Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Part Time Job and 5th year + Leaving Cert

• 01-06-2011 6:56pm
    Registered Users Posts: 371 ✭✭

So I am at the end of Transition Year now and during TY, I took on a few piano students. All together it adds up to about 4 hours teaching per week. I teach on Thursdays, Friday, Sunday and Tuesday for roughly an hour on each of those days. My question is: do any of you think this will pose a problem in 5th year? or 6th year? I am a good student having always gotten A's and B's in higher level subjects...and I will be taking on Higher Level Maths, English, Irish, French, Physics, Biology, Music and Applied Maths next year for LC.
    Would teaching piano affect my studying? Like how much study + homework would you be getting in 5th year? Basically I am freaking out having just finished TY and now I realize that I am back to studying in September. Plus I am scared of some of my subjects...haha :-) And as well as teaching and studying I need time to practice piano because I am on the last grade so that takes up a few hours a week. Thanks for any advice/feedback!

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 449 ✭✭!MAVERICK!

Yep by the looks of it your going to have to give up your job for 2 years. Especially if you want to take on 8 subjects at higher level. Youl never have the time with the job. If you do you will just work yourself out.

• Registered Users Posts: 371 ✭✭iLikePiano99

!MAVERICK! wrote: »