Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Female gardai pose as prostitutes

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

I think Conor Pope should be on this, as a consumer affairs issue.. The product should be clearly labelled as being a guard..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

philologos wrote: »
    Not really. I don't believe sex in and of itself is wrong or immoral. That's another topic anyway. In fact in many ways it is a great thing, "fairytale book" or no "fairytale book".

I do believe that prostitution under financial coercion is more akin to rape. Sex under coercion. I draw the line there as personally I would see it as an abusive. Sexuality in human nature is something that is so closely connected to human emotion and is more likely to cause prolonged damage on a psychological level than a 9 - 5 job no matter how much you hate it.

Except that it isn't rape. Rape is sex without consent. I someone pays someone to let them have sex with them the person who is receiving the money gives there consent to have sex. That isn't rape. Consent has been given even if money has changed hands.

I think it's more probable that it is because that it is something that is very difficult for people to come forward about like other forms of sexual abuse.

Or maybe there isn't as many people that have been trafficked as you might think. If we had as many trafficked people being brought into the country as Ruhama wants us to believe we'd surely see far more cases simply due to the larger number. But we're not.

I don't believe this happens in most cases where it has been legalised. As I've mentioned already in this thread there have been issues in the Netherlands with criminality. When this was raised a number of posters shrugged it off as personal prejudice on the mayors part without giving any reason for this position.

And theres the far worse dangers when it's illegal. Remember all the girls killed in the Ipswich murders were all prostitutes. They were vulnerable because they aren't protected by law and so have no protection. Even the Womens institute in England support legalizing brothels.

http://women.timesonline.co.uk/tol/life_and_style/women/article2821186.ece

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

Except that it isn't rape. Rape is sex without consent. I someone pays someone to let them have sex with them the person who is receiving the money gives there consent to have sex. That isn't rape. Consent has been given even if money has changed hands.

Coercion != consent as far as I would see it.
    Or maybe there isn't as many people that have been trafficked as you might think. If we had as many trafficked people being brought into the country as Ruhama wants us to believe we'd surely see far more cases simply due to the larger number. But we're not.

Again, given what we know of the case in Britain and across Europe I'm doubting this heavily.
    And theres the far worse dangers when it's illegal. Remember all the girls killed in the Ipswich murders were all prostitutes. They were vulnerable because they aren't protected by law and so have no protection. Even the Womens institute in England support legalizing brothels.

Again, I'm not seeing how this is the case. Illegality in and of itself isn't what I'm discussing. I'm also discussing an effective police strategy which clearly and significantly decreases the levels of sex trafficking. This has happened in Sweden over the past decade. I.E - something that actually works and something that actually deals with the problem which is what our current laws and as far as I'm concerned complete legalisation don't do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

http://women.timesonline.co.uk/tol/life_and_style/women/article2821186.ece

I think if it was proved beyond a doubt these women would be safer if prostitution was legalized, some people just will never accept it on moral grounds.

I think its more a moral issue with people in Ireland than a women safety issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

I was one of the people that pulled up and this super hot garda chick leaned in the window and when she saw me she ended up paying me for sex

ep2-jay-190.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Coercion != consent as far as I would see it.

Accepting money to do something is not coercion. No one is forced to take the money and do it. They choos to take the money and they choose to do what they are being paid for. Just because you see doing it for money as coercion does not make it so.

Again, given what we know of the case in Britain and across Europe I'm doubting this heavily.

And we're not denying there is trafficking. But every prostitute in ireland is not trafficked. But ruhama want to make us believe that all prostitutes are trafficked and thus that the scale of trafficking if far higher than it is in reality.

Again, I'm not seeing how this is the case. Illegality in and of itself isn't what I'm discussing. I'm also discussing an effective police strategy which clearly and significantly decreases the levels of sex trafficking. This has happened in Sweden over the past decade. I.E - something that actually works and something that actually deals with the problem which is what our current laws and as far as I'm concerned complete legalisation don't do.

If we had a situation where sex workers could work in a regulated industry then we could have police efforts focused on the traffickers without wasting time on prostitutes who havent been trafficked.

Just look at this recent operation in Limerick.

http://www.limerickleader.ie/news/local/limerick_gardai_clamp_down_on_illegal_brothels_1_2736915

The women who have been caught are not believed to have been trafficked or coerced. Now in a situation where those women could work legally in a regulated brothel the Gards wouldn't need to worry about them but could spend more time focusing o trafficked prostitutes who wouldn't be working within the legal system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

I'm also discussing an effective police strategy which clearly and significantly decreases the levels of sex trafficking. This has happened in Sweden over the past decade.

Opinion, has not been proven to be so.
    In 2008 Kajsa Wahlberg, of the human trafficking unit at Sweden's national police board, conceded that accurate statistics are hard to obtain, but estimated that the number of prostitutes in Sweden dropped 40% from 2,500 in 1998 to 1,500 in 2003. However by 2010 she had conceded that the policy had failed, and that issues around prostitution were increasing
    Socialstyrelsen (National Board of Health and Welfare)
    Monitoring and evaluation of the law was delegated to the Socialstyrelsen, which has produced three reports (2000, 2004, 2007). These acknowledged the difficulties in evaluating the situation and provided no hard evidence that the law had in any way achieved its objectives. The 2007 report states that street prostitution is on the increase after an initial decline and that customers and sex workers now use the internet and mobile phone to communicate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

So fiddy squid for a go of a Banner in the back seat of yer jammer ?

I made a wee poem there :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Here's the statistics that they claim to use.

If you think they are dubious I'm sure you can contact them for citations.

As for Ruhama, ICTU Women, and the Immigrant Council of Ireland, at least they are actually doing something to counteract the shameful abuse that occurs to prostitutes (many involved against their will) rather than pretending it isn't a problem.

Human trafficing isn't the problem in this instance though. Prostitution is the "issue" being addressed with the stories in the OP. The Garda protraying herself as a prostitute would have most likely been Irish. Was she smuggled up from Cork or something bai?

More to the discussion as it's flown, a lot of women are in prostitution purely because they can make a lot of money quickly. In saying that though, there's a some that even enjoy it. But over all, it'll be very few that are being pushed into it against their will.

There's a strong online commuinity of punters and they do tend to be weary of trafficing along with the puntees. The websites tend to keep on putting up banners about how to report any issues as well.

Charging the would be punter, does not help sort out the problem with human trafficing as not all human trafficing leads to "sex slavery."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭davetherave

they must have either hired new bangards or those men were arrested for having no standards

Wow, less than 60 seconds to post a witty reply and get a dig in at the Guards....... :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭BlueBaron

jesus they must of been stuck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Do you think its wrong for men to use escorts?
    Something like this will always be about what side is debated.

- from the police side of view. Blokes will always goto prostitutes. So by them posing they are just "catching" what will inevidently occur.

- from the other side, its wrong that they "bait" - understandably its a persons choice to use a prostitute. But, if some guy wants to pay for it. Its his choice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

More to the discussion as it's flown, a lot of women are in prostitution purely because they can make a lot of money quickly. In saying that though, there's a some that even enjoy it. But over all, it'll be very few that are being pushed into it against their will

How can you know that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

I find that a very degrading way to treat your fellow garda officer. If you dress women in attire that lures people to engage with them for prostitution, what is that saying about the way women are being treated in the Garda Siochana? There was a study done in the U.S. a number of years ago, where college students were given two roles in a prison setting, one half of the students were assigned the role of prisoners, the other half assigned the role of officers. This was a social psychology experiment. The experiment had to be stopped because the students who were assigned the role of officers became too violent towards their fellow students, whom they had perceived as less than them. I could see how this could go wrong. Would those officers who posed as prostitutes be seen in a lesser light by their colleagues (it happens, social psychology experiments have proven it), and if so are they open to harrassment and would they be less likely to be promoted than other female gardai who did not dress as prostitutes. The other thing to consider is this: Has this already affected the self-esteems of those officers who engaged in the garda operation? I believe that it will definitely have changed their outlook on the situation that exists for prostitutes and on men/women in general to some degree.

What a load of tripe! If someone thinks less of their colleague because they dresses as a hooker to catch a criminal then they're shallow and immature.

I'd think more of them for taking on an unpalatable task. Assuming, that is, they didn't go through with the "act".

Do those students not know the difference between acting and real life? Maybe they think less of Julia Roberts coz of "Pretty Woman" too ?

Am I the only one who sees potential for confusion re

1) Telling them they're being charged ("sure I know that - €50 as usual, right?")
    2) Putting them in handcuffs (mind you, this may be made easier)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Marguerite Tonery

dillo2k10 wrote: »
    Im pretty sure that was just a film.
    No it wasn't. I was on a psychology exam paper. 2nd year summer paper in UCD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Should the gardai not target the vice dens instead?
    Is this not the ultimate male fantasy.... A ban guarda as a pro and slapping on handcuffs.

Hummmmmm

Is this not the ultimate male fantasy.... A ban guarda as a pro and slapping on handcuffs.

Hummmmmm

Personally prefer if she's an amateur!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 djdrobins

I know that they volunteer for this position, but surely the pimps etc who work the particular areas will monitor for new girls coming in. This will lead to someone (A female Garda) getting seriously hurt or killed.

This I think is a bad idea - they are targeting the wrong people. It's like arresting the guy who uses the drugs and forgetting the supplier of them in the first place. Look at the Katy French issue - she was not branded with (Druggie) yet there was a man hunt for the supplier.

The guards need to try and infiltrate the brothels and pimps - not the streets where they can lure pathetic guys into sex.

On a lighter note: And I also know a few hot ban gardas.
    Do they wear the Garda Uniform and take our the hand-cuffs, just to give a "Happy Ending" to the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Prostitution itself is legal in Ireland, it's just hanging out on the corner looking for one isn't, nor is pimping (so no brothels!).

Want a hooker? Get online and hire an escort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭RussellTuring

There is a lot of faith in that however. People are extorted for sex services across the world.

I assume you're referring to the men, since they are by and large the ones handing over the money. In that case, it appears the Gardaí are arresting the men for their own good, eh?
    The "industry" of prostitution is full of trafficked individuals who are doing this against their own will.

And since human trafficking is illegal, anyone found guilty of this can already be convicted, whether the victims were working as prostitutes or domestic servants. I'm still not convinced, however, that it is "full" of such people.
    There is nothing to suggest that legalisation makes this any better in the case of the Netherlands.

Except that once prostitution is legal, it is much easier for the workers to get protection from the law for crimes that they would be much less likely to report, were it illegal. Or if the police want to find out who is running a particular brothel, all they have to do is check who holds the licence. If groups like Ruhama and legislators actually cared about these women, they would do their best to bring them under this protection by legitimising what they do.
    The evidence does however show that a pragmatic model such as the Swedish model does work in eliminating sex exploitation.

I wouldn't call a questionnaire evidence. Is there something else? Nevertheless, do you consider any kind of sex for money exploitation, or just cases involving trafficking?
    That's not moralising beyond protecting the safety, dignity and respect of human beings.

So in other words, it is. Call me mad, but I think adults should be allowed to make up their own minds about what is best for their own safety, dignity and respect.

Except that once prostitution is legal
    It's already legal.

Seachmall wrote: »
    It's already legal.

No. Trading sex for money is but as I'm sure you are aware and are ignoring to be pedantic, there is much more to it, such as soliciting in public, for which people are arrested. Is that better?

I was also talking about the Netherlands in the text you quoted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭Don Juan DeMagoo

BEASTERLY wrote: »
    I don't see a problem with the tactics being used by the gardai. If they quell the demand the supply will stop.

Oh I laughed so hard...... Case in point Prohibition, remember that they used the same tactics there. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭Ernest

So this is why you never see a Garda (of either gender) on the main shopping streets of Dublin or near the river and the Boardwalks where drug dealers are rife - they are all off on a Morality detail. This is not funny - it is tragic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

You have no opinion/undecided
    that poll hurts my face...

No. Trading sex for money is but as I'm sure you are aware and are ignoring to be pedantic, there is much more to it, such as soliciting in public, for which people are arrested. Is that better?

I was also talking about the Netherlands in the text you quoted.

Don't lose the plot with me, I'm just stating a fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

The fact that so many lads seemingly can't get laid for free and have to resort to trying to pay big diesel-model women Gardai for sex is a really sad reflection on Irish society.:rolleyes:;)

Ellis Dee wrote: »
    The fact that so many lads seemingly can't get laid for free and have to resort to trying to pay big diesel-model women Gardai for it is a really sad reflection on Irish society.:rolleyes:;)

50 quid for the ride is cheaper than paying for a club, paying for drinks, paying for kebab and paying for a taxi back to hers.

Getting the ride is never free.

Don't lose the plot with me, I'm just stating a fact.

How exactly did I lose the plot? I was responding to something you quoted out of context and trying to clarify it in case you genuinely did think I was referring to Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Embedding properly on yer first post, thats impressive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭Don Juan DeMagoo

50 quid for the ride is cheaper than paying for a club, paying for drinks, paying for kebab and paying for a taxi back to hers.

LOL you the man, what a lady killer :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

I think you should have done like me and spent a lot of time outside of Ireland in countries with a concept (you may have heard of it;)) called equality, where women are as likely to appreciate sex as a man is and don't expect to be wined and dined, because they also have independent incomes and if they fancy you, bob's your uncle.

Didn't someone or other write a book about Ireland and comment that the problems Irish women have with sex can be summed up in one word: priests.

And the problems priests have with sex can be summed up in two words: the Pope.

I've never had to pay for sex. And I never would have, either.:rolleyes: