Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Science Exam 2011

• 15-06-2011 01:21PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭

Thursday 16th June 2011.
    Morning 9:30 - 11:30

Didn't see a thread for this so I'd thought I'd make one myself. So, how are ye fairin' up for it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,724 ✭✭✭mixery

Every job is a self portrait of the person who does it. Autograph your work with excellence.

My real face is going to come out tomorrow...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Lucan Bohs

Feeling confident, at least a B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 AllisonB

used to be great at science but recetly I neglected it as i got 98% in pres so I really have to get my act together tonight :/

does anyone know how much the experiment book at project is worth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Tiffy6666

AllisonB wrote: »

Like 10%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Desire.

Hoping for an A. Bit sketchy on the Chemistry though.
    AllisonB wrote: »

Experiments - 10%.
    Investigations - 25%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 phenomenale

Pretty confident I'll get an A. Science is my best subject :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭Slow Show

Yay, Science. Gonna be a nice break from writing loads (exempting French and CSPE) and I feel reasonably well-prepared for it, gotta look over some of the crappier parts of Physics and some annoying biology definitions. Should be OK, I think I did a fairly good project thing so fingers crossed it goes well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭Bruckey2345

I was just wondering if i was to study 5 topics from biology , chemistry and physics tonight which ones one you suggest , as i am screwed for science!!!

You can't really predict Science, a bit of everything comes up.

Someone posted some predictions in the "Screwed for Science" thread if you look there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭Bruckey2345

Sound

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭rorrissey

Ughh, I'm a bit worried. I've neglected Science so much, even though I really like it. I'm grand at Biology but I'm just worried about Chem and Physics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭FatRat

I'm expecting this and German to be absolute trainwrecks for me. Especially after doing so well in the past 6 subjects.
    Highest I'll get is a B in both I'd say! Even that's kind of unlikely.

Does anyone know if they could find out if you lied about your experiments book?
    I haven't handed it in. And even though I ticked the boxes in coursework B, my teacher says that he needs to sign a sheet for each individual saying whether or not coursework A is handed in. But another class in my year said the teacher only signs one thing for the whole class.
    Which is true? Because I'm definitely destined for a C if I lose that 10%.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 toxicgasmask

I think im like the only person i know who find biology waaaaaaaaay harder than chem and physics. in the mocks i almost got full marks in chem and physics and only got about half of biology

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭robman60

FatRat wrote: »
    Does anyone know if they could find out if you lied about your experiments book?
    I haven't handed it in. And even though I ticked the boxes in coursework B, my teacher says that he needs to sign a sheet for each individual saying whether or not coursework A is handed in. But another class in my year said the teacher only signs one thing for the whole class.
    Which is true? Because I'm definitely destined for a C if I lose that 10%.
    The teacher just signs saying that all experiments were completed, not if each individual has written in every experiment. You are leaving a risk though, because an inspector could look at your copies and 0% for sure then!

I hate chemistry >:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 dylanlolwut

the science exam is half nine tomorrow and i still havent began to study for science because some assh*le stole my science book! if anyone has any websites or predictions of will be coming up i would really appreciated

Don't worry. ThePhysicsTeacher.ie

You're pretty much sorted with that.

Desire. wrote: »
    Hoping for an A. Bit sketchy on the Chemistry though.

Experiments - 10%.
    Investigations - 25%.

sound thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭robman60

Mock result: 85%
    Predicted result tomorrow: 68%

I seem to be unable to retain scientific definitions and points for more than two weeks. At my second year parent teacher meeting (yes, second year) my teacher was saying "ya, A in the JC no bother" I don't want to let her down, but I feel it's on the cards at the moment. :(

Pre Result: 73%.
    Predicted Result: 88%.

Hope so anyway. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 AnnKiins

Mock result-67
    Predicted JC result- 48

Oh Dear...

Desire. wrote: »
    Don't worry. ThePhysicsTeacher.ie

You're pretty much sorted with that.

THAAAANKKK YOOOUUUU SOOOOO MUCHHHHHHHH <3:):p

AnnKiins wrote: »
    THAAAANKKK YOOOUUUU SOOOOO MUCHHHHHHHH <3:):p

No problem! Excellent website to be fair to the teacher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭VenomousFish

I'm really looking forward to tomorrow, science is my best/favourite subject!!!

Well, if you're just looking for general advice, don't focus too much on any chapter, cos the science paper covers everything pretty much equally. Try and remember any chemical equations that could come up, like the ones for the production of Oxygen or Carbon Dioxide. Make sure you understand the calculations in physics, as they always seem to catch people out. And, for the love of god don't get your units wrong, they're the easiest marks you'll ever lose. Always here to help! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭P H A 7V T O M

This.... Is going to be easy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Indiego

mock result- 94%
    predicted result - A, or ill cry XD
    I love love love science, along with maths, I actually get genuine enjoyment out of learning it :L Aiming high for the exam, as long as my project work doesnt let me down :L
    only section I'm worried about is physics - praying we don't get any tricky questions :L

one piece of advice I can give to everyone - learn the production of oxygen annd carbon dioxide, the neutralisation and the respiration/photosynthesis chemical eqns, at least one of them is bound to come up ^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭leavingcert.

I think im like the only person i know who find biology waaaaaaaaay harder than chem and physics. in the mocks i almost got full marks in chem and physics and only got about half of biology

I was the same last year when I was doing it for the JC...thought there was way more to learn and way harder stuff in the biology section. I got an A :D

ended up doing chemistry and biology for leaving cert, would have done physics, too, if it wasn't for the "subject lines" system in my school :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭Moromaster

I found my experiment book in my bookcase when I was studying... am I screwed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 pawelz8

If I get full marks from the Coursework and I will get 65% from the test will I get an A ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭omg a kitty

pawelz8 wrote: »
    If I get full marks from the Coursework and I will get 65% from the test will I get an A ?

65% in the written test will be 42% overall so no. you need 77% in the written and the 35% from coursework to get an A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭omg a kitty

Moromaster wrote: »
    I found my experiment book in my bookcase when I was studying... am I screwed?

You need to find your teacher, they definetly hasn't sent it away cos your test is supposed to go with it. And IF they have one of those spare folders or whatever they are :p, I'm sure they won't mind opening your old one putting them both in a new one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,654 ✭✭✭shadowninty

Pre result - 75%
    Predicted result - 85%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,724 ✭✭✭mixery

Wow, I passed anyway! Maybe even a C will fly in. To be honest I was expecting a bit more challenge from the J.C .

I hate isotopes:(

dafuq? no experiments? huh?
    ah well, yay :D
    went unbelievably well, in an ideal world I got 100%, except, that seed question, whats the name of the Inside? I said food supply, can't find it in my book lol

at about 10:55 there was a mass exodus from the hall, and everyoneeee left at the same time hahah XD I was finished by 10:15 so I looked over it for 45 mins (zzzzzzz)

went unbelievably well, in an ideal world I got 100%, except, that seed question, whats the name of the Inside? I said food supply, can't find it in my book lol
    You're right, it's called the food supply! But what was going on with that question about the plant and the hair dryer? Some of the questions were just ridiculous...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 juniorcertlol

im exactly the same :/

Some of the questions were a bit strange.

Definitely got a B, hoping for an A.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭TheRedDevil10

yoke was solid :(

You're right, it's called the food supply! But what was going on with that question about the plant and the hair dryer? Some of the questions were just ridiculous...

that question was to do with how heat and wind effects the rate of transpiration in a plant, but I can't really remember the specific questions lol

Eeppp, so happy with that!
    No experiments- Thank you God <3
    And most of the questions were common sense really >.<

Btw, what was the splitting on light into 7 colors?
    I had it in the back of my head but then forgot it while going into the exam x__x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

Disgusting test, dafuq was the yoke with the copper and water on about?

There goes my A :(

Everyone I've talked to said that test was kinda horrible...some of the questions were very strange indeed, usually doing science papers I only find maybe one part for each section that catches me (and I don't mind writing about experiments, so ugh) but there were loads of niggling things in this...I did alright in Biology looking back (I said the food supply was on the inside, and I just wrote the testa for the outside, fairly positive that's wrong though...and I said that a snake was an invertebrate, WHY did I do that?), CHEMISTRY let me down...and I never ever get caught by Chemistry, I was sickened by it...I didn't do horrendously like, but there were waaay too many questions I don't think I got right...and I wrote some messed up definition for molecules...and that plastic question kinda caught me a little, I answered it though and I think I did alright, same with the magnesium question, made a decent try...But Physics was really lovely, I don't think I lost more than a few marks in it, and it's usually my weakest section. So yeah, <3 for Physics right now.

Anyway, hopefully I scraped an A in that paper but I'm not sure I did. If I got a B, well, hopefully my project and experiments will bring me up (and whoever said experiments copies get sent away with the exam paper, they don't). Still hoping and feel I can get an A, but I can't be too sure. Sigh, Science wasn't meant to be one of my borderline subjects...

Looked through the paper and was like WTF but once I started writing I remembered most of the answers

Disgusting test, dafuq was the yoke with the copper and water on about?

There goes my A :(

I thought it was grand ^-^
    I thought that the copper was heated from the hot water and then after a few minutes the cold water turned hot.
    Something about conduction or convection? I wasn't show so I didn't write any of those words down.

Eeppp, so happy with that!
    No experiments- Thank you God <3
    And most of the questions were common sense really >.<

Btw, what was the splitting on light into 7 colors?
    I had it in the back of my head but then forgot it while going into the exam x__x

Dispersion :)

Lucan Bohs wrote: »
    Dispersion :)
    Darn ittt! Excuse me while I slap myself for getting such an easy question wrong...

What did people say for that colour yoke on the dispersion? I said 'red' and 'violet'. Please have saved me, Richard of York...

Also, y'know the first question on the rays, what was the answer to that? And was the next answer 'refraction?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

I thought it was grand ^-^
    I thought that the copper was heated from the hot water and then after a few minutes the cold water turned hot.
    Something about conduction or convection? I wasn't show so I didn't write any of those words down.

Damn.

I bull****ted on about it reacting with the water or something :pac:

Terrible questions this year, loads that would catch most people out.