Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Could you go out with someone who doesn't drink?

• Registered Users Posts: 900 ✭✭✭superfish

cant believe someone is considering not going out with someone based on alcohol consumption ... oh wait I forgot im still on this fecking island !!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭Lady von Purple

I could, and do. I have no problem drinking around my lovely OH, and he has no problem with me drinking. That said, I never get messy-passing-out-drunk, so if you drink a lot when you go out, could be a bit odd.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

Spread wrote: »
    Biggins - old boy! Nothing wrong with not drinking but nothing wrong with drinking either.

Didn't you accuse non-drinkers of smiling less and being generally less fun only a few comments ago? You really are the worst kind of troll.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,281 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

superfish wrote: »
    cant believe someone is considering not going out with someone based on alcohol consumption ... oh wait I forgot im still on this fecking island !!! :D

have you ever been sober and been in a pub with all your mates pissed, its really really annoying , Its not so much would you go out with someone who doesnt drink, more would someone who doesnt drink last any length of time with somebody whos favourite hobby is to get pissed (as a lot of us do)

• Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭JENNYWREN19

as long as they weren't holier than thou because they didn't drink I don't see there's a problem

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Rocket19 wrote: »
    I met a guy in a club over the weekend, he took my number and we went on a date last night.

Would you have given your number to him if he was drunk when you met him?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

craggles wrote: »
    Calling you out on an idiotic strawman argument.

Comparing alcohol to heroin is like comparing a whip to a shotgun and is thoroughly retarded, offensive to both the aim of this thread and to the very purpose of a forum.

I lol'd there because a poster called "old hippy" liked your comment! (and yes I know hippies are known for other drugs, not heroin, but still... :) )

Heroin was the first thing that came into my head.
    Anything else 'bad' that you don't need to try to know it's bad, can be put in place of the word 'heroin' in my post.
    I'm sure you full well understand the point I was making.
    No need for semantics.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

The aspartame in the diet sodas :D

you mean..........d'cancer?!
    VodkaShot wrote: »
    Personally I couldnt go out with someone who didnt drink, they'd remember everything from the night and would be able to tell you every embarrassing thing you said or did.
    I'd also like to know the reason why they didn't drink

ah people who are drinking do the exact same, there's always someone who remembers stuff you didn't grrrr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Depends on whether or not they were moralistic about me getting drunk.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Yep. Someone has to look after me when I'm in a shape.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭theg81der

So depends on the person, did you ask him why he doesn`t drink? Me and my hubby don`t drink but he`s one of the holier than thou mentality and I`m of the I don`t need it cause I`m already crackers kind!

• Registered Users Posts: 900 ✭✭✭superfish

have you ever been sober and been in a pub with all your mates pissed, its really really annoying , Its not so much would you go out with someone who doesnt drink, more would someone who doesnt drink last any length of time with somebody whos favourite hobby is to get pissed (as a lot of us do)

yuppers been there done that !! I dont drink or smoke the past 7 years now, at first I went to pubs an clubs but grew to hate them very fast and dont go at all now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Husk

Not a chance. I love having a drink, like just a glass of wine after work to chill, or a beer after the gym: had lots of great nights going out straight after work, no dinner, just pints- it makes me feel good but I know how to handle it I suppose.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,599 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

I would go out with anyone who is willing to sleep with me. Anyone.

At last!
    I have a 70 yr old virgin aunt- she suffers from insomnia, so glad you can help.Will PM you the details.

You're a pal,thanks.;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

I think unless the person was looking down on me for enjoying a bucket load of guinness then no wouldnt bother me.

My gf doesnt drink much around me, her mates she does, i think i put her off drinking with me after feeding her a rakeload of drink one night lol i still get hammered out with her, god love her shes a star putting up with my drunk sloppy side lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

Jaysus I'd be delighted. but as long as i was allowed to have a few drinks meself

• Registered Users Posts: 433 ✭✭CnaG

Dear drinkers, please stop asking me (and any other non-drinkers) why we don't drink. There's only so many possible answers to that question:

1. Recovering alcoholics/ recovering alcoholics in the family
    2. On medication
    3. Don't like the taste
    4. Don't like the way it effects people
    5. Religious reasons
    6. Think it's a waste of money
    7. Straight Edge

Pick one and let your imagination run riot :p (Did I miss any?)

I get the "why don't you drink" question far too often, incidentally. And occasionally people saying "we must get CnaG drunk/can you imagine CnaG drunk". If they're drunk themselves when this conversation comes up, they'll start listing off the various advantages of getting drunk, and how **** my night must be because I'm not drunk. Generally it's going grand until they start :cool:

This is probably the most interesting thread I have ever read on After Hours by the way. Nice to know so many people know other people who don't drink. I genuinely thought that outside of AA there weren't that many :D

• Registered Users Posts: 451 ✭✭Rocket19

YFlyer wrote: »
    Would you have given your number to him if he was drunk when you met him?

Well, how drunk?
    I could chat to a guy who has had a few drinks/is a bit drunk, fine. But if he was really drunk, or considerably more drunk than me, then why would I?
    I can't see why anyone - assuming they're sober enough to know better - would find a stumbling, slurring guy attractive or worthy of conversation. :confused:

I gave him my number because he was nice and I fancied him. I didn't know at the time that he wasn't drinking. That really has nothing to do with anything though. I didn't take his number based on his 'soberness'.
    If he had been really drunk that night though, I'm assuming he'd probably have been considerably less funny and fanciable!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Well, how drunk?
    I could chat to a guy who has had a few drinks/is a bit drunk, fine. But if he was really drunk, or considerably more drunk than me, then why would I?
    I can't see why anyone - assuming they're sober enough to know better - would find a stumbling, slurring guy attractive or worthy of conversation. :confused:

I gave him my number because he was nice and I fancied him. I didn't know at the time that he wasn't drinking. That really has nothing to do with anything though. I didn't take his number based on his 'soberness'.
    If he had been really drunk that night though, I'm assuming he'd probably have been considerably less funny and fanciable!

There's your answer then.
    Go for it. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

I, for one, wouldnt go out with someone who doesnt drink. If I cant curl up with a bottle of wine with the missus, or go on a pub crawl with her then I'd rather give it a miss! Id only drink once every 2 weeks but its having that option there.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

My wife is a non-drinker; I'm not. We've been going out for almost 10 years now. I was 16 when we started going out. It probably had a big effect of how our social life formed but that's not necessarily a bad thing. We never did the "go out every Saturday night and get smashed" thing. We went to the cinema, comedy gigs, restaurants or just hung out and talked.

When I was in college, I'd drink like anyone else. When I was home at the weekends, I had no want to. Since I finished college, I go out the odd time with different groups of friends where I drink. If we're out together with friends, I'll drink but I'll rarely get drunk. It's not that she'd say anything or whatever but I don't like the idea of getting progressively more drunk and then heading home with her completely sober.

The only time it causes a problem is at parties or weddings. I'm not one to leave early. I like to stay until the end of the night. With her being sober, obviously the longer a night goes on, the less enjoyable it gets for her. We almost always sort it out before though that, if I think it's going to be a long one, I'll bring a spare key, she'll leave whenever she wants and I'll do the same.

Being with someone who doesn't drink is far more positive than negative IMO. Think of the money saved for one. And the health benefits. But it would be an absolute no go if that person was a sanctimonious non-drinker. As long as they're not going to bother you about your drinking, it's all good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

of course i would

i never spiked a 7up before though.... just hope it works the same :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

POST 130
    Guten Abend Shenshen!

Nobody forces anyone. It's just some people resist

C'mon now! A glass of Sherry

Neither would Jaegermeister. Although it might affect your self esteem.

Nobody is saying "everyone does" .......... but you'll find the the one's that do, smile more

POST 154
    Didn't you accuse non-drinkers of smiling less and being generally less fun only a few comments ago? You really are the worst kind of troll.

OK. Do you not see the difference?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

Hi there, I though I would check in to this as a non drinking male in my 30's who has quite a normal dating life.

I find that as a non drinker it's creepy to chat up someone when they are drunk, not only it is way to easy, but it's not really an enjoyable experience if you do manage to sleep with them. It's hard to explain this but when you are having sex with a drunk person they have this weird glazed look in their eye and you feel like a real sleaze ball.

So what is a non drinker to do. Well I find I tend to do most of my meeting early in the night in a pub before going to a club. Get chatting with someone, flirt a little and generally get a phone number and meet them next week for a date. Then as when we both start the date we are both sober, we get going from there and people really start to get to know me well. I think this system is a hell of a lot better then the drunken score culture that Ireland has.

As for going out, well I absolutely love it, I love dancing and I love the company of drunk people. You can totally have a laugh and joint in on the slagging and the banter. You also get a little contact high from being with everyone in this state and believe me if almost feels like you are drunk. Plus there is something liberating about being around drunk people in that you can do things like singing out loud or dancing like a muppet and nobody will remember anyway. There does come a point in the night where it's does get a little boring, there comes a stage when people get hammered, but that part doesn't really kick in till around 2-3 which by then I normally go home.

It's funny, I think the OP is actually insecure. She has a very immature attitude about intoxication and really needs to grow up a little. If you were to ask any of my friends they would tell you that I am the most fun in my group of friends. Just because I don't drink doesn't mean I don't know how to have a good time. I think the people in this country need to realize that it is possible to have a good time without being intoxicated and I think because we have forgotten this fact the attitudes like the OP's arise.

Truth is that the main reason people think that a non drinker can't be any fun is because they are no fun without alcohol. Well, yeah it's true there is an adjustment period. I gave up drinking about 8 years ago and for about 2 years I felt bitter about not being drunk and not being able to join in, but then the bitterness faded and now I am the life of the party.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

As Long as she could have a good time i wouldnt give a flyiing fvck as long as she didnt give me ****.... tho ima loved up drunk who hugs women molestes them and then in traps them into my layer :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Turpentine

Knasher wrote: »
    I'd go in the opposite direction, I'm not sure I could date somebody who couldn't imagine a social life beyond drink.

That's not to say I don't enjoy the odd drink,but I never enjoyed the idea of going drinking multiple times every weekend.

What about one long session that lasts the whole weekend?

It displays stamina and commitment. Fine foundations for any burgeoning relationship.

• Registered Users Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Hurricane-Dean

I've been on many nights out sober (mainly due to having my kidney removed :() and I have to say it's not that you need drink to have a good time, but you do get fairly frustrated with everyone hammered talking absolute shíte but you know if you were drunk too it would be fantastic.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,572 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

I met a guy in a club over the weekend, he took my number and we went on a date last night.
    It didn't take me long to discover that he doesn't drink (he's a personal trainer). Kind of embarassing that I didn't realise this when we met (I was pretty drunk, he must have been sober), but oh well.

While I totally respect that he chooses not to drink, it was admittedly unchartered territory for me. While I have other hobbies, I'm college age and a lot of my social life revolves around alcohol (like most people I guess).

He seems a lovely guy and is great craic but I couldn't help thinking he would feel somewhat removed from my social life. (Although I did meet him in a club, so I can assume he still does the 'normal' things, just without the drink). Aren't drunk people really annoying and unattractive when you're sober though?
    Also, I think I'd feel weird getting drunk and acting the fool, while he soberly watched this unfold. :pac:

Could you go out with someone who doesn't drink (assuming you are a regular drinker).
    I'm aware our dependence on alcohol for a good time is awful in Ireland, and I really don't get very drunk ever, but at the same time, I couldn't help thinking "what the hell am I gonna do with him!!?

At yer ages it probably won't work out he'll likely become bored with drink being such a big part of your social life and break it off.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

At yer ages it probably won't work out he'll likely become bored with drink being such a big part of your social life and break it off.
    Thats a hell of a huge automatic assumption and far from so in my experience.
    I have over many decades met and seen and know of such couples, its not the case at all.
    If two people meet up and really see in each other something they like, the small detail that one drinks little or not at all becomes a non-item in rapid time given that the relationship is actually going forwards rather than going nowhere initially (from part of the time, allowing automatic assumptions to get in the way!).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭Noreen1

VodkaShot wrote: »
    Whether people like it or not though in this country, drinking is the norm. At the weekend people go out drinking, so i'd be wondering why an Irish person born and raised here would choose not to, that's all.

I'm a non-drinker.

I don't like the taste of it, I don't like the smell of it, and on the one occasion I did get drunk (Whisky for a flu) - it just went straight to my head - no happy stage, just a spinning head!!

My OH used to drink, the fact that I didn't wasn't an issue, we went to clubs and had the craic the same as anyone else.

The one thing that annoys me about drinkers (usually when they've had one too many) is the fact that they often refuse to accept the teetotallers actually don't want an alcoholic drink, and take it as an insult if you ask for a coke or orange juice. Now that's annoying.......

Otherwise, each to their own:D:D.

To judge someone as unsuitable to socialise with because they choose drink/not to drink is just stupid imho.