Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Been to court Lately for trivia??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Was there a while ago for not producing documents when in fact i did. Was struck out. Judge was a good laugh telling people to start mowing the grass to make a few quid instead of smoking it. Majority were struck out or small fines, 80 to100 euro. He didn't appreciate no insurance though 800-1000 fine for that. Quite entertaining

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,084 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

I had to go to court and got my driving licence suspended for the week before court appearance...

Had to take public transport for the week with my two kids.
    Does not compute. Licence suspended before court appearance???

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

snyper wrote: »
    i have a big willy

...and short arms ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

jdooley28 wrote: »
    Howvever i suppose it wasn't a total waste the pure entertainment provided on the day was brilliant. I'd nearly go back and just sit there for the day sometime just listening to the cases its a lot better than day time TV

Any posters in Galway will know of Judge Mary Fahy, the iron lady. :eek:
    Loves nothing more then talking down to people and giving them a verbal lashing.

Sometimes it's deserved. And sometimes she goes way too far.

I wouldn't like to be in front of her anyway.
    The court report in the Galway advertiser is gas, every week there's a memorable quote :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Esel wrote: »
    Does not compute. Licence suspended before court appearance???

Yar.

Didn't compute with me either.

Got summons.
    Rang guards for explanation.
    Gave me number of court to ring.
    Rang court.
    Told me my licence was suspended until hearing.

That is all I know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

mikemac wrote: »
    Any posters in Galway will know of Judge Mary Fahy, the iron lady. :eek:
    Loves nothing more then talking down to people and giving them a verbal lashing.

Sometimes it's deserved. And sometimes she goes way too far.

I wouldn't like to be in front of her anyway.
    The court report in the Galway advertiser is gas, every week there's a memorable quote :D
    Did your €120 fine make it onto the local newspaper?

Luckily no.
    Imagine if my family knew about me not having the TV licence

Could you live with the shame? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

At least yousaved €40,is'nt the TV License €160?

Only in Ireland would a fine be less than it would have originally cost to get the license in the first place :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

I was in court in Limerick there a few weeks ago. There was a group of 7 of us and we were all drunk enough. 3 of the lads went home early but we stayed on. Near the end of the night I couldn't find the other 3 so I was left on me own. I came out of the nightclub and saw a bit of a row just down the road. I went down for a look and saw that 2 of the lads were involved with a group of around 5 or 6 lads. I went over to pull the boys away but got a slap for my troubles. I didn't hit anyone but pushed your man away. A garda car arrived at this stage and the other lads walked off. We were just going when the gaurds threw me into the back of the car. Just me!

I went to court anyway and didn't know what it was for but I didn't tell the parents and was broke so I just pled guilty. The guard said I was "believed to be the instigator of an altercation". I couldn't believe it. I got a 200 euro fine. Whats worse about it is that we had a girl out with us and she was sober and saw the whole thing. And one of the other lads involved in the row knew her and was boasting that he kicked my friend around the place on facebook.

To be fair though, the judge was sound out and ate the guard cos he said I had a previous conviction when I didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭superrdave

manlad wrote: »
    Ye tv license. I got off because I should never have been there in the first place. Had to sit through all the other cases. the judge didnt give people a chance to speak just dished out €500-800 fines as if it was just a small sum of money. Yes I agree with paying the license fee but also respect for other people doesnt come at much of a cost

if the licence costs 160, a fine for not having it should be bigger. Waaaay bigger. at least 500. you have to make sure they won't do it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

On the topic of the licence fee, when you get caught out for not paying it do you not have to pay for the time you've gone without? So if you haven't paid it in a year you'd pay 160e on top of the fine and the cost of getting it renewed?

Nope, you don't have to backdate

I got away with 15 months, bought one 20 minutes before court for the next 12 months and payed a €120 fine for the previous 15 months

I skipped a court date for a parking fine... Wonder what's the story now? Not too worried though for a few years unless they get in contact with interpol.

Solnskaya wrote: »
    No Guard, first time actually. Thats why I was so surprised by the trivial sh1te that occupies their time. As I already said, Guard sir, I paid the fine straight away me lord, but being money grubbing pedantic incompetent time wasting shower of cnuts that they possibly are, they preferred to waste their time and ours by dragging a trivial civil "oh you bad girl, you parked on some lines some gimp painted on a bit of tarmac because they liked the idea of getting money for nothing" matter into a farce of it becoming a court case. My real point is that it would appear that not alone are the govt deciding to tax the people out of existance through their wage packets and sneak taxes, but they have decided to use the courts to become another scource of revenue out of all proportion. I had the pleasure today of watching one of Irelands biggest(reputed)Drug barons out enjoying himself on the roads on a non-mechanically propelled vehicle, and funnily enough, It appeared that he went about this use of the public roads without fear of or regard to any Garda stopping him or asking him for any penalty whatsoever despite the dogs in the street knowing what he does for a living and the absence of any little bits of paper on the harnesses. It pretty much makes a farce of being law-abiding and straight in life. BTW, guard, I pay road tax and insurance on 6 vehicles and am so law abiding it hurts.

Your earlier post made it out like you are in every week. Fines getting bigger etc.

And re your suspected drug dealer, well, you have to have the evidence to prosecute somebody. Just because you think they are one doesn't mean it will stand up in court. And have you reported his use of the horse to the council / Gardaí? Because how are they supposed to know about people breaking the law if they are not around?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

Didn't go to court, but was arrested one night for bowing to a cop (like this) while saying "By your leave sir" when he was clearing a pub at closing time.
    I had only popped in for a quick pint at closing time and had only drank half a pint, at the station I was charged with being being drunk and a danger to myself and others, as the story of what happened emerged and I demanded a test the other cops couldn't believe what had happened, and a lovely ban garda told me the fella who arrested me was a "bit enthusiastic" and they would let me out once he was gone, they also gave me a lift home. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

I got away with 15 months, bought one 20 minutes before court for the next 12 months and payed a €120 fine for the previous 15 months

Do they not just give you the option of buying the licence when they called to your door?Always thought it went

Threatening letter.
    Threatening visit.

still no licence?

Court

Why yes they did.

Got letters for months and months, addressed to last tenant
    One evening I did answer and I gave the inspector my name and got more letters for months and months.

Eventually got a registered letter which I signed for, bang it was a summons

Just to explain the process

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

Criminal skobes who park illegaly, disrupting the rest of us, who try to steal their tv progamming making the rest of us pay more, who cause a disruption outside some terrified old lady's house by pissing up against some lamppost at 4am deserve to be given massive fines and have their time wasted in court. Hell if it was up to me you'd be rotting in jail for a few days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

I skipped a court date for a parking fine... Wonder what's the story now? Not too worried though for a few years unless they get in contact with interpol.

You will get a nasty surprise if you ever decide to come back to Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭pvt6zh395dqbrj

These cops were once following me in my car because they thought I stole their board game but the board game I had wasn't even the one they were looking for.

It was trivial pursuit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,058 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

A lad in Saudi Arabia got a suspended sentence for that.
    He was hanged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

Glenster wrote: »
    Criminal skobes who park illegaly, disrupting the rest of us, who try to steal their tv progamming making the rest of us pay more, who cause a disruption outside some terrified old lady's house by pissing up against some lamppost at 4am deserve to be given massive fines and have their time wasted in court. Hell if it was up to me you'd be rotting in jail for a few days.
    Go Glenster! You should try not to repress your true feelings, just let it all out, it's healthier in the long run. Letting things get pent up is a recipe for disaster. Just tell it like you mean it, no more beating around the bush.