Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The irish fcuking sun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Non-story. Just a facebook joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

FaceBook: More than 500 million active users

Boards.ie: Members: 449,527

Irish Sun CIRCULATION FIGURES: Jul - Dec 2010: 84277

He was an idiot to it on FB, OP didn't help him by posting it on here. The Irish Sun has done the least damage of all. The Irish Sun is not going to miss an opportunity to print a pic of Georgia Salpia as that is what their readers want; they don't actually read the articles!

Are you for real?

I posted it up here because 80% of the people on this forum know the guy in question. It's not as if it appeared on the back of a watchtower magazine...it was a full page in a daily newspaper. It was going to get out one way or another. What I did, was make sure that the tone of the thread was set from the very beginning: The sun is trash.

Facebook figures mean nothing to us in Ireland. The majority of which are based in America. That 84277 figure means a hell of a lot more in the context of this story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭SUNGOD

This make me laugh, this music fest is not being backed by Mr Kelly’s money, he is helping out with the promoting, why in god's name would the sun would want to print this S***T I don’t know, a lesson to us all be careful what you say on facbook

why did my post make you laugh?
    i never said it was neils money , but by promoteing these events he is the public face of these events and therefore helping to bring money into the local economy.

not sure what your point is
    but reprinting a facebook comment is gutter press in my opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,191 ✭✭✭kensutz

It shows you how sad and pathetic that newspapers have to resort to trawling through websites to look for news/scandal to report on. It's the laziest form of journalism and a total joke.

kensutz wrote: »
    It shows you how sad and pathetic that newspapers have to resort to trawling through websites to look for news/scandal to report on. It's the laziest form of journalism and a total joke.

Exactly.

I studied Journalism in college, worked for a few newspapers for a while, but ultimately I knew that it wasn't for me. There were a couple of reasons for that. One...I knew if I interviewed someone I'd be too weak on them...and if I interviewed a celeb that I liked I'd probably be starstruck and give the worst interview of all time (it doesn't stop most journalists mind you). And two...I think I'm too lazy to go out and find the real stories. That also doesn't stop most journalists today.

They trawl Twitter and Facebook searching for a sniff of scandal. They ask people to send in their stories...begging them for a bit of gossip, all because they don't know what it is to go out and cover a real news story.

It's one of the reasons that the news and star annoys me so much...it's littered with this kind of journalism and more often than not it's people like the users on this forum who are out there finding the real news.

I'd imagine a day in the life of one of these "journalists" is to eat a muffin at their computer checking the gossip sites for a story they can rob and rehash to use as their own....then maybe they'll check their twitter and facebook to see if any local celebs have made a faux pas that can be reprinted as "news". If they went out and interviewed people and found some real stories...some real controversies...they might get a bit more job fulfillment. Christ, this country is full of people being ripped off and traumatised in this "recession"...why don't do they go out and cover some of that?

I really think people only cared about celebrities when they were comfortable in their own shoes. Times have changed, and I think people genuinely don't give two ****s what celebs are up to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭montreal2011

Are you for real?

I posted it up here because 80% of the people on this forum know the guy in question. It's not as if it appeared on the back of a watchtower magazine...it was a full page in a daily newspaper. It was going to get out one way or another. What I did, was make sure that the tone of the thread was set from the very beginning: The sun is trash.

Facebook figures mean nothing to us in Ireland. The majority of which are based in America. That 84277 figure means a hell of a lot more in the context of this story.

Very real! This is the sort of crap that the Sun prints daily. Like I said, celeb / model, drugs, fb, that's exactly what the Sun calls news. I can see how it would annoy you when it's someone you know, but now it's on boards.ie forever while the Irish Sun is in the bin!

(First off this thread will disappear into the archives after a week or so)

However, you're suggesting that Neil has something to be ashamed about? If it was me on that page it wouldn't bother me one bit...I made a joke, some paper decided to make it news. I'd be delighted that they somehow think I'm newsworthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,931 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

I dont know Neil as much as i used to but this is disgraceful. He is as sound as they come and its a sad state of affairs when journalists are searching facebook for a story. Neil promotes events and i hope this does not affect him and his work. I for one will be buying the mirror or star in the future. Only for that Kieran O Connell and his ****e tips i would still be buying the star.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Anybody who takes this seriously has no sense of humour. Storm in a tea cup, but I guess it was a slow news day. Pure gutter journalism taking that seriously. There is no way they genuinely took it serious.

Good plug for the Music Fest tho, which is great for tourism in Waterford. So thanks lads!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭Elbows22

Sully wrote: »
    Anybody who takes this seriously has no sense of humour. Storm in a tea cup, but I guess it was a slow news day. Pure gutter journalism taking that seriously. There is no way they genuinely took it serious.

Good plug for the Music Fest tho, which is great for tourism in Waterford. So thanks lads!

Theres no such thing as bad publicity - Any publicity is good publicity!!! :)
    I guarantee the best sales for tickets to music fest was today :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭harney

They could have at least expanded the like button to give us a gander who liked it, that's just lazy journalism :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,712 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

gscully wrote: »
    Are they doing a deal on Rohypnol?

SICK WATERFORD MAN USING BOARDS.IE TO SOURCE EVIL DATE RAPE DRUGS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

This has to be the funniest thing I've read in a long time. The Sun shows yet again how it's not even fit for wiping your arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

seanybiker wrote: »
    Yeah that barry is a tit.

What a pathetic ****.
    The fact that he is employed to be a troll says it all about the sun.

ffs_2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

Taken from his latest tweet thing...

@BarryM85 Barry Moran
    @ShawnMichaels_ @RealKevinNash Were you laughing about Chyna's porno? I'd rather watch my grandparents at a swingers' party than that.

This just in - Barry Moran is a perv who would rather watch his "grandparents at a swingers party" than a porno.

F*cking incestuous pervert.

I sent a quick email to 3 star reporters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Feelgood

Jaysus the scariest part for me is that newspapers are scouring facebook looking for a story?.

Personnally I would take Georgia off page 9 and put her on page 3 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭Musicman2000

nummnutts wrote: »
    Taken from his latest tweet thing...

@BarryM85 Barry Moran
    @ShawnMichaels_ @RealKevinNash Were you laughing about Chyna's porno? I'd rather watch my grandparents at a swingers' party than that.

This just in - Barry Moran is a perv who would rather watch his "grandparents at a swingers party" than a porno.

F*cking incestuous pervert.

Someone should write a full page on this idiot, but on a serious note there has being a lot of people affected by date rape drugs, and anyone that tries that on a woman should have his balls cut off

(First off this thread will disappear into the archives after a week or so)

However, you're suggesting that Neil has something to be ashamed about? If it was me on that page it wouldn't bother me one bit...I made a joke, some paper decided to make it news. I'd be delighted that they somehow think I'm newsworthy.

(It is already archived; Google is quick!) I never suggested that Neil has something to be ashamed about. I suggested that it was not a wise choice to post that on FaceBook I then suggested that you have not helped him by posting about it on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

(It is already archived; Google is quick!) I never suggested that Neil has something to be ashamed about. I suggested that it was not a wise choice to post that on FaceBook I then suggested that you have not helped him by posting about it on here.
    There was absolutely nothing wrong with where he said it, it was clearly a joke. And there was nothing wrong with complaing about the article here.

I guess you are right. The Irish Sun are the idiots here. What is maybe worst of all is that it took two of them to come up with the article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

I'll say one thing, the facebook group made me LOL and not allot does off facebook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

ziedth wrote: »
    I'll say one thing, the facebook group made me LOL and not allot does off facebook.
    What is this group you mention

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

"The awkward moment when Neill Kelly offers you a drink....." :eek::eek::eek:

I assume his mates set it up otherwise I wouldn't mention it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭saintsaltynuts

Its those pictures of Georgia that sells these papers she's in them every single fukcin' day.Though The Scum sorry The Sun are the worst.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Typhoon.

what a rag !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Zombrex

You should all be ashamed, Georgina is not to be treated like some sort of sex obj..................... er, sorry, I got distracted by the full page picture of her in her underwear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Typhoon.

I think she's due to be in Harveys sat night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 BangTidy

Are they giving out free Rohypnol on the door?? :/