Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tour de Kilkenny 2011

• 09-06-2011 9:53am
    Registered Users Posts: 684 ✭✭✭

Hi all

On behalf of Marble City Cyclers, I’m delighted to announce that we will be hosting our 3rd annual Tour de Kilkenny on 30th July, which is the Saturday of the August Bank Holiday weekend. Over the last two years, you have helped us to raise over €13,000 for the worthy cause that is Barretstown Children Camp, a charity that rebuilds the lives of children affected by childhood cancer and their families. This year, all fund raised will also be contributed to Barretstown Children Camp.

This year, there have been a few minor changes:
    · Online entry fee is now €22, on the day registration is €25.
    · An additional €5 surcharged for a one day licence i.e. for participants without a Cycling Ireland licence.
    · There is also an additional 70km route, which will leave at the same time as the 40km participant i.e. 11am.
    · The 40km route has also changed.

As with previous years, participants who sign online will also be guaranteed a goody bag.

More info can be found here. I would ask you to encourage your club members, friends and work colleagues to participate in this event – we believe we have a route to suit all abilities.

Any questions, just asked - I’m sure my fellow club members, Captain Havoc, Docman and Sr Assumpta, will be delighted to answer in my absent!

Regards
    Toblerone 1978, for and on behalf of Marble City Cyclers
    Kilkenny.

• Registered Users Posts: 795 ✭✭✭tawfeeredux

The best sportive i did last year. Great route for the 160km. The dodgy weather couldn't take away from the enjoyment. Sambos were lovely too!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭xz

Definitely doing this one again, Really enjoyed last years............and I thought Kilkenny was FLAT:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,123 ✭✭✭daragh_

Only managed the 100k last year. Great organisation. The Craic was had. Plan on doing the full 160k this year.

What's the name of that nasty climb in the middle? The one that comes just after you go through a village whose name I forget?

• Registered Users Posts: 411 ✭✭Sr. Assumpta

daragh_ wrote: »
    Only managed the 100k last year. Great organisation. The Craic was had. Plan on doing the full 160k this year.

What's the name of that nasty climb in the middle? The one that comes just after you go through a village whose name I forget?

Woodstock Hill, up out of Inistioge village...... nice.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,123 ✭✭✭daragh_

Woodstock Hill, up out of Inistioge village...... nice.

Forgot the name, remember the pain :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

Definitely going to do this again if not else for the cake- i ate half my body weight in cake last year.

Remember that hill well - i thought it was short and steep. Steep it was short it wasnt. There were a good few climbs after and having attacked that too fast i can safely say i was cooked.

• Registered Users Posts: 71 ✭✭corkchef

did it last year and loved it. will be there again! the volunteers were amazing and the craic superb!

• Registered Users Posts: 414 ✭✭aquanaut

Just signed up for 160km - first time ive done over 100km - now seen the route :eek: - it looks fun!

daragh_ wrote: »

well watch out for the last climb of the day then, not long, but steep enough and just when you think you have crested it, it ramps up again, when you turn the corner to approach it, it looks like a wall, but then it's a lovely run in to the finish from there

• Registered Users Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Thief

I guess I'll give the 160km route a lash!

I assume that there isn't a limited number of places given that one can register on the day?

No limit to numbers, more the merrier etc.

'Goodie bags' only guaranteed to those who register on-line, and then remainder on first-come-first-served basis until they run out on the day.

After reading last years thread im knackered! Could be wishing I swallowed the blue pill by the top of Woodstock! Whats in the goody bags?

aquanaut wrote: »
    .....the blue pill....

Viagra????!!!! You may want to save that til later in weekend!!!!

Whats in the goody bags?

Goodie Bag contents TBC, but don't worry, they invariably always include a banana ;)

Viagra????!!!! You may want to save that til later in weekend!!!!

Sorry, Matrix reference. I'd say i'll end up doing the 100km route - tough looking day, looking forward to it!

My water bottle (from goodie bag) from last years event is with my certs and medals from other events..........it's like a trophy, to prove I did it.lol and I do recall after one of the foodstops at the split point, I think it was, in a school, if you are doing the 160km route, DON'T spend too long there or eat too much, cos theres a short sharp hill just after you leave the foodstop,organisers are sadists!!!!
    For a relatively new event, this ranks highly IMO on the calender, great route (some really great scenery,as it seems to go UP all day), great organisation and backup, great food at the stops, last year my group were even cheered on by Sean Kelly and Co. at one point, but it turned out we were on the same road as a race being held on the same day. At a crossroads, the race went left, and we went right, we had gone maybe 10km up the road when we noticed a rider coming behind us FAST, he was part of the race and had been directed the wrong way at the crossroads.

the gradients look punishing all right, but as it says on the tin - great training for the SK!

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭WUFF

Bad day on the bike last year...3 Punctures...Mini pump worse than useless...Got lost at Inistioge Village, went straight instead of taking the turn up Woodstock Hill, Realisied Mistake 5 miles later. Eventually had to admit defeat and cage a lift from sweepers. All my own fault.

That said, i would rate it the best sportive i have done to date. The course is brilliant...5 star food stops...very well marshalled...everyone very friendly and good crack.

The wife who is not a cyclist completed the 40K spin and is still bragging.
    I will be back for the rematch this year!

• Registered Users Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Daithi BC

Am hoping to be able to do this as it's pretty local to me, but I may well be working that day, so will have to keep my fingers crossed.

Any sportive that gets five stars for its feed stations sounds worth checking out.

• Registered Users Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Toblerone1978

xz wrote: »
    organisers are sadists!!!!

Had I seen this last Friday, I would have strongly objected.

After doing the Wicklow 200 yesterday, completely of my own freewill, I suppose it's a fair enough comment! :o

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,391 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I don't know what the complaining is about sure isn't Kilkenny flat? :rolleyes:

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

I don't know what the complaining is about sure isn't Kilkenny flat? :rolleyes:

Kilkenny town yes, the rest.. ehm.. no! :pac:

Unfortunately I am going to miss it this year, unless I come down only for 100k, we ll see.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,391 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I think you need a can opener for those worms, Kilkenny is a city.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

hahaha, sincere apologies!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,667 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Dublin is a city

Anywhere else is simply beyond the Pale....

• Registered Users Posts: 11,504 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

The confusion about Kilkenny can be traced all the way back to last November. I commented to Captain Havoc that Kilkenny was "shi*ty" and suitable only for Hen Parties and brightly coloured cyclists.

Unfortunately he misheard me and has since confused Kilkenny for an actual city.

Which it is not.

If you look in the photo of the handsome cat below, you'll notice that the sign says Kilkenny City. I would also like to point out that in the grand scheme of things, Dublin isn't a metropolis either.
    45100_153207431362067_123826300966847_510893_1380927_n.jpg

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,290 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

In case anyone needs any more encouragement:

2010 Thread

Inaugural event in 2009

Without comparison in my experience
    (certainly last year, when it was the only sportive I did

Beasty thats what made me reconsider the 160! Are ye getting your custom number this year?

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,290 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Beasty thats what made me reconsider the 160! Are ye getting your custom number this year?
    Unfortunately I don't think I'll be able to make it given my racing targets for the year

It is a fantastic event though, and I would encourage boardsies to give it a go. I would point out the 100 is not a "soft" option given the climbing involved (and the distance I recorded last year was nearer 110km than 100km)