Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Starting again

• Registered Users Posts: 12,851 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

5.1 miles easy on the seafront in clontarf today. Some rain but still nice out there.

Time 44:35, pace 8:44

Running Distance Table
    Month|2012|No. of Runs|2013|No. of Runs
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91.25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|127.78|17
    May|91.80|15
    Jun|96.80|13
    Jul |78.61|11
    Aug|171.00|20
    Sep|172.50|15
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|531.38|76

Took a few days off as calf was sore. Did 9 miles this morning in 75:30 and pace was 8:25. Nice and comfortable run.

Think my next race will be dunboyne 5 miler at end of may.
    Hopefully break the 35 for first time. Been a target for years so should get it.

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91.25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|136.78|18
    May|91.80|15
    Jun|96.80|13
    Jul |78.61|11
    Aug|171.00|20
    Sep|172.50|15
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|540.38|77

12 miles easy to work this morning. Nice run this morning, enjoy it loads listening to marathon talk.

Time 1:39:35, Pace 8:18, Distance 12 miles.

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91.25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|148.78|19
    May|91.80|15
    Jun|96.80|13
    Jul |78.61|11
    Aug|171.00|20
    Sep|172.50|15
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|552.38|78

Club session last night.

2 miles warm and the usual stretching and sprints.

Tonight was pyramid training, the setup was:

60 secs on, 30 secs recovery
    90 secs on, 45 secs recovery
    2 mins on, 1 min recovery
    90 secs on, 45 secs recovery
    60 secs on, 30 secs recovery

3 min recovery and then do another set.

This session was ran on grass in the park. Tough session and i hate these sessions, but the gains from them later on are great.

A total of 2.2 miles for the pyramid, .8 mile warm down

Total mileage 5 .

Monthly Review

Highest mileage this month for the year, did k-club 10k race and hammered my Pb. So a great month really. One more normal month before New York Marathon training starts.

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91.25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15
    Jun|96.80|13
    Jul |78.61|11
    Aug|171.00|20
    Sep|172.50|15
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|557.38|79

• Registered Users Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Fair play AR, you are in a good position in advance of the NYC training cycle.
    You'll love the event - best fun marathon I've done yet by far!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭ncmc

Just been having a read through your log Average Runner, specifically your 2011 and 2012 DCM reports. What an awful time that was for you in 2011, my sympathies to you on the loss of your mother. I can imagine she was very much in your thoughts in DCM 2012.

Maybe I missed it in your log, but how did you apply for the New York Marathon?

ncmc wrote: »
    Just been having a read through your log Average Runner, specifically your 2011 and 2012 DCM reports. What an awful time that was for you in 2011, my sympathies to you on the loss of your mother. I can imagine she was very much in your thoughts in DCM 2012.

Maybe I missed it in your log, but how did you apply for the New York Marathon?

Thanks for that. 2012 marathon was more just proving i could do it again before i headed to New York, crossing the finish line was tough as brought it all back.

As for New York, i had applied thru the lottery 3 years in a row and got in automatically on my 4th attempt. This rule is gone after next year.

I am traveling with this crowd http://www.sportstravelinternational.com/STI/Home.html

They organize everything as i don't have time to do it all:)

They also have guarantee entry spots, so that's another way. They just took 400 off my price as i had an entry.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭ncmc

Thanks for that. 2012 marathon was more just proving i could do it again before i headed to New York, crossing the finish line was tough as brought it all back.

As for New York, i had applied thru the lottery 3 years in a row and got in automatically on my 4th attempt. This rule is gone after next year.

I am traveling with this crowd http://www.sportstravelinternational.com/STI/Home.html

They organize everything as i don't have time to do it all:)

They also have guarantee entry spots, so that's another way. They just took 400 off my price as i had an entry.
    Just priced that crowd for the craic...:eek: bit rich for my blood! Will have to make do with Cork and Dublin for the moment!

ncmc wrote: »
    Just priced that crowd for the craic...:eek: bit rich for my blood! Will have to make do with Cork and Dublin for the moment!

Yeah its expensive and a once off for us. I do the running and the wife will do the shopping. Nice deal reached.

6 miles easy today at lunch time on Clontarf sea front. Nice out today even if it did rain a bit. Pace 8:30, time 51 mins, 6 miles
    Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91.25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|6.0|1
    Jun|96.80|13
    Jul |78.61|11
    Aug|171.00|20
    Sep|172.50|15
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|563.38|80

Club tempo session tonight. 40 mins was the length.
    Did 1 mile warm up.
    Tempo was 5.71 miles @ 6:59 pace.
    Warm down was .40 miles.

Total miles 7.

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91.25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|13.0|2
    Jun|96.80|13
    Jul |78.61|11
    Aug|171.00|20
    Sep|172.50|15
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|570.38|81

9.83 miles this morning. Was meant to be 10 but started to.rain.
    Pace 8:27 time 83:10

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91.25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|22.83|3
    Jun|96.80|13
    Jul |78.61|11
    Aug|171.00|20
    Sep|172.50|15
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|580.21|82

Pyramid session tonight in the park. Really find these tough.
    Session was 60 secs on 30 sec recovery
    90 sec on 45 sec recovery
    120 sec on 60 sec recovery.
    90 sec on 45 sec recovery
    60 sec and 2 min recovery.

And then all again.

1.8 mile warm up and 1 mile cool down.
    Total 5 miles

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91.25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|28.83|4
    Jun|96.80|13
    Jul |78.61|11
    Aug|171.00|20
    Sep|172.50|15
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|585.21|83

• Registered Users Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭outforarun

Think my next race will be dunboyne 5 miler at end of may. Hopefully break the 35 for first time. Been a target for years so should get it.

After your recent 10K PB a sub 35 for 5 miles should be no bother at all.

Hadnt run since last Tuesday as was down home as Dad took ill. Starting to improve now so got a run in last night.

Easy 7 miles @ 8:12 pace in 57:30.

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91.25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|35.83|5
    Jun|96.80|13
    Jul |78.61|11
    Aug|171.00|20
    Sep|172.50|15
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|592.21|84

Club session last night. 2 miles warm up and then onto a new pyramid session.

1min on, 45 sec rest, 2 min on, 60 sec rest, 3 min on, 90 sec rest, 4 min on, 2 min rest, 3 min on, 90 sec rest, 2 min on, 60 sec rest, 1 min on.

2.65 miles for the session.

1 mile warm down.

5.65 miles in total.

Might do bob hefferean on Tuesday, a 5k race.

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91.25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|41.48|6
    Jun|96.80|13
    Jul |78.61|11
    Aug|171.00|20
    Sep|172.50|15
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|597.86|85

5.10 miles recovery today. A few niggles and muscle pains so get foam roller out tonight.

Pace 9:10, time 46:30, distance 5.10

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91.25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|46.58|7
    Jun|96.80|13
    Jul |78.61|11
    Aug|171.00|20
    Sep|172.50|15
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|602.96|86

Real crap run this morning. Meant to do 10 miles but bailed at 8.5.
    Pace was 8:44 and hr was average 145. But felt crap. Think the last two weeks
    Of travelling and worry has taken toll.

All ok now so hopefully body will jump back to where it was two weeks ago.

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91.25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|55.08|8
    Jun|96.80|13
    Jul |78.61|11
    Aug|171.00|20
    Sep|172.50|15
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|611.46|87

Things settling down now so went for run with the club.
    7.6 miles in total with 20mins tempo pace of 7:05.

Hope to do dunboyne on Tuesday, stretch the legs out.

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91.25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|62.68|9
    Jun|96.80|13
    Jul |78.61|11
    Aug|171.00|20
    Sep|172.50|15
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|618.06|88

Failed to get out over the weekend due to the little one not well and very little sleep. The running gods are against me this month!!!

Got out for 6 miles @ 7:56 pace today in 47:41.
    Hoping to do Dunboyne tomorrow night but depends on how little one is.

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91.25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|68.68|10
    Jun|96.80|13
    Jul |78.61|11
    Aug|171.00|20
    Sep|172.50|15
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|634.06|89

Dunboyne 5 mile Race Report
    Was a bit cautious going into this as had done only a few runs in last few weeks and mileage total for the month was half compare to other months. Would of took a sub 35 time as its something i always wanted.

Mile 1 : was eventual, quiet tight on the country road and a person fell ahead of me into ditches and nettles, hope he was ok.

Mile 2 : was tough, pace dropped and the group ahead of me had pulled away and i was left in a group of three.

Mile 3 : I was talking to 2 of the runners around me and they didn't have any time targets, so i decided i better make my move and kicked on. I pulled away from the other 2.

Mile 4: I noticed the group ahead were getting closer and for once i decided i should aim to catch the group instead of running with myself. I caught the group and went by them. At the end of the mile i was suffering.

Mile 5: First bit of the mile of i struggled but then i saw another group ahead and i pushed on. With 1/2 mile to go i found my second wind and race hard home, closing on group and passing them out.

Crossed finished line in 33:22, a new pb, my old pb was 35:30.

A great race by Dunboyne yet again.

My times are coming down a good bit this year so far, think i am in shape for a sub 3:30 shot in New York.

Think some of the reason for the time drops is my weight has gone from 88kg to 79kg and hopefully for New York will drop to 73kg.

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91.25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|74.68|11
    Jun|96.80|13
    Jul |78.61|11
    Aug|171.00|20
    Sep|172.50|15
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|640.06|90

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Wow - a two minute PB - you must be thrilled with that. Well done - great stuff :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Continue to put the miles in in training and try to manage the congestion well in NYC and you should make the 3:30 for sure!

4 mile recovery today, @ 9 min pace and time 36 mins.

Lovely day out there but warm :)

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91.25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|78.68|12
    Jun|96.80|13
    Jul |78.61|11
    Aug|171.00|20
    Sep|172.50|15
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|644.06|91

Plan was 12 miles home after work with a good few hills.
    Legs were tired starting off and after 8 miles at liffey valley I call it a day.
    Between the heat and dying for ginger bread man I was done.
    Still feeling a bit crap.
    Pace 8:40.

Thats may over and while a few less runs, I stilk managed a 5
    Mile pb.

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91.25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|86.68|13
    Jun|96.80|13
    Jul |78.61|11
    Aug|171.00|20
    Sep|172.50|15
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|652.06|92

• Registered Users Posts: 570 ✭✭✭slowsteady

Thats may over and while a few less runs, I stilk managed a 5
    Mile pb.

Sometimes less is more, great to get a PB bonus while main goal is elsewhere - you must be doing something right:)

Early ten mile this morning. Kept pace at a nice pace around 8:38.
    The last mile I picked up to a 7:45 mile.
    Nice run and a nice morning.

Overall time was 1:25:32 and pace 8:32.

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91.25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|86.68|13
    Jun|96.80|13|10.00|1
    Jul |78.61|11
    Aug|171.00|20
    Sep|172.50|15
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|662.06|93

Was ment to do 12 miles today but ended up having a bbq and beer with other half while kids slept last night. We then had a sleep in as kids didn't wait till 730.

As time was short as heading off with the kids I did just 6 miles at 8:48 pace.
    Nice morning out there.

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91.25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|86.68|13
    Jun|96.80|13|16.00|2
    Jul |78.61|11
    Aug|171.00|20
    Sep|172.50|15
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|668.06|94

Club session last night, pyramid training again with 1 min, 2 min, 3 min, 4min, 3min, 2min and 1 mins and rest in between. Really struggled on the way back down and pace was slower than my racing pace in Dunboyne!!

In total with warm up and down, it was 5 miles.

Going to do the docklands 10k in June, my last small race before marathon training starts on 1st July.

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91.25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|86.68|13
    Jun|96.80|13|21.00|3
    Jul |78.61|11
    Aug|171.00|20
    Sep|172.50|15
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|673.06|95

5 mile recovery on the Clontarf sea front. Amazing out there today, very warm. Pace was 9 mins and time was 45:35.

Total miles 5.10

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91.25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|86.68|13
    Jun|96.80|13|26.10|4
    Jul |78.61|11
    Aug|171.00|20
    Sep|172.50|15