Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pub recommendations

• 13-06-2011 7:48pm
    Registered Users Posts: 116 ✭✭

Hi, I'm visiting Cork for a few days to attend the Dylan gig at the Marquee
    and was wondering if anyone could suggest a good pub around the city centre
    or near to the venue that would be a good place for a
    few Dylanheads to meet up in? Somewhere for a few before and after beers,
    if pubgrub was served it would be a bonus, a bit of music, live or otherwise, even better.

I was at the Dylan gig in the same venue in 2006 and enjoyed my couple of days
    in the city, however I don't have a great recollection of the pubs visited -
    definately one on the way to the gig near the docklands, and i think one
    called An Brog in the city centre? Details a bit sketchy.

Anyway, thought I'd ask for some local recommendations - cheers in advance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

OK this is from left field from a regular visitor to Cork; maybe the docklands pub was the Idle Hour? I spent the most amazing music night there a couple of years back - dancing on tables and everything. Charlie's down that way is legendary and guaranteed to have a bit of live music. Don't know that you'd get fed in either though. Or be able to have a quiet chat :)

I'm sure the Cork lads/lasses will be along in a minute with more expert advice :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

The Crane Lane is doing a free Dylan tribute thing on the afternoon of the gig, so that would probably be the job for ye?

• Registered Users Posts: 116 ✭✭mackthefinger

Great stuff, many thanks. Think it'll be crane lane beforehand
    and the idle hour afterwards.

• Registered Users Posts: 177 ✭✭grumula

the bróg is usually decent aul craic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

grumula wrote: »
    the bróg is usually decent aul craic!

tis lively enough but the smell can be quite bad there

• Registered Users Posts: 177 ✭✭grumula

Daegerty wrote: »
    tis lively enough but the smell can be quite bad there
    psshht!
    that's not smell, it's character!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

The brog is a festering dive.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

I'd say The Sextant would be an ideal spot for a few before and after the gig, it's only about 5 minutes walk from the venue. Lots of 'Dylan heads' in there I'd say.

Cheers for all the suggestions. In fairness, you don't have to walk too far in
    Cork to find a decent pub - we seemed to come across plenty of them. Spent
    a couple of evenings in Crane Lane - grand spot, some good music on the
    Friday night. Washington Inn, Charlies, Port Bar (?) Costigans were all good
    for a few Murphy's. Mutton lane was jammed so didn't go in, same for
    idle hour.Also, Dan Lowrey's was the perfect place during the day to dodge
    the rainshowers and served great stout. Enjoyed my stay in Cork, will be looking
    to head back before long. And Dylan was great too.

Back in Cork again for Dylan on Monday night, any good recommendations
    for pubs apart from those already mentioned, any new places worth checking
    out?