Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Fulham Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭fulhamfanincork

Would like Bilic or Jol.

No to McClaren/O'Neill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,353 ✭✭✭Sasquatch76

Who would be your worst nightmare as Fulham boss fulhamfanincork?

Dave Jones, Curbishley, Hoddle, Atkinson, Lee Clark. Plenty out there that aren't worthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

Another day and this thread will have overtaken the spurs super thread ... It took nine months to get it up to 303 posts :eek:

Dave Jones, Curbishley, Hoddle, Atkinson, Lee Clark. Plenty out there that aren't worthy.
    Well, I hope ye get one of them then :)

Why?

Are you one of flahajavs and csfs cronies? Doing their dirty work because they are afraid to show face? That's what I thought.

Now stop ruining my Fulham thread.

Avram Grant has applied according to the Guardian :pac:

So has Chris Hughton if the guardian are to believed.

1)Bilic
    2)Jol
    3)Hughton

My list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Where do you see fulham finishing next year and what first team players, if any, do you imagine leaving or would you like to see leave?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Avram Grant has applied according to the Guardian :pac:

So has Chris Hughton if the guardian are to believed.

1)Bilic
    2)Jol
    3)Hughton

My list.

Hughton for me if I were a Fulham fan. Bilic? No experience at club level would count against him.

Why?

Are you one of flahajavs and csfs cronies? Doing their dirty work because they are afraid to show face? That's what I thought.

I most certainly aren't one of their cronies (they'll be delighted to know).

As for ruining your Fulham thread, I'd like to remind you that a) this very evening you came into the LFC thread with more of your unfounded whinging, and b) "your" Fulham thread was set up by a non-Fulham supporting poster, in order to take the piss out of said unfounded whinging by you.

As to why I'd like one of those undesirables to be named as Fulham's next manager, well, I'm only thinking of you and your mental state my friend... Think about it; you're so depressed at other clubs "stealing" your manager.... That surely wouldn't be a concern with Hoddle in charge.

racso1975 wrote: »
    Where do you see fulham finishing next year and what first team players, if any, do you imagine leaving or would you like to see leave?
    If we keep the core of the team ie Hangeland, Dempsey, Zamora then I see no reason why we can't finish 8 -12th position.

If however they do leave and knowing AL Fayed he will try replace them on the cheap, then I think we could be screwed and certainly relegation candidates. In saying that though I do think the three that came up will go straight back down.
    Hughton for me if I were a Fulham fan. Bilic? No experience at club level would count against him.
    Hughes had no club experience before he took charge of Blackburn and look what he achieved there. He has a win percentage of about 65 for Croatia which is very good.

I most certainly aren't one of their cronies (they'll be delighted to know).

As for ruining your Fulham thread, I'd like to remind you that a) this very evening you came into the LFC thread with more of your unfounded whinging, and b) "your" Fulham thread was set up by a non-Fulham supporting poster, in order to take the piss out of said unfounded whinging by you.
    Point 1 - Unfounded? Unfounded!? Liverpool fans destroyed Konchesky and did their best to destroy Hodgson in my opinion. Their mantra is "the liverpool way" means that players/managers "never walk alone", how hypocritical of them.

They give about about Torres not showing them any respect, Liverpool certainly didn't show Fulham any respect by the way they dilly dallied over appointing a new manager. Left Fulham in the poo big time. What goes around comes around.

Point 2 - This thread wasn't set up to take the piss? It was set up so I and other people who want to talk Fulham on a football board could do so.

Point 1 - Unfounded? Unfounded!? Liverpool fans destroyed Konchesky and did their best to destroy Hodgson in my opinion. Their mantra is "the liverpool way" means that players/managers "never walk alone", how hypocritical of them.

They give about about Torres not showing them any respect, Liverpool certainly didn't show Fulham any respect by the way they dilly dallied over appointing a new manager. Left Fulham in the poo big time. What goes around comes around.

Point 2 - This thread wasn't set up to take the piss? It was set up so I and other people who want to talk Fulham on a football board could do so.
    I'm going to leave it there, as this is utterly pointless. Enjoy your thread, and good luck next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Thought LiamO started the thread?

I'm going to leave it there, as this is utterly pointless. Enjoy your thread, and good luck next season.
    Why?

And thank you.

Who do you support by the way, just a matter of interest?

Why does that matter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

While i have begun to admire fulham i do believe 8th is very ambitious with 12th more realistic. I really hope zamora can regain his form. I'd say hangleland is prob the most likely to move. Shame he has little left on contract.

NukaCola wrote: »
    Thought LiamO started the thread?
    I don't see your point?
    Why does that matter?
    I was just wondering? Who do you support, or is it top secret? jeez. :rolleyes:

I don't see your point?

You dont own the thread............

racso1975 wrote: »
    While i have begun to admire fulham i do believe 8th is very ambitious with 12th more realistic. I really hope zamora can regain his form. I'd say hangleland is prob the most likely to move. Shame he has little left on contract.

Well 8th may be ambitious considering we have the Europa, but you got to aim high and have ambition in my opinion.

if you'd seen Zamora since he's comeback, he's been awesome. Well on his way to being as good as he was. My only concern is that he is picking up little knocks since his come back such as groin and hip injuries.

Hageland contract runs out in 2013, so clubs who want him will have to pay a big fee for him I would imagine, although knowing Al Fayed he'd take 5 million for him :rolleyes:

You dont own the thread............
    May I ask who you support?

if you'd seen Zamora since he's comeback, he's been awesome. Well on his way to being as good as he was.

Zamora was good? :confused:

May I ask who you support?

Whats the relevance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭blindpilot

How about renaming this thread "Lets see who can rise the Fulham fan the most"?

blindpilot wrote: »

Roy Hodgson....

Zamora was good? :confused:
    Any football fan would recogise Zamoras ability.
    Whats the relevance?
    It's a football forum and just wondering if you support Fulham or not although judging by your futile attempts to wind me up I guess you don't.

I don't see why you are getting so hot and bothered about me asking who you support. It's not like i'm asking something personal like your sexuality/politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,394 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

blindpilot wrote: »
    I liked the original name tbh, obviously the mods didn't.

I suppose this thread was made as a present to our resident Fulham fan who seemed incapable of doing it himself and instead decided to air his grievances in every thread under the sun...

I thought it would stop it, obviously not...

Liam O wrote: »
    I suppose this thread was made as a present to our resident Fulham fan who seemed incapable of doing it himself and instead decided to air his grievances in every thread under the sun...

I thought it would stop it, obviously not...

Talk about hyperbole (that means exaggerating ;) ) . I have only posted in 4 threads. The United, Liverpool, Chelsea, Kits and summer tranfer rumours.

I have only voiced my opinion in 3 of those threads.

It's a football forum and just wondering if you support Fulham or not although judging by your futile attempts to wind me up I guess you don't.

I don't see why you are getting so hot and bothered about me asking who you support. It's not like i'm asking something personal like your sexuality/politics.

I'm not getting hot and bothered at all. You said you owned the thread. You dont. What difference does it make who i support? I dont support Fulham.......does that mean i cant post in your thread LOL :pac:

I recognise his ability as being an ok player. Awesome he certainly is not....

Looks like Jol is the favourite. Won't be too bad hopefully although he was a failure at Spurs and Ajax

• Registered Users Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

Talk about hyperbole (that means exaggerating ;) ) . I have only posted in 4 threads. The United, Liverpool, Chelsea, Kits and summer tranfer rumours.

I have only voiced my opinion in 3 of those threads.
    4? good luck in your leaving cert

Looks like Jol is the favourite. Won't be too bad hopefully although he was a failure at Spurs and Ajax

He certainly wasn't a failure at Ajax IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,394 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

amiable wrote: »
    4? good luck in your leaving cert
    I seem to remember his impressive debut in the Paul Scholes thread too...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

You and Flahavaj are just trying to antagonise me into a reaction so you can get me banned. I know you two are in cohoots, making cartels with each other. Well guess what I'm not going to fall for it and I'm going to take you and your organisation down. You've been warned.

tony-montana.jpg

"I thought I told you a long time ago, don't f*ck with me, dont you EVER f*ck with me Tony."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

He certainly wasn't a failure at Ajax IMO

nor at spurs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭ootbitb

I wonder how many of us non glory hunting types there are in Ireland supporting Fulham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,593 ✭✭✭✭CSF

ootbitb wrote: »
    I wonder how many of us non glory hunting types there are in Ireland supporting Fulham.
    Get off the cross. You still support a mid-table Premiership team. You're as much a gloryhunter as anyone else.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,866 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

CSF wrote: »
    Get off the cross. You still support a mid-table Premiership team. You're as much a gloryhunter as anyone else.

you dont know his reasons for supporting Fulham you arent automatically a gloryhunter if the club your supporting plays at a high level

No?

No?

No what if you support a team cos of the great football they play or cos you were brought up in a family of supporters, or happened to have a link to a club be that family, geographical or other.

I suppose if you really want to argue everyone is hunting glory for their club but thats not what the term gloryhunter means when reffering to a fan. As a fan a gloryhunter supports a team just because they are achieving glory i.e winning trophies. I dont know if Fulham were winning trophies etc when this poster decided to start supporting his club therefore I simply wouldent call him a gloryhunter.

That said i dont like him using the term himself either so as to elivate himself above other fans but thats just as this post itself shows im not someone who would use such a term to describe most supporters as it seem you may be

No what if you support a team cos of the great football they play
    Pretty much word for word the definition of a gloryhunter. For me whenever standard comes into football support then someone is a gloryhunter. If you're from Longford it hardly matters whether you've gone for Wigan, Everton or Chelsea.

perhaps that one line of my post explains your definition of that term but the rest of it explains why my definition differs to yours (and why for that matter I would imagine others may object to your blanket use of that term). However despite this topic rarely being on topic we arent talking about Fulham anymore so ill agree to disagree with you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

What if you're born and bred in the area, supported the team when they were in the old divison 2 or 3 and now they're doing ok in the Premier League? That could be the case for a Wigan, Fulham, even Manchester City supporter! That could well be the case of this particular Fulham fan who could have moved to Cork for work etc.

You're not exactly going to see much glory supporting a Fulham, Sunderland, Bolton etc are you?

Paully D wrote: »
    What if you're born and bred in the area, supported the team when they were in the old divison 2 or 3 and now they're doing ok in the Premier League? That could be the case for a Wigan, Fulham, even Manchester City supporter! That could well be the case of this particular Fulham fan who could have moved to Cork for work etc.

You're not exactly going to see much glory supporting a Fulham, Sunderland, Bolton etc are you?
    I clearly wasn't talking about the local support. The poster I had responded to had specified Irish.

So all Irish fans are gloryhunters in your eyes?

Could a mod split this into a seperate thread please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭ootbitb

not quite. I have supported Fulham through the many years in the lower leagues too. any success now is all the sweeter of course.

• Registered Users Posts: 751 ✭✭✭cup of tea

Another Fulham fan here. I would be reasonably satisfied if we got Jol not over the moon but reasonable satisfied. Hopefully last years negotiations with him will stand to us(Jol was nearly on his way before Mark Hughes arrived). Just copying and pasting a fantastic article below regarding Hughes' tenure at our club.

IT was the image which defined Mark Hughes’ hasty coronation as Fulham boss last summer.
    Mohamed Al Fayed grabbing the face of his new manager and attempting to physically manipulate a smile.
    The Craven Cottage chairman has gone on record to describe the Duke of Edinburgh as a ‘Nazi’ and the Royal family as ‘vampires’, he likes to make frequent jokes about Viagra and has now erected a cartoon statue of an *irrelevant pop megastar at Fulham’s historic ground.
    Colourful would be one description.
    Hughes, grey of hair and quietly menacing of voice, is a man who takes things rather more seriously. Not least himself.
    It was clear that this would always be an uneasy marriage.
    Hughes is, of course, a towering *figure in recent British football history. He played for Manchester United, Barcelona, Bayern Munich and Chelsea – and won 11 major trophies thanks to a rare *combination of cut-glass technique and raging-bull aggression.
    As a manager, Hughes has been *successful (to varying degrees) in *international football and with three different Premier League clubs.
    He employs the unfeasibly slick Kia Joorabchian as his representative.
    And when he arrived at Fulham, he demanded a bigger office and a grand £8,000 desk to replace Roy Hodgson’s more modest taste in furniture.
    Mystique
    No wonder the Welshman has found himself linked with Chelsea, England, Bayern and Aston Villa. He has the credentials to be a decent candidate for any job . Though not the mystique which comes with a foreign name.
    And yet Hughes seems *destined to end up with none of those jobs – thanks to his growing reputation as a mug punter.
    Hughes was on the A-list of candidates to succeed Alex Ferguson at Manchester United, until he gambled on taking over at City.
    And however decent a job he performed at Eastlands, however harsh his sacking and *however brutal the manner of it, the fact remains that United will never appoint a man sacked by their gauche, noisy neighbours.
    Last summer, Hughes, desperate to return to management after his City sacking and fed up with waiting for Martin O’Neill to quit Villa, got itchy feet and accepted Fulham’s proposal. O’Neill quit Villa days later and Hughes was left on the wrong bus.
    And this week, after being installed as favourite for the vacant Villa job, Hughes walked out on Fulham despite having *verbally agreed to sign a new contract.
    The logic was clear. Fulham were refusing to bid serious *money for Espanyol striker Pablo Osvaldo, while Villa had splashed out £18million plus substantial add-ons for Darren Bent.
    Yet Villa felt uneasy, got cold feet and are currently looking elsewhere for their next manager.
    Joorabchian claims Hughes’s *resignation was proof of his sincerity.
    And despite a suspicion inside Fulham that Sparky might still turn up at Villa Park in a month’s time this may, instead, be further evidence of Hughes’s rank bad sense of timing.
    For all his air of reserve, Hughes certainly does not lack ego.
    He soon created waves at Fulham’s sedate Motspur Park training ground, by expanding what his players began to call his ‘Oval Office’. Walls were knocked down, staff members moved out, others were frozen out.
    There is another *story of Hughes *reprimanding the tea lady for not *using a china teapot to serve his brew.
    Bosses get *whispered about and sniggered at in any walk of life, it’s an *occupational hazard.
    There was *respect, yet little *affection, for Hughes among Fulham’s players, staff and supporters.
    He kept his thoughts between himself and his close-knit Welsh coaching staff and *created the impression the Fulham job was a little *beneath him.
    The truth is that Hughes owes Fulham, more than Fulham owe Hughes.
    He inherited the best team in the club’s history, then succeeded in *changing little.
    The first half of the season bordered on the disastrous, mainly thanks to an injury crisis, the second half was *consistently decent – although Hughes’ League record against the seven clubs who finished above Fulham read: played 14, won none.
    Nobody turned cartwheels at the end of the season. Few shed tears when he quit on Thursday.
    By abandoning the club now, Hughes has done to Fulham what Manchester City did to him 18 months ago – in short, *saying ‘sorry, but you’re just not big enough’.
    Yet while good managers fancy the Fulham job, how many big clubs want Hughes?
    The last two bosses to walk out of the Cottage in pursuit of loftier challenges were Kevin Keegan, to become England manager, and Hodgson, to take over at Liverpool.
    Keegan ended up quitting in the Wembley toilets, while Hodgson was being hounded out of Anfield within weeks.
    Followers of Fulham, who cherish their club and expect relatively little, will suggest that these things can happen when a man gets too big for his boots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

jimcoolding & fulhamfanincork have been permanently banned from the forum.

• Registered Users Posts: 751 ✭✭✭cup of tea

ootbitb wrote: »

I've met four or five fans from Ireland. Even one day I had my car parked(with a FFC sticker on the back) got a 2 a4 page letter put under my wipers from another fellow fan saying how rare it was to find another fan etc etc....theres not many clubs you could support where you could come back from a bit of shopping and find a personalised letter for you. :)