Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DONEGAL INTERNATIONAL RALLY

• Registered Users Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭brembo26

cheers thanks for the reply! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 568 ✭✭✭CianDon

Heading up from Cork now tomorrow morning. Should be a savage weekend. Knockalla is the plan for Saturday and then possibly Buncrana on Sunday

Once its better then Killarney im happy anyway. Went down one year and never had a minutes peace down there, nothing but hassle of the gaurds! Didnt even spend the night down there and didnt see one stage I got so sick of it :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,852 ✭✭✭homer simpson

there are no bad stages, every one is first class,
    Glenn, on friday
    knockalla on saturday
    buncrana on sunday

as for afters, head to newtoncunningham (about 8 miles) on saturday evening, there is a show with a bit of diffing.

Just to point out the "diffing" has nothing to do with the rally before someone says it! I'm not a fan myself, but each to their own, and if it keeps the differs off the public roads i'm all for these events ;) ( i hear there is 3 this year, letterkenny karting + newtown + DDT)

I totally agree, if there is a designated area off the public road for diffin and the likes it will make the weekend much more enjoyable for a lot of people. I might go for a look if I don't head out on the town Saturday.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Pique

From Letterkenny Chamber:

This evening there is a Ceremonial Start taking place at 8pm in the Market Square /Main Street area.

The cars will leave McGinleys Car Park (the scrutiny area) about 10 at a time from 7.30pm at the earliest. They will drive up Justice Walsh Road onto Upper Main Street . They then go up Church Lane and drive down Market Square beside the Brewery. Then 3 or 4 at a time they will go on to Main Street, through the arch and starting ramp that will be located just past Greenes at the old First Active building and then return to McGinleys.

Rally Legend Markku Alén will be in attendance and it should be a good evening.

The Gardai will be policing it and have assured us that local traffic will be able to flow as freely as possible. *There will of course be extra traffic and people however we have been told that the only coned area will be on the brewery side of Market Square. The ramp will be erected from around 6.30pm – 7pm

Just also for your information the cars arrive back after the stages tomorrow at around 6pm, so you should expect some traffic congestion.

Here’s the website if you want to know more or link to the Facebook page
    http://www.donegalrally.ie/index.php
    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Donegal-International-Rally-2011/208998502463119

• Registered Users Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

just walked through town was kinda quiet and just when i thought about staying and taking pics it started raining. Dinner time me thinks

• Registered Users Posts: 254 ✭✭mamakevf

Pique wrote: »

Rally Legend Markku Alén will be in attendance and it should be a good evening.
    Seen a black Corolla saloon with Markku on the side and I was wondering was it him, now I know.;)

Somebody mention Stratos.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vXtNzGKFio0&feature=related
    And some more recent.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0J4BnmVngwc&feature=related
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rk3a1Q9viIE&feature=related

• Registered Users Posts: 274 ✭✭creaghadoos

was in town tonight, great buzz about mcginleys
    alistair fishers fiesta is really mean looking
    i hung about the market square till 8.40, got fed up waiting and just came home. did anything actually happen? if so, was it any good? and what time did it start

• Registered Users Posts: 50 ✭✭sweet girl

It was nearly 9 when it started, i only stayed for about the first 10 cars or so. Marku said a few words, then a brief interview with the drivers, Alaistair Fisher was there in the WRC Fiesta, Tim Mc Nulty, Derek McGarrity,Gary Jennings, Vincent Bonner and some other local crews in Mk 2 escorts

thats a shame it started so late,

hope rest of weekend goes better

It was late in starting alright, and not really worth the wait when it did start! The wee feista that Alister Fisher is driving is a lovely looking wee car alright :)

5841239829_105a908d59_b.jpg

I think it goes without saying, I really hope everyone have a safe and enjoyable rally, I know i will. See ya's on the stages ;).

And listen to the Marshalls people, they are just doing their job trying to keep people safe and THEY WILL cancel the stage if people don't listen.

• Registered Users Posts: 292 ✭✭.17hmr

i see the rescue chopper away down that way hope every one is ok

• Registered Users Posts: 235 ✭✭rushnaldo

Having dinner in the downings bay hotel here after Atlantic drive. Allistair Fisher in the fiesta is flying it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭joeKel73

Hoping to get out with the camera over the weekend....

Can anyone recommend any good spectator spots to get some photos?? Somewhere that the cars lift of the road would be good! ;)

foto joe wrote: »
    Hoping to get out with the camera over the weekend....

Can anyone recommend any good spectator spots to get some photos?? Somewhere that the cars lift of the road would be good! ;)

PM sent....

• Registered Users Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

The last stage was canceled today after a citroën crashed out. Anyone have any details? Highland didn't even mentioned the fact the stage was stopped after about 30 cars....

• Registered Users Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭irish1967

I got a little bored today...:)
    261927_122563257830006_100002289981538_200435_2814989_n.jpg

The last stage was canceled today after a citroën crashed out. Anyone have any details? Highland didn't even mentioned the fact the stage was stopped after about 30 cars....

Never heard, I wouldn't imagine it would be too bad, stages are stopped all the time due to road being blocked ect, I wouldn't honestly expect highland to mention that either.

• Registered Users Posts: 235 ✭✭rushnaldo

Bonner rolling back the years on Atlantic Drive today
    5842550697_c4620defd6.jpg

Quickest time over Atlantic drive Alistair Fisher in the fiesta
    5842556669_73a473f0d7.jpg

Seamus Leonard makes the end of the stage then the Subaru had to be extinguished
    5842565433_07128d43f4.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 jennyk8

This is what Donegal Daily reported....
    http://www.donegaldaily.com/2011/06/17/breaking-news-rally-halted-for-rest-of-day-after-crash/

• Registered Users Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Minister Boyce

Approached the Atlantic Drive Stage today with some trepidation as I thought it was gonna bucket it down. Got the shuttle bus into the stage. Some spectacular scenery on show too. Overall an enjoyable day, Fisher looks v fast in the Fiesta. What happened Mc Hale with no entry?

connor curley put the escort backways over the edge of a drop with the front half sticking up in the air, at a very narrow bit about 50 yds out of glen village. everyone ok.

he was probably put off by that dougie hughes (iirc) twat giving commentary in glen, on how much money each competitor had. commentators are for the tv, not the roadside at a rally stage. in my opinion glen is the perfect place for the rally, the sound of the cars echoing through the valley, but this tit spoiled my day, anyone agree.

rant over

called into ddt on the way home.
    first time at it and couldnt leave. just a bit of craic.

ddt?

Funny clip of Mc Clatchey's Shed on the Atlantic Drive stage

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SEKymMoxaT0&feature=related

ddt?

Funny clip of Mc Clatchey's Shed on the Atlantic Drive stage

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SEKymMoxaT0&feature=related

ddt is the name of an oval track at manorcunningham. on the rally weekend the young lads are let loose on the track. lets them blow off steam in a safe place out of everyones way.

not everyones cup of tea

just watched that clip, its years since ive seen it, absolute classic

ddt is the name of an oval track at manorcunningham. on the rally weekend the young lads are let loose on the track. lets them blow off steam in a safe place out of everyones way.

not everyones cup of tea

Cheers, not a bad idea I suppose given the high level of 'pumped up' motorists that need a release valve.

Watched a few You Tube vids of old rallys gone by and I cannot believe the drop in crowds watching it. I appreciate that certain sections of stages will draw larger crowds but i did notice today previous Fridays were a lot busier. Speaking of you tube I came across a vid of that commentator guy in glen, i can appreciate your rant now!

• Registered Users Posts: 461 ✭✭mk2

Not many of these about today!

mk2 wrote: »

used to be like being in a vietnam film

during that bloody celtic tiger thing, donegal had the highest concentration of helicopters in the western world, per head capita. at one stage there were 56 registered here.

mk2 wrote: »

Funny I was there on that same day outside the milford in, was in 07, or 08? Just 2 I saw floating around today. The current economic climate has def affected the entry list too. Some big guns missing from the pack.