Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2011 Under 21 Hurling championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Dodgykeeper

Some pics from the game are here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Just watched the match there and was very disappointed in Wexford's performance. Way too much sloppy passes, bad touches and then poor decision making when it came to shooting.

Fair play to Dublin though, most wins away from home are most welcome and put on a very professional performance. Seemed to be much better coached and had plans in place for the game. Liam Rushe once again was immense and has a great future ahead of him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

Dublin's defence was incredible. And it was great to say Liam Rushe speaking in Irish afterwards, and very capably too I must say.

The Tipperary under 21 hurling team to play Cork in the Munster semi-final at Semple Stadium on Friday night, July 17 shows 2 changes from the team which started against Waterford in the quarter final. Sean O’Brien and Kieran Morris come into the team in place of Stephen Maher and Joe Gallagher.

The team is:

1. Paul Ryan (Upperchurch Drombane) 2. Ciarán Hough (Lorrha and Dorrha) 3. Kevin O’Gorman (Thurles Sarsfields) 4. Sean O’Brien (Newport) 5. Brian Stapleton (Templederry Kenyons) 6. Padraig Heffernan (Clonoulty Rossmore) 7. James Barry (Upperchurch Drombane) 8. Noel McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney) Captain 9. Adrian Ryan (Templederry Kenyons) 10. Sean Curran (Mullinahone) 11. Paddy Murphy (Nenagh Éire Óg) 12. Brian O’Meara (Kilruane MacDonaghs) 13. Kieran Morris (Moycarkey Borris) 14. John O’Neill (Clonoulty Rossmore) 15. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

AndyP wrote: »
    Liam Rushe continues to impress me more and more. Also nice to hear his fluency in the native tongue, will come in handy when he lifts Liam in a few years!:D

Moving down the country is he? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Moving down the country is he? ;)
    Don't be greedy, ye have enough talent down there already ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

dcr22B wrote: »
    Don't be greedy, ye have enough talent down there already ;)

No no it was part of the exchange deal with Ryan O'Dwyer ;) In all seriousness though another great night for hurling in the capital, and Liam Rushe as I said on another thread has to be a genuine contender for YHOTY.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭hughes2558

Any thoughts on tonights game? Bookies have Tipp as favourites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Skyrim

As Diarmuid O'Sullivan put it this is an all-ireland for cork, i think they'll thro the kitchen sink at tipp but i think we should just about pull through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

Entertaining game. Cork made a great start. They were 1-7 to 0-1 ahead after ten minutes before Tipp knew what hit them. Tipp have come back well and even got ahead I think but Cork got a second goal and lead by a point at the break. Great match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Browney7 wrote: »
    Entertaining game. Cork made a great start. They were 1-7 to 0-1 ahead after ten minutes before Tipp knew what hit them. Tipp have come back well and even got ahead I think but Cork got a second goal and lead by a point at the break. Great match

9 points ahead after 10 minutes?? Wow.

Is it on tv?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭RodVelvet

It's on TG4.

Thanks. That was an awfull scrappy goal by Cork.

O'Meara reminds me of Begley, but his ball-playing skills seem to let him down sometimes.

Tipp full backline will be killed in training the next time if they win tonight. Leaving a man unmarked at the edge of the 6 yard box for that third goal.

Wadding has been very harsh on Cork at times. Has given a few puzzling frees to Tipp.

Cracking goal from Aidan Walsh but the Tipp defence is all over the place. They're just walking through.

If John O'Dwyer was a bit more experienced down the other end, he'd have scored a goal too.

But 2 excellent forward lines, some wonderful point-scoring. Both Tipp midfielders are brilliant aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,517 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Great game to watch so far.
    Some fantastic skill and scoring in the game.
    The cork wing forward (no. 12) has caught some amount of ball from puck-outs ....... Pity his shooting isn't that great sometimes.

That's Aidan Walsh. Was he on the senior panel this year, actually? His shooting is quite poor though.

But judging from the 2nd half, Cork definitely deserved to win. Egan was superb at centre-back, and Lehane, Coughlan and O'Farrell looked very dangerous all the time.

The Tipp defence was much too lose though while the Cork defence looked much better at closing down the Tipp forwards. And the Tipp forwards took the wrong option too many times.

Cork were very good though

Congrats to the cork lads, better team by far. Tipp backs are pretty shakey, what i'd give to have cahill and paudie maher back :P. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭pegasuspub

terrible ref,did his best to keep tip in the game,how many dubious frees,and the tip goal was a square goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Rebel1977

Aidan Walsh; Cork senior footballer. He has not done much hurling, great goal he got.

Tipp couldn't cope when cork dropped back a few extra men into defense which closed down the space and left truckloads of space in the tipp defense. Tipp couldn't ever really stay in the lead and if they looked like getting it cork would go up the field and get a goal.

Just back from the match. Very disappointed with the Tipp performance but many congratulations to Cork who were the better team by a country mile. The scoreline flattered us and we could have been really hammered out the gate tonight in all honesty. Our full back line and our goalie were at sea.

People suggested we have a conveyor belt coming through however you must remember that the bulk of the 06 and 07 minor teams consisted of Paidi, Noel, Brendan, Michael Cahill and Bonnar (add Callinan, Pa Bourke and Tommy Stapleton to those who won in 2006) who also then went on to win under 21s for us last year so its virtually the same personnel who have delivered at underage and senior for us. We haven't brought through any other 'team' if you like since unlike KK for example who have built their 4 in a row out of the success of their minors and under 21s the early to mid part of last decade.

We have to remember that Larry, Paul Curran, Eoin Kelly, Brendan Cummins, etc wont be around to encourage these young lads forever.
    We badly need to get a win at minor and/or under 21 level in the next few years. Before 2006 we hadnt won minor since 1996 and before 2010 we hadnt won u21 since 1995. Way too long. Tipp need guys with a winning habit before they make that step up

Browney7 wrote: »
    Tipp couldn't cope when cork dropped back a few extra men into defense which closed down the space and left truckloads of space in the tipp defense. Tipp couldn't ever really stay in the lead and if they looked like getting it cork would go up the field and get a goal.

Totally agree. It was boys vs men at times. It ironically almost reminded me of the way our senior team would drop our game a little bit before pulling away again. They could have picked us off any time they wanted.

None of those backs are in the mould of curran or cahill. Don't get too sad tipp gunner, the likes of Morris, Liam Mcgrath and O'Dwyer will make it and it's a long time since we've had an abundance of attacking talent and just remember the likes of the Mahers and Cahill are only 22 and Noel Mcgrath is 19, these lads have the best years ahead of them.

Skyrim wrote: »
    None of those backs are in the mould of curran or cahill. Don't get too sad tipp gunner, the likes of Morris, Liam Mcgrath and O'Dwyer will make it and it's a long time since we've had an abundance of attacking talent and just remember the likes of the Mahers and Cahill are only 22 and Noel Mcgrath is 19, these lads have the best years ahead of them.

True but we need competition for places too so therefore we need minors and under 21s coming through to keep these guys on their toes. Attacking wise we have loads of options but defensively we have no one to come up and challenge the likes of Saint, Curran, or Cahill for a place in the side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Gingy

Decent enough old game for a Friday night, thought Tipp would be have better though.

Good for Cork, as successful as they have been, to be winning at underage level. No Munster title at minor, u21 or senior since 2008, the decline of their senior team as a major force, and the rise of their footballers surely must be worrying for rebel small ball enthusiasts.

It's unusual that we have a lot of attacking options, it's usually the exact opposite really. I know what you mean about our lack of minor success since 07 but honestly i'd rather take a few titles at senior level. Cork,Clare,Limerick and Waterford are all thriving at underage, but we'll come again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

True but we need competition for places too so therefore we need minors and under 21s coming through to keep these guys on their toes. Attacking wise we have loads of options but defensively we have no one to come up and challenge the likes of Saint, Curran, or Cahill for a place in the side.

Yeah, but you can't have extremely strong teams at underage every year. I think your U-21 team last year was as good a team at that grade since KK's in 2004 and look at what they reaped out of it at senior for the next 5 years (and are still getting the benefit of most of it). This years team is obviously not going to replicate last years success, but your seniors could still end up with 4 or 5 players from the team, which at the end of the day, is ultimatly what the underage is there for.

from the game tonight, its a pity for Cork followers that Aidan Walsh has some much commitments with the senior footballers as he would be some addition to the hurlers 1/2 forward line, maybe as a long term replacement for Niall McCarthy?

When is the final scheduled for? And will it be live on TG4?

Kojak wrote: »
    Yeah, but you can't have extremely strong teams at underage every year. I think your U-21 team last year was as good a team at that grade since KK's in 2004 and look at what they reaped out of it at senior for the next 5 years (and are still getting the benefit of most of it). This years team is obviously not going to replicate last years success, but your seniors could still end up with 4 or 5 players from the team, which at the end of the day, is ultimatly what the underage is there for.

from the game tonight, its a pity for Cork followers that Aidan Walsh has some much commitments with the senior footballers as he would be some addition to the hurlers 1/2 forward line, maybe as a long term replacement for Niall McCarthy?

When is the final scheduled for? And will it be live on TG4?

Final is Aug 3rd. Best of luck to all the remaining teams in the all ireland series. Aidan Walsh is very a talented hurler. He drove the few wides last night but that will come with match practice.

Vincent Hogan said recently that Niall McCarthy would be our dream signing if there was a transfer market. With the greatest of respect to Niall McCarthy there is no denying the guy has achieved so much in the game but in all fairness when we are producing the likes of Noel McGrath, Callinan and Bonnar Maher its not as if we are lacking in that area.

EDIT: id imagine Munster final will be live on tg4. Limerick v Clare is scheduled for the Wednesday beforehand. Both have very good teams and either will give Cork a run if they can defend.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

The Clare semi final with Limerick has been put back till the 26th (Tuesday week) because Limerick's involvement in the senior. Cork will be travelling to either Limerick or Clare for the final on the 3rd.

Clareman wrote: »
    The Clare semi final with Limerick has been put back till the 26th (Tuesday week) because Limerick's involvement in the senior. Cork will be travelling to either Limerick or Clare for the final on the 3rd.

Just say for example that Limerick win both the semi-final in the U-21 and the Senior 1/4 final against the dubs, then would that mean that some players from Limerick could have 4 matches in the space of just over 2 weeks?

Donal O'Grady had a point when he mentioned player burnout/fatigue last week.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

The yearly problem of under-age/dual players, in 95 Loughnane went mad because Clare had a under 21 Munster final a week before the All Ireland semi final.

I know it's easy for me to say (internet warrior and all that), but I'd much prefer to have 2 games a week rather than 1 game and 3 training sessions

Thought Cork had a good shout. It's a very competitive championship this year and however comes out of Limerick v Clare will be tough, especially in their home ground. I think if Aidan Walsh is able to keep playing for them then they could win it out. It's important to remember they did win munster in 2008 and then lose to Galway in the All-Ireland semi final, and they will have to beat Galway in the semi final this time to win it, but given it will be Galways first game, and the toughnesss of the games in Munster, I think the mUnster champions will be in the final. I think Cork are a good bet for the all-ireland, though I'm sure they were much better yesterday in terms of odds.

It's amazing how quickly things could change, all the talk in Cork about no underage players coming through, but if they won the all-ireland I'm sure there'd be a few would get giddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Carthy303

Dont think we can get too carried away with last nights result.While it is no doubt a great win for Cork hurling,it was only a Munster Semi-Final.Clare/Limerick will be tough to beat and especially on their home patch.While it is a good Cork side,getting players to make the jump from u21 to senior can often prove too much.Alot of work to be done yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Carthy303

Fireball07 wrote: »
    That's Aidan Walsh. Was he on the senior panel this year, actually? His shooting is quite poor though.

But judging from the 2nd half, Cork definitely deserved to win. Egan was superb at centre-back, and Lehane, Coughlan and O'Farrell looked very dangerous all the time.

The Tipp defence was much too lose though while the Cork defence looked much better at closing down the Tipp forwards. And the Tipp forwards took the wrong option too many times.

Cork were very good though

Aidan Walsh decided at the start of the year that while he was still u21 he wouldnt be playing senior hurling for Cork.Obviously minding himself and you cant blame him really.

Limerick 2-19 Clare 1-15

Was the game on tv?

Nope but the final is next Wednesday.

Will be a terrific final too by all accounts

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,154 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Will be a terrific final too by all accounts

looking forward to it, where will it be on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    looking forward to it, where will it be on?

Wendesday week, Limerick.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,154 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Orizio wrote: »

Will have to try to go to that....not too far to travel;)

Yes Cork and Limerick id imagine have that home and away arrangement although i think every county does at under 21 level in Munster as we played Clare in that controversial game in Ennis 3 years ago. This will be a cracker of a game with great forward prowess on display

Was that in Ennis? Thought it was in Thurles.

Last year was Thurles but 08 was Ennis

Will it be live on TG4? I was expecting the Clare-Limerick match to be on the tele tonight, but obviously it wasn't.

Kojak wrote: »
    Will it be live on TG4? I was expecting the Clare-Limerick match to be on the tele tonight, but obviously it wasn't.
    The final is live on TG4 next wednesday.

Antrim beat Armagh 0-15 to 2-7 in the Ulster final tonight so they'll play Dublin in the All Ireland SF on Saturday 20th August, presumably in Newry!

What a game tonight!

The semis are as follows

Limerick v Galway
    Dublin v Antrim

With respect to Antrim i think Dublin will have enough for them though i wish both teams the best.
    Limerick will be buoyed by tonight's performance and i think will beat Galway but Galway for their part may have a point to prove after the manner in which their seniors exited the championship by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,857 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

The next genius to suggest scrapping the u-21 grade should be led away and put out to pasture. Year after year it serves up the most exciting games