Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another gaming build :)

• 13-06-2011 8:03pm
    Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭

Hey guys looking to build myself a pc for gaming purposes mostly have been doing alot of research but mainly iv confused myself!!! So the budget is €700 no need for screen mouse keyboard windows or cd drive. Would have to have full hdmi output and to play 1080p aswell.

I have decided on some parts having gone through most threads on the forum in the last 2 months (wasnt easy by the way)

http://www1.hardwareversand.de/articledetail.jsp?aid=23029&agid=631 for the case as read some good reviews
    http://www1.hardwareversand.de/articledetail.jsp?aid=24479&agid=1629 not sure about the power needed as might in the future do 2 graphics cards
    http://www1.hardwareversand.de/articledetail.jsp?aid=41224&agid=1617 for processor

What i need help with is mobo, gpu, cooling fan if required and hdd that would be best, not sure if ive left anything out but am looking to play skyrim on high settings in 1080p as a guideline if this is possible....sorry for making everyone read so much i'm new to the scene :D

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭dennjoe

oh i have a question about hardwareversand.de aswell i have no credit card so was hoping to do the payment by paypal. My question is if i go for the option to pay by paypal if i have the money in my pay pal account will they take the money straight from the account as im hoping they will and im aware of the 3% charge aswell. and cheers again

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,098 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

If you want one gfx get the amazon 550, if you want 2 get the xfx 750

pay by bank transfer, no 3% fee.

• Registered Users Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Mister Man

dennjoe wrote: »
    not sure if ive left anything out but am looking to play skyrim on high settings in 1080p as a guideline if this is possible....sorry for making everyone read so much i'm new to the scene :D

For Skyrim at 1080p, for 700 quid, you will be pushing it big time I would think. You'll have to consider a AMD Build if you want to play it at 1080p. But I might be wrong

cheers tar il look into those cards, i was actually going with an x4 black edition for a good while till i came on here and looked through the various builds i really dont mind what make it is so i might go back again cheers

• Registered Users Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭Monotype

162980.PNG

http://www3.hardwareversand.de/articledetail.jsp?aid=23029
    http://www3.hardwareversand.de/articledetail.jsp?aid=41224
    http://www3.hardwareversand.de/articledetail.jsp?aid=46919
    http://www3.hardwareversand.de/articledetail.jsp?aid=44944
    http://www3.hardwareversand.de/articledetail.jsp?aid=28152
    http://www3.hardwareversand.de/articledetail.jsp?aid=41890
    http://www3.hardwareversand.de/articledetail.jsp?aid=38487
    http://www3.hardwareversand.de/articledetail.jsp?aid=30069

+ delivery €30.

Slightly over budget. If you need to cut something, the graphics card can be slimmed down to a 560ti or a 1GB 6950 or a 6870. You could save €20 by going with the asgard cases from Xigmatek.

If you want multiple cards you will need a better PSU and a better motherboard (something like the GD55 + the PSU TA mentioned above). Faster RAM would be no harm if you can afford it too.

Would I be better off going with the cheaper amd x6 http://www1.hardwareversand.de/articledetail.jsp?aid=40652&agid=1242 like this witprice motherboard instead and better ram would ye sayh the same

The 2500K will give you considerably better performance. If you want to save some money, go for the 1090T instead.

I suppose if games is a priority, you could get an AMD motherboard capable of using two GPUs and a better PSU at the expense of CPU power. You might be as well off getting a quad core such as the 955 as most games won't use six cores.

Hmm good point ill have a look when I get home and throw a shopping list together.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,281 Mod ✭✭✭✭deconduo

Basically its not worth it to get the X6 unless its for a budget rendering/photoshopping/3D type build. For gaming, its the i5-2500k or the X4 955 all the way. I would highly recommend going with Monotype's build, and if you want to save a bit of money you could:

-Drop to a 500GB F3
    -Change case to Xigmatek Asgard
    -Change GPU to 1GB 6950 or a 6870
    -Change PSU to SF Amazon 450W

I would do all of the above before dropping to a Phenom II X4 955, as the performance difference between the i5 and the X4 is huge.

What I'll do is put together 2 lists one an amd the other Intel and see what ye think. One thing is iv plenty of Intel mobos recommended but no amd ones if anyone could give me some ideas. I would like to be able to oc and have maybe dual gpus in the future if possible. I won't be needing a disc drive and i calculated the delivery into it so all 700 is goin to parts if that helps

ok feel stupid now but how do ye add the basket from hardwareversand like monotype did it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,098 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

go to advanced post and click manage attachment :)

I think that the 870 extreme 3 from asrock is pretty well rounded for a good price
    -SATA 6Gbps, USB 3, two PCI-E slots (x8 each when there's two cards).
    http://www3.hardwareversand.de/articledetail.jsp?aid=36056

The next step up are the 890GX and 890FX boards. The 890FX has the advantage in that you can have two x16 PCI-E slots for your cards, something which you won't see in the Intel mainstream boards. However, this will only be a minimal performance increase seen only in top cards and for the price you could get a good Intel board.

There will also be new 900 series boards released soon. I didn't read up on them much apart from that you can have SLI now (not just crossfire of ATI cards). These will be compatible with AMD's new processors when released.

ok lets see if this works

ah damn work has killed my pc sjills not working the way i planned at all

163043.png

There you go. ;)

This is poorer overall than the original system.
    I would strongly advise especially against that processor - it's ridiculously expensive for what you are getting. The 955 has an unlocked multiplier so you could easily change it to the same speed as the 975.

ya was just reading up on it there its not so great apparently il do another one up

I had this one done out but realised that the second slot is only x4, so that would be a bad choice of board. You save a little over an intel system and some components have been bumped up. The Intel is a very good choice until we see what AMD has. If you want AMD, I think you should wait the 8 days until the real AM3+ boards are out.

163057.PNG

This board looks good for the price.
    http://www3.hardwareversand.de/articledetail.jsp?aid=48265

Interesting looking...
    http://www3.hardwareversand.de/articledetail.jsp?aid=48266

heres another shot at it

ok still no good for me how did you get it to display in the actual post did you have to change the file type or anything but anyway how does that one look theres €140 to play with there so if anything should be improved let me know cheers

I did a problem recorder for you but it was too big to attach so I'll just tell you.
    1. Save your screen print as whatever in mspaint (as png or jpg...).
    2. Attach the picture using the attachment tool.
    3. Copy the link of the attached picture.

163063.png

4. Use the image tool and paste in your link.

seriously thanks for going to the effort. i wont actually be ordering for another week or 2 anyway so il have a look at them when they come out

That last one looks like better balanced choices and makes more sense if you want to save money. I would still recommend you wait the week for the AM3+ boards to avail of future compatibility.

Edit: ^^ Grand, you'll be able to see what's there so.

163071.png

shazam!!!

Well done :D

minecraft is great ;)

ha ha ya its an enormous time eater

163217.png

decided to go for the intel build...till i change my mind again.not worried about being over budget but what do ye guys think.one thing i was wondering would changing the gpu make much of a difference to the system cause i was thinking of throwing in a case fan as i want to oc the cpu aswell.cheers

Hey lads i reckon iv a bit of a weird request here but was hoping ye could help me put together a build using amazon scan and pixmania as going seriously hurtin my credit card.the budget is now €1000 must include a monitor and looking to get an ssd dont care if it gets broken up between the 3 sites and if ye have another good place let me no just hoping to get the best system possible.any and all recommendations welcome and hope i havent given ye something awkward as im aware of different transport fees cheers again lads

• Registered Users Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Fluffy88

Can you not buy from http://www.hardwareversand.de/ ? You won't get much cheaper than it.

As for the build, the one you have a screenshot of above is a great one. I would just add the new components your asking for to it.
    Total build cost: €998.64 + €30 shipping
    8GB-Kit G.Skill RipJaws-X PC3-12800U CL9 €57.51
    Samsung SpinPoint F3 1000GB, SATA II (HD103SJ) €44.09
    Intel Core i5-2500K Box, LGA1155 €175.58
    Sony NEC Optiarc AD-5260S, SATA, schwarz, bulk €17.84
    Scythe Mugen 2 Rev. B, CPU-Kühler, für alle Sockel geeignet €32.99
    Antec Three Hundred, ATX, ohne Netzteil €53.03
    Super-Flower Amazon 80Plus 650W €68.39
    Powercolor HD6950 2048MB Dual-DVI €216.05
    Crucial M4 64GB SSD 6,4cm (2,5") €94.49
    ASRock P67 Pro (B3) Sockel 1155, ATX €86.70
    LG Flatron W2443T-PF €151.97

The monitor is a 24" one and seems to be good but I don't really know a lot about them. It doesn't have speakers if that's a concern for you. The GPU you had above isn't on hwvs anymore so you will have to go with a different one. I just took the cheapest 2GB 6950 on hwvs.
    If you wanted to save a bit of money in that build, you could go for this RAM instead, you won't notice the difference with it. Bring the GPU down to a 1GB version of the 6950 as if your only running one monitor you will hardly need the 2GB version. And you could go for a cheaper case, maybe this one http://www3.hardwareversand.de/articledetail.jsp?aid=42246&agid=631

oh i no about hws alright but im going using credit card so cant use them thought i would make it interesting for ye :)