Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brian Lenihan RIP *Mod Warning Post #1*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Nothing on RTE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

There's no point ever going to RTE if you want to check a breaking story. They'll have it in time for the one O'clock news. Boards, twitter and Breakingnews.ie are the only decent sources tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

RIP Brian

Say what ya like people - but I genuinely think this man only ever had Ireland's best interests at heart. He was finance minister at the most difficult time ever for the country's economy and it was never a case that every decision he made would be for the best in the long run - he was dealing with unprecedented turmoil.

His legacy may not be the best for now - but I'm more than confident that the fullness of time will show he did what he thought was best for the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

danniemcq wrote: »
    as much as he screwed the country i gotta say sympaties to the family

Leave it out, this is not the time.

RIP Brian. Condolances to his family and friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Einhard wrote: »
    I'm not one to jump up and down on RTE, but listening to Pat Kenny now, and he's talking about schoolbooks- no interruption for breaking news. Bit ridiculous.

Nothing on their website either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭NTC

Sorry to hear he has died. RIP.

Newstalk has him listed at 52!
    Brian Lenihan has died
    Former Finance Minister Brian Lenihan has passed away.

The 52-year-old lost his battle with illness early this morning.

He was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer in 2009.

He served as Finance Minister up until February of this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭jajjay

Rest in Peace, Brian

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

No time for FF however I would say there was something I like about Brian. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

RIP, Didn't know he was so sick, they always seemed to say he was doing ok. Have to respect the fact that he stayed on when so many other politicians were quitting for health reasons (ie they hadn't a hope of getting a seat).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Benny_Cake wrote: »
    I won't say I was an admirer of his as a Finance Minister, but as a human being he came across as a very decent man, and I would have to admire his courage and determination in taking on the weight of his job and fighting cancer at the same time. He lost that battle, all too young. Condolences to his family and may he rest in peace.

Yep, thats my thoughts.

RIP Mr Lenihan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

RIP Mr. Lenihan.

Had the privilege of meeting him a couple of times, very approachable and personable guy, and did a lot of good work at the local level in his constituency in Castleknock.

Commiserations to his family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Pat Kenny is on air talking about the price of school books and now the Moores Murderers. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭Messi2

RIP.

RIP Mr. Lenihan.

Had the privilege of meeting him a couple of times, very approachable and personable guy, and did a lot of good work at the local level in his constituency in Castleknock.

Commiserations to his family.

Not on RTÉ yet ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

danniemcq wrote: »
    as much as he screwed the country i gotta say sympaties to the family

ah here now he just passed away this morning and you're already bad mouthing him. shame on you!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭smallerthanyou

Very young. I liked him. Did his best with what he was given. The place was a mess when he got it. It was still a mess when he left it but that was more noone could have fixed it. He seemed like a smart guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Ye have to wonder though, if he was that ill, what on earth was he doing running for re-election only a few months ago? Must have taken a huge amount out of him. pressure from within FF to keep a seat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

mike65 wrote: »
    Pat Kenny is on air talking about the price of school books and now the Moores Murderers. :confused:

The Official statement will be made at 11 o'clock news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Terrible news, RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

enda1 wrote: »
    Fair play to him for having the strength and determination to stick with his public office when battling terminal cancer.

He should never have been allowed to stay in office, for our sake and his own. We had a finance minister who was fighting for his life while this countrys economy was doing the same, far too much of a burden for one man.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

RIP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

R.I.P. Brian Lenihan.

He was a gentlemen and would have made a great Taoiseach if only his predecessors hadn't destroyed his chances. I would have no time for the party he was associated but I think if I ever was honoured enough to meet him I would have had more time for him as he was a gentleman. However, it's definitely not the time to discuss politics. From watching him on television interviews he seemed to have been a much calmer, patient and less brutish politician than most others we are used to.

Again, R.I.P.

Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

I'd be dishonest if I said he was an all round great man etc etc now that he has passed. I was actively against his policies. I distrusted him when he said the bank guarantee was the only option BUT he inherited a poison chalice and was trying to do a job at the end of the day.

I did think he was a natural leader, he took tough questions head on and IMO gave better then your average politician BS answers. It’s also incredible that he worked just as hard throughout his illness as he must have known the truth of his prognosis.

That said it pales in comparison to the loss to his family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,265 ✭✭✭RangeR

RIP. You inherited a bad situation from your predecessor and did the best you could.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

RIP, I always thought he would've been a far better taoiseach than cowen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭cosmic

God, so young :( I feel so bad for his family

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

cml387 wrote: »
    He was ambushed by the financial crisis,and whereas he maybe should have made different decisions in hindsight, he at least was decisive.

He had the wool pulled over his eyes by the bankers on the night of the guarantee and i hope it all comes out in the end.. with those truely responsible are brought to justice.

I think Brian was a good man and i offer my sympathy to his family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I did not agree with most of his policies or decisions, but he was essentially dealing with a fire he never started. I always felt he was a pretty decent man though. So my sympathies to his family and friends and may he RIP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭westies4ever

RIP, he was an intelligent and honest man who did the best he could in an awful situation. He carried his illness with dignity and never used it as an excuse.

Regardless of any of that, he is someone's husband , father, son and brother. My sympathies to them all.

RIP, I always thought he would've been a far better taoiseach than cowen.

He was an excellent public speaker in fairness. Attended a few talks he gave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

RIP Indeed. A personable chap and thankfully he was willing to speak about the state the country was in when Biffo was hiding from the press. So sad and rather shocked he departed so quickly, there was nothing recently about him being in hospital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭pnag

I'm sorry to hear that he died - indeed, have always heard on a personal/one-to-one level he was a very nice man.

That said, his political legacy doesn't change - it's not disrespectful, but factual. It seems to be very easy for the Irish people as a whole to fall into "Gerry Ryan" mode - practically beatifying someone once dead, and forgiving all past infractions.

(Not comparing how the poor man died with Ryan by any means, by the way)

I will say that I believe he did his best.

RIP.

Bambi wrote: »
    He should never have been allowed to stay in office, for our sake and his own. We had a finance minister who was fighting for his life while this countrys economy was doing the same, far too much of a burden for one man.

Agreed but you have to tip your hat to him for holding on as long as he did, as sick as he was. Not many people could.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

RIP. He handled his illness privately and with dignity. Not a fan of his by any means but still saddened to hear the news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Junco Partner

very rarely any other outcome with pancreatic cancer. A lesser man would have stepped down from . I have much respect for him that he put trying to save the country before his own well being. R.I.P Mr Lenihan. I am very anti FF but that AH doesn't descend into bashing the man. He was very brave to keep going and we should respect that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Biggins wrote: »
    Aye, as possibly mentioned already, Breaking News and the Journal have confirmed.
    RTE should have confirmation by 6 tomorrow!

Nothing up on RTE Aertel or the RTE website about it yet. :rolleyes:

As for Brian Lenihan, I wouldn't have been his biggest fan, but it is sad to see someone so young loose their battle for life.

RIP.

pnag wrote: »
    I'm sorry to hear that he died - indeed, have always heard on a personal/one-to-one level he was a very nice man.

That said, his political legacy doesn't change - it's not disrespectful, but factual. It seems to be very easy for the Irish people as a whole to fall into "Gerry Ryan" mode - practically beatifying someone once dead, and forgiving all past infractions.

(Not comparing how the poor man died with Ryan by any means, by the way)

I will say that I believe he did his best.

RIP.

No-one is suggested his legacy be ignored, just that now is the time for respect, sympathy and empathy, not badmouthing a man who has just died.

RTE news is ignoring this so far

Today FM leads with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

I've never seen anything posistive spoken about him until this thread and even then, they were all vague remarks.

On boards or in general? He was a popular guy around here and I don't know anyone who disliked him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭D1976

still no word of it on Rte Radio 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

On BBC news here: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-13724008?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter

But still nothing on RTE or the 11am news headlines. Letting the side down here guys.

Newstalk finally start 11 am news 3 minutes late, they lead with the death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭ronan45

met him at a local d15 meeting once. He was quite a good humoured and decent guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭westies4ever

its on rte website now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

RTE are'nt even covering the story? This thread should be locked until there is confirmation imo.
    Happy now ?
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0610/lenihanb.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

It's on RTÉ news now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭cosanostra

Gone but not forgotten.