Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Starting again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

Looks like I am the same. I have done alot of miles in last 6 weeks. Was in right form in april/may, in May i was very fresh from little running.

Do you think i should do anything between now and sat or just 2 5 mile recovery runs?

I would do your session on Tuesday night but maybe not a full on session depending on what it is. Take Wed & Thurs off and do maybe 20/25 mins with a few strides on Friday and you should be fresh for Saturday then.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,851 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

31st session of New York Program: 10 mile race

Picked up a knee injury after last week long run so took the week off and ran the Frank Duffy 10 miler

Wasn't sure how this would go, but gave it a shot. First few miles i kicked off too fast and when i hit Chesterfield Avenue I wasn't gaining anytime. So it was time to just keep steady. Pace was around 7:12 at this stage. Military hill came and went, didn't bother me too much, slow a little bit but that was normal. The Upper glen was grand this year. I left it a bit late to kick on the final stretch, but got a time of 73:16. A new pb by almost 3 mins. Happy enough with this time.

It was a race where time flew by, really enjoyed it.

Back to hard training now and some speed 1k sessions on the plan also for next 10 weeks.

Total Mileage 11 miles (1 mile warm up) Time 73:17 Pace 7:18

Running Distance Table
    Month|2012|No. of Runs|2013|No. of Runs
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91. 25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|86.68|13
    Jun|96.80|13|59.20|8
    Jul |78.61|11|193.20|22
    Aug|171.00|20|107.20|10
    Sep|172.50|15
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|1012.46|131

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Well done on PB. 3mins is a fair whack to be taking off :)

32nd session of New York Program: 7 miles mp

Plan was 7 miles @ mp on heavy legs. Run went well.

kept pace around 7:57. Time 55:47 secs

Off to the pub for the match now!!

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91. 25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|86.68|13
    Jun|96.80|13|59.20|8
    Jul |78.61|11|193.20|22
    Aug|171.00|20|114.20|11
    Sep|172.50|15
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|1019.46|132

33rd session of New York Program: 12 miles medium

12 miles to work this morning. Out the door by 6:55 am. Left watch in work so ran this on feel but at easy pace. Cant really say the time but i pace it to the Ian Dempsey breakfast show, so it looks like around 1:42 or so.

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91. 25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|86.68|13
    Jun|96.80|13|59.20|8
    Jul |78.61|11|193.20|22
    Aug|171.00|20|126.20|12
    Sep|172.50|15
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|1031.46|133

34/35th session of New York Program:

Recovery Run Friday

Just a 4 mile recovery run at 6am as was only time i could fit it in.
    Pace 9:30.

Sat LSR 20 Miles
    This was my second 20 miler, suffering from a head cold i had doubt about this. First 5 miles pace was 9:11 or worst but then everything clicked. Pace averaged @ 8:56 even on the hills at the end. Great session and best 20 miler in years on my own. Two 20 milers left now, one on my own and one in Athlone.

Time 2:58, Pace 8:56

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91. 25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|86.68|13
    Jun|96.80|13|59.20|8
    Jul |78.61|11|193.20|22
    Aug|171.00|20|150.20|14
    Sep|172.50|15
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|1055.46|135

• Registered Users Posts: 570 ✭✭✭slowsteady

Great session and best 20 miler in years on my own.
    Nothing like good LSRs for boosting the confidence. You are building up nicely.

36th session of New York Program: Jack Daniels Tempo

9 weeks to go so starting to throw in some Jack Daniels speed work.

Session tonight was :
    2 miles easy
    20 mins tempo
    10 mins easy
    20 mins tempo
    2 miles easy.

This session went well, the tempo for first 20 mins was 7:23 and for the second tempo 7:20.

Total of 10.5 miles covered. Delighted with this session.

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91. 25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|86.68|13
    Jun|96.80|13|59.20|8
    Jul |78.61|11|193.20|22
    Aug|171.00|20|150.20|14
    Sep|172.50|15|10.5|1
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|1065.96|136

That's a great session AR- you must be feeling confident about NY.

Tom Joad wrote: »
    That's a great session AR- you must be feeling confident about NY.

Starting to feel a bit better but i know from here in, i need to add speed in the build up to it as first 9 weeks were more stamina.

I am going over with the attitude to just enjoy it and not worry about times. It will be an experience and I say my last marathon for a long time.

37th session of New York Program: Recovery Run

5.10 mile recovery today. Only a few runs left in Clontarf before I move jobs, so nice to get a nice day out there today.

5.1 miles Pace 8:55 Time 45:50

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91. 25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|86.68|13
    Jun|96.80|13|59.20|8
    Jul |78.61|11|193.20|22
    Aug|171.00|20|150.20|14
    Sep|172.50|15|15.6|2
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|1071.06|137

38th session of New York Program: 5 x 1000m with 2 min recovery

This was a good idea when i thought about it last week. Come today after having a few beers last night with work, it didn't look like such a good idea.

Did 1 km warm up to fairview park. Will miss this park, got to find somewhere new in the city centre soon.

So i managed the 5 x 1000 which was a shock.
    Times:
    1) 3:57
    2)3:57
    3)3:56
    4)3:59
    5)3:58

Delighted to keep them all under 4 and very warm out. Dehydrated now so plenty of water needed.

Total mileage 4 miles

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91. 25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|86.68|13
    Jun|96.80|13|59.20|8
    Jul |78.61|11|193.20|22
    Aug|171.00|20|150.20|14
    Sep|172.50|15|19.6|3
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|1075.06|138

39th session of New York Program: LSR 14 miles
    Program called for a LSR of 14 miles on Friday. Thought this was a bit short so decided to run the hilly run home. During the run i went looking for more hills. A grand run that went without any issues.

Pace 8:50, 14 Miles 2:03 time

40th session of New York Program: Medium Run

My last 12 mile run to work as new job next week. Went without any issues, very comfortable all the way.

Pace 8:41, Distance 12 miles, time 1:43

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91. 25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|86.68|13
    Jun|96.80|13|59.20|8
    Jul |78.61|11|193.20|22
    Aug|171.00|20|150.20|14
    Sep|172.50|15|45.6|5
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|1101.06|140

41st session of New York Program: Club speed session

1 mile warm up to the club and then another 3-4 laps of the track.

Club session was 14x200m with 50m walk and 150m recovery.
    After 7 of these we ran the the opposite way on the track.

Kept them all pretty consistent, mainly between 39:40-39:90 secs, some might of went into 38 secs.

Felt strong throughout, session was never in doubt. While I have lost some speed over the first 9 weeks of the marathon training, I feel these speed sessions of high leg turnover will bring the speed back quickly.

1 mile run home

Total 6 miles or a bit more

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91. 25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|86.68|13
    Jun|96.80|13|59.20|8
    Jul |78.61|11|193.20|22
    Aug|171.00|20|150.20|14
    Sep|172.50|15|51.6|6
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|1107.06|141

Another good session :)

42nd session of New York Program: Easy/recovery run

Was more of a recovery run in the end, 7 miles @9:18 pace in 1:05.

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91. 25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|86.68|13
    Jun|96.80|13|59.20|8
    Jul |78.61|11|193.20|22
    Aug|171.00|20|150.20|14
    Sep|172.50|15|58.6|7
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|1114.06|142

43rd session of New York Program: LSR with 10 miles MP

Find MP runs alot easier in the evening than early mornings and went running with one of my club mates last night. We did 4 miles easy and then started the 10 miles MP. It lashed rain for this and the wind was bad in place, a few nice hills also. The pace average was 8:06 for the 10 miles. 2 miles warm down home then.

A good session and happy in how it went.

16 miles, 10 miles mp 8:06

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91. 25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|86.68|13
    Jun|96.80|13|59.20|8
    Jul |78.61|11|193.20|22
    Aug|171.00|20|150.20|14
    Sep|172.50|15|74.6|8
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|1130.06|143

44th session of New York Program: Medium Run with Tempo

Feeling a bit run down over last few days, throat sore and chesty cough. Headed out last night to do 2 x (3 miles easy, 3 mile tempo).

After 2 miles easy decided to cut session short, so did 2 miles easy, 3 mile tempo, 1/2 mile easy, 3 miles tempo, 1/2 mile easy.

Tempo's were at 7:41 and 7:31, a bit low but expected in how i felt.

Total miles 9

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91. 25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|86.68|13
    Jun|96.80|13|59.20|8
    Jul |78.61|11|193.20|22
    Aug|171.00|20|150.20|14
    Sep|172.50|15|83.6|9
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|1139.06|144

45th session of New York Program: General Run

Cough and sore throat almost gone, just now a general cold and sore stomach when i cough!!

Did a 8 mile general run last night, still pretty cold out but nice to be out.

Pace was 8:42 and time was 1:09

Club speed session tonight or if not i do track session myself.

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91. 25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|86.68|13
    Jun|96.80|13|59.20|8
    Jul |78.61|11|193.20|22
    Aug|171.00|20|150.20|14
    Sep|172.50|15|91.6|10
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|1147.06|145

46th session of New York Program: Speed Session

Still not a 100% but getting there. Last night plan was 8X1000m with 1 min rest. Aim was to run these at tempo pace ie around 7 min mile pace. Quiet a bad night weather wise on the track and was doing this session on my own.

1 mile warm up.
    Managed to keep all the 1k's below the 7:00 min pace, dont have exact times but were pretty consistent around 4:15 mark on average.

1 mile warm down then.

Total miles 7.

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91. 25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|86.68|13
    Jun|96.80|13|59.20|8
    Jul |78.61|11|193.20|22
    Aug|171.00|20|150.20|14
    Sep|172.50|15|98.6|11
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|1147.06|145

47th session of New York Program: Lsr

20 miles today. Got out at 7:00am so missed the heat. Pace was good and finished with average 8:52 in time of 2:57:xx.

Happy with this run.
    Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91. 25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|86.68|13
    Jun|96.80|13|59.20|8
    Jul |78.61|11|193.20|22
    Aug|171.00|20|150.20|14
    Sep|172.50|15|118.6|12
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|1167.06|146

48th session of New York Program: Medium Run

11.56 miles to the new office today. To make the distance close to 12 miles had to do a loop around Lucan first.

Found today tough, body wasn't in the mood, probably due to two nights of bad sleep and head lite headed now.

Pace 8:59, distance 11:56 and time 1:44

Happy with this run.
    Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91. 25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|86.68|13
    Jun|96.80|13|59.20|8
    Jul |78.61|11|193.20|22
    Aug|171.00|20|150.20|14
    Sep|172.50|15|130.16|13
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|1178.62|147

49th session of New York Program: Tempo Run
    2 mile warm up to start with, then some drills etc with the club.

Plan was a 40 min tempo, 20 mins out and 20 mins back.

Started off way too fast in this, was with the lads doing 6:35-6:45 pace for first 2 miles. Faded then and pace dropped to 7:06 before the turn around.

Pace continue to drop to 7:10 and that's where it stayed for most the way back. Was a bit stupid going off with the faster guys especially after 20 miles on sat and 12 yesterday. Happy with the way i stablised the time and know it would of been faster if i started correctly. Covered 5.6 miles in distance for the tempo.

I am living in a house of sick people, hopefully i continue to escape the worst and I do think its down to exercise, as to why i am escaping the worst of it.

.4 mile warm down.

Total distance 8 miles

Just beat last years mileage too :D

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91. 25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|86.68|13
    Jun|96.80|13|59.20|8
    Jul |78.61|11|193.20|22
    Aug|171.00|20|150.20|14
    Sep|172.50|15|138.16|14
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|1186.62|148

50th session of New York Program: Fartlek

Missed Wednesday Recovery run as calf was sore when i walked, was a bit worried about this as had it before. On Thursday there was no sign of it, so i did the club session.

2 miles warm up.

We did a Farklet over 5 miles, where people would randomly call the time to run for. This was a good session and felt strong. Hard to put time down for it as recovery etc in it.

1 mile warm down.

8 miles in total.

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91. 25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|86.68|13
    Jun|96.80|13|59.20|8
    Jul |78.61|11|193.20|22
    Aug|171.00|20|150.20|14
    Sep|172.50|15|146.16|15
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|1192.62|149

51st/52nd session of New York Program

Sat LSR 15 miles
    A bad run was due and this was it wit style. Plan was 15 miles and at Mile 12 I'd crashed and burned. It was an easy pace but body was gone. Did 13.3 miles in 2 hrs.
    When I got home i slept for an hour or so and felt crap all day

Monday 11.6 miles Medium Run
    After Sat this was a worry, kept it handy enough and pace was 8:59. Picked it up near the end. Time 1:45 for 11.6 miles.

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91. 25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|86.68|13
    Jun|96.80|13|59.20|8
    Jul |78.61|11|193.20|22
    Aug|171.00|20|150.20|14
    Sep|172.50|15|171.06|17
    Oct|128.4|13
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|1222.22|151

53rd session of New York Program -- Club Night

3.20 miles warm up.
    Plan was 6x3 mins on and 2 mins recovery. Intended not to go all out in this session but keep it under control as New York a month away now.

Did the 6x3 mins @ 6:30 pace and covered .45 miles for each one.
    Recovery of 5x2 mins was around .15 mile or so.
    Felt strong throughout the session and under control.

2.5 mile recovery.

Total distance 9 miles

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91. 25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|86.68|13
    Jun|96.80|13|59.20|8
    Jul |78.61|11|193.20|22
    Aug|171.00|20|150.20|14
    Sep|172.50|15|171.06|17
    Oct|128.4|13|9.00|1
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|1231.22|152

54th session of New York Program -- Recovery Run

5 miles recovery run. Pace 9:27 and time was 47:25

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91. 25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|86.68|13
    Jun|96.80|13|59.20|8
    Jul |78.61|11|193.20|22
    Aug|171.00|20|150.20|14
    Sep|172.50|15|171.06|17
    Oct|128.4|13|14.00|2
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|1236.22|153

55th session of New York Program -- Club Tempo

Didnt want to go all out tonight for the tempo, with the 20 miler on Sunday in Athlone.
    Was late getting to the club, so missed the mens group, so went running with the ladies instead, good to catch up with them.

40 min tempo run was the plan, kept it well under control, 7:52 pace out for the first 20 mins and 7:45 pace back for the second 20 mins.

1 mile warm up and 1 mile warm down.

A nice session where I didnt push too much but did get the legs moving though.

Total mileage 6 miles.

Not sure on the plan for Sunday yet, either 5 miles easy and 15 mp or just run with the pacers, will see what conditions are like on the day.

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91. 25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|86.68|13
    Jun|96.80|13|59.20|8
    Jul |78.61|11|193.20|22
    Aug|171.00|20|150.20|14
    Sep|172.50|15|171.06|17
    Oct|128.4|13|20.00|3
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|1242.22|154

56th session of New York Program -- Athlone 3/4 marathon Race
    Little one is teething so got about 3 hours sleep Sat night. But felt good so said I do the run. Collected a club mate and off we went. We were given instructions by the coach at the club how to run this and we had other plans also, none of them did we follow:D

At the start we said we follow the 3:30 pacers for a while, but when we caught up at mile 2 with them, it was over crowded, so we moved on. Before we knew it we were running average 8:13 for the first quarter, felt very comfortable so kept moving on.

We kept going at the second quarter and pace dropped to under 8:10. my club mate pushed on from mile 13. I was grand on my own keeping the same level of intensity going. At the 2/4 my average pace was 8:01. Still felt very comfortable.

Got to 15 miles in 2 hours and felt good. I knew the big hills were coming and I wasn't planning on attacking them as it wasn't a race. So I kept the same level of effort as before on these hills, naturally average pace would drop and it did to 8:06.

After the hills the downhill section was sore on the legs, told the marshal to get rid of the downhill part:D, he looked at me oddly. The run in was grand, people cheering on the side of the road and I was having good banter with them. Think they thought I had lost it after running 19 miles in the rain and still laughing all the way. Finishing time 2:39:11, average pace 8:05.

A great day out must be said, body feels good today, calf a bit sore but thats because i used my flats in the race. Had did the Eco 20 miles last year in 2:48, so a nice improvement.

Plan for the week is two easy runs, a speed session on Thursday and Medium run on Sat.

A shot at 3:35 seems possible in New York if all goes to plan, but i want to run it like i did yesterday, where I enjoyed the day, talking to other runners and having fun with the people cheering.

Well done Athlone on this race.

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91. 25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|86.68|13
    Jun|96.80|13|59.20|8
    Jul |78.61|11|193.20|22
    Aug|171.00|20|150.20|14
    Sep|172.50|15|171.06|17
    Oct|128.4|13|40.00|4
    Nov|31.35|7
    Dec|27.60|6
    Total |1182.93|155|1262.22|155

57th session of New York Program -- Easy Run

Last nights plan was just a easy 7 mile run. Run was grand, no side effects from Sundays run. Pace 9:13 and time was 1:04:xx

Running Distance Table
    Jan|122.35|20|133.3|22
    Feb|95.08|15|146.70|21
    Mar|91. 25|15|122.5|16
    Apr|71.46|13|153.78|20
    May|91.80|15|86.68|13
    Jun|96.80|13|59.20|8
    Jul |78.61|11|193.20|22
    Aug|171.00|20|150.20|14
    Sep|172.50|15|171.06|17
    Oct|128.4|13|47.00|5