism, but I hate AK's more than Multicam)
    lol.just lol.
    fair play my man:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

OzCam wrote: »

You've a bleeding nerve to be talking about bias toward certain sites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

I'm sorry Gerrowadat, but what in the name of Christ is your problem with Andy_G . Besides if the moderation is so shíte - why are you here? They were not charging money, they were showing ideas and schools of thought, the host site was charging money to cover costs of electricity, etc. Not the the sniper school - get your facts right please.

So the site was charging money, do you reckon if some other site were advertising a 'training session' where you come and pay money to do a training session on that site, that it would have been let fly? Of course not.

It's airsoft tactics and if you've been to one - you'd know what it's like, but I guess it'd be too much effort to come off your high horse and do that. It's tactics for airsoft - which in no way correlate to real world and military. If what you're saying was to be taken at face value, any teams or groups of individuals who hold "training games" or "team practices" are also breaking the law. So does that mean The RATs, what's left of the Hawks (if ye are still going), the Ghosts, AON, etc are all breaking the law?
    Teams used for examples - if you have a problem with it let me know and I'll remove from the list, thanks.

Yes, it does. Section 15 of the offences against the state act 1939.
    So Gerrowadat, your opinion is valid and witholds some truth, however I must respectfully disagree with you. If it seems like I'm having a go at you, I apologise - you do however seem to be singing the same song every time a topic like this comes up.

Sorry I can't change my opinion based on consistent bolloxology that reinforces my opinion.

Very obvious bias, accusations of bullying. Yawn yawn. Andy's a big boy, he can stand up for himself without his mates riding in. If he's not prepared to defend or retract the stupidness in moderation he's been up to (and he's by no means alone) then he shouldn't be a moderator.