Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leaving Cert 2012-13 *OFF-TOPIC* (hideaway) thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

Anyone watch House? I can't get enough of it. His cynicism is just so good.
    I adore House, it is my favourite show of all time.

• Registered Users Posts: 87 ✭✭Poufsouffle

Anyone watch House? I can't get enough of it. His cynicism is just so good.

I've only ever seen one or two episodes but it looked great, I'll definitely have to watch it from the start next summer. I've never actually watched a tv series or a movie online though, I know everyone does it but I just never have :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭Prodigious

I put up a thread about the comparative if anyone needs it.

Right, I'm sitting down with some Ben&Gerrys and the latest episode of Gray's.

• Registered Users Posts: 893 ✭✭✭ray2012

hey lads, do any of ye ever think about giving grinds to junior certs, in a subject you're good at of course. My dad asked me to think about giving grinds so I could earn money (It would act as my job). But yeah, I was thinking about giving them for French for JC's. I'm just wondering what would your opinion on a 6th year giving grinds to a JC be? I realise I have no qualifications or anything like that, but say I charge fairly cheap of €15, do you think I could get a few people? It seems like a grand way to earn money for students at a subject they like, so they won't necessarily hate giving the grinds, and as well as that I'm sure I would learn quite a bit of French from teaching the student too!

• Registered Users Posts: 136 ✭✭Kenbob

That's a damn good idea imo!

Yeah I thought so too tbh. :P I'd obviously need to know my stuff well, but I feel I'd be able for it. Gonna think about it. Desperately need the money!

Anyone else in on the boards better body challenge? Starts tomorrow :)

Yeah Ray, I was except time is very limited for me :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭Eurovisionmad

Ellie Goulding is headlining the Trinity Ball, I'm so jealous, I wish I was going to TCD now :(

Grinds is my plan to supplement my income next year, but I'd rather focus on the LC this year.

I'd say I have the time to give an hour grind on weekends (Friday/Sat/Sun). I would just hate if I went ahead with it and then I get asked a question and I don't know the answer. :P But yeah, I'll think about it. I'd be able for it up until May at least I'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

Falling asleep before 5am is going to be some challenge for me, I'm gonna be wrecked tomorrow.

Right lads. This is it. No more fcuking about. 110 days. Literally. No more bullsh1t about being tired or having parties to go to. Get your head straight. Priorities. 110 days and we're there. The key to out future. Enough tv, enough gay's anatomy. Focus on what you want, and obtain it. By any means necessary. Cut out the timewasters in your life: tv, Facebook, pronhub. Even friends that are holding you back. Be selfish. This is about you. This is about achieving your potential. Carpe diem. Seize the day.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lqpQzT1Kbuk

• Registered Users Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭Slow Show

I'm going to respectfully combat that and say that the Leaving Cert isn't the be-all and end-all and doesn't mean you have to cut everything out of your life that makes you happy.

Agreed, pronhub can stay. It was spur of the moment :D A bit OTT no doubt but sure I needed it anyway, don't know about you.

"Tv, Facebook, pornhub" Really?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Mr. Rager

Methememb wrote: »
    Right lads. This is it. No more fcuking about. 110 days. Literally. No more bullsh1t about being tired or having parties to go to. Get your head straight. Priorities. 110 days and we're there. The key to out future. Enough tv, enough gay's anatomy. Focus on what you want, and obtain it. By any means necessary. Cut out the timewasters in your life: tv, Facebook, pronhub. Even friends that are holding you back. Be selfish. This is about you. This is about achieving your potential. Carpe diem. Seize the day.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lqpQzT1Kbuk

decisions wrote: »
    "Tv, Facebook, pornhub" Really?

I know its tough, but desperate times, desperate measures. You'll be fine. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Jade.

Twitter now would be my biggest weakness to be fair! :P

Methememb wrote: »
    I know its tough, but desperate times, desperate measures. You'll be fine. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,671 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

Slow Show wrote: »
    I'm going to respectfully combat that and say that the Leaving Cert isn't the be-all and end-all and doesn't mean you have to cut everything out of your life that makes you happy.

I'm going to respectively combat that and say that I agree that it isn't the be all and end all, but it is important. I know there are other ways of getting what you want, but this is the easiest and quickest way. In the grand scheme of things, it is just 4 months out of your life. I dunno bout anyone else, but I'm willing to sacrifice 4 months if it means my next 4 years in college will be doing something I enjoy. Yes it isn't the be all and end all, but you only get one shot at it (usually). Why come out the other end with regrets?

• Registered Users Posts: 136 ✭✭Kenbob

LETS DO THIS!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭bluejay14

Don't ya just love that Sunday night feeling.

4 months left. Leaving Cert, I am taking you down.

• Registered Users Posts: 346 ✭✭weirdspider

I'm going to respectively combat that and say that I agree that it isn't the be all and end all, but it is important. I know there are other ways of getting what you want, but this is the easiest and quickest way. In the grand scheme of things, it is just 4 months out of your life. I dunno bout anyone else, but I'm willing to sacrifice 4 months if it means my next 4 years in college will be doing something I enjoy. Yes it isn't the be all and end all, but you only get one shot at it (usually). Why come out the other end with regrets?

I agree with this 100%. As a repeat I can safely say in hindsight that I had immense regrets last August that I didn't fully utilise these last few months. Its highly worthwile spending the vast majority of these months confined to a desk; the social life can wait, unfortunately the study can't!*

*Unless you want to repeat like me :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭Slow Show

Ah yeah in fairness I actually do intend on being a bit of a studying machine (although I will never, NEVER, compromise my Sunday-night chilling) after the HPAT which is in two weeks. It'd be silly to start before then, really >.>

• Registered Users Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

Don't ya just love that Sunday night feeling.

4 months left. Leaving Cert, I am taking you down.
    It feels like a Braveheart battle is about to start.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭bluejay14

LostBoy101 wrote: »
    It feels like a Braveheart battle is about to start.
    It is.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

I shall leave this here..

• Registered Users Posts: 941 ✭✭✭11Charlie11

My laptops been acting up lately when suddenly the volume went completely :( nearly had a panic attack cause I can't live without watching my tv shows :) turned if of and on and i heard that lovely start up noise :D never felt so happy :)