Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

(N/D)igger the dog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭melb

You see rappers using the N word all the time. "But that's our word..."

If the world wants rid of this word the whole world has to stop using it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

N*gger means black. The dogs name was no more racist than calling a dalmation 'Spot'. Just because people have become over sensitive doesn't mean history should be rewritten.

Also if people find this offensive I hope they never find out what was happening in the concentration camps at the time.

Far worse things were happening to people and indeed to dogs at the time.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Call the dog Snigger?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

They should rename it Knigger with a silent K

Does anyone remember an eighties episode of Eastenders where Dot Cotton went into the market and asked for a ball of 'n*gger brown wool'?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

...Also if people find this offensive I hope they never find out what was happening in the concentration camps at the time.

Far worse things were happening to people and indeed to dogs at the time.
    Indeed sometimes both at the same time.
    I remember reading one poor mothers account some years back and to this day it gives me shivers down my spine, not just as a father of four but as what I hope I am, a decent human being.

I will in my own words retell part of her story BUT HONESTLY if your of a sensitive nature and often read or see things you sometimes wish you didn't, later and want to try and forget - PLEASE - PLEASE - DON'T read the following.
    The following is NOT a joke or wind-up.
    The survivor of the camp had a baby when they brought her to one of the concentration camps. When she got there, once off the train, they took the baby out of her arms and actually threw it across a small wall to where other babies had been. I say "had" - because still alive, the guards of the camp let loose their German Alsation dogs to feed and rip apart what they saw as fodder coming across the wall occasionally.

I honestly was sick when I read that harrowing account.
    It still gives me nightmares and sorrows me to this day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

I think the most offensive thing is that they are remaking dambusters.

doesnt anyone in hollywood have an original idea anymore? Jackson's last decent original film was Braindead anyway. now he's doing what he did with king kong, take a great movie, through money at it and come up with something way too long and infinitely passable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭melb

I think the most offensive thing is that they are remaking dambusters.

doesnt anyone in hollywood have an original idea anymore? Jackson's last decent original film was Braindead anyway. now he's doing what he did with king kong, take a great movie, through money at it and come up with something way too long and infinitely passable

There comes a point in time when no idea is original....

"Simpsons did it"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Next thing you know they will be remaking the Godfather films.
    I can't imagine the amount of watering down there some sections might call for!
    There was uproar the first time around and that was when they were supposed to THEN be sensitive supposedly to such things!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

melb wrote: »
    There comes a point in time when no idea is original....

"Simpsons did it"

I've never seen a film about a one eyed transvestite gorrilla whos lost a bag of his dads cum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Sin_J

I've never seen a film about a one eyed transvestite gorrilla whos lost a bag of his dads cum

I think you just haven't searched the internet hard enough :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

They should rename the dog "dawg"

"yo dawg, we called yo dawg, "dawg" so yo dawg don't have to be hatin' on niggas dawg" etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Bambi wrote: »
    They should rename the dog "dawg"

"yo dawg, we called yo dawg, "dawg" so yo dawg don't have to be hatin' on niggas dawg" etc etc

They should go the whole hog and rename the film "Daaaaaaaaaaaaamn!Busters" and change the dog's name to Biggy and have him be a wise-cracking, foul-mouthed CGI bulldog voiced by Ice-T who blows up the dams himself and then flies to Berlin and kills Hitler in the middle of a rally by bouncing a bone with a bomb in it along the street right at him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Sin_J

They should go the whole hog and rename the film "Daaaaaaaaaaaaamn!Busters" and change the dog's name to Biggy and have him be a wise-cracking, foul-mouthed CGI bulldog voiced by Ice-T who blows up the dams himself and then flies to Berlin and kills Hitler in the middle of a rally by bouncing a bone with a bomb in it along the street right at him.

I want to see this movie! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

N*gger means black.

What language are you referring to?

Saying "n*gger" means black is like saying "Taig" means Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

negro means black in Spanish and Portuguese, maybe that's what they meant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

I suppose it's up to the film-makers if they wish to change it or not. They're making the thing, putting up the money; don't go and and see it if you don't want to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

It reminds me of when some people got their backs up about the fact that Quentin Tarantino uses the word 'n*gger' so much in his films cos he's a white guy. PC bull****. It's a movie, and it's supposed to be a reflection of real life. Believe it or not, some stupid f*cking people used to name their dogs 'N*gger' (some probably still do). Yes, it's offensive, but it's a fact. It's history, it's not as though the director is sticking it in there for the craic cos he's a massive racist. People need to get a grip. They should leave the name in, let people be offended like they should be, and move on. It's a piece of art, and the best art is supposed to be realistic. The reality is some people are racists - who'd have thunk it??!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

One day as I sat reading my newspaper my 3 year old was watching a film.
    I was aghast to hear one of the characters was called Tinker Bell.
    To protect her against becoming a person who would alienate an ethnic group of people I switched off the film and banned her from watching it again.
    Anyway, I doubt there is much resemblance between her character, a young female being dressed in luminous, scantly tight fitting attire, but to protect those on the fringes of society I decided my action was appropriate until such time they change her name.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

This is political correctness gone mad. It really is.

Anyone remember Golly Bars?
    http://profile.ak.fbcdn.net/hprofile-ak-snc4/50314_152806536307_6955561_n.jpg

One of HB's finest icecreams
    Now discontinued, haven't seen them in years

What language are you referring to?

Saying "n*gger" means black is like saying "Taig" means Irish.

N*gger was used in Britain up until the 1950s to describe a fabric colour, although they usually said n*gger brown to describe a shade of brown.

http://www.milanoo.com/Vancl-Handsome-******-brown-100-Cotton-Mens-Jacket-p73458.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

was the original film any good?

Yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Android 666

Red Alert wrote: »
    This is political correctness gone mad. It really is.

It finally makes an appearance. Yay!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

The dog should be called ******, that was the dogs name!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Android 666

It reminds me of when some people got their backs up about the fact that Quentin Tarantino uses the word 'n*gger' so much in his films cos he's a white guy. PC bull****. It's a movie, and it's supposed to be a reflection of real life.

Quentin Tarantino's films are a reflection of real life? That's a new one on me…
    Believe it or not, some stupid f*cking people used to name their dogs 'N*gger' (some probably still do). Yes, it's offensive, but it's a fact. It's history, it's not as though the director is sticking it in there for the craic cos he's a massive racist. People need to get a grip. They should leave the name in, let people be offended like they should be, and move on. It's a piece of art, and the best art is supposed to be realistic. The reality is some people are racists - who'd have thunk it??!

The name of the dog is a side issue and not one that actually does anything to enhance the film. I would contend that someone calling a dog ****** back in the forties would be more a case of uninformed ignorance without any malicious intent or real racist motivation while somebody calling a dog that in 2011 would be doing so to cause offense knowing the feeling it provokes in the black community. The significance of words changes as time passes and in this case it has taken on a much more offensive meaning to people. All it would do in this film would be to act as a distraction and cause an unnecessary debate. I can understand the film makers desire to change a pretty insignificant detail like this when it is not going to have a major impact on what is going to happen in the rest of the film.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,642 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

The film should reflect the racism that was prevelant at the time, The dogs name should be Ni*ger as it originaly was and everyone should take offence to it and still watch the movie.

Was "******" actually a racist word at the time, though? Or was it just a neutral descriptor which could be applied in either a racist or non-racist context depending on the intent of the user?

I believe, for example, that "Oriental" is still a fairly acceptable term in Ireland. Is it racist? Try saying it in San Francisco.

[Edit: Sunova... The frigging anti-offence filter on boards can't even allow an etymological discussion on the word. Heaven forbid someone might see it an take offence at the word and not the intent behind it]

NTM

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

many black rappers refer to each other n*****r and want their friends to refer to them as one too

the dog is black maybe he wants his friends to call him that too.

has anyone thought of the dogs feeling in all this or are they being just to racist to whitey with the word we cant use but they can. man im such a honky!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Meleftone wrote: »
    They are still going to have to use the N word as The mission codes (transmitted in morse) were: Goner, meaning "bomb dropped"; N****r, meaning that the Möhne was breached and; Dinghy meaning that the Eder was breached. They used N****r as the dog was killed the morning of the mission.
    You've just ruined the film!!!!:mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

When I was growing up most people with a black dog called it 'blackie' or 'Nigger', thats how it was.

People used to also call Velcro 'niggers hair'.

Kiwi polish also produced a polish called 'Negro'.

But things are different now, tbh I think its fair enough to change the dogs name in the movies remake - whats the point in offending someone when it can be avoided?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Ditch

If Gibson had originally named his 'Labrador Of Colour' " Gypo ". " Knacker ". Or " Pikey " ..... would this thread even exist?

Err ..... Yes. I Am indicating a sense of " One rule for some .... ".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

So Peter Jackson, the director known for trying to keep as faithful to the original story as possible, fell to pressure...what a flake!

Should have told the execs to go fcuk themselves, and stop re-writing history as they see fit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Dymo wrote: »
    Well it would be great to keep the historical references, BUT this would cause too much offense and not PC to do so

Unlike every rap song ever made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭dresden8

was the original film any good?

Excellent. Star Wars was a piss poor re-make.

Meleftone wrote: »
    They are still going to have to use the N word as The mission codes (transmitted in morse) were: Goner, meaning "bomb dropped"; N****r, meaning that the Möhne was breached and; Dinghy meaning that the Eder was breached. They used N****r as the dog was killed the morning of the mission.
    N!gger isn't dead when they decide upon the codenames

The dog was Guy Gibson's, and also the squadron's mascott for a time, that's why they used it, not because he was dead.

Ditch wrote: »
    If Gibson had originally named his 'Labrador Of Colour' " Gypo ". " Knacker ". Or " Pikey " ..... would this thread even exist?

Err ..... Yes. I Am indicating a sense of " One rule for some .... ".

Well if they decided to change the dog's name in the re-make from Gypo to Hippo, or Knacker to Packer, or Pikey to Bikey for PC reasons, then, yes, I'm sure this thread would still exist.

yes, I'm sure this thread would still exist.

Possibly so. Only, in my experience, probably more aligned with being allowed to 'call a spade a spade'.

I still sense double standards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

American market says 'Do(h)'

Just watched that youtube clip on Page 1, ****** was killed :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭evil_seed

Context ffs. The word on it's own is fine. It's the context it's used in that's the problem. I hate this PC bull**** brigade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Obligatory Stewart Lee PC vid. No better explanation than this really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

TheVoodoo wrote: »
    My dog is called Asterix.

My cat is called Eusebio hes crap at football though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

mikemac wrote: »
    Eeny meany miney mo
    Catch a ní*** by the toe
    If he squeals let him go
    Eeny meany miney mo

Me and my friends were racist 4 and 5 year olds :eek:
    As that's what we used

This rewriting is constantly going on, with Famous Five and Secret Seven
    Many of us read Enid Blython with golliwogs and rough common folk and the coloured people.
    They were written back in the 50's but buy a new edition today and it's been edited

As a member of the Enid Blyton Appreciation Society our advice to readers is never buy Enid Blyton books new.

There are loads of second hand copies of 1960s and 1970s editions out there. Buy them instead and f*ck the censors.

The baddie in The Island of Adventure is black. Blyton makes repeated reference to his colour all through the book.

The supposed baddie in The Mystery of The Disappearing Cat - Boycie - was dropped on his head as a child. Constant jibes at him being "queer in the head" and being "simple"

Why would anyone want to change this stuff?

Re-writing history is WRONG.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭BehindTheScenes

Ah sure that's nothing I have a dog (shih tzu) called fried Lice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Don't kick my dog and call him **** Off.
    My dogs name is Rover...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭housetypeb

I remember reading the 'Sudden' books when i was young, he had a horse called ****** because it was coal black,never saw anything wrong with it at the time.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sudden

Great books for a young lad at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

Sorry if I come across as insensitive here but if you listen to the majority of even mainstream rap music Nígger is shouted plenty of times per song, this doesn't appear to offend the black community (otherwise rap artists would stop using it due to diminishing sales / public outrage I'd imagine).

This debate seems to be more about white people worrying about offending black people, if the director is so worried about this then why not make the owner of the dog black and still call the dog Nígger?

Hmmm, I'm guessing that the owner of the dog won't be black in the new movie, as it wouldn't be historically accurate, so how in the name of jaysus is changing the name of the dog in the new movie going to be historically accurate?

Why not just include historical fact? even put a note at the beginning of the film indicating that the film is based on historical FACT, including ALL names used?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

Reminds me of the dog named 'Packie', after Packie Bonner.

Needless to say, the Pakistani gentleman was rather miffed when the mutt got lost.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Cant change history when its set in stone.

I seen that grave!
    Its in front of one of the hangars at RAF Scampton in Lincolnshire.

Home of the Red Arrows.

Lapin wrote: »
    I seen that grave!
    Its in front of one of the hangars at RAF Scampton in Lincolnshire.

Actually ~ and purely for the sake of bunging in a bit more " Historical accuracy " (I wasn't there. What can I say? But, I do remember reading, on line, a piece from some people who were there, at the time)

1/ The Dog in question was an absolute b@stard. Roundly hated by just about everyone on site, except for Gibson.

2/ After his death (The Dogs) certain members of the Ground Crew simply dragged his remains into a copse beside the point of impact and pretty much left him there.

2a/ Now it gets a bit cloudy ~ my memory. But, I believe it was either A/ They, along with others, later returned to urinate on the cadaver.

Or was it that B/ They dug a shallow grave. Announced that was where dead Dog laid. Then That got urinated on, as a regular thing, by crew returning from the pub. Something like that.

Either way; I'm pretty sure the original (allegedly empty) grave was in fact 'moved' to its present day position.

I s'pose, either way, one should see the marked spot at Scampton as more a memorial.

:rolleyes: Sorry. All getting a bit 'deep' here .....