Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is wrong with donneralle?! Explain please!

• 08-06-2011 6:59pm
    Registered Users Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭

I am living in near by town, thinking of moving to donneralle, but I am getting annoyed by people constantly telling that it has horrible reputation, newer rent or buy house there!

I asked: is ut unsafe in town centre? Mugging? Fighting? Killing? Raping? Cats sleeping with dogs? Unicorns shooting pedestrians with sniper rifles?

Answer: oh nononono. Nothing like that, just bad reputation. Don't live there.

I am foreigner, 6 years in Ireland, I live and work near that town, but newer heard any horror stories from there in all 6 years, but everyone is like broken record...

So can you explain me please. Thank you!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

If you've asked for supporting facts and people aren't giving you any, why are you giving them credence? If you want to move to Doneraile, move to Doneraile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Was there myself for two hours this morning,looked a very clean, busy little village to me.Unless there's something more sinister that the eye cannot see, I was quite impressed with the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

I've been there a good few times over the years, never saw any problems with the place. Sometimes a few bad eggs can give a place a bad name. If you like it and want to move there then do, take no notice of what some people say. I've been in much rougher towns all over the country than Doneraile!

• Registered Users Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

thanks lads. i was just interregating all people at work today. :o

no one could tell me proper facts why there are problems. i talked to people who live in there and they said its normal little town. they reopening castle and few more things to attract more people in to town.

heard one fact from fella, which was just...dunno... you tell me:

Lord donneraille was an asshole and had keys from all houses in village, he was shaging any woman for 60 years, if woman did not agreed, he would kick her out of village. this led to massive imbrieding problem which reflects on people now. thats why donneraile people are bastords and weirdos. :rolleyes:

note: fella was very seriuos about it... i honestly just wanted to do "/facepalm".

some people say: it became very "old" town, alot of young people left it, as they go study to collages. boring town... in all fairness it is an advantage for me. i am boring myself and i like my privacy and calmness.

The town i live in a fella got stabed in chipper few months ago, but somehow its still better then donneraille... :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,498 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

There was an ancient tradition called "droit de seignuer" but am pretty sure it didn't happen in Doneraile recently!!
    http://www.snopes.com/weddings/customs/droit.asp

Maybe the bad name stems from the "Curse of Doneraile"

The Curse of Doneraile" written 1808, was occasioned by the poet's losing his watch in the town. When, afterwards, Lady Doneraile gave O'Kelly "a watch and seal" in lieu of the one he lost in Doneraile, he wrote the Palinode. CELTIC_BAR.GIF
    [SIZE=+1]The Curse of Doneraile.[/SIZE]
    Alas, how dismal is my tale, I lost my watch in Doneraile. My Dublin watch, my chain and seal, Pilfered at once in Doneraile
    May fire and brimstone never fail, To fall in showers on Doneraile.
    As lightening flashes across the vale, So down to hell with Doneraile
    The fate of Pompey at Pharsale, Be that the curse of Doneraile.
    May Beef or Mutton, Lamb or Veal, Be never found in Doneraile.
    But Garlic Soup and Scurvy Kale, Be still the food of Doneraile.
    May Heaven a chosen curse entail, On rigid rotten Doneraile.
    May Sun and Moon forever fail, To beam their lights on Doneraile
    May every pestilential gale, Blast that cursed spot called Doneraile.
    May not a Cuckoo, Thrush or Quail, Be ever heard in Doneraile.
    May Patriots, Kings and commonweal, Despise and harrass Doneraile.
    May every Post, Gazette and Mail, Sad tidings bring to Doneraile.
    May loudest thunders ring a Peal, To blind and deafen Doneraile.
    May vengeance fall at head and tail, From north to south at Doneraile.
    May profit light and tardy sale, Still damp the trade of Doneraile.
    May fame resound a dismal tale, Whenever she lights at Doneraile.
    May Egypt's plagues at once prevail, To thin the knaves of Doneraile.
    May frost and snow and sleet and hail, Benumb each joint in Doneraile.
    May wolves and bloodhounds trace and trail, The cursed crew of Doneraile.
    May Oscar with his fiery flail, To Atoms thresh all Doneraile.
    May every mischief fresh and stale, Abide henceforth in Doneraile.
    May all from Belfast to Kinsale, Scoff, Curse and Damn you, Doneraile.
    May neither flour nor oatenmeal, Be found or known in Doneraile.
    May want and woe each joy curtail, That ever was known in Doneraile.
    May no one coffin want a nail, That wraps a rogue in Doneraile.
    May all the thieves that rob and steal, The gallows meet in Doneraile.
    May all the sons of Granuaile, Blush at the thieves of Doneraile.
    May mischief big as Norway whale, Overwhelm the knaves of Doneraile.
    May curses wholesale and retail, Pour with full force on Doneraile.
    May every transport wont to sail, A convict bring from Doneraile.
    May every churn and milking pail, Fall dry to stones in Doneraile.
    May cold and hunger still congeal, The stagnant blood of Doneraile.
    May every hour new woes reveal, That Hell reserves for Doneraile.
    May every chosen ill prevail, Over all the imps of Doneraile.
    May no one wish or prayer avail, To soothe the woes of Doneraile.
    May the Inquisition straight impale, The Rapparees of Doneraile.
    May curse of Sodom now prevail, And sink to ashes Doneraile.
    May Charon's boat triumphant sail, Completely manned from Doneraile.
    Oh! may my couplets never fail, To find new curse in Doneraile,
    And may grim Pluto's inner jail, Forever groan with Doneraile.
    CELTIC_BAR.GIF

The Palinode or The Recantation
    (Most Humbly dedicated to Lady Doneraile)
    How vastly pleasing is my tale, I found my watch in Doneraile. My Dublin watch, my chain and seal, Were all restored at Doneraile.
    May fire and brimstone ever fail, To hurt or injure Doneraile.
    May neither friend nor foe assail, The generous town of Doneraile.
    May lightning never singe the vale, That leads to darling Doneraile.
    May Pompey's fate at old Pharsale, be still reversed at Doneraile.
    May beef and mutton, lamb and veal, Plenty create at Doneraile.
    May garlic soup or scurvy kale, No palate spoil in Doneraile.
    May neither frog nor creeping snail, Subtract the crops of Doneraile.
    May heaven each chosen bliss entail, On honest friendly Doneraile.
    May 'Sol' or 'Luna' never fail, To shine and blaze at Doneraile.
    May every soft ambrosial gale, Waft every bliss to Doneraile.
    May every cuckoo, thrush and quail, A concert form at Doneraile.
    May every Post, Gazette and Mail, Glad tidings bring to Doneraile.
    May no harsh thunder ring a peal, To incommode sweet Doneraile.
    May profit high and speedy sale, Enlarge the trade of Doneraile.
    May fame resound a pleasing tale, Of every joy at Doneraile.
    May Egypt's plagues forever fail, To hurt or injure Doneraile.
    May frost or snow or sleet or hail, No mischief do at Doneraile.
    May Oscar with his fiery flail, Thresh all the foes of Doneraile.
    May all from Belfast to Kinsale, Be half as good as Doneraile.
    May choicest flour and oatenmeal, Be still to spare at Doneraile.
    May want or woe no joy curtail, That's always known at Doneraile.
    No coffin that grim death may nail, Can wrap a rogue in Doneraile.
    There are no thieves to rob or steal, Within two leagues of Doneraile.
    Sure all the sons of Granuaile, May well be proud of Doneraile.
    May no dark monster, shark or whale, Annoy or torture Doneraile.
    May no disaster ever assail, The bliss and peace of Doneraile.
    May every transport wont to sail, Increase the wealth of Doneraile.
    May every churn and milking pail, Overflow with cream at Doneraile.
    May cold and hunger never congeal, The precious blood of Doneraile.
    May every hour new joys reveal, To crown the bliss of Doneraile.
    May every sweet that can regale, New odours waft to Doneraile.
    May no corroding ill prevail, To damp the joys of Doneraile.
    May every wish and prayer avail, To crown the peace of Doneraile.
    May the inquisition never impale, Or hurt a limb of Doneraile.
    May Sodom's curses ne'er prevail, To sink and torture Doneraile.
    May Charon's boat forever sail, Without a man from Doneraile.
    May gallows, gibbet, stocks and jail, Appear a wreck at Doneraile.
    And may its Lady never fail, To find new joys in Doneraile

he lost a watch and got so pissed of .... what if he would losse an iphone! :eek:

fair play m8!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Animord

You are not living in Castletownroche by any chance are you? Lots of people in that area have told me that Doneraile has a bad reputation too, but I drive through Doneraile every day and shop there often and have never seen or heard of anything that has actually happened there. I think maybe its just one of those myths.

• Registered Users Posts: 496 ✭✭s-cogan

i like doneraile. dont live their, but its a grand oul spot.
    that said, few less than savoury goings on have given the place a bad name.
    specifically,
    • young lads doing the maggot in cars, getting air over the speed bumps down through town
    • petrol bomb thrown through a pub window
    • few skangerish lads that have led to mallow people calling the very (very very very) short back nd sides a "doneraile haircut".

s-cogan wrote: »
    i like doneraile. dont live their, but its a grand oul spot.
    that said, few less than savoury goings on have given the place a bad name.
    specifically,
    • young lads doing the maggot in cars, getting air over the speed bumps down through town
    • petrol bomb thrown through a pub window
    • few skangerish lads that have led to mallow people calling the very (very very very) short back nd sides a "doneraile haircut".

Aha, cheers. Pretty much same stuff that any town has + petrol bomb.

I would not be I'm pubs at all. Haven't been in one for the las 2 or 3 years... Just not my cup of tea. The area I am checking looks like an old estate with all people owning theyr own houses and not renting.

What's all with that mallow thing? Can you be a bit more specific? And a bit simplyer, my English is not that great. Thanks ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭Anne Other

Doneraile has a most beautiful park and playground which is free to all and is well kept and clean.

It has an active GAA club and Golf club.

It has preschool/montessori facilities, 2 primary schools and a secondary school.

It has shops, post office, credit union, pubs, antique shops, betting shop.

It has lovely people, and sure, like everywhere else there are some people who have their own problems which affect others sometimes, but nothing unlike what is happening in every other place in the country.

In all my time being in Doneraile for business or pleasure I've found the locals to be friendly, warm and welcoming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Its just pathetic people with stupid rivalries, Nothing better to do than talk bad about other local towns and people.