Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you tip your food delivery driver???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

MrsD007 wrote: »
    I always tip the Tesco delivery man when he drops off my groceries

Is that a euphemism?? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Aishae

No - Never - I can't afford it
    MrsD007 wrote: »
    I always tip the Tesco delivery man when he drops off my groceries, my husband thinks I'm mad.

Anyone else tip the Tesco man?

ive never gotten tesco delivered - is it free? if its free id bung the driver a quid or two - same with take away. but if i pay for delivery then i wont. they get their wage.
    unless they were dealing with snow or that. then id tip. though delivery doesnt tend to happen when its snowy up here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

kfallon wrote: »
    Is that a euphemism?? :pac:
    LOL :D:D No!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Aishae wrote: »
    ive never gotten tesco delivered - is it free?
    The delivery charge varies, it depends which slot you pick, Thursday, Friday and Saturday are always more expensive. I normally pay about €5.50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Duddy

Had a spate of getting cheeky bastards who 'used up' all their change at the last delivery, ye can get fooked!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 TrollyDolly

No - They get paid already.
    :confused:€2...seriously?? some of you wont tip €2?? im in recession as much as the next person but if i can afford a take-away in the first place then i can tip a couple of euro

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,968 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Yes €2+
    It's €2 on top of the delivery fee which is around €1.50 or €2

One local place charges €3 for delivery

I'll tip when it's free. And I don't mean pizza free delivery but collection discount which is just marketing language

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

:confused:€2...seriously?? some of you wont tip €2?? im in recession as much as the next person but if i can afford a take-away in the first place then i can tip a couple of euro

Take aways are still quite expensive imo, like a lot of things here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Only if its hot and fast delivery.
    I just ordered a pizza and it came to €18,so i gave him €20 as there is no delivery charge :)

Just the one pizza :eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

OPENROAD wrote: »
    Just the one pizza :eek::eek:

Medium pizza with bacon and chicken,chips,chicken wings,bbq sauce,1.25lr Fanta!,pizza combo :),and it was lovely,im stuffed :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭marxcoo

Yes €2+

but why do they need to be tipped?
    Every €2 counts I'm afraid. The last couple of times I ordered a takeaway for delivery (prob nearly a year ago at this stage) I was scrapping the coppers together to pay for it, so no chance of a tip I'm afraid. I clearly had an insatiable craving for pizza at that moment in time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭unbeat

nope not at their prices

Yours - DrH_Lecter

Medium pizza with bacon and chicken,chips,chicken wings,bbq sauce,1.25lr Fanta!,pizza combo :),and it was lovely,im stuffed :D

Talking of take aways, just watching Good Food +1 " Take on the Takeaway" set in England, portion of chips only 90 p :eek:

Your pizza sounds nice by the way ;) fecking diet :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Laisurg

Yes €2+
    Nope, take aways are bloody expensive as they are :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭jimbob86

always give bout 2 euro,no they get paid but its fcuk all.... plus i did it 4 a while meself and most people tipped me

Yes €2+
    and on the subject of tipping....why the hell do people tip hairdressers.. now that annoys me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Usually just let him have the change, once it's not anything ridiculous.
    But if there is a delivery charge then they're not getting ****.

marxcoo wrote: »
    and on the subject of tipping....why the hell do people tip hairdressers.. now that annoys me.

Not as bad as the tips jar in coffee shops

Yes €2+
    OPENROAD wrote: »
    Not as bad as the tips jar in coffee shops

worse in my opinion. I didn't just pay €100+ for my cup of coffee!

Actually yeah, now that you mention it, I see a remarkable number of tip jars in places where I shouldn't see them.

Does anybody else sometimes feel pressured into tipping so as not to look like a cheap **** infront of others?

Yes €2+

You don't tip the hairdresser.
    You tip the apprentice, the person who spends years training on ****e money.

You know, the girl who washes your hair and get minimum wage while the hairdresser charges you over €60.

They deserve tips more then taximen or fast food drivers or barmen or your waitress. None of them spend years training at their craft to qualify

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

worse in my opinion. I didn't just pay €100+ for my cup of coffee!

Well in fairness hair dressing is a skill and a lot of the hairdressers would be on an apprentice wage. Also hairdressers don't leave a cup beside the till, as far as i am aware anyway!

And what's up with you spending €100 on a haircut anyway ?:eek:

Yes €2+
    mikemac wrote: »
    You don't tip the hairdresser.
    You tip the apprentice, the person who spends years training on ****e money.

You know, the girl who washes your hair and get minimum wage while the hairdresser charges you over €60.

They deserve tips more then taximen or fast food drivers or barmen or your waitress. None of them spend years training at their craft to qualify

Nah... lots of people tip the hairdresser not the apprenctices. Besides a lot of people have to work for years on minimum wage and don't get tips.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭later12

I dont have a food delivery driver because I am not in a wheelchair. Even if I were ordering fast food, I think I would go out and get it myself.

Sitting at home while someone deepfries you up a load of grease with some overcooked meat on it, then comes to your front door with it, is a bit too Lou & Andy for me.

Yes €2+
    Well they are doing it wrong!
    You tip the apprentice, not the hairdresser.

And if someone can afford €100 for a haircut well you can afford €2 for the apprentice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

later10 wrote: »
    I dont have a food delivery driver because I am not in a wheelchair. Even if I were ordering fast food, I think I would go out and get it myself.

Sitting at home while someone deepfries you up a load of grease with some overcooked meat on it, then comes to your front door with it, is a bit too Lou & Andy for me.

Wow fair play to ye!

Yes €2+
    mikemac wrote: »
    Well they are doing it wrong!
    You tip the apprentice, not the hairdresser.

And if someone can afford €100 for a haircut well you can afford €2 for the apprentice

ugh...I hate this argument of if you can afford such and such then you must be able to afford a tip. No- people work off budgets, they generally don't have an endless supply of money to be dishing out to whoever washed their hair,drove their pizza 2 mins down the road or handed them a cup of coffee. This attitude that if people have paid a certain amount of money for something then they should be willing to pay even more money for it doesn't fly with me at all. Anger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,624 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

I just started doing deliveries around 2 months ago and was amazed at the amount of people who dont tip because I always did!

Now I get paid 5 euro an hour and the delivery charge on each delivery which is 2 euro and Ive never done more than 8 deliveries in a night,

So I get about 30-36 euro for the night, which is 5 hours work. Below minimum wage.

I would be delighted to get a euro tip! Scabby feckers who dont tip, and im not just saying that as a drive because I always did it! And the worst is that I have to call half the fukkers on my own mobile so I can get into their **** apartments etc!

Not that im bitter or anything...

NoQuarter wrote: »
    Scabby feckers who dont tip, and im not just saying that as a drive because I always did it! And the worst is that I have to call half the fukkers on my own mobile so I can get into their **** apartments etc!

Not that im bitter or anything...
    In our defence, all of our pay has come down and the price of a take away hasn't.