Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Higher Maths Paper 1

• Registered Users Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Maybe_Memories

^^^ Easier than my substitution method, but both are still valid

Digits wrote: »

Actually, man, forget the substitution way. Follow Michael E's way. My way gets too complicated when I actually did it out.

Sorry for the confusion

• Registered Users Posts: 355 ✭✭River Song

I would do it the x=rsinA method for sure. That's just me though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭PJelly

Michael_E wrote: »
    Wait, are we still trying to get the roots of a cubic here?
    I've never seen the "X=rsinA" medhod in my life.
    I just plug in figures till one equals zero. Take that as my factor, long divide, get my quadratic and solve that for the other two.

I like your style :p

Anyone intending on doing maths or physics in college, be VERY comfortable with paper 1 stuff. :p

PJelly wrote: »
    I just plug in figures till one equals zero. Take that as my factor, long divide, get my quadratic and solve that for the other two.

I was referring to the deriving a formula for the area of a circle, by intergration methods.

I find the roots of a cubic the same way as you :)
    I like your style :p

Anyone intending on doing maths or physics in college, be VERY comfortable with paper 1 stuff. :p

GRAND OUT :) Science Ed. in DCU as my #1, then Pure Maths in Trinners, MPS in UCD, etc etc :P

We stopped talking about cubics ages ago :p

Yeah, you're way is right, we're on about integrating circles here :p

• Registered Users Posts: 343 ✭✭Digits

Actually, man, forget the substitution way. Follow Michael E's way. My way gets too complicated when I actually did it out.

Sorry for the confusion

But his was for volume, im looking for area.

Michael would you be able to give a brief overview of it. I keep trying the substitution but its not working out.:confused:

I was referring to the deriving a formula for the area of a circle, by intergration methods.

I find the roots of a cubic the same way as you :)
    Oh right! You had me worried!
    the circle is to integrate r^2 - X^2 from -r to r right?
    And don't forget your pi!
    (My teacher always says :rolleyes:)

IF YOU DO THE X=RSINA METHOD DO NOT FORGET TO MULTIPLY BY 2 AT THE END, OTHERWISE YOU GET THE VOLUME OF A SEMI-CIRCLE

I just wrote that point down in red pen on the sheet I'm doing that proof on atm :P

People, Text and Tests 5, go to page 90 and do question 25.

Oh a circle not a sphere!
    Those are the lovely integrals with the million steps aren't they?
    A nice part c :)
    X= aSinr, change limits, sub in, get cos^2
    blah blah blah

Oh a circle not a sphere!
    Those are the lovely integrals with the million steps aren't they?
    A nice part c :)
    X= aSinr, change limits, sub in, get cos^2
    blah blah blah

That's it exactly :) I would LOVE for that to come up! I always got such a kick out of doing them :P

• Registered Users Posts: 343 ✭✭Digits

FINALLY!!! Worked it out eventually. Thanks for the help lads.

It's actually quite frightening how much I've forgotten since christmas... :o

I just wrote that point down in red pen on the sheet I'm doing that proof on atm :P

People, Text and Tests 5, go to page 90 and do question 25.
    Soo.. I'm at the stage where I have to integrate 25Cos^2X.... that sound right?
    Doesn't seem to be working out

Im integrating root 25-X^2 from -5 to 5...
    I hope I'm going about this the right way

Soo.. I'm at the stage where I have to integrate 25Cos^2X.... that sound right?
    Doesn't seem to be working out

You can take 25 outside the intergral sign and make sure you've changed the limits!

• Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭Donerkebab

Okay here are the proofs of the sphere/cone volume. I figured out the area one, but it's on my whiteboard and not on paper, sorry :P

Sphere
    IMG_7064-1.jpg

Cone
    IMG_7065.jpg
    The last line of your circle on is incorrect i think. It should be 2r^3-2r^3/3

You can take 25 outside the intergral sign and make sure you've changed the limits!
    Got it.
    I did it the big stupid way you do them normally.
    Ended up with loads of 25/4's, added em up, multiply by two and hey presto! 25pi.

Donerkebab wrote: »

That's the same thing. I just didn't group the r^3 with the other one, I manipulated them both into 2r^3/3 and added. It's the same thing.

Got it.
    I did it the big stupid way you do them normally.
    Ended up with loads of 25/4's, added em up, multiply by two and hey presto! 25pi.

Bang on :)

Donerkebab wrote: »

He seems correct to me anyway.

That's the same thing. I just didn't group the r^3 with the other one, I manipulated them both into 2r^3/3 and added. It's the same thing.

Right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭MikeHough

well lads. hope the studys goin well for ye.
    I just finished correctin 2007 paper 1 there that i did today.
    I'm presuming this is considered one of the easiest papers in past years cos i got 82%.It is, rite?????
    either that or i have extremely surpassed myself!

I don't remember 2007 off the top of my head, but 2010 was considered pretty easy if you knew your stuff to a decent level.

Although to be honest no year is really harder, some parts are just more tricky, but as a consequence there will be easier parts.

ADVICE:
    You should all go get some sleep now :)
    If you don't have geography, wake up early ish to get your mind into gear.
    Don't stay up all night cramming...

(... no matter how much you love maths, cause we all love maths here, right??! :p )

:L :L :L

I don't remember 2007 off the top of my head, but 2010 was considered pretty easy if you knew your stuff to a decent level.

Although to be honest no year is really harder, some parts are just more tricky, but as a consequence there will be easier parts.

ADVICE:
    You should all go get some sleep now :)
    If you don't have geography, wake up early ish to get your mind into gear.
    Don't stay up all night cramming...

(... no matter how much you love maths, cause we all love maths here, right??! :p )

I certainly love it. Plan to do the maths revision during the geog exam, they're letting me use a room in school :) I'm gonna warm up with some sudokus, then do revision, then lunch and do sudoku before I go in :D

Been nice doing maths with ye tonight, all the best tomorrow :D

Of course, its a lovely subject! Quite looking forward to it for some strange reason!

If you really like it then I strongly suggest doing maths in college.

It gets extremely interesting. :)

Eek! Can't find a mathamatical set! Are they really that vital?